??!
1 photo
Adventure Kings Weekender

Adventure Kings Weekender

2.5 from 18 reviews

Reviews

2.5

18 reviews
5
(2)
4
(1)
3
(3)
2
(10)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    2.4 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    2.6 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (10)
  • Portability
    3.6 (9)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
  • Verified purchase

Rooftop Tent

published

Used the tent once
Issue with the Zip connecting annex to tent - broke on first use.
Tried contacting 4WD supacentre, still no reply.
Wanting full refund ASAP, very slow at getting back. Shocking product.

Purchased in May 2020 at 4WD Supacentre Online store for A$1,100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
See all answers
1 comment
Adventure Kings
Paul R.Adventure Kings
Erbo92

Erbo92Illawarra, NSW

Slow and painful

published

Purchased in March 2020 at 4WD Supacentre Online store for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Adventure Kings
Paul R.Adventure Kings
Deb

DebGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Cover too small and does not fit

published

Bought our Kings roof top tent two weeks ago and have put it on our car. So far so good, except for when we try to put the cover on and it doesn’t fit and has already ripped in places. Off the roof it has come. Slightly disappointed as we are trying to get away this weekend and it’s not possible without a cover fitted

Purchased in February 2020.

2 comments
Adventure Kings
Paul R.Adventure Kings
Adventure Kings
Paul R.Adventure Kings
Tents

Find out how Adventure Kings Weekender compares to other Tents

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sid

SidSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great value for the money!

published

Purchased in January 2019 at 4WD Supacentre for A$615.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Portability
See all answers
1 comment
Adventure Kings
Paul R.Adventure Kings
Paul

PaulGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Tight Cover, otherwise good so far.

published

Tent appears good quality. Floor is starting to compress, not sure of this floor material in the longer term. The early let down is a cover which is way to tight with a poor quality zip making the pack up hard work even without bedding. Cover is already damaged as a result. Mattress is a bit thin but not a big issue. On the positive, quick to set up, very weather proof and cool when hot. We’ve spent three weeks in it so far continuously.

Purchased in December 2019 at 4WD Supacentre for A$550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
See all answers
2 comments
Adventure Kings
Paul R.Adventure Kings
Paul
Paul

Thanks Kathryn I’ll email to take this offline.

Graham P.

Graham P.Perth, WA

  • Verified purchase

haven't even used it put the black cover on and the stitching broke.

published

there's were the stiching broke. havent used it yet setting it up before the trip, there was no wind packing and setting up was easy. they need to manufacture it so theres a little bit more give.

Purchased in October 2019 at Camping and Outdoors Online for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
See all answers
1 comment
Adventure Kings
Paul R.Adventure Kings
Torricle

TorricleSydney, NSW

Dangerous Tent Exploded Open On Freeay At 110km During A Storm

published

Dangerous, tent exploded open while driving 110km down freeway in high winds in the middle of the night in a storm. Yes it was strapped on and the zip ripped right off. Yes it was as crazy as it sounds and the ladder smashed through my rear window shattering the glass scaring the absolute bejeezus out of us as we were driving along. Had to struggle to fold tent back closed in heavy winds which was wild as it kept blowing back open again in the storm with me on the roof and my friend at the back, nearly knocked her out: meanwhile trucks blasting past us. All this one month after the warranty expired. Not to mention the previous bending of the steel structure. I took it straight to the tip after this as it was completely destroyed.

Purchased in July 2018 at 4WD Supacentre for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Adventure Kings
Paul R.Adventure Kings
Dan

DanFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Not the quality i expected.

published

Purchased in March 2017 at 4WD Supacentre for A$753.64.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
See all answers
1 comment
Adventure Kings
Paul R.Adventure Kings

Kings roof top tent

published

I bought a roof top tent 2 weeks ago never used it since after the first night it rained and everything got drenched mattress and bedding not happy a t all. Also the waterproof bag was and is way to tight all for corners of the bag have ripped due to the tighness and the sharp edges of the alloy edges of the tent itself. All bad things aside the only good thing I found was a quick set up.

Purchased in August 2019 at 4x4 supercentre for A$650.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
See all answers
2 comments
Adventure Kings
Paul R.Adventure Kings
Steve J.
Steve J.
Tents

Find out how Adventure Kings Weekender compares to other Tents

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Blew open on the freeway during strong winds

published

Purchased in June 2019 at 4WD Supacentre Physical store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
See all answers
1 comment
Adventure Kings
Paul R.Adventure Kings
Stephen

StephenNorth Queensland, QLD

Somewhat disappointed

published

We were do excited to get our new Kjngs Roof top tent and have used for 3 months straight with a trip.
Overall reasonable structure but does not cope with too much rain. Our first night of rain, the front corners of our mattress were saturated.
We chose to try to waterproof it ourselves with a spray. It has helped but still not ideal.
We understand you pay for what you get ! The last South African built roof topper cost us $1200 and it was the ‘duck nuts’ !
So in conclusion, great little roof topper for the money but don’t expect miracles !

Purchased in September 2018 for A$650.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
See all answers

NOT suitable for wet weather

published

Purchased in February 2019 at 4WD Supacentre for A$749.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
See all answers

We were very happy until it rained

published
Kara W

Kara WAU

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Best thing we bought so far

published

Perfect. We had in approx 2hrs on our first use rain hail extreme wind then sunshine and it stood up to the test and everything inside stayed warm and dry . Lots of room inside and easy to set up and packup . Would recommend to anyone anyday :)

Not suitable in dusty conditions

published

We used our roof top tent in the out back recently, in very dusty conditions. We found the zippers that connect cover are too fine and collect dust, which makes them very difficult to use. Also found a lot of condensation under the mattress. We are definitely looking for better options

Tents

Find out how Adventure Kings Weekender compares to other Tents

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bubbly

BubblyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Bit worried to use it in bad/wet weather

published
JHBC

JHBCFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrible structural problems

published
Happychapie

HappychapiePerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

happychapie

published

Kings Weekender roof top tent is extremely well made, the seams are totally water proof, the canvas is strong, and the eze of erection is so simple, 30 seconds. The roof top tent stood up to winds gusts of 70klms, heavy torrential driving rain, not one drop entered weekender roof top tent,
The zips are strong and easy to operate, the window awnings are well placed letting breeze in, rain out, the construction is tough..The price online is the cheapest I've seen

Questions & Answers

Kellie K.

Kellie K.asked

What weight can the ladder hold, how think is the mattress and can you replace the mattress if needed?

3 answers
Paul
Paul

100kg and yes you can change the mattress

Adventure Kings
Paul R.Adventure Kings

Hi Kellie,

Ladder holds around 1 persons weight at a time. The ladder can safely hold up to 150kgs with someone climbing in. Yes you can buy a new mattress from us if you want to change the current one. If youd like to get more details on that, feel free to email me on sahmad@4wdsupacentre.com.au

Cheers,
Saleha =)

Sid
Sid

Hi Kellie, I weigh 86kg and did not feel confident on the ladder (in fact it broke before I’d even set foot on it). However, I bought a telescopic ladder from 4WD Supacentre - I think it cost about $50 or so - and that ladder is fantastic. The installation was simple - 2 small “L” brackets from Bunnings for about $6 and a couple of rivets, and it has resolved the issue. The tent is fantastic value for the money and the mattress is pretty comfortable, although if you really needed to you could upgrade (or place a thin condensed foam mattress - think old style camping mat - under the existing mattress). Happy camping!

Leah

Leahasked

Where are the roof top tents made?

3 answers
Adventure Kings
Paul R.Adventure Kings

Hi Leah,

In our factories overseas.

Cheers,
Saleha

Leah
Leah

What country?

Adventure Kings
Paul R.Adventure Kings

Hi Leah,

The roof top tents are made in China, please let me know if there is anything else I can assist you with by emailing me at tclout@4wdsupacentre.com.au

Regards,
Tamara

Robert S.

Robert S.asked

Thinking of getting the Adventure Kings fold out roof top tent, and I have been doing some research and nowhere does it say what the weight capacity of the ladder is. My concern is that if I climb the ladder, that it may snap and I'd injure myself. My weight is 160kg and I'm 6ft 2. My partners weight is 70 so together we weigh 230kg. will the tent even hold that? Please could you guys give me a straight forward answer as to what the actual limit is of the tent? Also, what's the go with the bad waterproofing? Has that been fixed or is it still ongoing?
Thank you
Rob

3 answers
Kellie K.
Kellie K.

Did you ever try this out? That's my same question as between my partner and I we are 240kgs.

Robert S.
Robert S.

I ended up buying the product and has worked well so far for us.However, with the ladder being aluminum and I have trust issues woth that, I use 2 rope straps on each end and tighten them together so the 2 halves don't give way. I probably don't need to but for safety same, it works well. Definitely worth the buy though!

Adventure Kings
Paul R.Adventure Kings

Hi Robert,

The folded out part is held up by the ladder and partially by the roof rack.
The roof top tents don't have a set weight limit - it all depends on the load bearing capacity of your roof and roof racks. The ladder can safely hold up to 150kgs with someone climbing in - however when you are in the tent sleeping you are not on the folded out part, but at the other end of the tent which holds alot more weight as it is supported by the roof and rack.
If you need any more information, feel free to email me on sahmad@4wdsupacentre.com.au

Cheers,
Saleha

Get an answer from our members and Adventure Kings representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.