The 1999-2006 Peugeot 206 has been replaced by the newer 2007-2012 Peugeot 207 model.

Filter By:

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Send a message

Badge: CC Body: Convertible


1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 06, 2015

Cosmetically it is a pretty and well styled car, comfortable with enough space. The hardtop convertible sacrifices some boot space for the folding steel roof, pretty cool and nice on the hot days although there is significant road noise when the roof is on.

Mechanically however this care sums up "French engineering" initially there were a few niggling issues such as the remote central locking o
Read more nly opening the doors and not locking them upon exit. The radio lasted less then 2 months on a car with less then 80,000K and although the car had a complete service history for the local Peugeot garage none of these faults seemed to be fixable for any length of time.

After about six months the real trouble started, the dreaded anti-pollutant fault flashes up and seems more or less impossible to fix long term, while in this case the car didn't shut down and crawl along it did cause issues with revving extremely high on start up and cutting out at a standstill.
Battery issues were soon to follow, if left for more then 3 days the battery would completely discharge and getting the car running again proved timely and problematic.
Battery changes failed to remedy the issue and apparently the alternator was not responsible, it may possibly have been the immobiliser, a link to the anti-pollutant fault or some other drain on the system, this issue was never resolved before we cut our losses and waved a long overdue goodbye to one of the most problematic cars ever to sit on the driveway.

When it did work the 2.0 litre engine was relatively entertaining although the manual 5 speed gear box wasn't well suited to longer trips, the car handles pretty well and can be thrown into tight corners with ease and never feels unsettled or lacks grip, brakes were sharp and effective. The Aircon is cold and the roof mechanism on the convertible never had a problem although the door seals quickly sprung a leak.

A fun an interesting car to drive for a few days but a strong mechanical knowledge or deeply ingrained masochistic urges are strongly advised if you wish to own one.

Was this review helpful?

Body: Hatch

1999-2006 Peugeot 206

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 29, 2013

Beware the "antipolution fault" which comes up on the display, the car goes into "Limp Mode" and this is very dangerous, especially if you are on a freeway in the right-hand lane or on a road without an emergency stopping lane. I have taken the car to a number of mechanics including Peugeot but no-one can fix it. They all say they can but after a while it re-occurs. Don't be fooled by this cars ap Read more pearance, it has given us many anxious moments. You've been warned!

+ The look, the size and it is economical.

- See above review, door indicator faulty, fuel gauge faulty, directional indicator faulty, etc.

Was this review helpful?

  • 1 review
  • 9 helpful votes
Send a message

Body: Hatch


1 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 03, 2012

My dad has one, had lots of problems regarding electrics, 3 new indicator stalks (indicators coming on themselves, very dangerous!), gear changer rod went, central locking went, TRY AND CHANGE THE HEADLIGHT BULBS! My friend has one, a 03 reg 1.4, done 15.000 miles and the cylinder head gasket went, 300pounds to fix, his also has electrics problems, the HAZARDS automatically come on at 75mph! His e Read more cu also went for reprogramming as it would not start when hot! EVERYBODY I know who has one of these has had problems with them. I have owned Vauxhall cars for over 12 years now, NOT A SINGLE PROBLEM! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

+ I don't like anything about it.

- The gear change, the engine, horrible car. Overall build quality. I could build a better car out of a washing machine.

9 people found this helpful, do you?


Totally agree! Bought a 4 year old one with 22000 K's on the clock. Most unreliable heap of junk I've ever experienced in my 40 years of motoring. Parts are rediculously expensive too. My advice .... look at other brands.

not the best car around, we have had problems ourselves, including the broken timing chain, faulty clutch (would slip at 2000+rpm) now today timing chain again, and possibly a blown head gasket. on... read more »

  • 1 review
  • 109 helpful votes
Send a message

Body: Hatch Badge: GTi


4 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 14, 2012

If you're looking for a little car that's very practical, very well equipped, looks VERY stylish, and is terrific value for money (I mean, you can get a very nice 206GTi for 11 or 12 grand, probably less), go for it. My advice with any used car purchase though is to get an independent mechanical inspection. Read more

+ NB: mine's the GTi. Very fast, handles excellently, reasonable fuel economy but demands premium unleaded. Extremely well equipped: great stereo/CD player, power windows (fast, which is good), rain sensing wipers, climate control, front and side airbags, 4 wheel discs with ABS. "Puntability" of this thing is great, change down a gear and sink the boot, and it just FLIES. Chuckability: roadholding/grip/handling just great. Many complain about quality, but mine's been totally reliable, never missed a beat, now has 96,000 k's on it.

- Expensive to service. City Peugeot in Melb are very expensive, and will tell you to do stuff you don't need to, watch out. Other than that, nothing really. My only gripe is that it lacks a bit of character. I used to have an Alfa Sprint that was certainly not lacking in that dept, and the Pug just feels a bit 'cold' in comparison...

109 people found this helpful, do you?

  • 9 reviews
  • 19 helpful votes
Send a message

Body: Hatch


3 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 09, 2012

The best thing is the fuel efficiency and the stand-out looks. I really like the car, but next time I'd choose one that's less expensive to service. Read more

+ The 206 is fuel efficient and stylish. I love the little things like the inside light coming on when you remove the keys - great when you are exiting the car at night. I love the sensors that automatically decide how fast the windscreen washers should go in rain. Brakes are excellent - very responsive.

- The accelerator pedal is too close to the brake - that's ok for my small feet but men have difficulty with not pressing both pedals at the same time. Services are expensive and the brakes need work more often than other cars. (Services are best done by Peugeot dealers with Peugeot specific equipment and knowledge).

10 people found this helpful, do you?


Where do i check the automatic transmission oil 206?

  • 3 reviews
  • 40 helpful votes
Send a message

Body: Hatch

Built by men who drink wine at lunch...

3 out of 5, reviewed on May 22, 2012

...that's the point about the 206. I still think it looks great and it handles well (remember, it's not a sports car) and it's economical but boy-oh-boy is it an unreliable machine. I bought one new and had to have the power steering system rebuilt twice inside the first 30K, a rocker cover had to be replaced at 45K (but that can happen anytime to any car, in fairness) and the brake pads and discs Read more had to be replaced at 50K which is poor for such a light car.

+ Still looks good, handles well, good fuel economy.

- Unreliable, awful clunky gear change, expensive to service, Sydney dealers are a bunch of money-grabbing morons.

8 people found this helpful, do you?

  • 5 reviews
  • 18 helpful votes
Send a message

Body: Hatch


3 out of 5, reviewed on May 22, 2012

Handles great. Very Luxurious. Has a lot of extra's. Would make an excellent city car, but wouldn't recommend for rough country roads. I had a lot of problems with the suspension!

+ Very economical!!! Will run on the smell of an oily rag!

- Servicing and repairs are very Pricey!!!

4 people found this helpful, do you?


  • 12 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 6 answers
  • 25 helpful votes
Send a message

Body: Hatch


5 out of 5, reviewed on May 22, 2012

A neat compact vehicle with euro luxury. I paid $12500 for 06 model with 11000km. Gets about 6.3L/100km.
Have to think about overtaking uphill with 3 passengers!
Love the electric everything but wonder how long the keyless battery will last.

+ Fuel efficient, luxury interior, great audio

- Accelerator close to brake pedal

1 person found this helpful, do you?

Questions & Answers

Dear sir: I have a car 2002 peugeot 206 . i want to know where is the Chassis number STAMPED INSIDE THE CAR . all information about the car is found in 2 peace metal --------------------------------------------------------- SYSTEM PEUGEO MODEL 2002 TYPE 206 1360GTXINJ FRAM IN 83624884 ENGINE FSM 84722425 COLOR 63017 IRAN KHORDO =============================== AUTOMOBILS PEUGEOT VF32AKFWU43606030 1450 KG 2365 KG 1 855 KG 2 780 KG ------------------- 2A KFWU/D my name Ghassan hamrawi Best Regards

Ghassanh2008 asked on Jul 25, 2015

I am thinking to bye 2006 Peugeot 206 T1 C MY06 Sports Automatic kilometres is 124000. and the price is 90000, is it worth it? i need some idea

rupen asked on Aug 10, 2013

Answer this

My 206 is a base model manual with 80k. Very perky fuel miser. Had very little trouble. Drive belts come in soon only 85k for 206s. Banged a roo at 100 created $3k as mostly plastic at front so radiator drives up thru bonnet and headlamps connections snap away but repair well. Otherwise weathering OK. You would pay more for the sporty auto, so $9k would be value.

Where do i check the auto transmission level?

shane3737 asked on Jun 09, 2012

Answer this

you dont have to check auto or service it unless something goes wrong with it .. for the life of the car,, i have one and there a great little car ,,, love it

See all 4 questions about 1999-2006 Peugeot 206

Product Details

Replaced By 2007-2012 Peugeot 207