See the Best Car Insurance in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by AAMI

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.5 (92)
  • Customer Service
    2.4 (93)
  • Timeliness
    2.4 (66)
  • Job Satisfaction
    2.3 (50)
  • Transparency
    2.4 (75)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (18)
    • 1-2 weeks (16)
    • 2-4 weeks (19)
    • 1-2 months (13)
    • 3+ months (14)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (101) · No
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Mark S
Mark SSydney, NSW

I will never use them again! Be warned

published

I was the NOT at fault driver and my vehicle was a Total Loss.
The vehicle was well under insured and AAMI takes out the registration and CTP insurance amount away from the final pay out figure and also took the full years payment for the insurance and then took out the full years insurance amount which, this totalled several hundred dollars. I have been with AAMI for a long time but now when it was time to claim they took every cent away, other insurance companies do not do this! Buyer be warned!

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
4/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateOctober 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Mark
MarkVictoria
  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

2 months in and still driving around with a massive chip in my windscreen

published
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolvo XC60 MK.II D4 Inscription
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJuly 2021
Claim ApprovedYes

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Brad
BradWagga Wagga
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

I would highly recommend

published

I have had car insurance with AAMI for quite a while, for the past 5+ years anyway. For me (not everyone admittedly) they have always had a very competitive premium. This year I was involved in my first ever accident (low speed and nobody was hurt thankfully), and AAMI handled it brilliantly. With my phone call from the scene, they let me know what to do, how to stay safe, and what information to gather. The phone lodgment was easy and seamless, and AAMI took care of the rest. I am very happy to be insured by AAMI, and will be happy to recommend to friends and family.

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Transparency
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMay 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Wiser now
Wiser nowCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fast, efficient, friendly service

published

Like many other reviewers, I have been concerned about premium increases which seem to unfairly penalise faithful customers.
But all that is forgotten with a recent claim. It took 10 days from accident to having a new car in our garage. At all times I felt this insurance company actually cared about looking after me, and as quickly as possible. Based on this experience, I'll be transferring insurance on another car back to AAMI, and if that costs extra then I'll deem it worthwhile.

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Transparency
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateAugust 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
LadyOfThree
LadyOfThreeQLD, 4570
  • 126 reviews
  • 58 likes

I really love AAMI.

published
Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHyundai iMax TQ-W
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
scotiwi
scotiwiAU
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worst Customer Service EVER, errors at every turn

published

Not-at-fault claim, errors at every turn and honestly the WORST customer service I have ever encountered. As a last straw I rang their 'customer relations' phone number however, that goes through to an automated voicemail without even a human greeting to let you know you have called the right place - this really added to an already abhorrent experience. When I raised this as a possible PR fail, they applied the same lack lustre care factor as actually sending my vehicle to the correct repairer and getting it fixed. The whole ordeal has been SO unpleasant that after 20 years of insuring with the Suncorp Group we will be taking every single policy we have away from them.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelTesla Model 3 Performance
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJune 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Saru S.
Saru S.Sydney, NSW

Never Ever go with them !!

published

They are taking more than a month to do minor repair. They keep lying saying it will be ready by next Friday but that next Friday never comes! Ridiculous Service!

Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateApril 2021
Claim ApprovedYes

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
We compared reviews on the Top 5 Most Popular Car Insurance Providers

If you’re looking for cheap car insurance that's also reliable, ProductReview.com.au can help. We’ve sifted through 1000s of car insurance reviews on Budget Direct, AAMI, youi, Woolworths and Australian Seniors. Simply read on for a summary of what drivers liked the most and least about these top five most viewed providers.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.1 June 2020
we-compared-reviews-on-the-top-5-most-popular-car-insurance-providers
Next
Beemee
Beemee Sydney, NSW

You are never lucky with AAMI

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda cx3
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateApril 2021
Claim ApprovedYes

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Paul J.
Paul J.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Shonky.

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Third Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota 86 ZN6 GTS Automatic
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim DateMay 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anjali K.
Anjali K.Perth, WA

Ridiculous Customer Service!

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHonda CR-V
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateApril 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Isobel S
Isobel S
  • 2 reviews

So happy with them

published

I have made 2 not-at-fault claims through AAMI and they have been incredible! Organised everything from tow trucks to taxis whilst on the phone to them. So kind and helpful. Very happy I paid for the hire car on my policy as I do feel that has been worth it.

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
HangrySara
HangrySaraGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

A 100% recommended insurer

published
Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Escape ZG Titanium
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMay 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mat
MatAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

AAMI Cancelations beware

published
Value for Money
4/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
AAMI
Customer Service S.AAMI
Vasanth S.
Vasanth S.Sydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Worst Car insurance - Please stay away

published

I went with AAMI because of low insurance policy - Got a call from repair no parts in town for Toyota Corolla which is hard to believe and they informed it will take another 8 weeks for the parts to arrive.

I think AAMI is big SCAM it should be avoided at any cost and go with proper car insurance company

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Corolla
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
Rocco G.
Rocco G.
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Avoid AAMI and Suncorp at all costs

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
3/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelSubaru WRX V1 STI Premium
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateFebruary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

-van co d.
-van co d.asked
Car Insurance

how to pay my policy renewal online

1 answer
Ray Nickleigh
Ray Nickleigh

If you car insurance renewal is with AAMI, do not pay it and find another insurer who will not void your warranty. Hope this helps you.

Trayay
Trayayasked
Car Insurance

Why AAMI has my comprehensive car insurance increased by more than $140 dollars since last year from $343.40 to $487.84 for this renewal??????? I haven't paid it yet and feel inclined not to. That is a ridiculous increase!!!

1 answer
AAMI
Customer Service S.AAMI

Hi Trayay, thanks for reaching out. As this is a third party review site, we can't assist with policies through here. Please email social@aami.com.au with your full name, policy number, and date of birth for ID, or give us a call on 13 22 44. Our team is available 8am-10pm AEST every day.

Cindy Rice
Cindy Riceasked
Car Insurance

My pH no is [Number Removed], My name is Cindy Rice and am a AMMI member, I need roadside assist now rego [Number Removed], Can someone come to Woodlark st Lismore NSW CNR of Mary G's hotel, my address as a customer is [Address Removed], plz can you call me asap

3 answers
Nik_41
Nik_41

Cindy you really shouldn’t put your personal information on the internet. They are not going to come to you from this message, it is a review site.

AAMI
Customer Service S.AAMI

Hi Cindy, sorry to hear you're having car trouble. We're unable to provide service through here as it is a third party review site. Please give our Roadside Assist team a call on 1800 154 810 and they'll be able to send someone out for you.

Please delete this post, as it contains your personal details. In order to keep your details secure, please do not ever post them publicly, or in private messages unless requested directly from a trusted source. - M

Trayay
Trayay

Customer Service .. please call her to advise!! Show some decent customer service! She sounds stressed!

See all AAMI Car Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and AAMI representatives

AAMI Car Insurance

Details

Underwritten by the Suncorp Network, AAMI offers four car insurance policies: CTP green slip for NSW, ACT and SA, Comprehensive, Third Party Property Damage Only, and Fire, Theft and Third Party Property Damage.

Points of praise for AAMI:

  • AAMI's top score was given for its timeliness in responding to claims.
  • Friendly and personable customer service was appreciated. Two customers reported AAMI ‘going above and beyond’ by helping them generously during times of financial hardship.
  • Multiple reviewers reported that AAMI offered to organise Ubers from the repairer to and from their homes. Others enjoyed a smooth and hassle-free experience when making claims, with quick response times from AAMI.

Pain points with AAMI:

  • AAMI’s chosen repairers and roadside-assist contractors were thought to be low quality
  • Premiums increasing considerably even with no claims being made (this increase in premiums appeared to also apply to customers who had taken out multiple policies with AAMI, e.g. home and contents insurance along with car insurance).
Compare all 4 AAMI Car Insurance
CategoryRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Business, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and Travel
Coverage TypeCompulsory Third Party (CTP Green Slip)ComprehensiveThird Party Property DamageThird Party, Fire and Theft
UnderwriterAAIAAIAAIAAI
Legal Liability Cover Not IncludedIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Not OfferedOptional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverNot OfferedZero Excess Optional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Choice of RepairerNot ApplicableNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Not Applicable

Included, up to $90 per day for unlimited days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location. Benefit ceases when:

  • your car is returned undamaged;
  • your car is repaired and returned to you;
  • your claim is settled

Not Included

Not Included

Emergency Transport & AccommodationNot ApplicableIncluded up to $250 per claim for Transport costs, and up to $1,000 for Emergency Accomodation if you are more than 100km from home (combined with Emergency Repairs and Personal Property)Reasonable taxi costs included for up to 2 journeys (applies to 'Damage by uninsured drivers' claims only)Reasonable taxi costs included for up to 2 journeys
Towing Costs Not ApplicableIncludedIncluded (only for a claim made under 'Damage by uninsured drivers'Included
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Not Applicable

Included - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location. Benefit ceases when:

  • your car is repaired and returned to you; or
  • your claim is settled

Not Included

Not Included

Essential / Emergency RepairsNot ApplicableIncluded (combined with Emergency Accomodation & Personal Property), up to $1,000 per incidentNot IncludedNot Included
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot ApplicableNot OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Hire Car after Theft

Not Applicable

Included up to 21 days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location

Not Included

Included up to 21 days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location

Lock and Key ReplacementNot ApplicableNot IncludedNot IncludedIncluded up to $1,000
Transit Cover Not ApplicableNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Trailer & Caravan CoverNot ApplicableTwo-Wheel Trailer Cover included up to $1,000Not IncludedNot Included
Child Safety Seats and PramsNot ApplicableIncluded up to $500 per claimNot IncludedNot Included
New-for-old Car Replacement

Not Applicable

Included, if you are the first registered owner of the car and it is less than 2 years old

Not Included

Not Included

Personal Property CoverNot ApplicableIncluded up to $1,000 (combined with Emergency Accomodation and Repairs)Not IncludedIncluded up to $500 (does not include cash, tools and items use for business or trade)
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not ApplicableNot ApplicableIncluded up to $5,000Included up to $5,000
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
FireNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
CollisionNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Natural EventsNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Theft or Attempted TheftNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
Compare all 4 AAMI Car Insurance
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.