??!

Reviews

2.4

33 reviews
5
(5)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(16)
Previous
Next
IanM

IanMBrisbane

You get what you pay for!

published

I purchased the first one on the 2nd April 20. purchased oil, prepared generator. As has been posted here previously, pulled cord , engine raved out and stopped. No amount of sweat and cursing should get it to run. Returned item and took another one home. Went through the start up and no problem. Roll forward to 17 March 20 and pulled generator out to operate a 600w transfer pump. Engine kicked into life but no power to pump with the green run light not showing. End result is a generator engine that starts every time but no power production. Back to Aldi tomorrow for a refund, looks well made but you get what you pay for.

Purchased in April 2020 at ALDI for A$364.38.

Gary and Bernadette.

Gary and Bernadette.North Western Region, NSW

Great machine.

published

Great machine great price to just done 306hrs had it a month still going strong like the day we purchased it. Turn on economy switch and it won't rev it's guts out use 95/98 octane fuel for good fuel economy we run ours for 9-11 hours a night and still have 1litre of fuel left in the morning running a 800 watts heater on economy mode. Thanks aldi.

Purchased in April 2020 for A$349.00.

Stan

Stan

  • 2 reviews

Ran for 20 seconds and then seized

published

I bought one of these "Special Buys" 2 weeks ago. I attempted to test it yesterday after following all instructions re oil (not included in purchase), fuel, settings etc. and after 10 pulls it burst into life at an incredibly high rev. speed. Before I could get to the kill switch it stopped "dead" and the recoil pulley start would not budge so it appears the engine has seized. I took it back for a refund and left the $10 worth of oil in it. Bad experience.

Purchased in April 2020 at ALDI for A$349.00.

Generators

Find out how ALDI Inverter Generator compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

made in china

published

You will think its made in Germany but no its made in china, then comes the noise ,no reading is given that how much db it is.i think iys waste of money and time.also its bulky.

Pop

PopCeduna

  • 9 reviews

Great value

published

I weld with this unit on farms. Has not let me down in 3 years. Outputs a beautiful sine wave that my most delicate electronics work on. I jave properly load tested this unit on a 30 degree day at its continuous output rating (hint - its not 3500w) and it performed well for a full tank of gas.

The only thing I would wish for is a 12v output but not critical. Keep it under cover as some of the chrome bits get rusty but no biggie.

Purchased in March 2018 at ALDI for A$199.00.

Briony J.

Briony J.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

You get what you pay for but it was a good short-term fix

published

I live off grid and rely on a solar setup, bought this cheap gen as a back-up (which ended up seeing almost full-time use last winter..!). Worked great (albeit noisy) for quite a few months until the inverter died. It was repaired under warranty but then died again a few months later- by then my nearest service centre had stopped dealing with these due to bad rep) so I had to return for a refund. Did the job until I could afford to buy a better one.

Purchased in April 2019 at ALDI for A$399.00.

Failed to generate power

published

Brand new, worked fine for a couple of weeks then failed. No power from any outlet. Must be an electrical design fault. Didn't want to open it up as I didn't want to risk the guarantee. Haven't taken it back yet. Bought a replacement as I am dependent on and after just two weeks looks like it's going the same way. Spend the money and buy a known brand. This generator is a piece of garbage. Very inconsistent reviews seems to indicate luck of the draw. Very disappointing.

Purchased in May 2019 at ALDI for A$350.00.

Dave C.

Dave C.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Aldi Generator

published

Generator ran great for a few months then all of a sudden stalled and would not start again. I was told it wasn't covered under warranty because the 2 month old fuel was too old (which is a load of rubbish).
I ended up stripping the carby and eventually got it going again but it is not reliable. It has happened again since and with fresh fuel.
27/2/2020 - Update.......bought a 3.5kVA generator from 4wd Supercentre for $389.00. Has been working great for almost 12 months.

Purchased in April 2017 for A$399.00.

Pete

PeteWestern Australia

Piece of crap

published

First time I used this ganerator it ran great for about 30 to 45 minutes using the air conditioner inn the caravan , it then. Started to run flat out as it was going to blow up , the went back to idle and then speeding up and down and not producing any power . Switched the generator off and left it for about an hour . After restart it was just hunting up and down with no power from the generator turned it off. For the day and tried it again the following day with the same problem. You’d think that at least the generator would last more than a day . NOT HAPPY AT ALL

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Generators

Find out how ALDI Inverter Generator compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter T

Peter T

  • 2 reviews

Doesn’t meet claimed power output

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
jimi

jimiSouth East Queensland, QLD

Never missed a beat for 3 years now over revs

published

3 1/2 kilowatt version has been fantastic and never missed a beat in three years or more but now is over revving all the time from what I gather from this forum is that there's a switch which need to pull the generator apart to access reset great for safety very inconvenient for the everyday user.

I got a 2200 what version to get me through recently.
Don't waste your time with it.
I knew I should have bought two of them four years ago

Date PurchasedJun 2015

Good when it’s working

published

Runs for awhile then it doesn’t produce power. I have to shut it down for awhile. When I restart it it produces power again. The cooler the day the longer it’ll produce power. Will be no good on hot days to run camp fridges. Noise wise, it is pretty much on a par with similar genset of the same size, just a shame that the heat sensor might be to sensitive or faulty.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Good buy

published

Great value for $299. 60 day money return, 3 year warranty.
Runs all electronic appliances.
Noise level ok. not to bad under load. So yes, not to bad for its price....... good for back up incase power goes out to keep fridge running and water pump.
Chuck afew bales of mulch around it and its quiet.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Mimsy

MimsySydney

The newer version 2018 is a TOTAL failure

published

I bought this generator 2 years ago and it worked well for 4 months, used regularly. When it failed i had lost the receipt... I bought a new one this year, looks the same, but it only worked for a couple of weeks. I was able to return it and get a refund. As the store still had some on the shelf, I bought a replacement, which only lasted 5 days. That's 2 identical generators fail within a month for the 2018 model. The current manufacturer of this generator obviously has substantial quality issues in their production process!

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Pile of rubbish

published

Exhaust stud snapped off and the other one rattled loose while running. Broke remaining cast mounts essentially ruining all components. Still starts and runs but obviously very loud. Just using up Remaining fuel and will return ASAP. Will probably get another one as the two year warranty is attractive.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Generators

Find out how ALDI Inverter Generator compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
WayneA.

WayneA.

  • 2 reviews

(ALDI) Work Zone T I G 3600W

published

Purchased from new ALDI Store Dalby QLD. Firstly great service from staff at store. Set this Geni up day after purchase and have not yet had any issues with it. have no mains power only off grid solar then Geni to run Pulse charger to keep deep cycle batteries charged at night and geni runs TV & Powered extension speaker system also at night and computer with extension monitor. Not a huge load but works great . It runs from 4pm till 10pm each night . Fuel economy is good on pare with the Fuji Micro of the same KW that I have . I intend using this work zone to also run washing machine ect. Paid only $360.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Len1010

Len1010South East Queensland, QLD

  • 49 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great Product for the right people.

published
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Honky

HonkyGoulburn

Cannot fault it, great generator for the price.

published
Date PurchasedMar 2016
1 comment
Honky
Honky

Great genny

published

Brought this to run aircon and electrics in caravan. Over the 4 days of march long weekend we sweltered through 42+ degrees. This unit ran my aircon between 14 to 16 hours every day through this period. When hot running aircon will run jug or toaster. Never a problem. Used it over easter without an issue.
Very happy

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Firegobie

FiregobieKatunga, VIC

Work Zone (Aldi) Titanium Inverter Generator 3500W FAIL!

published

The first time I used it this generator ran for about 10 hours and the inverter started to fail. With the LED light its was running starting to flash. We tried everything and then the inverter stopped completely. Found the receipt and will be taking it back asap. For $400, I expected it to last a lot longer than that. Made the camping trip so much more difficult and the kids miserable. Very disappointed Aldi!!!

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Eric G

Eric Gasked

Ferrex 4-Stroke Inverter Generator 2000W (Mar 2020)

Overload light is on all the time,hence no power? Have not overloaded machine ,is there an easy fix?

No answers
Muni

Muniasked

Work Zone Titanium Inverter Generator 3500W (Mar 2016, Apr 2017)

the red light is on and it is not generating current. Any help?

1 answer
Semi G.
Semi G.

Which oil is used in this generator?

Manoj K.

Manoj K.asked

1 answer
Semi G.
Semi G.

In Naqoro

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.