4 photos
ALDI Ferrex 2-Stroke 25.4cc Petrol Line Trimmer

ALDI Ferrex 2-Stroke 25.4cc Petrol Line Trimmer

MPNs: 53948 and AGL-0772E
2.1 from 30 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Whipper Snippers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by ALDI

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.4 (11)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    2.8 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (9)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.3 (9)
  • Safety
    2.7 (10)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Matthew
Matthew
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible to start

published

Extremely difficult to start, takes more than 10 pulls and even then a start is not guaranteed. Works well once started, but far too hard to start. I really regret buying it and I recommend avoiding buying one yourself; terrible machine.

Purchased in October 2021 at ALDI for $99.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Chris s
Chris sSydney Surrounds, NSW

Best trimmer I've bought

published

Purchased for $99.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
frustrated
frustratedSouth East Queensland, QLD

Aldi trimmer

published

Total crap. It has taken 1 hour trying to get it started and still not successful. NOT Happy is an understatement. Instructions are not easy to follow. Very dissatisfied. Rubbish.

Purchased in October 2021 at ALDI for $99.00.

Incentivised Review No
jack
jackSydney, NSW

it had problem between exhaust parts and connecting engine parts only one hole has screw,

published

that exhaust parts fall down, because only one hole connect engine parts has screw in , that very loss, lost... I hope your manager will call me or email to response that case, I can go to your repair shop to fix or other best way, thanks my mobile :0410318123

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2018 at Aida merrylands store for $99.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how ALDI Ferrex 2-Stroke 25.4cc Petrol Line Trimmer compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ahmed
AhmedGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Horrible

published

Purchased in January 2021 at ALDI for $100.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Nikita
NikitaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Very very bad product could not assembled at home I had paid extra money for assemble.

published

The slot was not going inside. Try to call technician from last 3 days but they are not give call back even. I have paid extra money to fix it.

Purchased in January 2021 at ALDI for $100.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Hot Rod
Hot RodSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dangerous and faulty, no after sales service - Aldi Petrol Trimmer

published

Item is hard to start ,regularly cuts out. Main problem is fuel leaks from the cap and around where the fuel lines enter the tank, this is made worse as the area is almost upside down when in use. Had fuel leaking on me and a ignited from the exhaust . Luckily I had gloves on and only had a stinging burn to my arm. Cutting line continually breaks and needs replacing half a dozen times on a suburban house block trim . Oh and after sales service is just a waste of time , wait on hold for up to 15 minutes ,operator takes details and then says he will pass it on and service will get back to you . Still waiting for the first time ,second and third call over three months . Bad product ,bad service .

Purchased in September 2018 at ALDI for $89.99.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Upcoming Special Buys from the ALDI Catalogue

Reviews for what's in the ALDI catalogue this week.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.2 July 2020
upcoming-special-buys-from-the-aldi-catalogue
Next
Peter S.
Peter S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Decent Line Trimmer

published

Bought this Line Trimmer same as pictured here, model 53948 couple years ago. It's taken a hammering and all still works fine. Always starts and power is decent and not leaking. Head isn't great have to change line pretty regularly but that's ok, that's the design of it. Trigger broke due to my fault, getting caught on something but retrofitted a Chinese Honda GX35 type trigger handle and it's all good again. It's decent for the price.

Purchased at ALDI for $90.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Garry B
Garry BCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 12 reviews
  • 23 likes

Non existent after sales support

published

I purchased the GARDENLINE line trimmer from ALDI last September worked well the first three times, then on the forth it failed, the clutch I believe. Rang the support line 4 times over two weeks ( A call center ) and was assured a return call which to date has never happened. Full marks to ALDI, took it back and was refunded the purchase price without problem.

Purchased in September 2018 for $89.99.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how ALDI Ferrex 2-Stroke 25.4cc Petrol Line Trimmer compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
clogs of old
clogs of oldVictoria
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Whipper Snipper problem

published

whipper sniper worked very well,no complaints,only problem throttle trigger broke , telephoned their number 1300355255 several times ,sometimes someone would and "yes we shall pas it on" sent an letter priority paid with all the details and photo copies of the problem but still no reply . All I need is a new throttle trigger so I can use it.

Purchased in September 2017 for $79.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
BenR
BenRSouthwest, VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Don't buy it.

published

Purchased in September 2018 at ALDI for $89.99.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
raj Thakur
raj ThakurMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

This product shouldn't have been sold at all

published

I am disappointed with it.

I only used it twice and it took very long to turn on.
When i started using it
The wire kept snapping off.
I changed wire a few times and finaly gave up.
I won't use it again.

I would not recommend anybody to buy it.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how ALDI Ferrex 2-Stroke 25.4cc Petrol Line Trimmer compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible

published

Used once
Second time I pulled the starter it broke.
It’s criminal.
I could not get away running a business like that i would be shamed called a scammer and broke!
I d be happy if they would at least take their rubbish back !
No support no help.

Date PurchasedJan 2019

Don't buy. No after service. unsafe.

published

Fuel leaks from tank cap. Unsafe to use. Made five requests to source a replacement cap but received no reply. After sales service is non-existent. Shame on you, gardenline. Aldi receipt states Warranty is 36 months. This is a blatant lie as requests are ignored. Is the only option to return the item to the store for a refund which is not desirable to all concern and a report to the consumer watchdog?

Date PurchasedOct 2018
bobby
bobbywarragul
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

good product no service/parts or follow up

published

after many calls and promises to send the part to fix my gardenline trimmer head from spinning off(i was willing to pay to fix it) 5 weeks now!!!! 4 STILL NO PART OR EVEN CALL AS PROMISED. 4 calls to service 2 calls to head office trimmer is good but no parts or service. Will not buy a aldi product as you get no after sales help, even when you just want any sort of reply and are willing to pay.will now buy brand name from now on

Date PurchasedJune 2017
See all ALDI Petrol Line Trimmer / Brush Cutter reviews

Questions & Answers

Luke thorley
Luke thorleyasked
Ferrex 2-Stroke 25.4cc Petrol Line Trimmer

How much does an aldi 2stroke petrol whippersnipper cost

1 answer
frustrated
frustrated

$99

Luke thorley
Luke thorleyasked
Ferrex 2-Stroke 25.4cc Petrol Line Trimmer

How much did your aldi 2stroke petrol whippersnipper cost brand new

2 answers
Chris s
Chris s

Bought it for $99 almost went to Bunnings and wasted $200+ with them just to find a brand name glad I didn't saved me alot of money the ferrex works just as good as the big brands without the rediculas price tag the only down side I think there is, is the fact it was a special buy once they go youl be lucky to find the same one again

Luke thorley
Luke thorley

Yeh ive got one im using for work its a beast

boba.ghaly2007
boba.ghaly2007asked
Ferrex 2-Stroke 25.4cc Petrol Line Trimmer

The blades at the bottom won’t spin any clue as to why it’s brand new I bought it ages ago but never opened it

No answers
See all ALDI Ferrex 2-Stroke 25.4cc Petrol Line Trimmer questions

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

ALDI Ferrex 2-Stroke 25.4cc Petrol Line Trimmer

Details

Compare all 4 ALDI Petrol Line Trimmer / Brush Cutter
CategoryPetrol Whipper Snippers
Price (RRP) $99.99
Handle TypeLoop Handle
Shaft TypeBent and Split
Power SourcePetrol
Engine Type2-Stroke
Engine Displacement25.4 cc
Cutting Head TypeLine
Line Diameter3 mm
Special Buy Dates
  • 22 Oct 2016
  • 19 Aug 2017
  • 1 Sep 2018
  • 12 Oct 2019
  • 2 Jan 2021
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateOct 2016
Discontinuation dateOct 2021
Compare all 4 ALDI Petrol Line Trimmer / Brush Cutter
  • GTIN8: 26270319
  • MPN: 53948 and AGL-0772E

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.