1 photo
AFG Home Loans
2.4 from 60 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Home Loans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by AFG Home Loans

Reviews

1.9
20 reviews
Previous
Next
Matt H.
Matt H.Hunter Region, NSW

I will never recommend or use them ever again

published

Awful and inefficient practices, unwilling to provide correct statements or loan discharge figures. Loan payments taking 7+ days to "clear" and being told refunds after loan discharge will take 3-4weeks

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forInvestment Property
Leanne
LeanneSouth Australia

Don't bother

published

Took out a loan with them for $347,000, but we don't have access to the full amount. Going to the ombudsman and hopefully we can refinance and have nothing more to do with them.

Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJune 2020
Loan used forInvestment Property

Other Home Loans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Sam
SamSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Very poor customer service

published

I am an AFG home loan customer. Due to COVID I was in hardship, I requested AFG to review my request to pause the repayment for 2 months. Didn't get any support at all!

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateDecember 2017
Loan used forFirst Home

Professionalism, Quality, Responsiveness, Value

published

Big thank you to Mohan for for his assistance on helping me receive a loan approval within 1 week. I highly recommend Mohan and his team to everyone. Big thank you again!

Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Home Loans

Find out how AFG Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ujwal
UjwalGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Worst decision of my life. Stay way and save your self from depression

published

The transparency and practice of this company is borderline unconscious misconduct. I am currently trying to doo a partial discharge of my loan which will reduce the balance of AFG by $110k but they are saying that they will not discharge my loan which I am currently servicing easily. My settlement is in a few weeks and they have left me absolutely no option but to discharge my all there loans from them. Funny how they don't want my business and would rather I discharge 3 loans instead of one. This is beyond my understanding and feel like they are purposely trying to make sure my settlement does not proceed. I will be making sure no one in my immediate contact EVER deal with these guys again.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forInvestment Property
Griffin
GriffinPerth, WA

Great to begin with, horrible afterwards

published

Easy to get a loan with.
Terrible if market conditions change.

If they review your rates when RBA rates change, don't expect a reasonable outcome. 0.05% offered vs 1% on their competitors.

Transparency
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Online Tools
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
Get quotes
Looking for Home Loans?

Compare lenders with Lendi

Start now
Sheree C.
Sheree C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Administration is terrible

published

Their LMI fees are great and what not. So the savings side fantastic. But their admistration is ridiculous. Everything we have had to sign had to be done again. And when it was redone we had to wait weeks for the process then redo it then wait weeks again! We have builders waiting for money to be released and the bank is taking their sweet time. As soon as we can we are refinancing with another bank

Transparency
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJuly 2020
Loan used forFirst Home

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
What Is Peer-To-Peer Lending?

Peer-to-peer lending is quickly gaining popularity among Australian borrowers and investors. If you've never heard of it before, this 2 minute read will give you a quick rundown so you can decide if P2P lending is right for you.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.14 Nov 2019
what-is-peer-to-peer-lending
Next

Thanks AFG - good and simple service

published

We rolled over our finances into a single loan and received prompt and personal service.
Online facilities are easy to use and any queries have been resolved quickly - thanks AFG

Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Application Process
5/5
Online Tools
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateSeptember 2019
Loan used forRefinancing

Other Home Loans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Dianne H.
Dianne H.
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cookie Cutter Approach and No Customer Service

published
Transparency
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateOctober 2018
Loan used forSecond Home
Home Loans

Find out how AFG Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jared
JaredGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

AFG Home Loan Edge

published
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Application Process
4/5
Timeliness
3/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
Get quotes
Looking for Home Loans?

Compare lenders with Lendi

Start now
Michael
MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD

Excellent lender with great service

published

AFG have been excellent to deal with over the past couple of years. I have now changed back to a major bank as I need more features with my home loan due to living in a remote area. If you’re looking for a simple great value home loan with excellent customer service you won’t go wrong with AFG. They have also been excellent with the discharge of both my mortgages and very quick with the release. If I ever look at refinancing my properties again I will definitely come back to AFG.

Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Application Process
5/5
Timeliness
5/5
Online Tools
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateFebruary 2018
Loan used forRefinancing

Other Home Loans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Can't even do a pre-approval stage properly

published

I have gone thru an agent who did the processing recently for an AFG loan and luckily escaped from the unforeseen problems. I have given all documents correctly on time and agent did a wonderful job to send to their topline such as BDM, unfortunately, this BDM and toplines are utterly hopeless because whenever I send their requested docs latest I have to wait for 2 weeks for a reply and on a follow up the reply will be your docs are not recent , send the latest again and repeated for more than 3 times and finally I fed up and send just stop it. The later agent agreed you are not the first person having this issue, and my question was why you referring this irresponsible lender.

Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Home Loans

Find out how AFG Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MDM
MDMVictoria
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Horrendous service and woeful organisation. Keep away from AFG!

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateMarch 2019
Loan used forHome Construction
AFG Home Loans
Dean T.AFG Home Loans
Get quotes
Looking for Home Loans?

Compare lenders with Lendi

Start now

AFG have been difficult from the start

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
3/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateMarch 2018
Loan used forSecond Home
AFG Home Loans
Dean T.AFG Home Loans
alex
alexGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • Verified

Unexplained interest rate hikes, unreasonably high discharge fees.

published
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
AFG Home Loans
Dean T.AFG Home Loans

Questions & Answers

ShaneH
ShaneHasked

Can you please advise when you will communicate your decision on the current rate decrease from the reserve bank?

2 answers
Joseph
Joseph

They haven't passed on anything but are constipating on it...!!

AFG Home Loans
Dean T.AFG Home Loans

You can view the latest rate movements in relation to the recent RBA decrease here - https://afghomeloans.com.au/afg-home-loans-rates-reduced/

Get an answer from our members and AFG Home Loans representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

Find the right home loan for you

Compare lenders with Lendi

Start NowNEW SERVICE