??!

See the Best Hatchbacks in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Never will I buy another Alfa

Where to begin? I feel in love with the car as soon as I saw it and needed to have it. I knew that Alfa previously had a bad wrap but I assumed that after yrs of no Alfa that they would have smartened their act up, sadly I was wrong.... for the first year of owning it, it was pure bliss then the trouble started. It was recalled and had to have wiring fixed because of a fire hazard issue.... took the car back to the dealership in Brisbane to get the recall fixed, after 2 weeks of my car being there they called and advised that they didn’t have all the correct wiring and it will need to be booked back in. The wiring finally came in and it was replaced which took over a week, after the new wiring went in this is when faults stated appearing on the screen... this stated off with the car screaming at me and beeping because even though all passengers and driver had their seatbelts on the car system said they didn’t and beeped, later on it said doors weren’t closed properly which meant that the car wouldn’t lock with the fob but had to be done manually, I had engine warning lights come on etc etc basically the dash board was like a Christmas tree.... all the times these faults happened I took it back to Alfa, they would reset the computer to make the faults go away but they didn’t know how to fix the problem, I called around to local machenics like Midas etc including ones that specialise in European cars and no one knew how to fix it including Alfa Romeos workshop form where I bought it from. During this time there was a rattle in the dash that was never possible to find just a rattle that drives you crazy. The DNA system is a load of crap, just the car holding it revs longer and the fake heavy feel in the steering wheel but it’s not a very engaging feel, it didn’t feel right to me and I never used it unless I was on the highway as all scence of steering went away it feels quite fauge which isn’t comphforting. No one knows how to service the car properly I’m always having to take it back because either wrong oil goes in or there isn’t any info on what things to use so it take them a while to let you know what’s happening..... there isn’t enough info on the car for a machenic including the dealerships machenic.... it’s a beautiful looking car but it’s cheaply put together with plastic that breaks and no info.... I’m truely sad to say that I wouldn’t recommend this car or Alfa all together as my mother in law has the new suv and it’s already causing her problems and she has only had it form 4mths

BadgeProgression JTD-M
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Think before you buy

Driving is ok. Uses a lot of 95 unleaded petrol and being 4cyl is slow to take off even when switched to turbo (which guzzles up heaps of petrol too). Rattling noise coming from dash. Sun visor came loose ages ago. Door handles are plastic and snap off, they're coated with silver alum which flakes off and cuts (replaced 3/4 times).Too much plastic inside. Archaic cumbersome manual turning wheels to lower seat. Top of windshield above glass peels off all on its own (making car look old and shabby). Car collects leaves and when heater is turned on, they set on fire. Usb port in glovebox - so u have to leave that open, if u want to use it.

BadgeDistinctive
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014

Don’t do it

Too many electronic, door furniture faults to mention, very expensive to repair and no one in Australia knows what to do with it when it does fail, so I suggest to stay away unless you like to fix cars for a living because nobody else will, good luck because you will need it.

BadgeProgression
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013

Alfa Lover

I am biased having owned 8 Alfa Romeos so far however I will try to be as objective as I can. Firstly the car is beautifully designed inside and out. There is a presence and aura you experience everytime you drive the car. And that feeling is just missing from other German or Japanese cars.

There is the heritage of the Alfa Romeo badge which is Italian exoticism no different to a Ferrari or Maserati. Its that which is what you are buying rather than anything else. And of course Enzo Ferrari used to work for Alfa Romeo when he was younger and then branched out with his own company. So you could say Alfa Romeo was the mother of Enzo Ferrari. In those days 30s-40s -50s or so Alfa Romeo was the supercar brand of its day. There was no Ferrari, Lambourghini or Porsche etc. There was just Alfa Romeo that made the most expensive and fastest supercars in the world.

The Giulietta is very good compared to older model Alfas. The handling is very competent but not the best handling Alfa Ive driven. The comfort levels are very high and defitnely the most comfortable "sports" car Ive ever driven. And the brakes are brilliant. Defintely the best brakes Ive used on the QV model. They are 4 piston brembos that pull the car up from high speed beautifully. They can also be feathered lightly on fast carners almost like your painting with a paintbrush they really have a incredibly beautiful feel to them.

0-100K time I think is 6.7 secs or so which is the fastest in its class. So you can blow away a Golf GTI no problem.

Now unfortunately the engine turbo lag is not the best in this car. I have come from an Alfa GTV V6 with beautiful V6 3.0L Engine and to get used to the 4 cylinder turbo takes a while to get used to. There is no smooth power delivery like a V6 but it all happens when you have a lot of revs built up. So takes a while to get used to the turbo lag.

Overall Im really quiet happy with the car. Mine has optional leather seats which are very hard to find in a second hand car. And it has the most beautiful interior. It is a real pleasure to be in the cabin everytime. And my friends really love the car also. Everywhere I go people look and admire the design of the car.

So if you love cars the Alfa maybe for you.

BadgeQV
Engine Size1.7L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Perfect car!

Love this zippy gutsy little beast. Dynamic mode leaves the fastest for dead. So reliable and spacious enough. Only a few minor things: missing a grab handle on passenger side roof, and there's no clock on the radio/dash but other that it's the perfect little car while still being very punchy. Oh and torque is incredible.

BadgeProgression JTD-M
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Love it!!!

I do love this car. It is a good car, not perfect, but I would not drive anything else. Firstly let me say that I am an ex-automotive engineer who has driven literally hundreds of cars including testing them at the proving ground. So my comparisons are extensive and as a bench marker, I drove budget to luxury and everything in between. The Alfa Romeo is for people who love them, just like the engineers who designed them, so I am willing to overlook a few things here and there. e.g. - visibility in other cars of this size is better. My start stop was back and forth to fix, but ultimately we worked out the problem just before the 3-year warranty expired. The gasket on my windshield fell apart at 2.5 years, but that is what you get when you buy a European car not made for the harsh Aussie sun - fixed under warranty too. Services are cheap if you shop around and disagree with the review on standard tyres - I find the P7s stick great and look better than the alternatives so i replaced ith the same at 45k. For a small car, it has outstanding control and the Alfa cockpit design is a great feel for those who love it. The wheels on this car go black very quickly compared to other cars but they wash very easily at the local You-Do. Great value for the price

BadgeProgression
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2014

Great fun car

Great looking car with lots of grunt. As standard does not sound sporty, but with time and some minor modification becomes a real Alfa.
Standard tyres limit absolute grip, be careful with your selection and the handling is amazing.
The interior is great to look at but typically Italian form over function, no foot rest in the clutch manual, the cupholders are useless, and the glovebox is not even big enough for the manual.
Not the most economical in the class, but overall has been very cheap to run and service for over 100K and has been perfectly reliable.

BadgeQuadrifoglio Verde
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2014

Brilliant hot hatch. Only flaws lay inside . Fuel consumption more than advertised

Going on 6 years old now , bought a 1500k ex demo 1.8l turbo as soon as they hit our shores.
Looks great, drives like a dream. No mechanical issues whatsoever .
Trim on steering wheel flaking off in a couple of spots , and consumption about 11 l/100km around town rather then the lower advertised rate , are my only minor gripes .

BadgeQV
Engine Size1.7L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2011

Giulietta Distinctive 2ltr Diesel Problems

I purchased my ex demo 2ltr Diesel Giulietta two years ago and for the remainder of the warranty period it was fantastic, lots of power and reasonable economy averaging 5.5 liters per hundred kilometers however within two months of ending the 3 year warranty and having only done about 14,000kms the check engine light keeps coming on with a diesel particulate filter error code. I expect better from a low kilometer almost new car and will now have to pay more to get this problem fixed. I was cautious buying an Alfa from their historic reputation and now it has come back to bite me. Having owned Honda's, Mazda's, Suzuki's and even a Jeep I have never had issues under 100,000kms.

BadgeDistinctive JTD-M
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2014

Great little car!

Love the feel,handling and performance. Reliability after 40,000Ks? So far so good and puts my last car, a Subaru Forrester to shame. Also given up with the Stop Start feature but what the hell, I drive it almost exclusively in "Dynamic" mode using paddle shifts and the driving enjoyment is worth the few extra bucks you save in petrol using "Normal" and Stop Start.

BadgeDistinctive
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014

Love the car

I been driving Giulietta 2013 (brandnew) for nearly 3 years 40K on clock, love the feel of the car. Had problems with start/stop not working. Dealer fixed it after 4 attempts, 6 months diagnostics and 2 batteries replacement. Finally fixed by replacing battery sensors. Good car but poor service and parts availability.

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual

Great all round car, well worth considering

I've had my QV Giulietta for nearly 3 years now and it has been a very good car. Plenty of power for a 1750cc engine and the 6-speed manual makes for effortless cruising. It can be thirsty around town, but gulps less on the highway. The engine is smooth and quiet (actually the car is quite quiet) but has a little rasp through the gears. It's definitely not a Golf GTI with a burp, but isn't that all a bit chav? Despite not having the integrated sat nav, the BOSE 9 speaker CD/Radio is great quality and the Bluetooth syncs effortlessly. Seats are quite firm but comfortable and the driving position is very adjustable. I have the combo leather/fabric and it's a nice combination and so far hard wearing. The "DNA" system works well and enables you to access the full 235hp from the engine, which is handy for overtaking and "spirited" driving. The boot is quite spacious, the rear seats less so. Larger adults will find the rear a bit cramped.

Servicing has been good, dealers are trying hard to please and are certainly happy to oblige. The only issue I've experienced is with the climate control - a sensor failed, but a warranty repair and SW upgrade sorted that. The ride is firm and can be a little choppy on harsh surfaces, so take a 1.4 if you prefer a slightly more compliant ride.

The cabin quality isn't Golf standard - yet...Once criticism is the lack of storage space. It would be nice to have more usable space for phones / wallets etc.

It has some nice features to surprise - like cooled / heated glove box, dual zone CC, ambient lighting, red stitching on seats, steering wheel, gear lever etc. Heated mirrors and reversing sensors. It lacks the camera for reversing which is a shame, but the sensors work well.

Quality like paint / alloys / finish overall is very good and if you're looking for a simple, smart car that stands out, its worth a look. Take one for a drive and see how it feels. Don't be put off by the naysayers - most of what they refer to is 80s cars. The Mito, 159 etc. showed the world that AR can still build cars.

BadgeQuadrifoglio Verde
Engine Size1.7L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual

Great car

Bought new as a work car mid 2014 as I wanted a compact safe car with some pep. I used it for a year driving around metro Sydney and all over country NSW. I found the car to be extremely fuel efficient, comfortable, quiet and generally a great environment to be in for at times several hours. I was particularly impressed with how the car handled appalling country road surface conditions considering it probably hadnt been fine tuned for our road conditions. Equally impressive was the engine and transmission responsiveness overtaking and keeping up with far larger cars on the road. I have since taken a different role and have a company car. That said I decided to keep my Alfa for satisfaction reasons alone.

The only let down is the service department. But that said it's not too dissimilar to the experience of other marques. Advice is shop around for a service department you are happy with. Alfa Australia need to invest in more technician training otherwise there's no point in taking your car to an Alfa dealer for service. NRMA will do the manufacturer log book service cheaper.

BadgeProgression
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic

Alfa Romeo Giulietta 1.4 multi air petrol 6 speed manual

24,000klms on the clock and 2 years ownership. Bought brand new 'Progression' model. Fun to drive. Completely reliable. Fantastic service costs ( last annual service was AU$360.00. It's a ripper and a great town car. Have also driven long distance and felt fresh after 10 hours driving. For the price, it's unbreaten. Get the manual 6 speed and use the motor the way Alfa Romeo wanted you to! it will put a smile on your face every time and the 1.4 litre Multiair punches well above its weight....especially around town, but just keep the RPMs above 2600 to find the power band. Seriously, you don't need the QV. The 1.4 is absolutely adequate for city driving and the fuel efficiency of the 1.4 is great. I've owned and driven a variety of BMWs and Porsches as the Giulietta is the most fun to be had within 'legal limits'. 10/10 car...sorry, it's not a car, it's an Alfa! :)

BadgeProgression
TransmissionManual

Love my Guiiletta, I love driving it

I bought my Guiletta brand new after trading in my Ford Focus which was a lemon.
What a difference I have had no problems I have had it for one year and I love driving it the feel that I get from the power that it's got is amazing especially if you drive it in dynamic. Best car ever.

BadgeProgression
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual

A joy to drive !

Purchased new in 2013, now 25k on clock, half a dozen Brisbane - Sydney return runs included.. hasn't missed a beat, and its a joy to drive. The TCT auto does its job as it should... the Dynamic setting provides extra excitement to the driving experience.. the diesel engine gives me a fuel consumption of 4.5 lts/100km on the long trips...
Internal trim is as it should and no problems.

BadgeDistinctive JTD-M
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic

So good

I bought my gulietta in 2013 as a demo with 2000k she's a 2012 2lt turbo diesel distinctive model with a sport upgrade which adds the QV model 18" wheels and brakes and leather bolstered seats, she's black and gorgeous.
I've driven her on daily 150km round trip commutes over the last two years racking up over 70000km average speed 110kmph fuel economy around 6.2lt per 100km and a range of about 990km per 60lt tank. I've had no problems except for a leaking windscreen washer hose that was sucking air instead of water.The dealer has failed to reset the mileage after oil changes which has resulted in a red oil warning light scaring the life out of me but just indicating a service is due, service intervals are 15000 km which seems way to long to me but I've had no problems. Mine has the twin clutch auto which is great, I have the option of shifting manually with paddles or the stick but I can't better the auto for sporty driving. I have had three tires delaminate on me, I think that may be an issue with low profile tyres as they where two different brands. I find the car handles best on the Pirelli zeros. After 70000km all the fittings have held up perfectly there is an annoying resonance in the dash when coming of throttle that's started just recently though I'll get the dealer to take a look.
I had to write this in response to the review above on the diesel with transmission problems may be an issue with manuals. My car has been completely reliable, fun to drive(the diesel has awesome torque) and I love looking at her curves.

BadgeProgression JTD-M
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic

Still enjoying it

I did an initial review not long after we bought the Guilietta in 2013 and was very happy with it then. It is now coming up to two years of ownership and 30,000km and I have to say that I am still very happy with it and look forward each day to getting into the driver's seat and giving it a spin. It's the lowest spec model - 1.4l turbo manual with hubcaps - but it doesn't want for much in terms of creature comforts. Everything works well and the DNA system (which I thought may be a bit of a gimmick) is effective. I keep it in 'N' (the economy setting) almost all the time and gives it more than enough power with good economy (averaging 6.2km/100litres which is quite reasonable given that it is used a fair bit in the city and gets driven energetically a lot) .

The 'D' setting really affects the performance in a positive way. However, I use the 'D' setting probably less than 10% of the time and mainly when I feel like a rap up a hilly twisty road as it makes it quite nervous around the city. The 'A' setting has been used rarely (it's for slippery wet conditions) so can't make any substantive comments there. The motor is a ripper, it has a great gearbox (although the throws are fairly long - longer than my daughters Mazda 3) and the handling brakes and ride are excellent. I have had no problems with it apart from one rear hatch strut which needed replacing. The bluetooth works well. Servicing costs have been reasonable in terms of cost and execution.

What things aren't so good? (1) The interior/ dash layout is fairly uninspiring (and the overall interior presentation is one area where the Golf really has it over the Alfa (2) the front and rear of the car disappear from sight making parking judgements challenging (parking sensors are advisable). My wife has issues with this and dislikes driving it in shopping centres and the like.
All in all, a great little car.

BadgeDistinctive
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual

Best car I've driven!

We bought the 2013 1.4 litre turbo petrol and have had no problems at all except that the stop/start engine function sometimes doesn't stop when the car is stationary. Everything else is perfect. Wonderful handling, fantastic acceleration, beautiful engine note, unbelievable economy and wrapped up in a stylish package with a bit of Italian flair. Couldn't be happier with this car and, so far, the TCT transmission has not missed a beat.

Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol

Alfa Romeo Giulietta - It's better than a car!

I traded in a great condition 147 for my new 2013 Giulietta Distinctive 1.4 MultiAir and couldn't be happier. Great outside styling, and interior, superb handling and 100% reliable. The TCT is the best on the market, really good that can't be matched by an old fashioned manual. I have now owned her 14 months from new and I have only one issue, the Stop/Start does need high battery charge to operate but this is normal on Giulietta's. I am not a fan of Start/Stop anyway, especially on turbo engines so it doesn't bother me at all.

You should try and buy a European brand product that's made in Europe e.g. Alfa made in Italy, unlike bmw and vw's made in South Africa. Lower labour cost doesn't mean you get the car cheaper, it means more profit for the fat cats.

Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
BadgeDistinctive

Page 1 of 2

See all Alfa Romeo Giulietta reviews

Questions & Answers

I have purchased a 2014 model recently and the engine warning signs ( injection system) are blaring at me. I live 3 hrs from a major service centre. Has anyone else had this problem? The car otherwise has driven perfectly in the four months I have had it. Odo is 88000.
3 answers
No sorry no problems like that with my car but I’ve only done 9000ks. Would it still be under the 3 year warantee that comes with the car? Is so you should make arrangements to get to a service centre asap.Hi Tess, sorry can't help as we never had this or any issue with our Alfa. Cheers, AlexUnfortunately warranty ran out in February (3 yrs) which was before the 150 000 km mark. I am hoping the problem is minor, otherwise will need to a tow truck to drive it to the city:(. Thanks for your responses though. Much appreciated.

Hi guys, I am looking to buy a 2013 mito – progression auto. Got couple of questions if you guys can help. 1. What is typical service cost ( in Melbourne)? 2. How is the fuel economy? 3. Is there any common fault that I should look out for such as transmission ? thanks
2 answers
Hi Kaz, not sure whether you got my answer! I don't get the promised mileage but I only drive in sports mode and I live in the Adelaide hills. I get around 8.0 litres per 100k using 98 octane fuel. My car's done 44,000 so it has only had one service (it has 30,000K service intervals) and the service cost $385. No mechanical problems so far, touch wood!thanks a lot Andy

Details

Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 (No Badge) (2011-2014)Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 Distinctive (2012-2014)Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 Distinctive JTD-M (2012-2014)Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 JTD-M (2011-2014)Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 Progression (2013-2014)Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 Progression JTD-M (2013-2014)Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 QV (Quad Verde) (2011-2014)
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $24,550$29,350$35,250$41,990$27,450$33,350$39,150
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT) and ManualDual-Clutch (DCT) and ManualDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT) and ManualDual-Clutch (DCT)Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolDieselDieselPetrolDieselPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555555
Seats5555555
Fuel Consumption6.4 L/100km5.9 L/100km4.5 L/100km4.5 L/100km5.7 L/100km4.5 L/100km7.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.7L
Max Power88kW @ 5000rpm125kW @ 5500rpm125kW @ 4000rpm125kW @ 4000rpm125kW @ 5500rpm125kW @ 4000rpm173kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque206Nm @ 1750rpm250Nm @ 2500rpm350Nm @ 1750rpm320Nm @ 1500rpm250Nm @ 2500rpm350Nm @ 1750rpm340Nm @ 1900rpm
Country of ManufactureItalyItalyItalyItalyItalyItalyItaly
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2011May 2012May 2012Jan 2011May 2013May 2013Jan 2011
Discontinuation dateNov 2014Nov 2014Nov 2014Nov 2014Nov 2014Nov 2014Nov 2014
Compare all Alfa Romeo Giulietta

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.