1 photo
AFG Home Loans
2.3 from 66 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Home Loans in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by AFG Home Loans

Reviews

1.3
12 reviews
5
(0)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(9)
Previous
Clear all
Next
Lainey
Lainey
  • 2 reviews

Warning - stay away from AFG

published

Absolutely no customer service. Easy to get a loan with, but when you want to leave due to their ridiculous interest rates etc they make it difficult. Found out our loan is actually with a 3rd party and NOT AFG.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forSecond Home
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Adarash D.
Adarash D.Sydney, NSW

100 years behind in service.

published

So when i call up they look as if i have disturbed them. First lime is ‘we are sorry but i have to transfer you to a different company’ as you are with edge home loans.

The have a primitive system of providing a debit card and their online banking is from the 70s. Everytime i transfer money between accounts it gives an error.

I am trying to get out now and my resettlement is delayed as i have magically lost about 40k in their books

Stay away from these guys.

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
2/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sam
SamSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Very poor customer service

published

I am an AFG home loan customer. Due to COVID I was in hardship, I requested AFG to review my request to pause the repayment for 2 months. Didn't get any support at all!

Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateDecember 2017
Loan used forFirst Home
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Griffin
GriffinPerth, WA

Great to begin with, horrible afterwards

published

Easy to get a loan with.
Terrible if market conditions change.

If they review your rates when RBA rates change, don't expect a reasonable outcome. 0.05% offered vs 1% on their competitors.

Transparency
3/5
Customer Service
4/5
Online Tools
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Home Loans

Find out how AFG Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sheree C.
Sheree C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Administration is terrible

published

Their LMI fees are great and what not. So the savings side fantastic. But their admistration is ridiculous. Everything we have had to sign had to be done again. And when it was redone we had to wait weeks for the process then redo it then wait weeks again! We have builders waiting for money to be released and the bank is taking their sweet time. As soon as we can we are refinancing with another bank

Transparency
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJuly 2020
Loan used forFirst Home
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dianne H.
Dianne H.
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cookie Cutter Approach and No Customer Service

published
Transparency
2/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateOctober 2018
Loan used forSecond Home
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jared
JaredGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

AFG Home Loan Edge

published
Transparency
5/5
Customer Service
3/5
Application Process
4/5
Timeliness
3/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2022!

A good super fund can make a substantial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2022.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Jan 2022
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
What Is Peer-To-Peer Lending?

Peer-to-peer lending is quickly gaining popularity among Australian borrowers and investors. If you've never heard of it before, this 2 minute read will give you a quick rundown so you can decide if P2P lending is right for you.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.14 Nov 2019
what-is-peer-to-peer-lending
Next
MDM
MDMVictoria
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Horrendous service and woeful organisation. Keep away from AFG!

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateMarch 2019
Loan used forHome Construction
AFG Home Loans
Dean T.AFG Home LoansSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

AFG have been difficult from the start

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Application Process
3/5
Timeliness
3/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateMarch 2018
Loan used forSecond Home
AFG Home Loans
Dean T.AFG Home LoansSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Home Loans

Find out how AFG Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Malcolm1978
Malcolm1978Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Terrible Service

published
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Application Process
1/5
Timeliness
1/5
Online Tools
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateOctober 2017
Loan used forHome Construction
AFG Home Loans
Dean T.AFG Home LoansSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Frustrated

published

I’ve been with AFG for less than a year and my interest rate has gone up twice .Im now looking into changing my home loan...mind youvim a first homebuyer and I’m in shock how fast the interest rates are going up when other banks are keeping their rates the same .

Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJune 2018
Loan used forFirst Home
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ben
BenHunter Region, NSW

Stay away

published

I’m warning anyone that will listen to stay away from AFG.
I have a loan with them for my land, but Im transferring my land loan to another bank to build my home.
My account was canceled by them but they are refusing to realise my loan to the other bank. But in the mean time they have charged me $800 and are trying to charge me interest on the account that was closed. Settlement has been pushed back by 2 weeks now and I’m still waiting.

I was also ahead on my payments and haven’t seen or heard where that money has gone.
Please stay away from this company

Incentivised Review No
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateMay 2017
Loan used forHome Construction
AFG Home Loans
Dean T.AFG Home LoansSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Home Loans

Find out how AFG Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

ShaneH
ShaneHasked

Can you please advise when you will communicate your decision on the current rate decrease from the reserve bank?

2 answers
Joseph
Joseph

They haven't passed on anything but are constipating on it...!!

AFG Home Loans
Dean T.AFG Home LoansSend a private message

You can view the latest rate movements in relation to the recent RBA decrease here - https://afghomeloans.com.au/afg-home-loans-rates-reduced/

Get an answer from our members and AFG Home Loans representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.