?
? !

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

With so many car insurance providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the car insurance that's ideal for you.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.8 (25)
  • Customer Service
    4.9 (25)
  • Timeliness
    4.8 (16)
  • Job Satisfaction
    5.0 (12)
  • Transparency
    4.9 (20)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (13)
    • 1-2 weeks (9)
    • 2-4 weeks (3)
    • 1-2 months (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (29) · No
Previous
Next
HangrySara

HangrySaraGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

A 100% recommended insurer

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Escape ZG Titanium
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMay 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cass

CassPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

I actually do feel lucky.

published

I was involved in an accident where I wasn't at fault. Staff were really kind, caring and helpful. Car is a write off as its not worth much. Less than a week since the accident and the funds for my car are already in my account. I will be taking out a policy with AAMI for the next car I buy. I couldn't fault them. I am really happy with the service.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMarch 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Good Experience

published

Have 2 comprehensive vehicle insurance policies with AAMI, made a claim this year for minor damage caused by another vehicle whose details i had. I found the claim process quick and painless l did refuse to accept their 1st preference repairer and was escalated to a manager where i argued for another repairer l was familiar with for good work who was also a registered AAMI repairer but not promoted by AAMI. I had a hire car arranged and taxi to/from repairer. Based on my experience and I'm not someone who tolerates bad service I couldn't fault my experience and would recommend.
Only downside is their premiums increase by double digit % annually however if you call their c/s agent does have authority to reduce by 3%-5%.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda 2
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Angelito

AngelitoGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Easy and no red tapes regarding claims

published

I would like to thank this insurance for their excellent customer service and of course for processing my claims so quickly. I took me only few minutes to claim for my car repair and booked me in straight away for repair. I’m very happy that I decided to insured my car with AAMI. So for those looking for good insurance, this insurance is highly recommended. A+++

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Josh wineti

Josh wineti

  • 14 reviews
  • 1 like

Great service

published

I have been with AAMI for the last 5 or 6 years, could be more. Always very helpful and great on roadside assistance. When I lodged claims they take all the pressure off. Even through these toughs times gave me a great deal and discount, being off work. Much appreciated.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Allen L.

Allen L.

  • 2 reviews

Very good customer service and swifty repair

published

Car hit by someone's car so needed to make claim. Claim online application was easy and fast. Customer Service rep followed up very promptly. Repair was swifty and done in one day while new bumper, reverse senor and side panel required. Uber for free to and from repair center. Repair center staff were nice and professional. Been through different insurers but AAMI has given best experience.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelSubaru Liberty 6GEN 2.5i Premium
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chan t.

Chan t.Perth, WA

Aami -efficient, quick and wonderful service

published

I have been with many insurance company in my lifetime . I must say AAMI have been nothing but amazing . Both times I was in minor car accidents, I had no trouble getting my claims . It was so simple and quick ! They even offered Uber service to and from home. So thank u once again from the bottom of my heart AAMI.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matt

Matt

  • 2 reviews

Smooth experience

published

Had a really smooth experience with AAMI, from the initial claims call, follow up txts and emails, to sorting a rental car while mine was being repaired. They organised Ubers from the repairer to the rental place and back. Even the repairer Capital Smart was very professional. Used to be with Coles, AAMI is far better.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Fastcat45

Fastcat45North Western Region, NSW

Great service

published

Great company who have quick response times. Whole family of 5 have all policies with Aami for many years. Recently had to make a claim for the Canberra hail storms and whole issue was resolved within 14days from start to finish.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelKia Cerato BD (Sedan) GT
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderNo
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Niki

NikiSydney

Awesome!

published

I have gone to other firms but keep coming back. By far the best, most hassle-free when making claims. Great service, no fuss. I've been lucky to be with Aami!

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mark S

Mark SSydney

  • 17 reviews
  • 10 likes

Fantastic

published

I've been with AAMI for some 20 years now (different cars in that time). I've had 2 at fault accidents, 1 not at fault accident and two hail claims. AAMI has always come though for me and never disputed the claims.

Whilst AAMI's handling of the claims wasn't perfect, over all it was very good and wound't feel right taking a star away for it.

I have no problems recommending AAMI.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
RichardP

RichardPGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Competitive pricing and good claims handling

published

I am not loyal to any insurance company and always get 3 quotes each year.
We have three polices with AAMI giving us a multi policy discount. The renewals for our two cars from AAMI came in second cheapest. We decided to renew with AAMI because we had 3 not at fault claims in the last two years and each time AAMI handled the process very well.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Mondeo MA
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shane

Shane

  • 3 reviews

Fantastic response to our car accident

published

A young guy reversed into our car and damaged the front badly. We contacted AAMI expecting an issue as we had no proof and could have been accused of us causing a rear end. They were fantastic to action repairs immediately with no excess charged. Very pleasantly surprise with loads of updates and info on status of claim and repairs.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Kluger Grande
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sean

SeanSydney, NSW

Impressed with AAMI's handling of a claim

published

I completed an exhaustive analysis on which insurerer to go with. AAMI were mid table on premium alone, 20% more expensive than the cheapest. The main reason I paid a premium to go with AAMI was their reputation for paying out on valid claims. Within two weeks of having my insurance I was side swiped by a truck. Within an hour of the accident, and my confirmation of the driver at fault, AAMI had covered my claim, and had booked my car in to get assessed the next morning! This reduced the stress of a collision considerably. I recieved my car back, repairs were first class on my metallic paint Mercedes-Benz.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMercedes-Benz E-Class E250 CDI W212
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Erle W.

Erle W.Far North Queensland, QLD

Can't do enough for you!

published

I have been insured by AAMI for around 20 years and had a few claims, not all my fault, but had 2 write offs due to flood damage. No questions, just fixed and paid out. They may not have been always as quick as I would have liked, but there were no problems, all fixed. The preferred window repairer shafted me, so I will not go near O'Brien's again, but AAMI deserves five stars. Looking at other reviews, there are 2 sides to every story, but AAMI has always been great for communication and support.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Simon M

Simon MSydney

  • 3 reviews

Very Professional

published

Made me feel extremely at ease. Very professional, easy process. What could’ve been very stressful was very painless. Highly recommended. Most people only leave reviews when they’ve had bad experiences, so I think AAMI’s score is unjustified.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHyundai Tuscon
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
AMD

AMDGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

The best Insurance company I have dealt with

published

I had to make a claim on my car. The girl on the phone made it seem very easy. They booked the mechanic the next day. They even paid for my cab home. They are a great company to deal with

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Camry
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hardy

HardyNew South Wales

  • 3 reviews

AAMI is the best insurance company ever dealt with

published

My car was stolen recently. Contacted AAMI and the response I received was excellent. The customer care executive was very kind and polite. She organised a rental car for me. They gave me genuine updates when I contacted them. My car was written off and AAMI transferred the agreed amount of money to my account with out delay. I recommend AAMI to my friends and family.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota RAV4
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kerrilyn

KerrilynCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not the Cheapest but definitely the easiest , Australian speaking, efficient to deal with

published

Have several policies and have just renewed all...had a couple of non-fault claims on eldest daughter's car. AAMI took control, organised absolutely everything, notified all parties of every step along the way, resolved incredibly fast...super impressed!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda CX-5 KF Akera AWD, 2.2L Diesel
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ellie L.

Ellie L.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Roadside assistance Quick and professional !!!

published

My car had a puncture last night. I called Aami and was told it could take up to 60 minutes. It only took 20 for Nick to arrive. He was so helpful and friendly.
The whole thing from my call took 35 minutes.
Thanks to Nick. He is in Melbourne.
Fantastic, Fast service and free as part of my policy. Thanks Aami you made my night !!!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHyundai Accent
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all AAMI Car Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

ChittyD

ChittyDasked

Car Insurance - Comprehensive

I had a trolley driver damage my car while it was parked. 'Hit and Run' situation and there is shopping centre video evidence showing what happened. However, AAMI in their wisdom have decided to deem that the excess paid to have my car repair will not be refunded on the basis that I did not provide the at-fault person's details? How could I as I was not there when this happened. Seems like a clever way to avoid the work involved in clearing me and going after the trolley-company contractor's insurance company to pay for my damages. It this not part of the Insurance service?

No answers
Wendy0707

Wendy0707asked

Car Insurance - Comprehensive

How do you decide who is at fault for collision

2 answers
Fiona
Fiona

It goes by the road laws. For example, if the other person was supposed to give way and you were already in the intersection, then the other person is at fault.

Angelito
Angelito

Hi Wendy! Well it depends if you think fault of the other party, of course they will fight for you but it needs justification. Proof thanks

Jase J.

Jase J.asked

Car Insurance

Why is my claim review taking so long I am homless and live out the car I suffer a neurological disease that causes me to stutter AAMI thought they put the call on hold but took it off for me to hear them picking on my stutter saying nnnnooooo moooonnnnneeeyyyy fffffooooorrrrr hhhhimmmm I have contacted 2gb and am contacting channel 9 I just wanted to hurt myself after hearing the mocking and have only just been released from hospital

No answers
See all AAMI Car Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and AAMI representatives

AAMI Car Insurance

Details

Underwritten by the Suncorp Network, AAMI offers four car insurance policies: CTP green slip for NSW, ACT and SA, Comprehensive, Third Party Property Damage Only, and Fire, Theft and Third Party Property Damage.

Points of praise for AAMI:

  • AAMI's top score was given for its timeliness in responding to claims.
  • Friendly and personable customer service was appreciated. Two customers reported AAMI ‘going above and beyond’ by helping them generously during times of financial hardship.
  • Multiple reviewers reported that AAMI offered to organise Ubers from the repairer to and from their homes. Others enjoyed a smooth and hassle-free experience when making claims, with quick response times from AAMI.

Pain points with AAMI:

  • AAMI’s chosen repairers and roadside-assist contractors were thought to be low quality
  • Premiums increasing considerably even with no claims being made (this increase in premiums appeared to also apply to customers who had taken out multiple policies with AAMI, e.g. home and contents insurance along with car insurance).
Compare all 4 AAMI Car Insurance
CategoryRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Business, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and Travel
Coverage TypeCompulsory Third Party (CTP Green Slip)ComprehensiveThird Party Property DamageThird Party, Fire and Theft
UnderwriterAAIAAIAAIAAI
Legal Liability Cover Not IncludedIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Not OfferedOptional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverNot OfferedZero Excess Optional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Choice of RepairerNot ApplicableNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Not Applicable

Included, up to $90 per day for unlimited days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location. Benefit ceases when:

  • your car is returned undamaged;
  • your car is repaired and returned to you;
  • your claim is settled

Not Included

Not Included

Emergency Transport & AccommodationNot ApplicableIncluded up to $250 per claim for Transport costs, and up to $1,000 for Emergency Accomodation if you are more than 100km from home (combined with Emergency Repairs and Personal Property)Reasonable taxi costs included for up to 2 journeys (applies to 'Damage by uninsured drivers' claims only)Reasonable taxi costs included for up to 2 journeys
Towing Costs Not ApplicableIncludedIncluded (only for a claim made under 'Damage by uninsured drivers'Included
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Not Applicable

Included - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location. Benefit ceases when:

  • your car is repaired and returned to you; or
  • your claim is settled

Not Included

Not Included

Essential / Emergency RepairsNot ApplicableIncluded (combined with Emergency Accomodation & Personal Property), up to $1,000 per incidentNot IncludedNot Included
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot ApplicableNot OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Hire Car after Theft

Not Applicable

Included up to 21 days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location

Not Included

Included up to 21 days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location

Lock and Key ReplacementNot ApplicableNot IncludedNot IncludedIncluded up to $1,000
Transit Cover Not ApplicableNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Trailer & Caravan CoverNot ApplicableTwo-Wheel Trailer Cover included up to $1,000Not IncludedNot Included
Child Safety Seats and PramsNot ApplicableIncluded up to $500 per claimNot IncludedNot Included
New-for-old Car Replacement

Not Applicable

Included, if you are the first registered owner of the car and it is less than 2 years old

Not Included

Not Included

Personal Property CoverNot ApplicableIncluded up to $1,000 (combined with Emergency Accomodation and Repairs)Not IncludedIncluded up to $500 (does not include cash, tools and items use for business or trade)
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not ApplicableNot ApplicableIncluded up to $5,000Included up to $5,000
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
FireNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
CollisionNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Natural EventsNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Theft or Attempted TheftNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
Compare all 4 AAMI Car Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.