?
? !

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

With so many car insurance providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the car insurance that's ideal for you.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.4 (86)
  • Customer Service
    2.3 (86)
  • Timeliness
    2.3 (57)
  • Job Satisfaction
    2.4 (42)
  • Transparency
    2.4 (67)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (14)
    • 1-2 weeks (18)
    • 2-4 weeks (17)
    • 1-2 months (12)
    • 3+ months (15)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (94) · No
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Mat

MatAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

AAMI Cancelations beware

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
AAMI
Customer Service S.AAMI
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vasanth S.

Vasanth S.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Worst Car insurance - Please stay away

published

I went with AAMI because of low insurance policy - Got a call from repair no parts in town for Toyota Corolla which is hard to believe and they informed it will take another 8 weeks for the parts to arrive.

I think AAMI is big SCAM it should be avoided at any cost and go with proper car insurance company

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Corolla
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rocco G.

Rocco G.

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Avoid AAMI and Suncorp at all costs

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelSubaru WRX V1 STI Premium
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateFebruary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cass

CassPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

I actually do feel lucky.

published

I was involved in an accident where I wasn't at fault. Staff were really kind, caring and helpful. Car is a write off as its not worth much. Less than a week since the accident and the funds for my car are already in my account. I will be taking out a policy with AAMI for the next car I buy. I couldn't fault them. I am really happy with the service.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMarch 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Worst car insurance- Please do not buy any AAMI insurance

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Corolla
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderNo
Claim DateFebruary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Terry J.

Terry J.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Authorised Repairer Only

published

Tried to get my car fixed in Dandenong . Closest repairer they use is Hallam. I told them I have no time to take it there and could I use a repairer close to me. Came back to me saying I have to use their authorised repairer. All repairers do insurance work. NEVER AGAIN>

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateFebruary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Manny

MannyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

AAMI is a good service provider UNTILL you envolved in an accident.

published

TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE SERVICE.
Its been 60 days since my car is with repairer (AAMI’s suggested repairer) Even estimated pick up date passed away by 10 days. Called repairer and got reply that even they don’t know how long will it take. Even no help from AAMI.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelJeep Grand Cherokee WK SRT
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Terrible service

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Madhav S.

Madhav S.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible service

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelKia Cerato BD (Sedan)
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Changazi

ChangaziGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Terrible & dodgy Insurance company

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Aurion
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matt

Matt

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great if you let them take money and that's it - Worst service ever!!!!!!!

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelBMW 7 Series E65/E66/E67/E68
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
corey w.

corey w.Gippsland, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Worst insurance company ever

published

Over 6 months have passed since my car was stolen. Took over 3 months to approve my claim and a further 3 months for the repairs. Still don’t have it.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelLDV T60 Luxe
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wanderer

WandererSydney, NSW

Worst insurance company to make a claim with

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
klubear

klubearGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 27 reviews
  • 21 likes

AAMI took away all my choices and left me stranded on Tuesday night.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota RAV4
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sue

SueSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Still have to pay insurance policy even when car written off

published

Car insured with AAMI for 5 years. Car in accident and written off. When accessing the claim amount they deducted the remaining 4 months insurance for a car that doesn't exist. Are you serious. Sure charge a cancellation fee but don't charge all the remaining insurance for a car that is gone to the Car Gods.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota HiLux
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Good Experience

published

Have 2 comprehensive vehicle insurance policies with AAMI, made a claim this year for minor damage caused by another vehicle whose details i had. I found the claim process quick and painless l did refuse to accept their 1st preference repairer and was escalated to a manager where i argued for another repairer l was familiar with for good work who was also a registered AAMI repairer but not promoted by AAMI. I had a hire car arranged and taxi to/from repairer. Based on my experience and I'm not someone who tolerates bad service I couldn't fault my experience and would recommend.
Only downside is their premiums increase by double digit % annually however if you call their c/s agent does have authority to reduce by 3%-5%.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda 2
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bej

Bejbrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

AAMI does not

published

No value for money ,they have worked hard not to help.AAMI like to hide key information in the back pages. I do not trust them and will not use them again.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Corner cutting repairs (WHISTLEBLOWER INFO)

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Claudia Morgan

Claudia MorganSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not lucky to be with AAMI

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota RAV4 XA40 AWD 2.2L Turbo-Diesel Cruiser
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Doug N

Doug NTownsville

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Unbelievable experience. Absolutely disgraceful and shonky.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelSubaru Outback 5GEN 3.6R
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
2 comments
Doug N
Doug N
Doug N
Doug N
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 5
See all AAMI Car Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

ChittyD

ChittyDasked

Car Insurance - Comprehensive

I had a trolley driver damage my car while it was parked. 'Hit and Run' situation and there is shopping centre video evidence showing what happened. However, AAMI in their wisdom have decided to deem that the excess paid to have my car repair will not be refunded on the basis that I did not provide the at-fault person's details? How could I as I was not there when this happened. Seems like a clever way to avoid the work involved in clearing me and going after the trolley-company contractor's insurance company to pay for my damages. It this not part of the Insurance service?

No answers
Wendy0707

Wendy0707asked

Car Insurance - Comprehensive

How do you decide who is at fault for collision

2 answers
Fiona
Fiona

It goes by the road laws. For example, if the other person was supposed to give way and you were already in the intersection, then the other person is at fault.

Angelito
Angelito

Hi Wendy! Well it depends if you think fault of the other party, of course they will fight for you but it needs justification. Proof thanks

Jase J.

Jase J.asked

Car Insurance

Why is my claim review taking so long I am homless and live out the car I suffer a neurological disease that causes me to stutter AAMI thought they put the call on hold but took it off for me to hear them picking on my stutter saying nnnnooooo moooonnnnneeeyyyy fffffooooorrrrr hhhhimmmm I have contacted 2gb and am contacting channel 9 I just wanted to hurt myself after hearing the mocking and have only just been released from hospital

No answers
See all AAMI Car Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and AAMI representatives

AAMI Car Insurance

Details

Underwritten by the Suncorp Network, AAMI offers four car insurance policies: CTP green slip for NSW, ACT and SA, Comprehensive, Third Party Property Damage Only, and Fire, Theft and Third Party Property Damage.

Points of praise for AAMI:

  • AAMI's top score was given for its timeliness in responding to claims.
  • Friendly and personable customer service was appreciated. Two customers reported AAMI ‘going above and beyond’ by helping them generously during times of financial hardship.
  • Multiple reviewers reported that AAMI offered to organise Ubers from the repairer to and from their homes. Others enjoyed a smooth and hassle-free experience when making claims, with quick response times from AAMI.

Pain points with AAMI:

  • AAMI’s chosen repairers and roadside-assist contractors were thought to be low quality
  • Premiums increasing considerably even with no claims being made (this increase in premiums appeared to also apply to customers who had taken out multiple policies with AAMI, e.g. home and contents insurance along with car insurance).
Compare all 4 AAMI Car Insurance
CategoryRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Business, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and Travel
Coverage TypeCompulsory Third Party (CTP Green Slip)ComprehensiveThird Party Property DamageThird Party, Fire and Theft
UnderwriterAAIAAIAAIAAI
Legal Liability Cover Not IncludedIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Not OfferedOptional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverNot OfferedZero Excess Optional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Choice of RepairerNot ApplicableNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Not Applicable

Included, up to $90 per day for unlimited days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location. Benefit ceases when:

  • your car is returned undamaged;
  • your car is repaired and returned to you;
  • your claim is settled

Not Included

Not Included

Emergency Transport & AccommodationNot ApplicableIncluded up to $250 per claim for Transport costs, and up to $1,000 for Emergency Accomodation if you are more than 100km from home (combined with Emergency Repairs and Personal Property)Reasonable taxi costs included for up to 2 journeys (applies to 'Damage by uninsured drivers' claims only)Reasonable taxi costs included for up to 2 journeys
Towing Costs Not ApplicableIncludedIncluded (only for a claim made under 'Damage by uninsured drivers'Included
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Not Applicable

Included - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location. Benefit ceases when:

  • your car is repaired and returned to you; or
  • your claim is settled

Not Included

Not Included

Essential / Emergency RepairsNot ApplicableIncluded (combined with Emergency Accomodation & Personal Property), up to $1,000 per incidentNot IncludedNot Included
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot ApplicableNot OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Hire Car after Theft

Not Applicable

Included up to 21 days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location

Not Included

Included up to 21 days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location

Lock and Key ReplacementNot ApplicableNot IncludedNot IncludedIncluded up to $1,000
Transit Cover Not ApplicableNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Trailer & Caravan CoverNot ApplicableTwo-Wheel Trailer Cover included up to $1,000Not IncludedNot Included
Child Safety Seats and PramsNot ApplicableIncluded up to $500 per claimNot IncludedNot Included
New-for-old Car Replacement

Not Applicable

Included, if you are the first registered owner of the car and it is less than 2 years old

Not Included

Not Included

Personal Property CoverNot ApplicableIncluded up to $1,000 (combined with Emergency Accomodation and Repairs)Not IncludedIncluded up to $500 (does not include cash, tools and items use for business or trade)
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not ApplicableNot ApplicableIncluded up to $5,000Included up to $5,000
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
FireNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
CollisionNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Natural EventsNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Theft or Attempted TheftNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
Compare all 4 AAMI Car Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.