See the Best Car Insurance in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by AAMI

Reviews

1.0
46 reviews
5
(0)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(45)
  • Value for Money
    1.2 (42)
  • Customer Service
    1.1 (42)
  • Timeliness
    1.1 (29)
  • Job Satisfaction
    1.0 (22)
  • Transparency
    1.1 (35)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (1)
    • 1-2 weeks (3)
    • 2-4 weeks (2)
    • 1-2 months (11)
    • 3+ months (17)
  • Claim ApprovedYes · No (45)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Brad T.
Brad T.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Do not get AAMI to insure anything you own!

published

3 weeks ago my partner was in a car accident
With my new born baby.
The other driver was at fault
His insurance company is aami
They refuse to look at the car and are making things extremely difficult to get our brand new family car back on the road!!
What is wrong with these companies????
They take everyone’s money and don’t do the job they are supposed to do!
Please use any other insurance company
Stay away from AAMI

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHonda CR-V
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Judge jattlife
Judge jattlifeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

If you want to donation then get insurance with them

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelLand Rover Range Rover Evoque
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateDecember 2018
Claim ApprovedNo
Judge jattlife
Judge jattlife

I got big friend circle, I always suggest them to get insurance with them since this things happened I told all my friends and whoever have insurance with in my circle to cancel and they did, nearly 100 policies been cancelled, more will be soon

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Private shopper
Private shopperGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

WARNING they are abysmal - never go through AAMI!

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
3/5
Timeliness
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Corolla
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Alicia
AliciaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Shocking company who does not honour claims

published

Contaminated fuel ruined our motor which was confimed by our mechanic who first saw the car after the engine was destroyed. We were insured for it but a incompetent mechanic by the name of Chris who worked for AAMI checked the car 3 months later and said it was not contaminated fuel but he did not know what it was that ruined our engine. Mind you he came and checked the car and took a sample 3 months later in a vegemite jar.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelBMW 6 Series
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim DateJune 2016
Claim ApprovedNo
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Carole Keast
Carole Keast
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Stalling and excuses and uncooperative claims processors

published

Aami customer (Red-P-plater, daddy’s policy) parked on hill and forgot handbrake, vehicle rolled 50m down steep hill, ran into our camperbus (April 2019), claim against driver still waiting on settlement ...

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Mustang FM Fastback GT
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Carlos Lauthier
Carlos Lauthier
  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

CTP insurance worst night mare. Pathetic answers to avoid paying. Avoid AAMI at all costs

published

9 Month since hit by a car and still going. AAMI now aiming at recovering 50% of my medical. Surgery took place after evidence of damages from accident. AAMI said I should have used a different road.

August 31st 2019 Update: AAMI the worst insurer in the market

AAMI the worst insurer. High in advertising, irresponsible in efficient process of a claim. Increased bad reputation. Stay out / change / look elsewhere for a responsible insurer. The worst in the market.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelPush Bike
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim DateNovember 2018
Claim ApprovedNo
Ghazal Akhtar
Ghazal AkhtarSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Get Advantage of customers

published

AAMI car insurance get advantage of customers by putting a very low price value for car in insurance policy. Their assessment is not accurate at all. When it comes to write off situation the amount of money they pay you can not make up any lost at all. They told me 6 months later that the price of my car is more than when I got insurance, how is it possible???? They do not accept their mistake as they thought their very big insurance company. Do not use AAMI anymore. They do not look after customer at all.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHuyndai
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedNo

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
We compared reviews on the Top 5 Most Popular Car Insurance Providers

If you’re looking for cheap car insurance that's also reliable, ProductReview.com.au can help. We’ve sifted through 1000s of car insurance reviews on Budget Direct, AAMI, youi, Woolworths and Australian Seniors. Simply read on for a summary of what drivers liked the most and least about these top five most viewed providers.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.1 June 2020
we-compared-reviews-on-the-top-5-most-popular-car-insurance-providers
Next
sam
sam
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

very poor service on minor claim - absolutely NO recommendation

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelNISSAN XTRAIL
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedNo

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Trevor Scott
Trevor ScottGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Appalling quality repair

published
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ranoj R.
Ranoj R.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

This is the worst insurance company ever better stay away from it

published

They don't want to pay any claims and if you cancel your policy they absolutely take 15 days and if you call them They will tell you your case manager is not available at the moment and they will play with you all the time
Better avoid this insurance company AAMI
Poor Insurance company ever

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Corolla E170 Sedan
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedNo

Dodgy practice, misleading advertising

published

The other vehicle done a hit and run, damaged my car, and they fled the scene. I filed a police report with a witness and was given a police reference number. AAMI website site on third party claims, " You’re also covered up to $5,000 for damage to your car by an uninsured driver at fault." ... but AAMI wouldn't cover without the other persons details, and didn't even want to see the police reference number. AAMI uses dodgy practices to avoid claims, so you have been warned.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party and Third Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Corolla E120
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedNo

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Money never well spent.

published

If your car is more than 50000 dollars, dont choose Aami. They have treated me like a second class citizen/criminal, with investigations ongoing. They cant even say where my car is!!

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

18 years with AAMI. Always paid on time. When it came to claim. I did the running around and give them proof

published

They emailed all my personal details to the 3rd party involved. After the 5th follow up call, They said the investigation consultant put the wrong email address on your file.
I was angry and screaming but not swearing as I work for a call center for another company so I kept it as professional as possible. The operator then told me :You will loose this case because of your behavior.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
Stan
StanSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Terrible

published

SO BAD IT'S ALMOST CRIMINAL.
You may save a little money on your policy, but heaven help you if you ever need to make a claim. You're better off paying a bit more for a reputable insurance company. Don't say I didn't warn you.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateNovember 2018
Claim ApprovedNo
Dan
Dan
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Like many others, customer relations is deplorable.

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelLand Rover Range Rover
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2018
Claim ApprovedNo
NipunaEranga
NipunaErangaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worst car insurance. I would never recommended. biggest mistake in my life. unlucky club

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJuly 2018
Claim ApprovedNo
Rachel
Rachel
  • 2 reviews

I wouldn’t even give them one star

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMercedes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateDecember 2018
Claim ApprovedNo
Liam
LiamSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Lack of Empathy

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelNissan Patrol Y61 / GU
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
ScrewedConsumer
ScrewedConsumerAdelaide
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Stay away! Aami are you're best friend until its time for them to pay!

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive, Third Party Property Damage and Third Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHolden Commodore VX
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMay 2018
Claim ApprovedNo
Ron V
Ron VPerth, WA
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

This is how all insurance companies should operate

published
Value for Money
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
2/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMay 2018
Claim ApprovedNo
Page 2 of 2

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.