??!
1 photo
Allianz Car Insurance

Allianz Car Insurance (page 2 of 25)

1.7 from 498 reviews

See the Best Car Insurance in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
59
4 star
18
3 star
10
2 star
30
1 star
381

HAPPY CUSTOMER

published

very quick service. Within 24 hrs of my claim the team had referred me in for a quote and had my repaires being handled within 4 days. Not stress very happy customer.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelFord Territory SZ TS
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Lisa

LisaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cancellation of policies

published

After deciding to move to another insurer for 2 policies to save over $400, I rang Allianz to cancel my policies, as soon as I mentioned 'I would like to cancel both policies thank you' they hung up on me!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
JessM

JessM

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

I would rate a 0 if I could!

published

Attempting to deal with Allianz has been appalling! No one ever gets back to you, they can’t even send a quote for a car repair! Then they will email final letter of demands even though you have tried calling daily. I have now been chasing them up for 4 months to pay them for an accident I was involved in and I am now told I need to wait until they send me the tax invoice even though they never sent me the quote! Repairs were completed two weeks ago and I still have no idea how much I am expected to pay! Appalling on so many levels and the customer service team are useless.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Dave Mackay

Dave MackayFar North Queensland, QLD

Allianz use second hand repaired parts to repair my car

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelVolkswagen Polo
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Simon C

Simon C

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Had a great exp with Allianz

published

Had an idiot ram into me and hit a kangaroo two claims one year. Allianz covered both professionally.
I would highly recommend them.

They have upped my insurance from 1200 to 1450 the year after but said it was also to do with my area I lived in being considered higher risk.
Rang around and Allianz are still price competitive.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf 7 (Hatchback) R
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Steve

SteveSouth East Queensland, QLD

Terrible service had an accident not at fault tried claiming hire car long story but entitled to one Been transferred

published

Not at fault go to right to drive save you the hassles of being transferred from one department to another , not a great system now looking at small claims court

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
See all answers

Ramjet59

Ramjet59Canberra

  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes

Appalling communications. Non responsive.

published

Allianz communications are simply appalling. Had to phone numerous times to get update on a claim, and they dont do anyyhing, the customer has to chase up all the details and next actions.
Their email service with your claim number in the Subject line is a dead end.
Long wait times on the phone. All just really, really poor service.
I had 2 policies with them until last month and I just renewed elsewhere, and cheaper. Couldnt bear the atrocious service if I had to make another claim.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelSubaru Forester S3
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Andy

AndyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Avoid this insurance at any cost, totally useless, worst experience ever!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
j cousins

j cousinsPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Vehicle claim never go with allianz

published

Not at fault vehicle written off days to get assessed .
10 days to receive payment excuses and lies everyday money in the bank again
Never again
Very poor standard better companies to deal with
Allan

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Dont risk it

Dont risk itGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Allianz acted like a thief

published

After withdrawing an accident claim and cancelling the payout thereof, Allianz changed my risk profile, and removed my no claim bonus so my premiums more than doubled. And the worst was that they didn't even inform me!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelJeep Grand Cherokee WK Laredo
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Ann V.

Ann V.Sydney, NSW

Terrible service

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive, Compulsory Third Party and Third Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelSuzuki vitara
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

graham

grahamSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

crooks

published

deliberately don't pay claims because they're crooks. been a customer for years and a house was broken into... 6 months later, won't pay me the claim and keep asking for the same documents I've sent them ten times already

Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedNo

Ricci

RicciSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Useless online ctp quote

published

Good luck trying to get a quote online for CTP NSW, bug where you can't enter date of birth youngest driver..they know about it but are useless to get IT to fix..good luck lodging claims if you need to in future if they can't fix simple bugs getting a quote, how will you get sales if you don't fix the CTP quoting?? Makes no sense

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Chin J.

Chin J.Hobart, TAS

  • Verified customer

Absolutely terrible.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelHyundai i30
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

stay away from Allianz

published

Ridiculously high excess, unhelpful (one person was actually rude) they have taken weeks to reply to emails.
You get much better service and cheaper insurance elsewhere. I will be getting out and getting another insurer. This policy was organised by my leasing company (Maxxia). If you're with Maxxia I advise you to organise your own insurance.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
AAG

AAGGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Disappointed to be with Allianz

published

Called Allianz to renew the car insurance. Premium was increased by 20% whereas no claim was ever made by me. This is ok if that's how insurance works, but the customer care executive was insensitive, sarcastic and finally hanged up. After that no one contacted me. Feeling helpless. Moving to other provider as when renewal conversation is so nasty not sure what will happen if I have to make an actual claim

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Mark L

Mark LRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified customer

Impossible to contact Allianz to sort claim.....

published

After submitting an online claim form I got an email confirming everything and asking me to phone them to arrange an inspection at an approved repairer.
I have tried 8 times over a week and a minimum wait of over an hour and never got through. Tried emailing them with no response at all. I still don;t know how I am going to sort this claim when they deliberately make it impossible to contact them. I should add that when I wanted to pay my premium they answered within 10 seconds. They are like a caricature of an insurance company, can't wait to take your money, but do anything to avoid paying out. Essentially it's criminal behaviour.
I am forced to complain to AFCA as I see no other way of getting though to Allianz, bloody hopeless.......

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelToyota Prado J120
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

CMCA traveler

CMCA travelerSouth East Queensland, QLD

Slooow Claim resolution. OVER ONE YEAR!!! Still waiting.

published

I have been with Allianz Insurance for about ten years. I had made a 'Not at fault claim' after another car ran into me in May 2018. It is now June 2019 and Allianz still maintain that they will not refund to me my excess because NRMA have not settled. I now have a new car insurance and it is NOT with Allianz or NRMA.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMay 2018
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

HOPELESS

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelNissan Qashqai J11 ST
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJune 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Disappointing claims process

published

I was a loyal allianz customer for 4 years
However my experience.with the motor claim process has changed my mind.
Nocommunication or SLA. No follow through on promises of call backs
Customer experience.ZERO

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Page 2 of 25

Questions & Answers

Anne M

Anne Masked

what is the criteria used by Allianz re Market Value?

I have a claim.with Allianz for accident where I am not at fault, (other party admitted fault), my car is written off.
Allianz have told me their assessment is at the Private Sales market.
Why not the retail market? Claim.will be against the 3rd party, not Allianz

2 answers
Gune
Gune

In our case it was an agreed matket value. We had the same issue where they paid the value and took the vehicle where they can get a better value. This is a racket run by Allianz, assessors and panel beaters. They write off the car in one state and take to another state and get a better price. My car was taken to Pickles auction. The rest is history.

Anne M
Anne M

Thanks
Seems lots of complaints with Allianz

I have taken the number plates from written off car


Rakesh Sharma

Rakesh Sharmaasked

Two of my cars recently had a hail damage. Allianz advised me to get it repaired at BodyTech at Castle Hill but will claim excess from me as well as raise my premium.

My question is why I have to pay excess when I am not at fault. Why I should pay higher premium when I am not at fault.

4 answers
Gavo
Gavo

Yes ur premium will go up I got out Allianz gone to a much better insurance company

Rakesh Sharma
Rakesh Sharma

Hi Gabo

Which company you selected. Did they accept the noted hail damage.

Rakesh Sharma
Rakesh Sharma

Sorry
This I phone keeps changing the spellings


Gina

Ginaasked

If I make a second claim within 12 months, will I expect extra fees?

2 answers
Gavo
Gavo

Yes u will they will jump it insurance right up

jkl
jkl

yes


Get an answer from our members and Allianz representatives

Details

CategoryCar Insurance
Contact Number 13 1000
Other Insurance Types Offered Home and Contents, Landlord, Life and Travel
Coverage TypeComprehensive, Compulsory Third Party (CTP Green Slip) and Third Party Property Damage

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.