??!
2 photos
American Express Platinum

American Express Platinum (page 2 of 3)

3.0 from 45 reviews

Pros

  • 80,000 bonus Membership Points if you spend $3,000 in the first 3 months

  • No pre-set spending limit

  • Card is made of metal

  • 2.25 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent

Cons

  • $1,450 Annual Fee

  • Minimum required income of $100,000

Reviews

3.0

45 reviews
5
(15)
4
(7)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(16)
Previous
Next
James

JamesSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great card and benefits

published

Really good rewards card. I've had 100s back over the years just on my normal spend. I wouldn't use it on foreign purchases though as the fees are high for this.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

Good bonus points

published

Good card with bonus points but expensive annual fee. Point earn changes but relatively easy to collect these days with most merchants accepting amex. Ok benefits as well, overall not bad.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Jay

Jay

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Satisfied customer

published

Been a customer for almost 3 years now. Great little card that is accepted almost anywhere in the world. Issues were dealt with effectively and timely. My only complain is the annual premium.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2016
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Find out how American Express Platinum compares to other Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

very good benefits

published

very happy with this credit card although the annum fee is expensive. you can obtain the value back through travel or book hotel using travel credit. also free accor plus membership.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card Start DateAugust 2018
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

eden

edenGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

dont get this card

published

this card is expensive and most of the "platinum" benefits are not usable
tried 3 times to use the $450 travel credit (once for flight, twice hotels)- each time the cost of the hotel/flight was hundreds more than online. Therefore, need to pay hundreds more to use the voucher, rendering it useless. Each time wasted 30 min on the phone.
Apart from supermarkets and petrol stations, expect to pay 2-3% surcharges.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateDecember 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
John Doe

John DoeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 17 reviews
  • 41 likes

Don't Believe the Hype

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2015
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Mimi

MimiSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Loved how easy it was to sign up to one

published

i love how they offer the annual flight credit, it was the same amount as the annual fee which makes makes the annual fee worth it. Best card to accumulate Qantas points. So far i'm very happy with this credit card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Peter Highland

Peter HighlandSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

American Express Halves Value of Platinum Card Holders Points without compensation. How many cardholders ware caught?

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2009
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers

not worth the cost if you don't live in major capital city

published

Got card in view of free flight - but time spent looking for a flight - and still not found one - is worth more than the flight
I won't be renewing next year

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Find out how American Express Platinum compares to other Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Polly

PollySydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Prestigious. Great Service. Excellent Benefits

published

Free AFR worth around $700
Free Accor worth around $300
100,000 points upon joining.
several other airline and even benefits.
It is worth the high cost and i would recommend it to those who can justify the cost

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Steve

SteveSydney, NSW

Not there in time of need

published
Card Start DateJanuary 2002
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
michdave

michdaveAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Extremely unhappy with Amex

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Main Point of ContactPhone
See all answers
Mark c

Mark cSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Is Zero stars possible ?

published

In the last few months disastrous service. They stopped my card for an unknown reason and 7 attempts to call them i was put on hold for between 45 minutes to 1.5 hours. I kid you not !! still cannot get through. Is their time really more important than ours ? There is no priority for being platinum or black member or any other marketing mumbo jumbo. Hope you can waive the huge annual fee. Disgusting really !! And they say the big 4 banks are bad ...

Abhishek

AbhishekMelbourne

  • Verified customer

Amex is waste of Time

published

Terrible Customer service
High Annual fees
No one accepts Amex
Worst customer service
Please read through the terms and conditions properly absolutely Manipulated by them.
Travel credit is a huge bluff you can only do bookings through their own website where the tickets are highly overpriced.
Incurr Surcharge on most of the petrol station or most of them doesn't accept it.
"Water served is a beautiful bottle of wine"
Please save yourself from AMEX.

Mon

MonSydney

Disgraceful customer service

published

I have been an American Express card holder for over 40 years, including a Black Card holder for 10 years. The last 14 years I have held a Platinum card linked to my bank account.
This card is withdrawn by the bank and I contacted Amex as I wish to stay with them. But guess what ? I have to re-apply via the website ???
I have spent in exccess of $100.000 this year alone paying my account in full every month.

Four phone calls and a request for someone
managerial to contact me has lead only to call centre staff telling me the same over and over.

HAVE BIG COMPANIES LOST THE ART OF CUSTOMER CARE ??? DISGRACEFUL SERVICE

Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Find out how American Express Platinum compares to other Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great if you travel regularly and eat out a lot

published

To best get your value for money, you'd need to travel internationally at least once a year and domestically every few months. It gives you free access to the Virgin lounges when you fly with Virgin. You also get access to thousands of international lounges in different locations of varying quality.

You'd also benefit the most if you eat out a lot as they give you triple points at these places (3 points = 3 Virgin Velocity Points) and double points when spending on travel.

Sue

SueCanberra

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Mixed

published
Terry

Terrybuddina

Platinum Lack Of Customer Service

published
Unhappy cusgtomer

Unhappy cusgtomer

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes
  • Verified customer

Pathetic rewards website and no human beings on the customer service line

published
Vince

VinceMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews
  • 25 likes

best Platinum credit card I have ever had

published

great benefits, low fee, perfect customer experience, complimentary insurance is better than most stand-alone insurances. Chubb is a great insurance company.
I have been with them for years. I can't fault them.
highly recommended.

Page 2 of 3
See all American Express Platinum reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.