??!
1 photo
Allianz Car Insurance

See the Best Car Insurance in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
59
4 star
18
3 star
10
2 star
30
1 star
388

Chin J.

Chin J.Hobart, TAS

Absolutely terrible.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelHyundai i30
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

stay away from Allianz

published

Ridiculously high excess, unhelpful (one person was actually rude) they have taken weeks to reply to emails.
You get much better service and cheaper insurance elsewhere. I will be getting out and getting another insurer. This policy was organised by my leasing company (Maxxia). If you're with Maxxia I advise you to organise your own insurance.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
AAG

AAGGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Disappointed to be with Allianz

published

Called Allianz to renew the car insurance. Premium was increased by 20% whereas no claim was ever made by me. This is ok if that's how insurance works, but the customer care executive was insensitive, sarcastic and finally hanged up. After that no one contacted me. Feeling helpless. Moving to other provider as when renewal conversation is so nasty not sure what will happen if I have to make an actual claim

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Mark L

Mark LRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Impossible to contact Allianz to sort claim.....

published

After submitting an online claim form I got an email confirming everything and asking me to phone them to arrange an inspection at an approved repairer.
I have tried 8 times over a week and a minimum wait of over an hour and never got through. Tried emailing them with no response at all. I still don;t know how I am going to sort this claim when they deliberately make it impossible to contact them. I should add that when I wanted to pay my premium they answered within 10 seconds. They are like a caricature of an insurance company, can't wait to take your money, but do anything to avoid paying out. Essentially it's criminal behaviour.
I am forced to complain to AFCA as I see no other way of getting though to Allianz, bloody hopeless.......

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelToyota Prado J120
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

CMCA traveler

CMCA travelerSouth East Queensland, QLD

Slooow Claim resolution. OVER ONE YEAR!!! Still waiting.

published

I have been with Allianz Insurance for about ten years. I had made a 'Not at fault claim' after another car ran into me in May 2018. It is now June 2019 and Allianz still maintain that they will not refund to me my excess because NRMA have not settled. I now have a new car insurance and it is NOT with Allianz or NRMA.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMay 2018
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

HOPELESS

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelNissan Qashqai J11 ST
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJune 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Disappointing claims process

published

I was a loyal allianz customer for 4 years
However my experience.with the motor claim process has changed my mind.
Nocommunication or SLA. No follow through on promises of call backs
Customer experience.ZERO

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Johnny W.

Johnny W.South East Queensland, QLD

Worst insurer I ever dealt with!! Beware

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Car ModelMazda 323
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
elle

elleSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Charged for cancelling after 4 years and being transferred incorrectly 3x in one call!

published

They don't use genuine dealer guaranteed repairs or parts, they can't compare on price, they don't know what they're doing in their call centre and t top it off, they charge you to leave. $20 for a terrible experience - cheers Allianz! 30 minutes I spent on the phone wasting time.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelMini Hatch Cooper
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Hiran Hapugoda

Hiran HapugodaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Unreasonable prices

published

pricing is reduculous, when RACV offers 150 Alliance $387, funny fact is that it comes with less inclusions than RACV. Budget direct is better than this. Do not recommend, compare more and look for inclusions lists!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelMitsubishi Outlander PHEV
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

no recommended -

published

very un professional , they stolen money without authority from your bank account - they are un trustable to give them your details , when they do mistake no responsibility to say sorry .

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


MusicVeg

MusicVegSan Remo

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Best overall coverage for my car and a cheaper price than my previous insurer

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car Model2005 Honda CRV
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

M Goldsworthy

M GoldsworthySouth East Queensland, QLD

Great service from start to finish !! No complaints what so all !

published

Great service from start to finish !! No complaints what so ever ! Organised a preferred supplier and a courtesy loan car for us also. claim was approved in a couple days and repairs carried out quite quickly also. would score a 10 / 10 !! Well done

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelVolkswagen Passat B8 MK7 Sedan 132TSI Comfortline
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Worst experience ever. Incompetent. Unprofessional. Useless.

published

My car insurance claim was issued 7 weeks ago and I'm still waiting for it to be resolved. Allianz are refusing to assist us. It's baffling how horrific our experience with Allianz has been.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
EmilyJ

EmilyJSouth East Queensland, QLD

Did not cover rental car costs while smashed car being repaired

published

Car crash was not my fault, they got me a rental car but then took over 2 weeks to assess the damage to my vehicle! Then would not extend my car hire to cover the extra time for repairs that was THEIR FAULT. Completely ruined my day and potentially costing me over $500 in car hire. Completely unreasonable on the phone on multiple occasions, wouldn't budge. I will be changing insurers and do not recommend Allianz.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
SM

SMGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Donot pick up the phone

published

I have a home and content insurance policy. Been desperately trying to speak to a human for the last two days. Have kept holding and holding and keep getting annoying recorded messages. They said due to the recent weather events. It’s been dry in Melbourne and nothing unusual has happened over the last few months.

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo

Kathryn S.

Kathryn S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great experience after my recent accident

published

Allianz is a fantastic insurance company.
I recently had an accident and had to make a claim. The entire process was so easy and handled very quickly. Customer service officers were wonderful.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Car ModelMazda CX-5 KF Akera AWD, 2.5L Petrol
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

ARJM4

ARJM4Victoria

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Cannot Fault

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
See all answers

Horrible Service. Disgusting attitude of phone representatives.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Car ModelMitsubishi Verada
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Gav1980

published

Very cheap budget insurance company worst insurance company that I ever dealt with people there that can’t talk English and had no idea what she was saying and blamed me for the accident when it wasn’t my fault

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo

Page 3 of 26

Questions & Answers

Anne M

Anne Masked

what is the criteria used by Allianz re Market Value?

I have a claim.with Allianz for accident where I am not at fault, (other party admitted fault), my car is written off.
Allianz have told me their assessment is at the Private Sales market.
Why not the retail market? Claim.will be against the 3rd party, not Allianz

2 answers
Gune
Gune

In our case it was an agreed matket value. We had the same issue where they paid the value and took the vehicle where they can get a better value. This is a racket run by Allianz, assessors and panel beaters. They write off the car in one state and take to another state and get a better price. My car was taken to Pickles auction. The rest is history.

Anne M
Anne M

Thanks
Seems lots of complaints with Allianz

I have taken the number plates from written off car


Rakesh Sharma

Rakesh Sharmaasked

Two of my cars recently had a hail damage. Allianz advised me to get it repaired at BodyTech at Castle Hill but will claim excess from me as well as raise my premium.

My question is why I have to pay excess when I am not at fault. Why I should pay higher premium when I am not at fault.

4 answers
Gavo
Gavo

Yes ur premium will go up I got out Allianz gone to a much better insurance company

Rakesh Sharma
Rakesh Sharma

Hi Gabo

Which company you selected. Did they accept the noted hail damage.

Rakesh Sharma
Rakesh Sharma

Sorry
This I phone keeps changing the spellings


Gina

Ginaasked

If I make a second claim within 12 months, will I expect extra fees?

2 answers
Gavo
Gavo

Yes u will they will jump it insurance right up

elmer
elmer

yes


Get an answer from our members and Allianz representatives

Details

Allianz Comprehensive Car Insurance

Allianz Comprehensive Car Insurance

2.0
(70)
Allianz Third Party Property Damage Car Insurance

Allianz Third Party Property Damage Car Insurance

1.0
(1)
Allianz Third Party Fire and Theft Car Insurance

Allianz Third Party Fire and Theft Car Insurance

1.0
(1)
Allianz CTP Car Insurance (NSW, QLD)

Allianz CTP Car Insurance (NSW, QLD)

0.0
(0)
CategoryCar InsuranceCar InsuranceCar InsuranceCar Insurance
Contact Number 13 100013 100013 100013 1000
Address2 Market St, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia2 Market St, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia2 Market St, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia2 Market St, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia
24-Hour Phone Contact NoNoNoNo
Online Live Chat YesYesYesYes
Other Insurance Types Offered Home and Contents, Landlord, Life and TravelHome and Contents, Landlord, Life and TravelHome and Contents, Landlord, Life and TravelHome and Contents, Landlord, Life and Travel
Coverage TypeComprehensiveThird Party Property DamageThird Party, Fire and TheftCompulsory Third Party (CTP Green Slip)
UnderwriterAllianzAllianzAllianzAllianz
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Not OfferedNot OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverZero Excess IncludedNot OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Choice of RepairerAllowedAllowedAllowedAllowed
After Accident Care
Towing Costs IncludedNot IncludedIncludedNot Applicable
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Optional extra, up to $100 per day for up to 21 days

Not Included

Not Included

Not Applicable

Hire Car after an Incident

Optional extra, up to $100 per day for up to 21 days

Not Included

Not Included

Not Applicable

Essential / Emergency RepairsIncluded up to $500Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Emergency Transport & AccommodationIncluded up to $500Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Applicable
Benefits
Hire Car after Theft

Included up to $100 per day up to 21 days

Not Included

Included up to $100 per day up to 21 days

Not Applicable

Child Safety Seats and PramsIncluded up to $500Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Applicable
Lock and Key ReplacementIncluded up to $1,000 or market value, whichever is the lesser clalimNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Applicable
New-for-old Car Replacement

Earlier of 2 years from original registration

Not Included

Not Included

Not Applicable

Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot ApplicableNot Applicable
Personal Property CoverIncluded up to $750Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Applicable
Trailer & Caravan CoverIncluded up to $1,000Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Applicable
Transit Cover Not IncludedNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Applicable
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not ApplicableIncluded up to $5,000Included up to $5,000Not Applicable
Accidental Loss or Damage
FireIncluded Included Included Not Applicable
Theft or Attempted TheftIncludedIncludedIncludedNot Applicable
CollisionNot IncludedNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Applicable
Malicious Damage / VandalismIncludedIncludedIncludedNot Applicable
Natural EventsIncludedIncludedIncludedNot Applicable

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.