1 photo
AAMI Car Insurance - Comprehensive

AAMI Car Insurance - Comprehensive

1.7 from 272 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Car Insurance in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by AAMI

Reviews

1.0
34 reviews
5
(0)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(34)
  • Value for Money
    1.1 (33)
  • Customer Service
    1.2 (33)
  • Timeliness
    1.1 (24)
  • Job Satisfaction
    1.0 (18)
  • Transparency
    1.1 (27)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • 1-2 weeks (2)
    • 2-4 weeks (2)
    • 1-2 months (10)
    • 3+ months (9)
  • Claim ApprovedYes · No (34)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Scott R.
Scott R.Sydney, NSW

Stay Far Far Away from AAMI!

published

I had to deal with AAMI as a result of one of their insured drivers crashing into me (other driver at fault). AAAMI were completely uncompassionate, dishonest, fraudulent, bullying, time wasting and generally terrible to deal with for even the smallest matters. I would never insure with AAMI, not recommend anyone else does.

My opinion here seems to be in line with everyone else that has had to deal with them too!

STAY AWAY FROM AAMI!!

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedNo
Andrea
AndreaSouth East Queensland, QLD

The worst insurance. Keep away

published

I had an accident (not my fault) a driver hit me from behind, I contacted Aami and gave the personal details of the other driver. Aami never contacted the driver, not even his insurance, he did not give me information about my car, even when I called the information was very lack and it seemed that they did not know they had my car. Finally, 3 weeks after I left my car, they called me just to tell me that they declared my car as worv (but after I realize they declare like that my car one week before that they call me) since the price to fix it according to them was more than 6000 dollars when quotes from mechanics I asked are not more than 2000 dollars.
The aim of insurance is to help you not give you more headaches.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMay 2021
Claim ApprovedNo

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
STG
STGSouthwest, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

If can review minus stars would have done so

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo

Can’t give less than 1 star.

published

1. Worthless insurance company/ Sucks money out of customer
2. Roadside assistance; need to lodge the claim beside the battery is down or forget the key inside your car.
3. Lodged a claim and need to wait weeks and weeks to get it resolved and I fixed my car and paid it from my pocket.
4. They help themselves not the customer

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedNo
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance - Comprehensive compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ChittyD
ChittyDSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Beware if you have a parked car accident

published
Value for Money
2/5
Customer Service
2/5
Timeliness
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHyundai Getz TB SX
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateFebruary 2021
Claim ApprovedNo

Car stolen - no payout - after 43 years of AAMI being my insurer. Disgraceful treatment

published

I have been with Aami for 43 years as my car insurer. Car got stolen in January and they have rejected the claim. Headed to AFCA to resolve. Shouldn’t have come to this!

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHonda Civic 10th Gen (Hatchback) VTi-L
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedNo
MDC
MDCSouthwest, VIC

Pathetic

published
  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMercedes-Benz R-Class W251
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
We compared reviews on the Top 5 Most Popular Car Insurance Providers

If you’re looking for cheap car insurance that's also reliable, ProductReview.com.au can help. We’ve sifted through 1000s of car insurance reviews on Budget Direct, AAMI, youi, Woolworths and Australian Seniors. Simply read on for a summary of what drivers liked the most and least about these top five most viewed providers.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.1 June 2020
we-compared-reviews-on-the-top-5-most-popular-car-insurance-providers
Next
Max B.
Max B.South East Queensland, QLD

AAMI do not honour their PDS

published

AAMI have denied my insurance claim based on an irrelevant exclusion in their PDS. According to AAMI, they do not cover a stolen car claim if the car was for sale at the time it was stolen! This is contrary to their PDS (which logically excludes cover AFTER the car has been sold) and should go as a fair warning to anyone considering AAMI as an insurer. They have been slow to acknowledge and process the clam and continue to draw it out as long as possible. I am now being forced to go to AFCA for a fair outcome.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedNo

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
shamsuddin
shamsuddinCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

poor and lazy service

published

very terrible and poor service of aami car insurance.. My care was stolen two month ago..... still claim has not resolved yet. I dont know what they want to prove. I have been suffering without a car. but they dont have feeling of any suffering ..
whenever i called them , they have only one answer.. the claim in in process with the investigation. although, they have debited basic premium on the 1st day of claim...

poor service ..

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelKia Sorento AWD Diesel
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance - Comprehensive compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hosan
HosanGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Not repairing my car,it’s more than 3 weeks,no more longer better service,go somewhere else,0422283475

published

Not repairing my car,paid access already,will complain relevant authorities,for unfair trading,I will also complain to disputes resolution team,then court remedies,may be they refuse 50% claim,that’s there profit,there advertising and product description not matching

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
4/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Falcon BA
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Gasoleeni
GasoleeniSouth East Queensland, QLD

10 years customer, but never again.

published

Been with the company over 10 years, no claims etc , When I was rear ended, I was at fault because I was coming from a merging lane, but apparently the law is wrong.

“Here the blue car must give way to the orange.”

  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Prado
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedNo

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Ghazi
GhaziSydney, NSW

Avoid at all cost. Please read before you consider dealing with aami.

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelLand Rover Discovery Sport HSE Luxury SD4 (2.0L Diesel)
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance - Comprehensive compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
dave
daveGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Unlucky I'm with AAMI

published

I had a minor crash in the front, I was told to take it to Capital SMART. They had it for 48 hours. I picked my car up and went home. When I got home I realised my windscreen was cracked. I took it back and they said they dropped the bonnet on it. I noticed the whole front end was out of alignment so I took it to my panel beaters and they told me Capital SMART had glued the radiator support panel back on instead of welding it. The whole front end is a disgusting mess. Unlucky I'm with AAMI.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car Model08 G6E FORD
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedNo

AAMI Roadside assist damaged my car.

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Frustrated
FrustratedPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Dont end up paralysed on life support

published

If you are in an induced coma, paralyzed from the neck down and on life support they still expect you to phone their customer service dept. Never in my life have I dealt with a company and its investigators with such little comprehension of what families go through in this situation. Total lack of compassion and empathy. They have been no help what so ever 3 weeks in from our son being in this condition.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Page 1 of 2
See all AAMI Car Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

ChittyD
ChittyDasked
Car Insurance - Comprehensive

I had a trolley driver damage my car while it was parked. 'Hit and Run' situation and there is shopping centre video evidence showing what happened. However, AAMI in their wisdom have decided to deem that the excess paid to have my car repair will not be refunded on the basis that I did not provide the at-fault person's details? How could I as I was not there when this happened. Seems like a clever way to avoid the work involved in clearing me and going after the trolley-company contractor's insurance company to pay for my damages. It this not part of the Insurance service?

No answers
Wendy0707
Wendy0707asked
Car Insurance - Comprehensive

How do you decide who is at fault for collision

2 answers
Fiona
Fiona

It goes by the road laws. For example, if the other person was supposed to give way and you were already in the intersection, then the other person is at fault.

Angelito
Angelito

Hi Wendy! Well it depends if you think fault of the other party, of course they will fight for you but it needs justification. Proof thanks

See all AAMI Car Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and AAMI representatives

AAMI Car Insurance - Comprehensive

Details

Compare all 4 AAMI Car Insurance
CategoryRoadside Assistance Providers and Car Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Business, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and Travel
Coverage TypeComprehensive
UnderwriterAAI
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Optional Extra
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverZero Excess Optional Extra
Choice of RepairerNot Allowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Included, up to $90 per day for unlimited days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location. Benefit ceases when:

  • your car is returned undamaged;
  • your car is repaired and returned to you;
  • your claim is settled
Emergency Transport & AccommodationIncluded up to $250 per claim for Transport costs, and up to $1,000 for Emergency Accomodation if you are more than 100km from home (combined with Emergency Repairs and Personal Property)
Towing Costs Included
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Included - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location. Benefit ceases when:

  • your car is repaired and returned to you; or
  • your claim is settled
Essential / Emergency RepairsIncluded (combined with Emergency Accomodation & Personal Property), up to $1,000 per incident
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot Offered
Hire Car after Theft

Included up to 21 days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location

Lock and Key ReplacementNot Included
Transit Cover Not Included
Trailer & Caravan CoverTwo-Wheel Trailer Cover included up to $1,000
Child Safety Seats and PramsIncluded up to $500 per claim
New-for-old Car Replacement

Included, if you are the first registered owner of the car and it is less than 2 years old

Personal Property CoverIncluded up to $1,000 (combined with Emergency Accomodation and Repairs)
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not Applicable
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismIncluded
FireIncluded
CollisionIncluded
Natural EventsIncluded
Theft or Attempted TheftIncluded
Compare all 4 AAMI Car Insurance
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.