They put my babies life at risk

1 out of 5, reviewed on May 24, 2017

We would like to express how disappointed we were with the service we received from East Coast Rentals in Cairns. We had booked a car and car seat for our 8 week old son. We called the morning of our flight to ensure the car seat was rearward facing and suitable from newborn. We were ensured on the phone that this was taken care of and will be fitted upon our arrival. Once we arrived the shuttle bus was not fitted with a car seat even though we asked for one when we called. The car seat that was fitted into our hire car was fitted incorrectly a nd we were told by the employee that 'you can tighten it if you want'. It was unsafe and unsatisfactory. After trying to adjust it i expressed that i was not happy and wanted a qualified installer to look at it only to be told there aren't any. By this stage we were exhausted from travelling with an 8 week old on a flight from Sydney. I was then told the seat is for children aged 6 months upwards. The staff knew full well our child was 8 weeks and were going to let us drive out of there, putting our sons life at risk. He is unable to support his head properly at this young age. They then said they had no seats suitable despite us booking and paying for one. You left us high and dry! You had no solution! We had to call oz baby hire  and arrange an after hours drop off so that our son could travel safely and legally ([name removed] was amazing). Your staff kept saying its fine to put him in a seat that is illegal and unsafe for our child! Your staff should be ashamed! We will not be using your company again and will be telling our family and friends about the service we received whilst travelling with a baby for the first time.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Easy to get to and rent a car

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 24, 2017

Ease of renting a car.
Easy to get to by bus
Checkin personnel did paperwork quickly.
Return was fast.
Bus stop close by.
I will rent from this place again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Highly recommended.

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 23, 2017

Booking was quick and easy on the net. When we arrived at our destination we were picked up by the shuttle and taken to East Coast car rentals. We were greeted by friendly staff. We were in the car and ready to go in 15 min. Amazing experience as we had never hired a car before. Would absolutely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Excellent all round

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 23, 2017

Simple process and very good to deal with. Unlimited km's was a major factor for us, touring for the week and not having to keep track of km's driven. Competitive rates, new clean vehicles, and range of vehicles on offer. Pick up and drop off at the airport also was also convenient

Was this review helpful? Yes

Great price

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 23, 2017

When we worked out that we had to get a lift to pick up the car, we thought here we go, but i was easy, fast pick up, only took 10 minutes to get there and the car was sitting there waiting, no problems.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sydney NSW

  • 2 reviews
Private message

Great service. Great vehicle. Great rates!

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 23, 2017

Easy to book a vehicle at a great rate. The service was great at all stages of booking/collection/return. Vehicle was new and clean. Unlimited kilometres included in the advertised rate. Will use EastCoast again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Service

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 23, 2017

What a great experience hiring a vehicle from East Coast Rental. Everything went so smooth from airport pickup through to return of the vehicle. Great work I'll be a return customer

Was this review helpful? Yes

Outstanding

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 23, 2017

Incredible customer service, cleanliness and efficiency! I cannot fault the company! The people were so friendly, incredibly hospitable and were eager to assist in any way that they possibly could. I also loved how efficient they were from pick up to drop off, it all happened with ease and quickly. thank you for the experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Purchase

Fantastic, personable service.

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 23, 2017

Excellent personable customer service. Efficient in answering any questions and no hidden costs like other rental companies. Very easy instructions on how to pick up the car and return after hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Easy all the way

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 23, 2017

Booking through East coast was very easy and I received confirmation immediately. I do not know Sydney airport and the directions to the pick up point were very clear regardless of which airline you flew with. Pick up was prompt and the car with GPS was ready when I got there. The staff were friendly and walked around the car noting any scratches etc in my presence. While car was not new it was in excellent condition.

Was this review helpful? Yes

East Coast Car Rental Excellent & Well Established Professional Company

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 23, 2017

Van pick up was so easy as East Coast Car Rentals pick up venue was situated straight outside the airport left exit door. Very professional staff. Cars are well presented. Well signed designated area to drop the car off. Bonus - the petrol station is right next door to fill the petrol tank before returning the vehicle. Very efficient and professional company.

Was this review helpful? Yes

I have used East Coast in Brisbane and Melbourne now

4 out of 5, reviewed on May 23, 2017

These guys are pretty efficient and generally get you on the road pretty quickly despite being "off airport". Cars are clean and seem well maintained.

Was this review helpful? Yes

1 of 263 pages


Questions & Answers

We would need the car for one day during our great ocean trip. Where is your office located? Could we pick it somewhere close to Heidelberg Heights and drop it back in the domestic airport?

Vivek asked on May 09, 2017

Hi, we are very keen to re-visit Tassie within the next 12 months and again utilise your services which served us so well on our initial Tassie driving experience. So, the question is... how would you make our experience even better if we were to hire a car from yourselves for a period of 2-4 weeks rather than the 12-13 days we hired it for in October 2016. Given we still have a large area of Tassie to explore we are looking for the best value/reliability for money for our second visit. Based on our 1st driving experience utilising your services what can you offer us for our proposed 2nd that is superior to that of any of your competitors! We trust that the 50 odd responses based on our reviews received to date have resulted in good business as our experience was that you deserved it...well done. We look forward to your response... John & Lorette

JGP asked on Nov 05, 2016

Do you have to wash your east coast rental car before returning?

Ciara asked on Oct 12, 2016

Answer this

No just fill it with fuel before you return it or like most I suspect they will charge a filling fee. There is a petrol station next door to the rental depot, which was near the Gold Coast Airport. A shuttle comes to collect you at the airport but you need to ring and advise them you have arrived.

No only fill fuel tank. They hardly looked at the vehicle when I returned it, too busy getting rid of us so we couldn't ask questions about the refund of $1000 insurance bond on car.

Thanks guys ☺️

See all 11 questions about East Coast Car Rentals