1 photo
Allied Pickfords

Allied Pickfords

ACT, NSW, NT, QLD, SA and 3 more
3.8 from 422 reviews

Disappointing indeed

We moved from Malaysia to Adelaide using Allied Pickfords.

Our move: 4 bed room apartment in KL

We were quite disappointed with the services provided.
My experience:
1)The packing/unpacking was quite poor, e.g. in Adelaide, I ended up with my books beside the bath tub, my guitar in the bathroom and carpets in the bathtub.
2)It's nearly impossible to find the cords to electronic devices such as PC.
3)Many items has been damaged and/or broken.
4) Quite poor management and coordination. I had to address everything several times.

It was a bitter and more than disappointing experience particularly considering the reputation of ALLIED Pickfords and the amount we paid.

We regret using ALLIED Pickfords.

Hi James, We are sorry to hear that your experience was a negative one. So can we can follow up on your concerns, can you please email through your name, contact details and job number (R/Plan) to customerservice@alliedpickfords.com.au Regards, Allied PickfordsGreetings, ALLIED Pickfords in Sydney, Adelaide and Malaysia are quite aware of every detail and every problem. I have been in contact with them. They have been quite apologetic but that doesn't remedy my experience. Should you need any further info. Don't hesitate to contact me.

Your Employees are an Asset to your Company

Your 3 employees who moved my home were excellent, organised, polite, helpful and in general - wonderful. They are an asset to your company and I would highly recommend Allied Pickfords.

1 comment
Hi Natalie, Thank you for your positive review. We love hearing about the great work of our removals staff. Best of luck in your new home. Allied Pickfords


I waited 2 months for delivery with no reason for a vehicle to be held for that length of time together with personal items I kept calling them and asking when it would be released I was pleasant and tried to get answers as to why this was happening and when I finally find out It was sitting in their shed with no reason and no apology I was devastated. I bought a mobility vehicle from New Zealand and they tried to charge me Custom Duties of over $4K they then tried to charge me for cleaning the vehicle $800 because it failed the Bio check as it had been sitting in their shed. They then added etc hidden costs which they then deducted when I questioned the amounts. I did not trust them and asked another mover Dophin to give them the correct advice to remove the duty. As soon as the vehicle was released for pick up I organised a tow truck emailed and rang AP the tow truck waited for 30 minutes AP saying they didn't know and again no apology. They are disorganised don't return calls and don't know their own business. I never received an apology compensation for the stress caused to my son who has suffered severe physical condition. When I thought they had offered to waive costs they in fact sent another invoice and hidden costs. Finally I tried to resolve this privately and were not interested

1 comment
Hi Susan, We are sorry to hear that your experience has been a negative one. We would like to follow up on your concerns. Can you please email through your name, contact details and job number (R/Plan) to customerservice@alliedpickfords.com.au. Regards, Allied Pickfords

Great work guys

We had a huge move ahead of us from Darwin to Bundaberg.
We were given so much assistance from beginning to end .
Can't speak highly enough of the lovely staff. They were so friendly and went above and beyond assisting us with every aspect of the move. Three cheers for Allied Pickfords and we will be recommending your company to friends who are planning a move.
Date of removal and arrival was completed on set dates.

Hi Marianne, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We love hearing about our customers experiences. Best of luck for your new home in Bundaberg. Thanks, Allied PickfordsThanks guys, keep up the good work

Very happy with the moving experience

I moved from a first level apartment in Brisbane to a 2 story townhouse in Adelaide. I obtained a number of quotations for furniture and car uplift to compare the market with Allied Pickfords one of two companies who sent a representative to my apartment for the important personal approach and furniture volume assessment. I also needed some temporary storage in Adelaide while I awaited the property settlement date which they were happy to arrange. From the initial In-Home consultation to the furniture and car pickup from Brisbane to the storage arrangements and delivery in Adelaide, the process was seamless. The service was excellent and the price was very competitive. I would use Allied Pickfords again and have no hesitation in recommending them to others. GC

1 comment
Hi Gerry, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Best of luck in your new home in Adelaide. Allied Pickfords

Very good end to end service

We were moving contents of a 3 bedroom house from NSW to QLD. We got a number of quotations, however we found Allied Pickford initial sales contact very efficient and professional and although they were not the least expensive decided to go with them. We received numerous contacts from the pickup coordinator right up to pickup day which was reassuring. pickup was on time and the crew were very friendly and professional. We received followup calls prior to delivery which was also on time. Again the crew were friendly and professional. After unpacking all the cartons we called Allied Pickford to pickup the empty cartons and they did so in the timeframe they had originally advised. We were very happy with the overall end to end service.

1 comment
Hi Alan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that we were able to help with your move to from NSW to QLD and wish you all the best for your new home. Allied Pickfords

Excellent service

Excellent service was provided throughout the move from Alice to Darwin. Allied were very supportive and very helpful and considerate to our needs. Such an easy and stress free transition for my family.

1 comment
Hi AJLP, Thank you for your positive review! Best of luck for your new home in Darwin. Allied Pickfords

Wonderful stress free experience

3 bedroom house from Broome to Perth with two drop offs. the move went ahead as planned, with extra help from the crew. from the start it was awesome with the staff in Broome going above and beyond. this included the reception/admin staff. i can't say enough good things about this. It was also a very good cost compared to other carriers without the personal touches if AP

1 comment
Hi Margaret, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We love hearing about the great work of our staff in Broome. Best of luck with your new home. Allied Pickfords

Smooth transition across continent

Move involved personal items. up to 10 medium boxes. was packed by movers for easier custom clearance. communication with admin staff was easy and continuous. Move was from Queensland, City to Singapore. I was fortunate to be a filler for a container, so got my items shipped to reach me within 1 month. Movers were gentle with my items and professional with fragile bottles. Pleasant experience

Don’t recommend

Friendly staff but that’s about it. Were told 6-8 wks door to door & our container was still sitting in SYD on week 8. Took another 2 weeks before it arrived in AKL. Then customs wanted to go through our stuff so a further delay. Items finally arrived only to find everything in the boxes were a total mess. Some items were missing original labels & someone had hand written the numbers, some boxes had no number. We have gone through the majority of the boxes & it now seems like we are missing stuff too :(

1 comment
Hi Melanie, We regret to hear that you had a negative experience with your move. We would like to follow up with your concerns, so can you please email through your name, contact details and job number (R/Plan) to customerservice@alliedpickfords.com.au Regards, Allied Pickfords

Terrible Service - do not use this company~

Moved from US to Sydney Dec 6th. Shipment delivery was promised Jan 31st. Received shipment on Mar 27 after it was held to ransom for 2 weeks over a $5k customs charge, $2,800 of which was for detention charges which were caused by Allied returning the container to port late.
Allied Pickfords lied to me about the date of quarantine inspection to cover up the fact that the late container charges were caused by them and not a Govt agency. It wasn't until I got the Dept of Fair Trading involved that they admitted fault and deducted both the late detention charge plus the storage charge they seemingly prearranged to incur with the fumigators from the bill. They will use your goods as leverage to strong arm you into paying late charges levied on them. Packers either end were very pleasant to work with, issues were with both head office business practices. Allied International (US end) no better after trying to consolidate my shipment when I paid for single use then losing the other parties personal effects & finding them back at the SF warehouse. What a mess. I now have to go through the lengthy claim process to have my broken and missing items replaced. Have attached a photo of how some of my fragile items were delivered to me which pretty much sums up the whole awful experience.

Check Delivery Invoice

Move involved 2 bedroom unit from Coolangatta to Toowoomba in November 2018. Items were lost or misplaced and other items damaged. Management adamant they had not lost my goods! Foolishly on my part, I signed delivery docket without counting the cartons. It was a most disappointing experience for someone in their late seventies.

1 comment
Hi Williebros, We regret to hear of your negative experience with your move. So we can follow up with your concerns, can you please email through your name, contact details and job number (R/Plan) to customerservice@alliedpickfords.com.au Regards, Allied Pickfords

Second time we have used Allied Pickfords relocation service.

They were amazing with both moves. With the most recent move Mel and Rees in the Townsville office made it super easy and stress free. Mel was happy to take my phone calls when I had any questions or concerns; she helped organise car and pet relocation too (gave me peace of mind that my fur baby was safe). The packing and unpacking teams were friendly and super efficient; they took great care in moving our 4 bedroom house from Townsville to Brisbane. We will definitely be using Allied Pickfords again in the future. 100% recommend!!

1 comment
Hi stixcollins, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Best of luck for your new home in Brisbane.

Great job all round

Everything went perfectly with our move. Packers did a great job as did the removalists. Nothing broken or scratched. Bed and dresser assembled for us on arrival. Boxes and packaging collected the following week. Highly recommended.

1 comment
Thank you for your review! Your feedback is always appreciated as we love hearing about the great work of our removalists. Best of luck for your new home.

very good service

2storey house removal very good service from all that help in our move . this was our second move with Allied Pickfords, the first from NSW to Perth, so we didn't hesitate in employing Allied again some 14years ago, and there service was without incident form start to finish. The workers loading to unloading were very quick but with care, couldn't believe the way they took to there work.

1 comment
Hi Geoff and Linda, Thank you for your review! All the best for your new home! Allied Pickfords

Very happy with Allied Pickfords

Very happy with Allied Pickfords. They moved us from Griffith NSW to Margaret River NSW. Everything went smoothly - they picked up on time, they dropped off on time and all the staff were very friendly, careful, and helpful. Kudos to them for the partial refund we received due to the lower volume that was moved - very impressive.

1 comment
Hi Craig, It is great to hear that your move from Griffith to Margaret River went well. Best of luck to you in your new home. Allied Pickfords

Avery bad experience with this removal company

A 4 bedroom house long distance move. Lot of damage incurred too much to mention here. They have dismantled furniture not assembled again. Tools are missing, all stickers on furniture.

Hi Johan We regret to hear of your negative experience with your move. So we can follow up with your concerns, can you please email through your name, contact details and job number (R/Plan) to customerservice@alliedpickfords.com.au Regards, Allied PickfordsJohan Booyse Cell: 0419964010, Ref.No:1908883Hi Johan, I have passed this onto our National Service Delivery Manager who will review this for you. Regards, Allied Pickfords


Simple move - 2br apartment to 4br house; sydney to sunshine coast. The cost of the move was far exceeded by the cost of the replacement of the goods lost/ stolen by allied pickfords. This company is exceptional at providing terrible service and losing or stealing your valuable household goods.
Never use allied pickfords. They are a horrible company with no ethics or honesty.
One star rating is being very generous.

June 13th 2019 Update: Amazing

Simple move - 2 br apartment to 4 br house; Sydney - sunshine coast.
Hopeless Removalist. The replacement cost of stolen goods far exceeded the cost of the move itself. Allied Pickfords is the worst experience ever in 8 moves in 40+ years.
Never use Allied Pickfords - they are a mob of thieves!

All went smoothly....

Move from Darwin to Perth. Allied Pickfords picked up from our storage unit and moved us to our rental home in Perth. From initial quoting to delivery the process was smoothly executed and on time. The delivery men were friendly helpful and efficient. They couldn’t do enough to help. Thanks for making it s painless procedure.

Office LocationNT, Darwin
1 comment
Hi Hargrave Crew, Great to hear that we were able to help you with your move. Best of luck for your new home in Perth. Kind Regards, Allied Pickfords

Wonderful service

Our move was 4000km from Darwin to Cooma NSW. The Darwin staff answered all my questions promptly and helped every step of the way. There’s were no breakages and the upload team and delivery team were friendly. In fact it was 37 degrees on the day our good were delivered and the guys didn’t complain once. Well done!

1 comment
Hi! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We love hearing about our customers positive experiences! Best of luck for your new home.

Page 1 of 22

Questions & Answers

Hi I’m just wondering how a quote can go from one price one day and $1000 more the next day ? I was quoted a estimate for a move and rang up a few days later and she told me same volume estimate but $1000 more It’s a case of your work against there as she claimed she never quoted that but confirmed with my husband that’s what I said as soon as I got off phone
4 answers
Hi Jenni. The quote that I received from Allied Pickfords was a written quote as were the quotes from other companies. Only the company in question would be able to explain the difference in the quotes that you received. The bottom line is to ensure that you get all quotes in writing.Well yes definitely understanding this now as they can just change it when ever they like. Just abit ticked off that they can change it so much with same info but say they never said that..!!Hi Jenni, Thank you for your question. Our consultants quote jobs based on the information provided during either a home visit or phone call. Your estimate over the phone may have changed for various reasons, such as items requiring special packing/crating or updated information on access to your home. We would like to follow this up for you and provide you with an accurate written quote for your move. If you can please email through your contact details to quotes@alliedpickfords.com.au we will be able to assist. Allied Pickfords

is it normal to pay before the pickup? please help i have been searching and looking for days on who to move with.
1 answer
Hi, I am sure that we should not pay full amount in advance. You need to hold a part of that and pay at end otherwise they dont care what service they are giving!!!!! I had bad expriance with poor quality with Allied last month and my hand was off !!! I made a review for them and i didnt get proper answer from them. I really upset with this company. I advise, Dont pay full amount in advance. Regards

Just wondering if you disassemble beds? I would be in the position where i can't but the house will be manily boxed up but will need the heavy stuff washer dryer tv fridge etc..beds disassembled.
1 answer
Hi Ann. As part of our standard service we would disassemble beds for transport and reassemble them at your new home. We have various packing options available depending on the items and your service requirements. Please feel free to give us a call on 132554 so we can discuss further how we can assist.