See the Best Car Insurance in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by AAMI

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.5 (93)
  • Customer Service
    2.4 (94)
  • Timeliness
    2.4 (67)
  • Job Satisfaction
    2.4 (51)
  • Transparency
    2.4 (76)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (18)
    • 1-2 weeks (17)
    • 2-4 weeks (19)
    • 1-2 months (13)
    • 3+ months (14)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (102) · No
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
klubear
klubearGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 33 reviews
  • 29 likes

AAMI took away all my choices and left me stranded on Tuesday night.

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota RAV4
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Sue
SueSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Still have to pay insurance policy even when car written off

published

Car insured with AAMI for 5 years. Car in accident and written off. When accessing the claim amount they deducted the remaining 4 months insurance for a car that doesn't exist. Are you serious. Sure charge a cancellation fee but don't charge all the remaining insurance for a car that is gone to the Car Gods.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota HiLux
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Good Experience

published

Have 2 comprehensive vehicle insurance policies with AAMI, made a claim this year for minor damage caused by another vehicle whose details i had. I found the claim process quick and painless l did refuse to accept their 1st preference repairer and was escalated to a manager where i argued for another repairer l was familiar with for good work who was also a registered AAMI repairer but not promoted by AAMI. I had a hire car arranged and taxi to/from repairer. Based on my experience and I'm not someone who tolerates bad service I couldn't fault my experience and would recommend.
Only downside is their premiums increase by double digit % annually however if you call their c/s agent does have authority to reduce by 3%-5%.

Value for Money
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda 2
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Bej
Bejbrisbane
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

AAMI does not

published

No value for money ,they have worked hard not to help.AAMI like to hide key information in the back pages. I do not trust them and will not use them again.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
3/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Corner cutting repairs (WHISTLEBLOWER INFO)

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Claudia Morgan
Claudia MorganSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not lucky to be with AAMI

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota RAV4 XA40 AWD 2.2L Turbo-Diesel Cruiser
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Doug N
Doug NTownsville
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Unbelievable experience. Absolutely disgraceful and shonky.

published
Value for Money
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelSubaru Outback 5GEN 3.6R
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Doug N
Doug N
Doug N
Doug N

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
We compared reviews on the Top 5 Most Popular Car Insurance Providers

If you’re looking for cheap car insurance that's also reliable, ProductReview.com.au can help. We’ve sifted through 1000s of car insurance reviews on Budget Direct, AAMI, youi, Woolworths and Australian Seniors. Simply read on for a summary of what drivers liked the most and least about these top five most viewed providers.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.1 June 2020
we-compared-reviews-on-the-top-5-most-popular-car-insurance-providers
Next
Angelito
AngelitoGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Easy and no red tapes regarding claims

published

I would like to thank this insurance for their excellent customer service and of course for processing my claims so quickly. I took me only few minutes to claim for my car repair and booked me in straight away for repair. I’m very happy that I decided to insured my car with AAMI. So for those looking for good insurance, this insurance is highly recommended. A+++

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
TMJ
TMJMelboune
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

13 Months - 80k lost.

published

13 months they refused to admit my flooded car couldn't be repaired. They were just forced to scrap the car last week by AFCA. Lookup AFCA Determination 703903. They had the car for 9 of 13 months and I lost my job. These people are sick and twisted, laughing at my distress in call recordings telling me I'm being silly. You cannot trust them to assess your car, treat you like a human, you cannot trust them to update you, you cannot trust they will comply with the Privacy Act, they may conspire with manufacturers to make sure you cannot mount a defence.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Ranger PX.II / PX.III 4x4 2.0L Bi-Turbo Diesel Raptor
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Josh wineti
Josh wineti
  • 15 reviews
  • 1 like

Great service

published

I have been with AAMI for the last 5 or 6 years, could be more. Always very helpful and great on roadside assistance. When I lodged claims they take all the pressure off. Even through these toughs times gave me a great deal and discount, being off work. Much appreciated.

Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
Phil Hicks
Phil HicksGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

5 stars for the person in Melbourne 1 star for the call taker in the phillipines

published

Always been with AAMI and they are great. They are competitive on price for long term customers HOWEVER. They Now have call takers in the Philippines I almost left them because of this. They are hard to understand and even thought they try they can't trully empathise with a fire that has consumed my fence.

Value for Money
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Cindy5
Cindy5sydney
  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

steer away from AAMI, they only us their own repairers

published

I am shocked with the experience I had with AAMI during this car claim:

not being able to take it to my preferred repairer, have to use their repairer
the extensive delay is in acceptable (2 months and no progress)
the lady AAMI operator offered no help, rude and unprofessional, kept on interrupting the conversation and eventually hung up on me

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolvo XC60
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cory M.
Cory M.Canberra 2600, ACT
  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

Near enough is good enough attitude

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Danikaanne95
Danikaanne95Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Aami is slack, 0/10 would recommend!

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda 3 BK
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Allen L.
Allen L.
  • 2 reviews

Very good customer service and swifty repair

published

Car hit by someone's car so needed to make claim. Claim online application was easy and fast. Customer Service rep followed up very promptly. Repair was swifty and done in one day while new bumper, reverse senor and side panel required. Uber for free to and from repair center. Repair center staff were nice and professional. Been through different insurers but AAMI has given best experience.

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelSubaru Liberty 6GEN 2.5i Premium
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes

The worst Company ever!

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelLand Rover Discovery
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
WSK
WSKNortheast, VIC

Is this company going to survive?

published

Have been with AAMI for over 10 years. Car severely damaged several weeks ago and getting no response to repeated enquiries about the progress of the claim. According to the website the claim was approved weeks ago.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes

Was once a good service but sadly no longer

published

After claiming for writing off car in early Feb, I was made to pay the excess up front. Since then I have had no contact from them as to when they will payout my claim. When I call their claims dept they say I have to speak to the "Total Loss department". No one ever answers the phone but apparently my call is very important to them ... haha. I have emailed them - no response. Written to their complaints - no response. I'm getting worried, Its starting to feel like they have cash flow problems ?

Value for Money
3/5
Customer Service
2/5
Timeliness
1/5
Transparency
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Chan t.
Chan t.Perth, WA

Aami -efficient, quick and wonderful service

published

I have been with many insurance company in my lifetime . I must say AAMI have been nothing but amazing . Both times I was in minor car accidents, I had no trouble getting my claims . It was so simple and quick ! They even offered Uber service to and from home. So thank u once again from the bottom of my heart AAMI.

Value for Money
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
oscar
oscarPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Making a written of claim. Poor communication and no follow up

published

My car had recently had an accident and I make a claim with them. I took my car to their suggested repair center the next day they told me they had to transfer it to their own repair center. After that there has been no communication from them. I had to call and found out that my car has been escalated to be written off with no formal communication from them. I call again after a week and was told to either to call there written off team or wait 10 to 14 business days. Its been 3 weeks and I still could not reach there written off team as there is a await time of 1 hr and you have to tired of waiting. Still chasing them terrible service on.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Corolla
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Peter A.
Peter A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Still Waiting after 3 weeks for my write off payment!

published

My car was written off by aami in 6th Feb after hail damage. Aami advised they would call within 3 days and ask for bank details. After no call in 12 days I called them and gave my details on 19/02. It’s now 25/02 and I’ve had no call, no payment. Not good enough aami, you were quick to take my payment of the excess, and to tell me there was no refund on the unused portion of my 10 day old insurance premium. Pay up now please.

Value for Money
3/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Fiesta WP
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Matt
Matt
  • 2 reviews

Smooth experience

published

Had a really smooth experience with AAMI, from the initial claims call, follow up txts and emails, to sorting a rental car while mine was being repaired. They organised Ubers from the repairer to the rental place and back. Even the repairer Capital Smart was very professional. Used to be with Coles, AAMI is far better.

Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
Choose wisely
Choose wiselySydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

misleading advertising of rating 1 so beware all you loyal aami customers

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
3/5
Job Satisfaction
3/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHyundai Accent RB (Hatchback) Active
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Fastcat45
Fastcat45North Western Region, NSW

Great service

published

Great company who have quick response times. Whole family of 5 have all policies with Aami for many years. Recently had to make a claim for the Canberra hail storms and whole issue was resolved within 14days from start to finish.

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelKia Cerato Sedan GT
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Niki
NikiSydney

Awesome!

published

I have gone to other firms but keep coming back. By far the best, most hassle-free when making claims. Great service, no fuss. I've been lucky to be with Aami!

Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.