Listing monitored by AAMI

Reviews

1.0
46 reviews
5
(0)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(45)
  • Value for Money
    1.2 (42)
  • Customer Service
    1.1 (42)
  • Timeliness
    1.1 (29)
  • Job Satisfaction
    1.0 (22)
  • Transparency
    1.1 (35)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (1)
    • 1-2 weeks (3)
    • 2-4 weeks (2)
    • 1-2 months (11)
    • 3+ months (17)
  • Claim ApprovedYes · No (45)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Ashwin Vyas
Ashwin Vyas
  • 2 reviews

Absolutely unlucky to be with AAMI

published

My car was written off stating that the cost of repairs is more although there was a damage only in front panels of the car. I drove car to their repairer and it was in perfect drivable condition. After few days they said they are sending the car to Manheim. Had I been having any idea about my perfectly drivable car will be sent to write off I would be taking my tag from my car. Now I am chasing AAMI for return of my E-tag. AAMI representative gives beuqacratic reply to me and they are rude and offensive.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMay 2021
Claim ApprovedNo
Scott R.
Scott R.Sydney, NSW

Stay Far Far Away from AAMI!

published

I had to deal with AAMI as a result of one of their insured drivers crashing into me (other driver at fault). AAAMI were completely uncompassionate, dishonest, fraudulent, bullying, time wasting and generally terrible to deal with for even the smallest matters. I would never insure with AAMI, not recommend anyone else does.

My opinion here seems to be in line with everyone else that has had to deal with them too!

STAY AWAY FROM AAMI!!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedNo

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Andrea
AndreaSouth East Queensland, QLD

The worst insurance. Keep away

published

I had an accident (not my fault) a driver hit me from behind, I contacted Aami and gave the personal details of the other driver. Aami never contacted the driver, not even his insurance, he did not give me information about my car, even when I called the information was very lack and it seemed that they did not know they had my car. Finally, 3 weeks after I left my car, they called me just to tell me that they declared my car as worv (but after I realize they declare like that my car one week before that they call me) since the price to fix it according to them was more than 6000 dollars when quotes from mechanics I asked are not more than 2000 dollars.
The aim of insurance is to help you not give you more headaches.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMay 2021
Claim ApprovedNo
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
STG
STGSouthwest, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

If can review minus stars would have done so

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo

Can’t give less than 1 star.

published

1. Worthless insurance company/ Sucks money out of customer
2. Roadside assistance; need to lodge the claim beside the battery is down or forget the key inside your car.
3. Lodged a claim and need to wait weeks and weeks to get it resolved and I fixed my car and paid it from my pocket.
4. They help themselves not the customer

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedNo

Related Articles

Previous

Best Super Funds in 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the best super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
best-super-funds-in-2020

Best Credit Cards in 2020!

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the best credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
best-credit-cards-in-2020

We compared reviews on the Top 5 Most Popular Car Insurance Providers

If you’re looking for cheap car insurance that's also reliable, ProductReview.com.au can help. We’ve sifted through 1000s of car insurance reviews on Budget Direct, AAMI, youi, Woolworths and Australian Seniors. Simply read on for a summary of what drivers liked the most and least about these top five most viewed providers.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.1 June 2020
we-compared-reviews-on-the-top-5-most-popular-car-insurance-providers
Next
ChittyD
ChittyDSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Beware if you have a parked car accident

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHyundai Getz TB SX
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateFebruary 2021
Claim ApprovedNo

Car stolen - no payout - after 43 years of AAMI being my insurer. Disgraceful treatment

published

I have been with Aami for 43 years as my car insurer. Car got stolen in January and they have rejected the claim. Headed to AFCA to resolve. Shouldn’t have come to this!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHonda Civic 10th Gen (Hatchback) VTi-L
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedNo
Andrew Buckley
Andrew BuckleySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews

Rip Off

published

These guys won't pay out on a simple theft case. They just try and find excuses and use exclusions which don't apply. I would avoid them and their parent Suncorp at all costs.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf Mk.7 Hatchback GTI
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedNo

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
MDC
MDCSouthwest, VIC

Pathetic

published
  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMercedes-Benz R-Class W251
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Max B.
Max B.South East Queensland, QLD

AAMI do not honour their PDS

published

AAMI have denied my insurance claim based on an irrelevant exclusion in their PDS. According to AAMI, they do not cover a stolen car claim if the car was for sale at the time it was stolen! This is contrary to their PDS (which logically excludes cover AFTER the car has been sold) and should go as a fair warning to anyone considering AAMI as an insurer. They have been slow to acknowledge and process the clam and continue to draw it out as long as possible. I am now being forced to go to AFCA for a fair outcome.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedNo
shamsuddin
shamsuddinCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

poor and lazy service

published

very terrible and poor service of aami car insurance.. My care was stolen two month ago..... still claim has not resolved yet. I dont know what they want to prove. I have been suffering without a car. but they dont have feeling of any suffering ..
whenever i called them , they have only one answer.. the claim in in process with the investigation. although, they have debited basic premium on the 1st day of claim...

poor service ..

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelKia Sorento AWD Diesel
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Hosan
HosanGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Not repairing my car,it’s more than 3 weeks,no more longer better service,go somewhere else,0422283475

published

Not repairing my car,paid access already,will complain relevant authorities,for unfair trading,I will also complain to disputes resolution team,then court remedies,may be they refuse 50% claim,that’s there profit,there advertising and product description not matching

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Falcon BA
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Sally
SallySouthwest, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

AAMI are the worst insurance company I've dealt with.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeThird Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHolden Cruze
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Gasoleeni
GasoleeniSouth East Queensland, QLD

10 years customer, but never again.

published

Been with the company over 10 years, no claims etc , When I was rear ended, I was at fault because I was coming from a merging lane, but apparently the law is wrong.

“Here the blue car must give way to the orange.”

  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Prado
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedNo

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Ghazi
GhaziSydney, NSW

Avoid at all cost. Please read before you consider dealing with aami.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelLand Rover Discovery Sport HSE Luxury SD4 (2.0L Diesel)
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Trayay
Trayayasked
Car Insurance

Why AAMI has my comprehensive car insurance increased by more than $140 dollars since last year from $343.40 to $487.84 for this renewal??????? I haven't paid it yet and feel inclined not to. That is a ridiculous increase!!!

1 answer
AAMI
Customer Service S.AAMI

Hi Trayay, thanks for reaching out. As this is a third party review site, we can't assist with policies through here. Please email social@aami.com.au with your full name, policy number, and date of birth for ID, or give us a call on 13 22 44. Our team is available 8am-10pm AEST every day.

Cindy Rice
Cindy Riceasked
Car Insurance

My pH no is [Number Removed], My name is Cindy Rice and am a AMMI member, I need roadside assist now rego [Number Removed], Can someone come to Woodlark st Lismore NSW CNR of Mary G's hotel, my address as a customer is [Address Removed], plz can you call me asap

3 answers
Nik_41
Nik_41

Cindy you really shouldn’t put your personal information on the internet. They are not going to come to you from this message, it is a review site.

AAMI
Customer Service S.AAMI

Hi Cindy, sorry to hear you're having car trouble. We're unable to provide service through here as it is a third party review site. Please give our Roadside Assist team a call on 1800 154 810 and they'll be able to send someone out for you.

Please delete this post, as it contains your personal details. In order to keep your details secure, please do not ever post them publicly, or in private messages unless requested directly from a trusted source. - M

Trayay
Trayay

Customer Service .. please call her to advise!! Show some decent customer service! She sounds stressed!

ChittyD
ChittyDasked
Car Insurance - Comprehensive

I had a trolley driver damage my car while it was parked. 'Hit and Run' situation and there is shopping centre video evidence showing what happened. However, AAMI in their wisdom have decided to deem that the excess paid to have my car repair will not be refunded on the basis that I did not provide the at-fault person's details? How could I as I was not there when this happened. Seems like a clever way to avoid the work involved in clearing me and going after the trolley-company contractor's insurance company to pay for my damages. It this not part of the Insurance service?

No answers
See all AAMI Car Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and AAMI representatives

AAMI Car Insurance

Details

Underwritten by the Suncorp Network, AAMI offers four car insurance policies: CTP green slip for NSW, ACT and SA, Comprehensive, Third Party Property Damage Only, and Fire, Theft and Third Party Property Damage.

Points of praise for AAMI:

  • AAMI's top score was given for its timeliness in responding to claims.
  • Friendly and personable customer service was appreciated. Two customers reported AAMI ‘going above and beyond’ by helping them generously during times of financial hardship.
  • Multiple reviewers reported that AAMI offered to organise Ubers from the repairer to and from their homes. Others enjoyed a smooth and hassle-free experience when making claims, with quick response times from AAMI.

Pain points with AAMI:

  • AAMI’s chosen repairers and roadside-assist contractors were thought to be low quality
  • Premiums increasing considerably even with no claims being made (this increase in premiums appeared to also apply to customers who had taken out multiple policies with AAMI, e.g. home and contents insurance along with car insurance).
Compare all 4 AAMI Car Insurance
CategoryRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Business, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and Travel
Coverage TypeCompulsory Third Party (CTP Green Slip)ComprehensiveThird Party Property DamageThird Party, Fire and Theft
UnderwriterAAIAAIAAIAAI
Legal Liability Cover Not IncludedIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Not OfferedOptional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverNot OfferedZero Excess Optional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Choice of RepairerNot ApplicableNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Not Applicable

Included, up to $90 per day for unlimited days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location. Benefit ceases when:

  • your car is returned undamaged;
  • your car is repaired and returned to you;
  • your claim is settled

Not Included

Not Included

Emergency Transport & AccommodationNot ApplicableIncluded up to $250 per claim for Transport costs, and up to $1,000 for Emergency Accomodation if you are more than 100km from home (combined with Emergency Repairs and Personal Property)Reasonable taxi costs included for up to 2 journeys (applies to 'Damage by uninsured drivers' claims only)Reasonable taxi costs included for up to 2 journeys
Towing Costs Not ApplicableIncludedIncluded (only for a claim made under 'Damage by uninsured drivers'Included
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Not Applicable

Included - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location. Benefit ceases when:

  • your car is repaired and returned to you; or
  • your claim is settled

Not Included

Not Included

Essential / Emergency RepairsNot ApplicableIncluded (combined with Emergency Accomodation & Personal Property), up to $1,000 per incidentNot IncludedNot Included
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot ApplicableNot OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Hire Car after Theft

Not Applicable

Included up to 21 days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location

Not Included

Included up to 21 days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location

Lock and Key ReplacementNot ApplicableNot IncludedNot IncludedIncluded up to $1,000
Transit Cover Not ApplicableNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Trailer & Caravan CoverNot ApplicableTwo-Wheel Trailer Cover included up to $1,000Not IncludedNot Included
Child Safety Seats and PramsNot ApplicableIncluded up to $500 per claimNot IncludedNot Included
New-for-old Car Replacement

Not Applicable

Included, if you are the first registered owner of the car and it is less than 2 years old

Not Included

Not Included

Personal Property CoverNot ApplicableIncluded up to $1,000 (combined with Emergency Accomodation and Repairs)Not IncludedIncluded up to $500 (does not include cash, tools and items use for business or trade)
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not ApplicableNot ApplicableIncluded up to $5,000Included up to $5,000
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
FireNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
CollisionNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Natural EventsNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Theft or Attempted TheftNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
Compare all 4 AAMI Car Insurance
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.