Happy One Month Birthday..

3 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 05, 2017

If anything I am really disappointed by the amount of times I need to call and email with little feedback, and if there is feedback, it takes at least a week.

It took one week after receipt of my package to be processed into the shopmate system. It took close to two weeks of escalations via calls and email to have someone in shopmate respond to me to release a 'high value' package.

The package landed in Australia shortly a few days later and I had received a prompt email the day after it landed on the 2-Feb-2017 that customs is holding my
good and requested for my invoice - which I provided the same day. I expect that customs will charge me the appropriate tax and processing fees but this is very frustrating of the lack of response and considering the end to end time has been a month in the workings..

Relating to Case# 09573307, I'd like to share with everyone that AusPost customer support (through Product Review) helped to escalate and release the paperwork directly to customs themselves - a week later Customs finally cleared the product much to my joy.

I wished it didn't take as many follow ups but persistence does pay off, and a lot of patience.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australia Post Official

Hi VirIIx,

I apologise for the experience you had, but I'm glad we were able to resolve it for you.

Roxy

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 question
Private message

Needs better processes

3 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 25, 2017

Edit: Okay, so my package just allocated. Admittedly, I kinda freaked out and was pretty stressed when I made this review. In total, it took 4 full days to get allocated. It should take around 7-10 days to arrive from the warehouse now. All up, not too bad. I have amended my review to 3 stars. I still stand by my recommendations, and still think 4 days is too long for a package to get allocated. At the very least they should say "allocation may take up to 4-5 days", instead of promising 1 day on the website.
Old review:
I can't believe I went
with Shopmate instead of HopShopGo, just to save a few bucks. I don't understand why there should be a delay of more than 24 hours for the package to be "allocated" after it arrives at the US Portland warehouse. Every new package should be scanned in before sorting, so customers can at least have that reassurance.
Secondly, like HSP, you should have a live chat. I recall contacting them and having someone tell me straight away my package was found. Instead they just have an email address, and who knows if that's being checked. (2 days and counting since email sent).

It's now day four and I'm pissing myself with worry, as this package is urgent. I have had no contact from Shopmate, but have read the dozens of recent negative reviews with people having similar issues of having their packages allocated in a timely manner. One lady said it hadn't been allocated in 2 weeks! Add to that 2 weeks shipping to Australia and that's a MONTH MINIMUM. Kicking myself so hard right now. Go with HSP and cough up the extra $10-20.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australia Post Official

Hey Jayel,

I appreciate you changing your review and giving us an update!

It can be nerve wracking when things can potentially go wrong, so I completely understand.

Steph.

Melbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 10 comments
  • 1 answer
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Good in theory but lacks customer service

3 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 14, 2017

I've used this service once before and currently have a number of items that I'm waiting to ship in a batch.

It does what it says....eventually. I mean the processing time for packages is highly variable but they say that's due to storms right now. I guess we'll see on that. The fact that you get some free storage time is good.

I can see how the cubic weight vs actual weight thing can throw you off but, once you're at home with that, the biggest issue becomes the customer service.

I've had a query not get replied to for weeks and no on
e can help you over the phone - they say they can't see your account. You have to email.

I've got a query in now because it looks like my package is inexplicably on hold - case 09758010. I just started the query to be honest but I'm already dreading the wait based on my last experience. The issue is holding up my entire shipment of 7 items!

I wish they'd put more customer service staff on this. Having to email and wait for an undefined amount of time is really frustrating.

While in theory it should work really well, and it does ok when you don't have to ask questions, in reality, things don't always go smoothly and you're stuck waiting for customer service.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Australia Post Official

Hi kishlette, I've escalated your case with the Shopmate team and completely agree with the awkwardness of getting through to that team. Hopefully in the near future we'll have some better options... read more »

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
  • 2 questions
  • 1 answer
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Too expensive

3 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 12, 2017

Just way too expensive. No consolidation.

A small light-weight item the size of a thumb costs 27AUD.
Another similar item the size of a credit card costs 32AUD.

Bundling discount doesn't cut it. (-10AUD for additional parcels)
They have a good customer service of answering my inquiries, which I'm thankful for. Also long free storage time (60days if I remember correctly, although pointless since no consolidation.) Just the service is very poorly designed.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Australia Post Official

Hi Gil,
Thanks for the review. We have the pricing list on our website here: http://auspo.st/1En0OlH which does state the minimum cost despite weight or size. Let us know if you'd like us to clear anything up.

~ Mikey

Thank you MIkey. I just hope the Shopmate website made it clear up front that it doesn't consolidate items, given that it's one of the centric service. Only in F&Q there's one mention of that. It's... read more »

Perth

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Purchase

Potential is there but service needs to improve.

3 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 04, 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australia Post Official

Hi Matt,

Thanks for your well thought out review!

I'm glad you found so many pros from when you used ShopMate. :)

Steph.

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 comments
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Why was I charged for "Extra Cover" when I didn't ask for it?

3 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 28, 2016

My parcel arrived at Shopmate ok although it took 5 days to register in "My Shopping" after it was signed for in Portland.
I arranged payment for delivery to Australia without selecting "Extra Cover" and was surprised to see on the invoice that I had been charged for it anyway. "Extra Cover" is charged at AUD$2.50 per AUD$100. My package was worth AUD$211.95 so "Extra Cover" should have been 2.50x2.1195=AUD$5.30 but I was charged AUD$7.50. Why the discrepancy and more importantly why was I charged at all?
Another interesting issue is that UPS stated that the package weighed 2 lb (=0.9 Kg) but ShopMate has charged me for 1.5 Kg.
So basically ShopMate have ripped me off (in effect) 3 times.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments

Case number 08987495

Australia Post Official

Hey purge98, ShopMate’s shipping rates are based on the cubic weight of your item. The method for calculating shipping rates is detailed on the website here: http://auspo.st/1En0OlH. I've passed ... read more »

Update...Shopmate refunded the "Extra Cover" so full marks to them

Slow, but we got there!

3 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 15, 2016

I ordered an item on 24/11 and received a delivery notification on 1/12. After 5 days my parcel still wasn't showing up on the shopmate system so I emailed them. I did not receive a reply but 12 hours after my email received acknowledgement that my parcel had arrived. After immediate payment, my goods were finally delivered today, on 14/12. Strangely, my box had been 'opened by warehouse' but all was in tact. Ok service, albeit a little slow but thankful that my goods were delivered successfully.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australia Post Official

Hi Anna,

Great to hear you have your parcel now.

~Xamara

NUNAWADING, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 answers
Private message

Getting more ripped off

3 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 07, 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australia Post Official

Hi martadinata23, We don't offer a parcel consolidation service at this point in time - sorry for any inconvenience this caused. For future reference, Shopmates method for calculating shipping ... read more »

Verified Purchase

It's fine

3 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 25, 2016

There seems to be a lot of emotional reviews about people being unhappy with ShopMate, so I thought I'd post my experience.

It's fine, OK, satisfactory. They state the terms and conditions with the chargeable weight, and in my case they repacked upon request after I sent them an email releasing them of responsibility for removing it from manufacturer's packaging.

Was a little annoyed that the package didn't come through on the website for days after it had been delivered to the US warehouse, but from that point on, communication was good (with photos for repacking) and I can't really fault them.

I would definitely use again, especially now that I know what to expect.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australia Post Official

Hey MatM,

It's good that our ShopMate service has worked out well enough that you're happy to use it again.

Thanks for your review!

Steph.

Verified Purchase

It works - if you're not in a hurry

3 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 06, 2016

I ordered 2 drones from the US and timed my overseas trip within their expected delivery date. Unfortunately it arrived a day after I left. It was hassle free to have my drones shipped to the Shopmate US address and I'd say it's rather affordable compared to what they were charging me on Amazone/eBay.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australia Post Official

Hi AlbertK,

It's really good to hear that you have had a good experience with our ShopMate service.

Thanks for sharing your positive review :)

Steph.

I'd use this service again and would be happy to recommend it to my friends.

very traumatic if something goes wrong

3 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 23, 2016

1 out of my 4 packages -couriered to the warehouse by Fedex - came smoothly through the process without a hitch. The other 3 -couriered by UPS - were reportedly delivered before the other, but 10 days later still had not been acknowledged by Shopmate. You know how it goes...merchant says we shipped as asked, courier says we delivered, and shopmate says it hasnt arrived, so no one wants to help.
There was no option via Australia post website to raise a query with Shopmate so i tried over 3 days to get someone from Australia Post on the phone, (
extremely high call volume for 3 days) who would only give me a case number and forward my query on. I think its nearly 2 weeks and i still have had no response from shopmate to this query.
In the mean time i spent another 3 days getting up in the middle of the night trying to speak to someone at the OIA Global warehouse. At one point i was told i needed to speak to someone in Singapore about missing items , but the number i was given was faulty. Eventually i was put on to the manager at OIA Global who managed to locate my parcels and now thankfully they have been acknowledged by shopmate and are on their way.
Some points to ponder:
-This system is NOT a Scam as referred to on social media , but the parcel MUST be addressed with the suite number for it to work.
-Poor access to Shopmate customer support online and via phone , and poor response to queries.
-If you want something done- do it yourself. Whilst it was stressful and inconvenient calling the warehouse , i can only imagine that they would have had no choice but to discard my parcels by now if i hadn't acted. So ring the number for OIA Global yourself if needed. You cant hold your breath waiting for someone else to do it.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australia Post Official

Hi Kate, I’m glad to hear you sorted this addressing issue out. It certainly sounded like a large inconvenience and I apologise for the negative experience. Our Shopmate Support Team has a 'con... read more »

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Purchase

No communication, long delays.

3 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 10, 2016

First a summary, followed by my own problem (which I hope the representative [name removed] on this site will resolve). She seems to be replying to the reviews and trying to resolve everyone's problems. At least this is better than having no email communication form shopmate@auspost.com.au!

**********************************************************************************************************

Prior to signing up for Shopmate, I did come across all the negative feedback on Product Review. 120 reviews it said, average 1.2 stars out of 5
which translates to "Bad". The majority of the reviews are actually rates ShopMate as "Terrible". My gut said, "no, don't do it, other users found them to be dishonest, lacking in support and communication when it came to delayed notifications and delivery". My head said "well there must be plenty of good user experiences out there, as only the bad ones write reviews". I trusted Aus Post's reputation and corporate standing, AND I trusted that so long as I followed ShopMate's instructions clearly, I'd be okay. Boy, was I wrong!

The early warning signs were all there. On their own FAQ (https://shopmate.auspost.com.au/tips-and-faqs/frequently-asked-questions) they write

1) "Delivery issues have been identified across the US delivery providers with parcels being delivered to incorrect addresses (not the ShopMate USA warehouse)", now it would not be reasonable that all the users were not following the instructions.
2) "If the scan status of your package is showing as 'delivered' but is not appearing in your ShopMate account after more than 3 working days, please raise a delivery enquiry with your Merchant". In other words, after 3 days it becomes the merchant's issue. But why? The UPS tracking clearly says it was delivered to

Suite XXXX 14601 N BYBEE LAKE CT
PORTLAND, OR 97203
US

So why would my Merchant (EastBay) all of sudden be incentivised to help me track down something that UPS successfully delivered. I mean look on Google Maps, 14601 N BYBEE LAKE CT PORTLAND, OR 97203 US, "https://www.google.com.au/maps/place/14601+N+BYBEE+LAKE+CT+PORTLAND,+OR+97203+US/@45.6289992,-122.7563953,3a,75y,252.2h,90t/data=!3m7!1e1!3m4!1sed8Z8v7120nEO0gFiO_qog!2e0!7i13312!8i6656!4b1!4m2!3m1!1s0x0:0x40c320919696ad02" you can't stuff the delivery up. It's a HUGE warehouse, it's the only thing there.

3) On entering the US ShopMate address which you give to your merchant, your account page gives you a phone number along with the address. You'd reasonably think this is the phone to fill in along with the address, otherwise why would ShopMate provide you this. Yet, their own FAQ says "If a phone number is required, enter your own number." The FAQ is pages long!!! How are ordinary users meant to pick up on this.

4) Next I find out form @ Norman Browne, the delivery process actually goes like this:
1) Seller >> Courier Service (USPS, FedEx, TNT, DHL or some other courier)
2) Courier Service >> "ShopMate Warehouse" - Which is actually: OIA Global Warehouse.
3) OIA/ShopMate Suite >> SingPost/3rd Party to Australia
4) Australia >> AusPost finally receives item and has full control.

In other words that big "ShopMate warehouse" is actually OIA Global, a third party freight forwarding company, there's no Aus Post staff down on the ground to help sort this out! So even if my package did get there, there's no guarantee ShopMate will be across everything (let alone the SingPost part of the process).

So there you go, all the warning signs were there. I like all the other users simply want to trust that our national postal service can be trusted and relied upon, but I feel like a fool.

**********************************************************************************************************

So on Thursday, 04/07/2016 10:36 AM Portland time, I get notified by UPS my package was successfully delivered. It's now been more than 48 hours and no word from ShopMate!

I've emailed ShopMate@auspost.com.au 3 times and no reply.
How inefficient of them to also give me 3 case numbers (04984114, 04997799, 04997964) as though this is some kind of consolation my package can be tracked down.

I like all other users on this site, just want to know where our packages are and when can they be delivered to Australia! This is meant to be your bread and butter, it's can't be that hard!
[name removed] can you please look into this and let me know where my package is and when I'll be notified!

**********************************************************************************************************

10/4/2016 Update

We'll more than 48 hours after the UPS delivery confirmation, I was finally notified by Shopmate it was assigned to my account. But in that time you could see my frustrations in particular the lack of communication from ShopMate! You get 1 more star.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Australia Post Official

Good afternoon, I’m glad to hear you article was assigned to your ShopMate account. In regards to your enquiry, while parcels will show as delivered from the US carrier, it may take between 24-... read more »

1 of 2 pages


Questions & Answers

Hi can you please tell me what this means? Package on hold Your package is on hold awaiting our further operations from us. Kindly email our Customer Contact Centre at ShopMate@auspost.com.au for further instructions. Thanks

LizM71 asked on Mar 10, 2017

Answer this

Hi LizM71,

I'd recommend sending a quick email to that address so you can get assistance :)

Roxy

I have four parcels coming from Portland Oregon and I just wanted to know what would it mean if I deselected the 'Packaging included' button on all 4 orders?

Jarmmammone asked on Mar 09, 2017

Answer this

Hi Jarmmammone,

I'm not too sure what you mean; do you want us to repack your orders for you? We won't send them all together as one item and there may be a fee for this.

You can contact our ShopMate customer contact centre on 1300 624 475 between 8am-6pm (AEST) Monday – Friday for further support or email us at shopmate@auspost.com.au.

Roxy

Hi there, could you please the estimate date for the package RT358037197HK? Thank you very much. Daisy

daisy xu asked on Mar 09, 2017

Answer this

Hi Daisy,

Article RT358037197HK arrived in Australia on the 20th but has no further scans. I would recommend the sender contact their local postal authority to raise an enquiry, and they will in turn liaise with Aus Post to determine what's happening.

For further information, you can contact us via the one of following methods with your tracking number:

- Facebook: facebook.com/australiapost
- Twitter: @auspost
- Call us on 13 13 18

Roxy

See all 55 questions about Australia Post Shopmate