See the Best Generators in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Previous
Next
Marcel Burns
Marcel BurnsHunter Region, NSW

It leaks oil ,

published

Seeals are shoty, oil greats into air filter badly, its a wonder it could still suck air in, and it only good point, is it starts easy and doesnt cut out with jug like the gentrax did

Purchased in April 2021 for $290.00.

Incentivised Review No
Ronald
RonaldGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

real rubbish

published

got two work zone generator's 1 lasted 3 hours, was repaired, then failed again ,opened second one new from the box, no spark .real Chinese rubbish do not buy one!...or even two like me how would l rate them, rubbish, you would think Aldi would test its goods and have a department to test goods but no, they just sell. buyer bedwear

Incentivised Review No

Other Generators

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Jurgen Dorbecker
Jurgen DorbeckerSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Exactly, You get what you pay for !

published

Having purchased the Ferrex Generator in April 2020 at Aldi. After a few test runs of about 5 to 10 minutes each over a period of 2 months I found that the generator did not produce any electricity anymore . So I decided to return the generator to Aldi for a refund. Faulty / bad designed product. Looks nice, but is useless !

Purchased in April 2020 at ALDI for $349.00.

Incentivised Review No
Generators

Find out how ALDI Inverter Generator compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
IanM
IanMBrisbane

You get what you pay for!

published

I purchased the first one on the 2nd April 20. purchased oil, prepared generator. As has been posted here previously, pulled cord , engine raved out and stopped. No amount of sweat and cursing should get it to run. Returned item and took another one home. Went through the start up and no problem. Roll forward to 17 March 20 and pulled generator out to operate a 600w transfer pump. Engine kicked into life but no power to pump with the green run light not showing. End result is a generator engine that starts every time but no power production. Back to Aldi tomorrow for a refund, looks well made but you get what you pay for.

Purchased in April 2020 at ALDI for $364.38.

Incentivised Review No
Stan
Stan
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Ran for 20 seconds and then seized

published

I bought one of these "Special Buys" 2 weeks ago. I attempted to test it yesterday after following all instructions re oil (not included in purchase), fuel, settings etc. and after 10 pulls it burst into life at an incredibly high rev. speed. Before I could get to the kill switch it stopped "dead" and the recoil pulley start would not budge so it appears the engine has seized. I took it back for a refund and left the $10 worth of oil in it. Bad experience.

Purchased in April 2020 at ALDI for $349.00.

Incentivised Review No

Related Articles

Previous

Upcoming Special Buys from the ALDI Catalogue

Reviews for what's in the ALDI catalogue this week.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.2 July 2020
upcoming-special-buys-from-the-aldi-catalogue
Next

You will think its made in Germany but no its made in china, then comes the noise ,no reading is given that how much db it is.i think iys waste of money and time.also its bulky.

Incentivised Review No

Failed to generate power

published

Brand new, worked fine for a couple of weeks then failed. No power from any outlet. Must be an electrical design fault. Didn't want to open it up as I didn't want to risk the guarantee. Haven't taken it back yet. Bought a replacement as I am dependent on and after just two weeks looks like it's going the same way. Spend the money and buy a known brand. This generator is a piece of garbage. Very inconsistent reviews seems to indicate luck of the draw. Very disappointing.

Purchased in May 2019 at ALDI for $350.00.

Incentivised Review No
Dave C.
Dave C.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Generator ran great for a few months then all of a sudden stalled and would not start again. I was told it wasn't covered under warranty because the 2 month old fuel was too old (which is a load of rubbish).
I ended up stripping the carby and eventually got it going again but it is not reliable. It has happened again since and with fresh fuel.
27/2/2020 - Update.......bought a 3.5kVA generator from 4wd Supercentre for $389.00. Has been working great for almost 12 months.

Purchased in April 2017 for $399.00.

Incentivised Review No

Other Generators

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Pete
PeteWestern Australia

First time I used this ganerator it ran great for about 30 to 45 minutes using the air conditioner inn the caravan , it then. Started to run flat out as it was going to blow up , the went back to idle and then speeding up and down and not producing any power . Switched the generator off and left it for about an hour . After restart it was just hunting up and down with no power from the generator turned it off. For the day and tried it again the following day with the same problem. You’d think that at least the generator would last more than a day . NOT HAPPY AT ALL

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Generators

Find out how ALDI Inverter Generator compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mimsy
MimsySydney

The newer version 2018 is a TOTAL failure

published

I bought this generator 2 years ago and it worked well for 4 months, used regularly. When it failed i had lost the receipt... I bought a new one this year, looks the same, but it only worked for a couple of weeks. I was able to return it and get a refund. As the store still had some on the shelf, I bought a replacement, which only lasted 5 days. That's 2 identical generators fail within a month for the 2018 model. The current manufacturer of this generator obviously has substantial quality issues in their production process!

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Exhaust stud snapped off and the other one rattled loose while running. Broke remaining cast mounts essentially ruining all components. Still starts and runs but obviously very loud. Just using up Remaining fuel and will return ASAP. Will probably get another one as the two year warranty is attractive.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Firegobie
FiregobieKatunga, VIC

Work Zone (Aldi) Titanium Inverter Generator 3500W FAIL!

published

The first time I used it this generator ran for about 10 hours and the inverter started to fail. With the LED light its was running starting to flash. We tried everything and then the inverter stopped completely. Found the receipt and will be taking it back asap. For $400, I expected it to last a lot longer than that. Made the camping trip so much more difficult and the kids miserable. Very disappointed Aldi!!!

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Tom H.
Tom H.Brisbane

Ran once flawlessly...

published

Generator ran once flawlessly, on the second run power cut out after a couple of hours and it started billowing noxious white smoke.
Restarting the generator after it was left to cool caused a bang to be heard form the inverter and something white ejected form that area of the generator.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
steve
steveEyre Peninsula, SA
  • 17 reviews
  • 15 likes

Just dont get sucked in by price.

published

We live of grid and have done for ten years . We have tried many cheap genies over that time all being rubbish.A friend of ours got sucked in by the price on a workzone geny although we told him its a gamble the price won him .The thing ran for a total of 8 hrs and now wont produce power he has tried everyone to try and get help but guess what know one wants to help so of to consumer affairs what a drama 3 months and still no joy.Just go out and buy a honda or a yamaha dont get sucked in to a cheap geny or like all of us that have tried you will end up throwing your hard earned in the bin.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Other Generators

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Stopped putting power out

published

I have used my generator 3 times and it has stopped putting out power.I have checked all the power outlets and the cords. The green light is on indicating that power is there but when I put appliance in no power. I have done all the trouble shooting process also.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Generators

Find out how ALDI Inverter Generator compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Robin H.
Robin H.asked
1 answer
Gary M.
Gary M.

They initially were $399, but I bought it on special for $349.

Tariq mehmood
Tariq mehmoodasked
Work Zone Inverter Generator 3600W (Jun 2018, Apr 2019)

Geneator shows warning lights .red and green. And also he does not make ignition. Plz help me

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Contact the service number for help

Stirling
Stirlingasked
1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Howe?

See all ALDI Inverter Generator questions

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

ALDI Inverter Generator

Details

Compare all 6 ALDI Inverter Generator
CategoryGeneratorsGeneratorsGeneratorsGenerators
Release dateMar 2016June 2018Mar 2020Sept 2018
Discontinuation dateApr 2017Apr 2019Apr 2020Oct 2018
ManualDownload manual
Compare all 6 ALDI Inverter Generator

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.