See the Best Car Insurance in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by AAMI

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.5 (100)
  • Customer Service
    2.4 (101)
  • Timeliness
    2.4 (74)
  • Job Satisfaction
    2.4 (58)
  • Transparency
    2.5 (83)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (21)
    • 1-2 weeks (18)
    • 2-4 weeks (20)
    • 1-2 months (13)
    • 3+ months (16)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (109) · No
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Jess
JessGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Disappointment after 30+ years customer

published

Recently I was hit with a massive hail and storm with the fallen tree. I have been with AAMI compressive car insurance for 30 years plus. The car was total write off. i am so disappointment with the service of the outcome. They are not transparent, not customer service skill. The person on the phone are so rude and not willing to help.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateOctober 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Robert
RobertSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Third world country call centres

published

don't use aami - they can't even support australian jobs and now outsource their call centre to a third world country that uses scripts and robotic replies to assist you in your time of stress

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelTesla Model 3
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Peter
PeterGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Incompetent and Unprofessional Company

published

I have trying for over 4 months to finalise my comprehensive car insurance claim with AAMI. The problem is they do not respond to any emails for weeks and do not give any information if you are lucky enough to get s response. Unable to get information by phone so the whole process is frustrating. Would never recommend AAMI for any insurance. Worst experience ever. Zero stars.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJuly 2021
Claim ApprovedYes

You are indeed Lucky with AAMI!

published

A truck hit my rear bumper. Lodge a claim via app, was able to speak with AAMI team and the process was swift and easy.

They provided me all the details that I need to know and assisted me. What a smooth process! They indeed live with their slogan “lucky your with AAMI”.

And now, it’s all been done and just need to brong my car to the repairer. Easy!

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
4/5
Job Satisfaction
4/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHolden Cruze JH
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateNovember 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Arthur
ArthurSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Excellent service, communication and repair after my at-fault accident

published

I had an accident about a month ago where I was at fault and there was considerable damage to the front of my VW Golf. AAMI arranged to have my car towed to their preferred repairer and assessed the damage, accepting my claim. The estimate of 3 weeks for the repair was accurate, and the repair job was of such a high quality that I could not tell that the car had ever been in an accident. I was very satisfied with AAMI's service and communication.

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf Mk.6
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateSeptember 2021
Claim ApprovedYes

Awesome Customer Service from AAMI and Wizard Hail repair

published
Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Camry ASV50R / AVV50R Atara R
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
Zulfee
ZulfeeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Good until you involve in an accident crap repair, long time and hard to contact anyone from the department to discuss

published

Took them two months to fix the car
Didn’t repair the accident part properly and didn’t even fix some parts
The car and doors start making noise after two weeks of repair.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Camry
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
We compared reviews on the Top 5 Most Popular Car Insurance Providers

If you’re looking for cheap car insurance that's also reliable, ProductReview.com.au can help. We’ve sifted through 1000s of car insurance reviews on Budget Direct, AAMI, youi, Woolworths and Australian Seniors. Simply read on for a summary of what drivers liked the most and least about these top five most viewed providers.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.1 June 2020
we-compared-reviews-on-the-top-5-most-popular-car-insurance-providers
Next
Mark S
Mark SSydney, NSW

I will never use them again! Be warned

published

I was the NOT at fault driver and my vehicle was a Total Loss.
The vehicle was well under insured and AAMI takes out the registration and CTP insurance amount away from the final pay out figure and also took the full years payment for the insurance and then took out the full years insurance amount which, this totalled several hundred dollars. I have been with AAMI for a long time but now when it was time to claim they took every cent away, other insurance companies do not do this! Buyer be warned!

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
4/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateOctober 2021
Claim ApprovedYes

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Mark
MarkVictoria
  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

2 months in and still driving around with a massive chip in my windscreen

published
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolvo XC60 MK.II D4 Inscription
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJuly 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brad
BradWagga Wagga
  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

I would highly recommend

published

I have had car insurance with AAMI for quite a while, for the past 5+ years anyway. For me (not everyone admittedly) they have always had a very competitive premium. This year I was involved in my first ever accident (low speed and nobody was hurt thankfully), and AAMI handled it brilliantly. With my phone call from the scene, they let me know what to do, how to stay safe, and what information to gather. The phone lodgment was easy and seamless, and AAMI took care of the rest. I am very happy to be insured by AAMI, and will be happy to recommend to friends and family.

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Transparency
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMay 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Wiser now
Wiser nowCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fast, efficient, friendly service

published

Like many other reviewers, I have been concerned about premium increases which seem to unfairly penalise faithful customers.
But all that is forgotten with a recent claim. It took 10 days from accident to having a new car in our garage. At all times I felt this insurance company actually cared about looking after me, and as quickly as possible. Based on this experience, I'll be transferring insurance on another car back to AAMI, and if that costs extra then I'll deem it worthwhile.

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Transparency
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateAugust 2021
Claim ApprovedYes

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
LadyOfThree
LadyOfThreeQLD, 4570
  • 126 reviews
  • 58 likes

I really love AAMI.

published
Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHyundai iMax TQ-W
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
scotiwi
scotiwiAU
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worst Customer Service EVER, errors at every turn

published

Not-at-fault claim, errors at every turn and honestly the WORST customer service I have ever encountered. As a last straw I rang their 'customer relations' phone number however, that goes through to an automated voicemail without even a human greeting to let you know you have called the right place - this really added to an already abhorrent experience. When I raised this as a possible PR fail, they applied the same lack lustre care factor as actually sending my vehicle to the correct repairer and getting it fixed. The whole ordeal has been SO unpleasant that after 20 years of insuring with the Suncorp Group we will be taking every single policy we have away from them.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelTesla Model 3 Performance
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJune 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Saru S.
Saru S.Sydney, NSW

Never Ever go with them !!

published

They are taking more than a month to do minor repair. They keep lying saying it will be ready by next Friday but that next Friday never comes! Ridiculous Service!

Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateApril 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Beemee
Beemee Sydney, NSW

You are never lucky with AAMI

published
Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda cx3
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateApril 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

WARner4123
WARner4123asked
Car Insurance - CTP Green Slip (NSW, ACT, SA)

What is the the number for new green slip so I can speak to a person thank you.

No answers
Jewells
Jewellsasked
Car Insurance - Comprehensive

Hi I told aami that I could not travel very far fir the hail damage to my car. I was informed that someone would ring me in 1-3 days. On the fifth day I rang again and after aami ringing their repair people i received a call from their repairer telling me that I had ti travel to ascot park (29 mins away by google maps). There is a repairer two miles away - with a huge sign stating hail damage repairs, in John rice avenue. Can I use them as a repair company for my car?
Thank you. Julia.

1 answer
Jewells
Jewells

Xxxxx

John
Johnasked
Car Insurance

I am on the verge of insuring my new car with AAMI but with all the bad reviews I am now hesitant.Can you assure me that your claim service has improved? I have never made a claim for over 50 years so have no experience of the process. I live in Mandurah WA,who would be the repairer that I would have to use in the city of Mandurah? I would not want to travel to Perth. I'd appreciate your comments.Also,if the worst would happen,can I be certain that genuine parts are used in any repairs so that the 7 year warranty is upheld. Regards John

3 answers
Dig
Dig

Hi John, do yourself a favour and ring 2-3 panel beaters, and ask if they will deal with a claim through AAMI.
The 3 I saw for a quote were not interested in going any further as soon as they heard the name AAMI. My feet will be doing talking very soon. No use having a fully comprehensive policy, if no one will take on any repairs.

Mark S
Mark S

Trust me. Go to another insurer, it's all good while they take your money. The proof is when crunch time comes around.

John
John

Thanks for your response Dig & Mark S,will try elsewhere. John

See all AAMI Car Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and AAMI representatives

AAMI Car Insurance

Details

Underwritten by the Suncorp Network, AAMI offers four car insurance policies: CTP green slip for NSW, ACT and SA, Comprehensive, Third Party Property Damage Only, and Fire, Theft and Third Party Property Damage.

Points of praise for AAMI:

  • AAMI's top score was given for its timeliness in responding to claims.
  • Friendly and personable customer service was appreciated. Two customers reported AAMI ‘going above and beyond’ by helping them generously during times of financial hardship.
  • Multiple reviewers reported that AAMI offered to organise Ubers from the repairer to and from their homes. Others enjoyed a smooth and hassle-free experience when making claims, with quick response times from AAMI.

Pain points with AAMI:

  • AAMI’s chosen repairers and roadside-assist contractors were thought to be low quality
  • Premiums increasing considerably even with no claims being made (this increase in premiums appeared to also apply to customers who had taken out multiple policies with AAMI, e.g. home and contents insurance along with car insurance).
Compare all 4 AAMI Car Insurance
CategoryRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Business, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and Travel
Coverage TypeCompulsory Third Party (CTP Green Slip)ComprehensiveThird Party Property DamageThird Party, Fire and Theft
UnderwriterAAIAAIAAIAAI
Legal Liability Cover Not IncludedIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Not OfferedOptional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverNot OfferedZero Excess Optional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Choice of RepairerNot ApplicableNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Not Applicable

Included, up to $90 per day for unlimited days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location. Benefit ceases when:

  • your car is returned undamaged;
  • your car is repaired and returned to you;
  • your claim is settled

Not Included

Not Included

Emergency Transport & AccommodationNot ApplicableIncluded up to $250 per claim for Transport costs, and up to $1,000 for Emergency Accomodation if you are more than 100km from home (combined with Emergency Repairs and Personal Property)Reasonable taxi costs included for up to 2 journeys (applies to 'Damage by uninsured drivers' claims only)Reasonable taxi costs included for up to 2 journeys
Towing Costs Not ApplicableIncludedIncluded (only for a claim made under 'Damage by uninsured drivers'Included
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Not Applicable

Included - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location. Benefit ceases when:

  • your car is repaired and returned to you; or
  • your claim is settled

Not Included

Not Included

Essential / Emergency RepairsNot ApplicableIncluded (combined with Emergency Accomodation & Personal Property), up to $1,000 per incidentNot IncludedNot Included
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot ApplicableNot OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Hire Car after Theft

Not Applicable

Included up to 21 days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location

Not Included

Included up to 21 days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location

Lock and Key ReplacementNot ApplicableNot IncludedNot IncludedIncluded up to $1,000
Transit Cover Not ApplicableNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Trailer & Caravan CoverNot ApplicableTwo-Wheel Trailer Cover included up to $1,000Not IncludedNot Included
Child Safety Seats and PramsNot ApplicableIncluded up to $500 per claimNot IncludedNot Included
New-for-old Car Replacement

Not Applicable

Included, if you are the first registered owner of the car and it is less than 2 years old

Not Included

Not Included

Personal Property CoverNot ApplicableIncluded up to $1,000 (combined with Emergency Accomodation and Repairs)Not IncludedIncluded up to $500 (does not include cash, tools and items use for business or trade)
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not ApplicableNot ApplicableIncluded up to $5,000Included up to $5,000
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
FireNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
CollisionNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Natural EventsNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Theft or Attempted TheftNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
Compare all 4 AAMI Car Insurance
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.