See the Best Car Insurance in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by AAMI

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.5 (40)
  • Customer Service
    4.5 (40)
  • Timeliness
    4.5 (28)
  • Job Satisfaction
    4.7 (21)
  • Transparency
    4.5 (33)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (18)
    • 1-2 weeks (15)
    • 2-4 weeks (6)
    • 1-2 months (2)
    • 3+ months (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (45) · No
Previous
Next

You are indeed Lucky with AAMI!

published

A truck hit my rear bumper. Lodge a claim via app, was able to speak with AAMI team and the process was swift and easy.

They provided me all the details that I need to know and assisted me. What a smooth process! They indeed live with their slogan “lucky your with AAMI”.

And now, it’s all been done and just need to brong my car to the repairer. Easy!

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
4/5
Job Satisfaction
4/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHolden Cruze JH
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateNovember 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Arthur
ArthurSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Excellent service, communication and repair after my at-fault accident

published

I had an accident about a month ago where I was at fault and there was considerable damage to the front of my VW Golf. AAMI arranged to have my car towed to their preferred repairer and assessed the damage, accepting my claim. The estimate of 3 weeks for the repair was accurate, and the repair job was of such a high quality that I could not tell that the car had ever been in an accident. I was very satisfied with AAMI's service and communication.

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf Mk.6
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateSeptember 2021
Claim ApprovedYes

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Awesome Customer Service from AAMI and Wizard Hail repair

published
Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Camry ASV50R / AVV50R Atara R
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
ES
ESGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrible repair from AAMI preferred SMART repairer.

published

Have used AAMI for years. But SMART Suncorp is now the preferred repairer. The repair work is very poor. Car bumper not align properly and paintwork is uneven with drops of excessive paint. Had to make them to repair it again. Wasting my time with no apologies from SMART manager, Mulgrave branch Victoria. Will not use AAMI again.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Timeliness
1/5
Job Satisfaction
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateSeptember 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brad
BradWagga Wagga
  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

I would highly recommend

published

I have had car insurance with AAMI for quite a while, for the past 5+ years anyway. For me (not everyone admittedly) they have always had a very competitive premium. This year I was involved in my first ever accident (low speed and nobody was hurt thankfully), and AAMI handled it brilliantly. With my phone call from the scene, they let me know what to do, how to stay safe, and what information to gather. The phone lodgment was easy and seamless, and AAMI took care of the rest. I am very happy to be insured by AAMI, and will be happy to recommend to friends and family.

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Transparency
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMay 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Wiser now
Wiser nowCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fast, efficient, friendly service

published

Like many other reviewers, I have been concerned about premium increases which seem to unfairly penalise faithful customers.
But all that is forgotten with a recent claim. It took 10 days from accident to having a new car in our garage. At all times I felt this insurance company actually cared about looking after me, and as quickly as possible. Based on this experience, I'll be transferring insurance on another car back to AAMI, and if that costs extra then I'll deem it worthwhile.

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Transparency
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateAugust 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
LadyOfThree
LadyOfThreeQLD, 4570
  • 126 reviews
  • 58 likes

I really love AAMI.

published
Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHyundai iMax TQ-W
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
We compared reviews on the Top 5 Most Popular Car Insurance Providers

If you’re looking for cheap car insurance that's also reliable, ProductReview.com.au can help. We’ve sifted through 1000s of car insurance reviews on Budget Direct, AAMI, youi, Woolworths and Australian Seniors. Simply read on for a summary of what drivers liked the most and least about these top five most viewed providers.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.1 June 2020
we-compared-reviews-on-the-top-5-most-popular-car-insurance-providers
Next
Isobel S
Isobel S
  • 2 reviews

So happy with them

published

I have made 2 not-at-fault claims through AAMI and they have been incredible! Organised everything from tow trucks to taxis whilst on the phone to them. So kind and helpful. Very happy I paid for the hire car on my policy as I do feel that has been worth it.

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
HangrySara
HangrySaraGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

A 100% recommended insurer

published
Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Escape ZG Titanium
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMay 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cass
CassPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

I actually do feel lucky.

published

I was involved in an accident where I wasn't at fault. Staff were really kind, caring and helpful. Car is a write off as its not worth much. Less than a week since the accident and the funds for my car are already in my account. I will be taking out a policy with AAMI for the next car I buy. I couldn't fault them. I am really happy with the service.

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMarch 2021
Claim ApprovedYes

Good Experience

published

Have 2 comprehensive vehicle insurance policies with AAMI, made a claim this year for minor damage caused by another vehicle whose details i had. I found the claim process quick and painless l did refuse to accept their 1st preference repairer and was escalated to a manager where i argued for another repairer l was familiar with for good work who was also a registered AAMI repairer but not promoted by AAMI. I had a hire car arranged and taxi to/from repairer. Based on my experience and I'm not someone who tolerates bad service I couldn't fault my experience and would recommend.
Only downside is their premiums increase by double digit % annually however if you call their c/s agent does have authority to reduce by 3%-5%.

Value for Money
4/5
Customer Service
4/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda 2
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Angelito
AngelitoGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Easy and no red tapes regarding claims

published

I would like to thank this insurance for their excellent customer service and of course for processing my claims so quickly. I took me only few minutes to claim for my car repair and booked me in straight away for repair. I’m very happy that I decided to insured my car with AAMI. So for those looking for good insurance, this insurance is highly recommended. A+++

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Josh wineti
Josh wineti
  • 15 reviews
  • 1 like

Great service

published

I have been with AAMI for the last 5 or 6 years, could be more. Always very helpful and great on roadside assistance. When I lodged claims they take all the pressure off. Even through these toughs times gave me a great deal and discount, being off work. Much appreciated.

Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
Phil Hicks
Phil HicksGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

5 stars for the person in Melbourne 1 star for the call taker in the phillipines

published

Always been with AAMI and they are great. They are competitive on price for long term customers HOWEVER. They Now have call takers in the Philippines I almost left them because of this. They are hard to understand and even thought they try they can't trully empathise with a fire that has consumed my fence.

Value for Money
3/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
Allen L.
Allen L.
  • 2 reviews

Very good customer service and swifty repair

published

Car hit by someone's car so needed to make claim. Claim online application was easy and fast. Customer Service rep followed up very promptly. Repair was swifty and done in one day while new bumper, reverse senor and side panel required. Uber for free to and from repair center. Repair center staff were nice and professional. Been through different insurers but AAMI has given best experience.

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Job Satisfaction
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelSubaru Liberty 6GEN 2.5i Premium
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

WARner4123
WARner4123asked
Car Insurance - CTP Green Slip (NSW, ACT, SA)

What is the the number for new green slip so I can speak to a person thank you.

No answers
Jewells
Jewellsasked
Car Insurance - Comprehensive

Hi I told aami that I could not travel very far fir the hail damage to my car. I was informed that someone would ring me in 1-3 days. On the fifth day I rang again and after aami ringing their repair people i received a call from their repairer telling me that I had ti travel to ascot park (29 mins away by google maps). There is a repairer two miles away - with a huge sign stating hail damage repairs, in John rice avenue. Can I use them as a repair company for my car?
Thank you. Julia.

1 answer
Jewells
Jewells

Xxxxx

John
Johnasked
Car Insurance

I am on the verge of insuring my new car with AAMI but with all the bad reviews I am now hesitant.Can you assure me that your claim service has improved? I have never made a claim for over 50 years so have no experience of the process. I live in Mandurah WA,who would be the repairer that I would have to use in the city of Mandurah? I would not want to travel to Perth. I'd appreciate your comments.Also,if the worst would happen,can I be certain that genuine parts are used in any repairs so that the 7 year warranty is upheld. Regards John

3 answers
Dig
Dig

Hi John, do yourself a favour and ring 2-3 panel beaters, and ask if they will deal with a claim through AAMI.
The 3 I saw for a quote were not interested in going any further as soon as they heard the name AAMI. My feet will be doing talking very soon. No use having a fully comprehensive policy, if no one will take on any repairs.

Mark S
Mark S

Trust me. Go to another insurer, it's all good while they take your money. The proof is when crunch time comes around.

John
John

Thanks for your response Dig & Mark S,will try elsewhere. John

See all AAMI Car Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and AAMI representatives

AAMI Car Insurance

Details

Underwritten by the Suncorp Network, AAMI offers four car insurance policies: CTP green slip for NSW, ACT and SA, Comprehensive, Third Party Property Damage Only, and Fire, Theft and Third Party Property Damage.

Points of praise for AAMI:

  • AAMI's top score was given for its timeliness in responding to claims.
  • Friendly and personable customer service was appreciated. Two customers reported AAMI ‘going above and beyond’ by helping them generously during times of financial hardship.
  • Multiple reviewers reported that AAMI offered to organise Ubers from the repairer to and from their homes. Others enjoyed a smooth and hassle-free experience when making claims, with quick response times from AAMI.

Pain points with AAMI:

  • AAMI’s chosen repairers and roadside-assist contractors were thought to be low quality
  • Premiums increasing considerably even with no claims being made (this increase in premiums appeared to also apply to customers who had taken out multiple policies with AAMI, e.g. home and contents insurance along with car insurance).
Compare all 4 AAMI Car Insurance
CategoryRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Business, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and Travel
Coverage TypeCompulsory Third Party (CTP Green Slip)ComprehensiveThird Party Property DamageThird Party, Fire and Theft
UnderwriterAAIAAIAAIAAI
Legal Liability Cover Not IncludedIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Not OfferedOptional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverNot OfferedZero Excess Optional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Choice of RepairerNot ApplicableNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Not Applicable

Included, up to $90 per day for unlimited days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location. Benefit ceases when:

  • your car is returned undamaged;
  • your car is repaired and returned to you;
  • your claim is settled

Not Included

Not Included

Emergency Transport & AccommodationNot ApplicableIncluded up to $250 per claim for Transport costs, and up to $1,000 for Emergency Accomodation if you are more than 100km from home (combined with Emergency Repairs and Personal Property)Reasonable taxi costs included for up to 2 journeys (applies to 'Damage by uninsured drivers' claims only)Reasonable taxi costs included for up to 2 journeys
Towing Costs Not ApplicableIncludedIncluded (only for a claim made under 'Damage by uninsured drivers'Included
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Not Applicable

Included - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location. Benefit ceases when:

  • your car is repaired and returned to you; or
  • your claim is settled

Not Included

Not Included

Essential / Emergency RepairsNot ApplicableIncluded (combined with Emergency Accomodation & Personal Property), up to $1,000 per incidentNot IncludedNot Included
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot ApplicableNot OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Hire Car after Theft

Not Applicable

Included up to 21 days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location

Not Included

Included up to 21 days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location

Lock and Key ReplacementNot ApplicableNot IncludedNot IncludedIncluded up to $1,000
Transit Cover Not ApplicableNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Trailer & Caravan CoverNot ApplicableTwo-Wheel Trailer Cover included up to $1,000Not IncludedNot Included
Child Safety Seats and PramsNot ApplicableIncluded up to $500 per claimNot IncludedNot Included
New-for-old Car Replacement

Not Applicable

Included, if you are the first registered owner of the car and it is less than 2 years old

Not Included

Not Included

Personal Property CoverNot ApplicableIncluded up to $1,000 (combined with Emergency Accomodation and Repairs)Not IncludedIncluded up to $500 (does not include cash, tools and items use for business or trade)
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not ApplicableNot ApplicableIncluded up to $5,000Included up to $5,000
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
FireNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
CollisionNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Natural EventsNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Theft or Attempted TheftNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
Compare all 4 AAMI Car Insurance
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.