??!

Reviews

(22)
(4)
(2)
(3)
(9)
  • Build Quality
    3.8 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (9)
  • Room Type
    • Whole House (12)
    • Large Bedroom (1)
    • Small Office (1)
    • Open-Plan Office (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (13)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    4.0 (13)
Margery

MargeryCopeton

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for our house specially during summer

published

This was all we needed to cool and heat our 3 bed room house. We also have a long hall way so got surprised how well this air con unit works as the tubes are super long! It takes mere seconds to cool the house or heat the house and we love the system

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Ian S

Ian SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 14 likes

Excellent hardware, & works superb but useless delivery by supplier

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Morning

MorningSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Cannot cope with hot days

published

Currently, the temperature outside is 39 degrees, inside temperature is 30 degrees with air-conditioner on 16 degrees. This is very inefficient. Have come home from work with an air conditioner that works well. We have not used this much - only on hot days 30 plus. At least it is still going today. Usually it stops with very hot days ie over 38 degrees.

Date PurchasedNov 2012
2 comments
Morning
Morning
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir
Ducted Air Conditioners

Find out how ActronAir Classic compares to other Ducted Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
WingNutter

WingNutterCentral West, NSW

  • 16 reviews

A Quiet & Efficient Actron Ducted Add-On A/C Unit to Existing Brivis Gas Heater

published
Unhappy1045

Unhappy1045AU

  • 12 reviews
  • 28 likes

Costly

published

Two years old the control panel had to be replaced at a cost of $180 plus $200 service call which is not under warranty. Five years and eight months Just out of warranty the soft starter had to be replaced at a cost of $650. lucky the technical had a spare one in his van.

Date PurchasedSep 2012

Best designed unit...silent in operation and so cool

published

This unit would have.to be the most efficient unit I've seen and experienced.
2nd to none in efficiency,style,.and comfort.
Other manufacturers should take a leaf and adapt to this design and efficiency.
My hat off to the manufacturer and my congratulations to a job well done in the best air conditioning unit ever...

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Ray E

Ray ESydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great System

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Mars

Marsperth

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Large, noisy and bad at heating.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Very Happy with it!

published

Very happy with the air con system. Very easy to use and simple and easy to keep it at the temperature that you would prefer. Lots of different settings to use to make it the most comfortable but its still easy to use. would highly recommend it to anyone needing an aircon

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Ducted Air Conditioners

Find out how ActronAir Classic compares to other Ducted Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lorry

LorryGold Coast

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great product has services us well

published

After 10 years of faithful service and freezing our butts off in the hot QLD summer, finally the compressor went. It was replaced in three days and away it goes again freezing our butts off again. The Air Con is to cold for my wife, where my son and I cannot have it cold enough. 22.5 is the compromise and she will sneak it up to 24 when she can :)
As for the company that installed, they get zero stars. Nicholas Air Conditioners in Brisbane where terrible. They ended up sacking their installer as there was a class action about to hit them. Still that was a separate issue the product has been great.

Date PurchasedJun 2005
David T

David TSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

A Great Choice

published

Our Actron ducted system was installed by DJS Air to replace a 39 year old Westinghouse. The installation went without any drama and was quick and clean. The new unit is quiet, powerful and effective. Pleasing to look at. What more can you want. Hopefully it will last as long as the old one. Good that it is made in Australia.

rba

rbaSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Rock solid, so far...

published

Our Actron ducted system is two years old this week. Faultless so far. Replaced an old EmailAir system and is quieter (inside and out), more efficient and more effective. The Classic series are conventional cycling (non-inverter) systems but include some modern electronic controls and high quality components - works perfectly for what we want. Can't comment on after-sales service - haven't needed any. Got ours installed by A-Grade Air Conditioning from Seven Hills (word of mouth reference) - ignore their crappy website, they were very professional and seem to have done a quality job.
Overall I'm pleased to support an Aussie-made system that has met all expectations.

Such an awesome air con and lovely company to help with any issues!

published

Has been such a reliable air conditioner and the company who makes it is really on point with their help. They will send you instructions for a quick fix if any problems occur and it's super easy to fix. I would write more, but I am just so cool and relaxed :)

Great Australian air conditioning

published

I am a strong admirer of this range of products. It is great to see an Australian company employing Australian people selling a quality high grade Australian product in Australia, competing on their own turf against overseas manufacturers and showing strong growth in this area. I have visited the factory in Sydney and was very impressed by the professionalism of the staff and the product. Keep up the great work ActronAir.

Make sure you do your research folks and remember, buy cheap, buy twice.

Pretty bad system

published

Built a new house in a new estate 5 years ago. On picking up the keys, turned on the system and it sounded like a car accident kicking in. Quiet enough when running but three of our neighbours had the same systems and they were all the same. Rang the Actron people and they said we would have to pay to have a sound proofing kit installed (at our expense). Screw that! Now error codes popping up. Not happy. Had daikens before and they were awsome!!!!!!! Dont do it!!!!!!
Makes the house cool when we want it to............albeit noisily.....
Noisy on start up. Errors early on in it life

2 comments
Mal
Mal

Now one of the condenser fans is on its way out... $650.00 each!! 7 years.... Will keep wd40ing it...

Mal
Mal

Wd40 for the squealing condenser fan works a treat! Still shakes the house when it kicks in, but amazingly still crashing away.....

Ducted Air Conditioners

Find out how ActronAir Classic compares to other Ducted Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible unit

published

Unit needs a new compressor only after 3 years.

no stock in the country--I have been told I have to wait 2 weeks for the stock to arrive in the country and then it has to be shipped interstate and then i have to wait for installation--what a joke.

The unit cost over $10,000--what a joke.

R3dH00d

R3dH00dNSW, 2173

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent

published
2 comments
Adrian.s
Adrian.s

Hi. can you please advise where you got the unit from? I am also looking at a price tag of $15k and would like to find alternative place for this unit. Also did your cost include the AC + ducting + fitting charge? thanks

R3dH00d
R3dH00d

Wattle Grove Air Conditioning Sydney is the guy I use now, and he gets much sharper prices than what I paid for my install. There's a guy named Dean at Wattle Grove Air I deal with. Recommended.

Paul.

Paul.Sydney, NSW

  • 24 reviews

Very poor service on parts.

published

Unit broke down for the second time, and just out of warranty. The first time the indoor capacitor caught fire and had to be replaced. Filled the upstairs with smoke. Now needs another part for a simple fix, however the Actron company refuse to supply parts to owners of the aircond system, only technicians. That means more $$$$$ wasted.

Mine is unreliable

2 comments
sheen
sheen

Parts can only be sold to registered electricians or refrigeration mechanics not owners

Bingote50
Bingote50

They cannot refuse it is against consumer law. They can only discriminate on price or delivery.

BigSwede

BigSwedeAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

After 5 years I'm still very happy.

published

Just did a service/complete overhaul with 3 techs from Nicholls Air in Brisbane. Everything covered in this service and only $165 incl. GST.
It's been working fine for 5 years (Warranty) and after a few adjustments just after installation it's still going strong. I'm working from home so it is on most of the time.
It is installed in a 4 bedroom home with 3 different zones.
It is a 13kW with ESP.
Reliable, energy efficient if installed correctly with different zones.

Excellent

published

Bought a Acton unit to replace our York unit that finally broke down beyond economical repair ( thank goodness) . This unit is cheaper to run is a lot quieter than the York and cools and heats better than any other air conditioning unit I have had.
Being Australian owned and made was a big factor in deciding to buy one of these units. If you are concidering in purchasing a ducted air conditioning unit , in my opinion you cannot go past a Acton.
Quite, efficent,stylish, Australian Made and owned
None that has come to mind

Page 2 of 2
See all ActronAir Classic reviews

Questions & Answers

Chad P

Chad Pasked

Classic SRG151E (15.0kW, Single Phase)

Hi 39 degrees and the ducted ac has stopped working again! It seems that every 2 years or so we have to have the soft start and/or the capacitors replaced. I have now stopped having the soft start part replaced as it would fail too regularly. I would say that since my original purchase ten years ago I have probably paid as much in service calls and parts as it would have cost to buy individual split ac for each of my rooms. Cost of ownership has proven to be out of control.

1 answer
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Hi Chad,

We're sorry to hear about the issues you're experiencing with these parts. Thank you for bringing it to our attention so we can follow it up with our product team. We'd like to work with you to have the issues resolved so I'll send you a private message to get some contact details from you.

In the interim to help troubleshoot why the unit has stopped working, please give our Technical Support team a call on 1800 119 229 or email technicalsupport@actronair.com.au to let them know how the unit is behaving and any error messages you're receiving.

Thanks - Catherine

Chander

Chanderasked

Classic SRA131C (12.8kW, Single Phase)

If this is ducted AC, where is the indoor unit installed.

1 answer
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Hi Chander,

The indoor unit is typically installed in the ceiling. Ducting is also installed in the ceiling, connected to vents that are positioned throughout your home or premise, and will distribute the conditioned air.

If you have any other questions, just let us know.

Chris R.

Chris R.asked

Classic

where in a room is actron air placed in a room with ducted system

1 answer
ActronAir
ActronAirActronAir

Hi Chris,

Thanks for getting in contact with us on Product Review. Are you asking where the outlets are placed in a room?

Cheers - Andrew

Get an answer from our members and ActronAir representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.