Booragoon

  • 1 review
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase

Elite Singles are Shonky and Want Your $$$...no matter how they get it.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 01, 2017

6 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Can't access the website

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 20, 2017

I joined up in 2016 for 6 months. I met one really nice person who has become a friend (nothing romantic) but otherwise I found the site really frustrating (not being able to search profiles and no pictures etc.). Over the past couple of weeks I haven't been able to access my login, and today even when I clicked on the website it keeps giving me a message "forbidden" you have no access to this server. I immediately contacted my financial provider and I have blocked them in case they try to debit my card like they seem to have done to so many others. Is this site even still operational or have they gone bust?

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

This dating site is not genuine

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 17, 2017

There is no doubt that many of the profiles you see on this website are not genuine. There are some genuine people but the 'pool' is very limited within the context of your match settings. So proceed with real caution. You join ES with excitement but you will be very, very disappointed. Cheers

6 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Filthy Scum Rip Off - How dare they bill me without authority.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 12, 2017

I have just lost $470 and probably have no way of getting a refund back.
No notification, no opportunity to opt in again for another six months.
For other people after me and reading this - don't go near this site and don't hand over any money!!
This is an expensive lesson so make sure if the site is not working and/or not meeting expectations, make sure you cancel your subscription and be done with it otherwise they claim to be able to automatically bill you on some pre-approved basis and kiss any refund good-bye.
Oh and read review sites before you sign up, not after you've been unexpectedly and intentionally ripped off.

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 answer
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Are the profiles real?

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 10, 2017

Don't waste your money on this rubbish site.

Firstly, you cannot search profiles, they send you matches. Except they don't, so you literally pay for nothing. 3 months into a 6 month period, I am being sent no matches at all, though there is message on my home page that many members are waiting to meet me. Great, let me have their details. I get no profile visitors. They obviously have very few members.

Whatever time you join for they take the full amount upfront, not monthly as quoted. Then they auto renew without notice- it's on the las
t page of their ts and cs. I've cancelled the card I paid with so they can't scam any more money out of me.

Most of the 'matches' are uncontactable. That's because they are non premium (unpaid) members. A lot of people think the site creates fake profiles. Most profiles have no pic and very limited information. I doubt people pay so much, and don't bother to do a proper profile.

Save you money, time and heartache and join another site. And read reviews first, and make sure you understand how it works.

13/3/17 Update: I sent them an email last night telling them to refund my money because they are in breach of the contract, i.e. they are not sending matches and as I'm not getting any profile visitors, which means they are not sending my profile to anyone. Surprise, surprise this morning I have 3 'matches' and 5 have you met.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Adelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 answers
  • 9 helpful votes
Private message

This site is a scam

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 06, 2017

Very expensive and very few genuine singles on the site. It is impossible for you to search for members; you have to wait for 'matches' to be sent to you at 1-3 per day. The genuine matches quickly run out and then they send you fake profiles. These are quite amusing to read, as they are obviously composed by someone in their German office using google translate. Certain catchphrases are repeated frequently and hilariously, but not funny when you remember how much you've paid.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

MONEY hungry monsters

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 28, 2016

So.. I joined Elite Singles for a few months. I was certain at time of jointing that I didn't want to continue my membership beyond the time agreed (due to the heavy financial burden) so I went on to their "how to cancel" page straight away and followed the instructions. That included: de-registering my PayPal details and emailing the company to let them know I wanted to terminate my contract after the initial membership period expired.

Time came around for my contract to be terminated. I continued to receive "partner suggestions" however.
I contacted Elite immediately- genuinely confused about why I was still receiving such emails considering I had cancelled my membership. I then got a WARNING notice saying I was behind on my payments. I emailed the company again- this time angry that I was being threatened with debt recovery action when I had done everything right.

I was advised that the company had never received my email and that I should have known it hadn't been received as I had never received a confirmation email back!

I pleaded with the company to recognise my intention to cancel the contract immediately- willing to show them how I had cancelled my PayPal link immediately.

Miranda from "customer service" would not budge.

So... I now have been forced to pay an additional $500 for membership I can't afford, don't want and don't need!!!

PLEASE- Join another dating website. Let companies like Elite know they can't treat people like this!!!!

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase

Auto renew they won't relent.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 21, 2016

Membership auto renew, can't opt out or remove your payment option. Used PayPal, on the last day I cancelled 12/10, removed my entire profile and deleted it as well. Confirmation email and it another asking for payment since they renewed on 12/10, the last day of the membership. They claim to have a prior 24 hour cancellation,
though there is no email notification as a reminder, designed to take your money. This was Saturday, no phone, no customer service,
I checked my bank and contacted PayPal and they cancelled the payment authorization.
Elite tried to collect and failed. They continue to email, I won't be bullied into paying to use a service I'm dissatisfied with. Today another email threatening and I told them to cease and desist, do I need to get an Lawyer? Told them not to contact me unless they will tell me they have deactivated my account. I would block them but am totally stressed and on a fixed disability income. Why can't they leave it alone?

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase

Read the fine print!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 21, 2016

Elite Singles will take your money and that's about it. They offer no customer support, they are incredibly difficult to contact and you need to read the fine print very, very, very carefully. They prey on the lonely and the vulnerable...then turn very nasty and aggressive when you question them about their fine print. They will charge you twice for a premium membership and do not even have the grace to send you an email prior to this happening. The site is cumbersome and tiresome. I wouldn't recommend this site to anyone. In fact, I would tell you to STAY AWAY from it altogether. Nothing elite about Elite Singles at all.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 answers
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Not user friendly

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 20, 2016

Had the basic package but couldn't really do anything with it. Email communications appeared that were from people not on my match list so I couldn't check them out. Couldn't access email either (so like a hostage situation) unless I paid exorbitant price. Which says per month, but is actually taken as a lump sum according to this website which I'm sure breaches consumer laws that they must tell you the total charged and if it is charged as one sum. Seems dodgy.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase

Greedy!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 17, 2016

I cancelled the membership, asked them to stop taking my money and they still did until I changed my card and they still want my money. Now they're threating me with a debit collector so I've decided to take it further and contact the Current Affair.

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Scammers - beware!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 14, 2016

This site is a scam. I signed up and paid up but there is a problem with my password access so I can't access the profile via computer and they don't respond to emails requesting help (I have sent twelve...) And when I rang the listed phone number of the parent company I was told 'they don't have a phone number, you must send a fax' !!! Please avoid wasting your money as I have.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

4 of 16 pages


Questions & Answers

Like almost everyone, I did not check reviews before signing up for a premium 6 month membership. Luckily I decided to read the reviews almost immediately after (within hours) and emailed their customer support asking to cancel and get a refund stating the cooling off period. I also canceled the credit card I used. To anyone that was successful in this cooling off period loophole, did you have to "cancel" your membership via the cancellation page on the site in addition to sending an email? If so, please let me know as I only have 24 hours left to do so. Jeez, what a way to start the new year.

LCK asked on Jan 03, 2017

Answer this

No I didn't know about a cooling off period. It was at my 6 month end. But remove and cancel on the site, don't trust they will. ASAP. They continued after I deleted my profile. It's no better than any other site after my 6 months got nothing!

Hi Lck, I would cancel absolutely everything to do with Elite...they are nasty thieves! I hope you get out of it quickly and successfully! I didn't....absolute waste of time and money. Good luck!

Simply dispute the payment with your credit card provider. The cost will be refunded and Elite will not take any further action.

See all 5 answers
Has anybody cancelled this site and they refuse to recognize it and put the debt collectors on you?

johne asked on Nov 12, 2016

Answer this

Having the same issue with Elite myself Johne. Will keep you posted.

Have refused to pay this as the company in question is a scam If we all do this maybe they will get the hint and stop doing this john e

No, they are running a scam and simply rely on what they can get without effort.

I paid and I cannot get my money back as I am told the cooling period is only 3 day What do I do now?

Anne asked on Oct 11, 2016

Answer this

Hi Anne,
Well hopefully you didn't pay for more that one month. You can stay on the site to use up your subscription and then make sure you cancel it before it automatically renews itself. Which it will! Or just write off what you've paid and cancel now. If you think they aren't providing you with what you paid for, eg, technical faults, no emails...you can let them know. There's always Consumer Affairs. I hope this helps

See all 11 questions about Elite Singles