??!
5 photos
Aldi Expressi Machine 2016 Edition

Aldi Expressi Machine 2016 Edition

Nov 2016, Aug 2016, Apr 2016
3.5 from 224 reviews
ALDI Expressi Machine In-Depth Review

ProductReview.com.au's selected consumer review.

Reviews

3.5

224 reviews
5
(68)
4
(79)
3
(19)
2
(24)
1
(34)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.5 (2)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    3.0 (2)
Previous
Next

Design fault?

published

The new Aldi pods do not function on either of my two Expressi machines, the “ three spikes” do not penetrate the pod, hence no coffees. The older previously purchased pods worked .

Purchased in March 2017 at ALDI for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Beanthings

BeanthingsSydney

  • 12 reviews

Good pod machine hard to find pods

published

Clean lined design is unobtrousive in kitchen. Easy to clean. Coffee only, not milk. Good quality, have used for a year with no problems. Tastes good. Very quick to use and clean. Downside is these pods are only available at aldi, unlike other pod machines which have their pods sold at many stores. I like aldi and i like these pods but often this machine gets neglected when i need it most- when i am too busy to make a special trip to aldi. Also it requires you to run the water before each pod, if youve already put a pod in its a wasted pod, but if you run the water with the pod hole open the water drains in to the waste part instead of out the coffee spout. Aesthetically pleasing, lasting quality, but odd practical design.

Purchased in March 2017 at ALDI for A$80.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
deleted

deletedBrisbane

  • 25 reviews

Loving my machine!

published

this machine is the best thing that I've ever purchased. Its quick, easy and the taste is just delicious. better than any merlo or coffee shop ever! defiantly buy this product. the coffee spurts out so so smoothley with such a rich texture! ahhhhh we love it so much! Buy it today

Date PurchasedNov 2004
Capsule / Coffee Pod Machines

Find out how Aldi Expressi Machine 2016 Edition compares to other Capsule / Coffee Pod Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lyndee

LyndeeMelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great machine and great coffee

published

I have had this machine for over 2 years now and it has been great. Always produces a hot cuppa, and the Aldi coffee pods are as good as any. The only thing i would like to see is bio-degradable or compostable pods to save landfill. Warranty is finished so I would buy another if I encounter a problem in the future.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Jenny Luckie

Jenny Luckie

  • 5 reviews

Love my coffee machine

published

The coffee tastes great in my machine. Always hot and ready to drink. We drink a lot of coffee and so far this is the best machine I’ve bought. I always recommend this coffee machine to all my family and friends and they are impressed with the quality of the coffee

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Lisa

LisaWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Perfect coffee

published

Love this machine. Easy to use and clean which is important for a quick coffee fix. I use with my Aldi milk frother for a cafe style coffee at a fraction of the price. Lots of different varieties of coffees that don't break the bank like some of the other do

Date PurchasedJul 2016
Zoe

Zoe-

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Machine!

published

We purchased this machine just to make hot chocolates as we were not a big coffee family, however we have now had this machine for 2+ years and LOVE the Aldi coffee capsules which go with this machine.
Cheap machine but has a huge lifespan compared to the $400 machine we had prior to this which only lived out its "warranty" lifeline.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
AlnAn

AlnAnLemon Tree Passage

  • 5 reviews

Take it on holidays with me.

published

Excellent coffee. Simple to use. Had a minor problem and it was soon fixed with a few EMails. They sorted out my problem quickly but wanted to do some other tests on new capsules. I was happy to oblige. The people I dealt with were very friendly and sent me a complimentary coffee package during the fixing it up period.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Isabel

IsabelNsw

  • 5 reviews

Just ok!

published

This machine is OK! I used it for a few months then stopped buying the pods. I was expecting a lot more from the machine. Coffee doesn’t taste very nice. So it’s now packed away and I don’t use it. If you are a coffee lover like I am and love a good strong coffee it’s worth investing in a better machine.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Capsule / Coffee Pod Machines

Find out how Aldi Expressi Machine 2016 Edition compares to other Capsule / Coffee Pod Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Prefer the older model.

published

Bought the new model in 2016 for work and it has not worked properly, water leakes into the pod bin every time it's used. And the pod bin is much smaller than the older model. We have an older original model at home that is 6 years old and still works very well. Would love an original model again.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Blue_Guitar

Blue_GuitarMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Terrific easy to use machine

published

I have had pretty good luck with products from Aldi. We have bough their freezer, vacuum and this coffee machine over the years and each has been excellent. This couldn't be simpler to use; You just check it has water in, heat it up (less than a minute) and put a pod in - that's all there is to it! There is a really good variety of flavors although I just always buy the espresso. We have had it for over a year and it has run flawlessly. I have literally no cons I can think of!

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Car54

Car54Melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Reliable Coffee Maker

published

We never have any trouble with this coffee maker. its one appliance in our house that always works. We use it daily - often many times a day and both like it. It's easy to use, compact and requires very little other than its tanks kept filled and the occasional wipe down. The coffee are superb and the range is extensive. Something to suit all tastes!

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Coopers

Coopersmelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Always does the job well

published

We use this every day - quite a few times! It never complains, it just does its thing and does it well. Its very easy to use. It just requires water in the tank and a powerpoint. It heats up within a minute or so and you choose your pod ad there you go! Hot coffee in moment. The best thing about this system is the lack of mes. Its clean and efficient.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Greg N

Greg N

  • 2 reviews

Not bad, does the job

published

Very easy to use and clean, this low-maintenance coffee machine still deliver coffee which is above the average if we are talking about capsules. Additional plus is the big variety of taste that Aldi offer. Preparing a morning hot drink is very quick with that machine. Apart from coffee, you could use it for chai latte, hot chocolate and similar as well.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Mrsmac12

Mrsmac12Brisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

I love the Aldi Expressi machine and this is the second Aldi one we have purchased. Great value for money. Easy to use and clean. Makes the perfect coffee every time. Never had an issue with it at all. Would recommend to anyone. The previous models had issues with pods but this one has never been a problem. The coffee is always hot and Pods are never out of stock. Love it love it love it.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Capsule / Coffee Pod Machines

Find out how Aldi Expressi Machine 2016 Edition compares to other Capsule / Coffee Pod Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
KylieJene

KylieJeneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Love mine! Use it every day. This is my second Aldi expressi machine first one lasted 5 years.

published

I love the taste of Torino (dark chocolate notes). This model has a smaller water reserve, but is more slimline, and takes up much less room. Easier to clean with drip catcher being seperate from waste pod container. There was a issue with pods a while back, (coffee dripping inside waste container not coming out the front) but current pods work great. The coffee Is always perfectly flavoured and hot, never burnt.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Phil

PhilSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Good unit no mess.

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Sandy22

Sandy22melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Reliable Good Coffee Machine

published

Got this because my cousin has it and I got to try it many times before buying. I really enjoy my coffees from this. Its well built looks good in the kitchen and there is a solid selection of pods available. The only things to remember are to keep the water topped up and to empty the drip tray. Its a good and very reliable machine

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
TVdiary

TVdiaryMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Best Thing I bought Last Year!

published

I love coffee and considering I used to buy my coffees at $4 a cup, this has already paid itself off well and truly. Every morning the last thing I do is brew up a cup for my keep cup before I head out. The process is super fast with this. Takes less than a minute and I am gone. There are so many pod varieties available - I always go for strong espresso ones but there are stacks more. The machine itself has been 100% reliable, no problems at all. Just got to keep the water tank full and the drip tray empty - that's it!. A well worth it purchase.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Walnut

Walnutmelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Awesome Coffee Every Day

published

I have used this nearly every day since we got it. I immediately liked. It is very simple and makes good coffee. It is kind of impossible to get wrong. There is a lot of different pod flavors available. My favorite are the espresso type. To operate t you just check that the water level is OK, put in a pod and turn it on. So easy and more than a little addictive. I have had no problems with the machine It is well thought out and think anyone would like this.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Page 1 of 12
See all ALDI Expressi Machine reviews

Questions & Answers

Beth

Bethasked

Apr 2016

I was unable to remove the used pod container from my machine for many months, & eventually stopped trying. After about a year of disuse, I mentioned the problem to someone, this afternoon, & showed them how the container is supposed to be removed, so they could have a go, and as I did so, the container just came straight out, no problems! I gather it was because the coffee had become totally dehydrated over time, and so the pods had shrunk back down, so they no longer filled the available space...!

Anyway, I plugged my machine back in, filled up the water container, and tried to run the clean water through the machine. Although the 3 lights came on, then 2 went off (as they’re supposed to) leaving the milk/rinse button’s light on, when I pressed the button, nothing happened. I’ve tried all 3 buttons, and have tried with & without a pod in the machine, but nada! It doesn’t make a sound, either, so the water isn’t even heating up! Any suggestions as to what the problem might be, or how I might be able to get my Expressi machine working again?

Any help would be much appreciated!

1 answer
Kel
Kel

How old is the machine ? Honestly from your story you probably need to go out and buy a new machine. Especially if it is not under warranty anymore. I have just bought the latest machine at Aldi and it is fabulous ! A lot quieter than the original one I purchased a few years back.

Margaret. E

Margaret. Easked

Expressi Machine 2016 Edition

The coffee is coming out into the empty pod container the spout is clean

No answers
Darcygirl01

Darcygirl01asked

Expressi Machine 2016 Edition

I have a machine thats about 2 years old, and accidentally pressed the middle button before putting the water reservoir back in the machine, and now it just grumbles along but no water gettting through... i cant find my manual -. Is a reset worth trying, and if so, which buttons do i press and for how long please??

2 answers
Rabhaw
Rabhaw

I suggest buying some descaler, it's not dear. Fill up your reservoir with water and a cap of descaler, the coffee residue builds up, thus blocking the flow. I hope this helps you.

Darcygirl01
Darcygirl01

Thank you so much for your prompt response! It started to work again after it had been turned off for a while, but I suspect it does need descaling as we have never done that up till now (unlike the Caffitaly we used to have that just seized up until you followed the laborious descaler process on a monotonously regulaf basis)!!l Really appreciate your help.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.