1 photo
APIA Car Insurance

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

With so many car insurance providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the car insurance that's ideal for you.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

3.2

17 reviews
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (15)
  • Customer Service
    3.5 (15)
  • Timeliness
    3.1 (11)
  • Job Satisfaction
    2.6 (5)
  • Transparency
    3.3 (14)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (5)
    • 1-2 weeks (3)
    • 2-4 weeks (3)
    • 1-2 months (1)
    • 3+ months (3)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (17) · No
Previous
Next
Keith
KeithGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best service ever

published

Our car was subject to a no fault carpark collision. We submitted the claim on line and received an immediate assessment date and booking. The whole process was seamless and ultra quick through Capital Smart. Well done Apia, this is how business should be done.
Our newly repaired vehicle was even delivered back to our home free of charge !

Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateApril 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Jayantha
JayanthaSydney, NSW

Handling of my claim

published

Extremely disappointed that Apia disregarded my version and even the photo I submitted.Despite several discussions I felt badly treated and let down by APia.THey just would not listen.very sad that they treat their clients so badly

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Prado
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Ziad
ZiadSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews

Worst insurance

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Landcruiser 80
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Insurance

Find out how APIA Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Simon
SimonGold Coast
  • 2 reviews

APIA are for themselves..NOT Pensioners

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Robert Rath
Robert RathSydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

APIA were easy to deal with, delivered what they promised. I am very impressed

published

I am a relatively new APIA customer and found their prices competitive, the service very good, no fuss and good followup.
I plan to convert all my insurance to them over time.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelTesla Model 3
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Related Articles
Previous

Best Super Funds in 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the best super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
best-super-funds-in-2020

Best Credit Cards in 2020!

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the best credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
best-credit-cards-in-2020

We compared reviews on the Top 5 Most Popular Car Insurance Providers

If you’re looking for cheap car insurance that's also reliable, ProductReview.com.au can help. We’ve sifted through 1000s of car insurance reviews on Budget Direct, AAMI, youi, Woolworths and Australian Seniors. Simply read on for a summary of what drivers liked the most and least about these top five most viewed providers.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.1 June 2020
we-compared-reviews-on-the-top-5-most-popular-car-insurance-providers
Next
Scarlett
ScarlettDandenong
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Screwed Over Big Time

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHonda Accord
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Andrew
AndrewSydney
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Getting older doesn't mean I got lobotomised to good service!

published

Turning 50 recently, I switched my car insurance over to APIA, looking to benefit from lower premiums, what I didn't realise was the true cost of switching.
Needing to fix my vehicle after a minor accident, the service I've encountered has been nothing by a disaster. Having to leave my vehicle for days on end for inspection assessment, needing to go to multiple repairers, waiting weeks to have it fixed and having to travel +40 mins to the nearest repair who could do the work. The time and money wasted can't justifies the small cost saving.
Their ad says 'I wish that I knew what I know now', too right. Don't use APIA, you pay for what you get. Going back to Coles Car insurance by far a better offering.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
die Gallis
die GallisTasmania

Would definitely recommend APIA car insurance

published

We lodged an online claim on Sunday afternoon, APIA rang back on Monday and the car got picked up by a tow truck within an hour or so. As we live in country Tas this is quite remarkable. Car was taken to be assessed. Since it was written-off we had pay-out in our bank account by Friday of the same week. Super quick and friendly.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
techknow
techknowSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Thank you again APIA, lifesavers and tremendous to deal with.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolvo V50
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Insurance

Find out how APIA Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dave Thomson
Dave ThomsonPerth, WA
  • 18 reviews
  • 27 likes

Awful Service

published
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Prado J150 Altitude 4 Cylinder, 3 Litre
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
paul
paulhowrah tasmania
  • 17 reviews
  • 30 likes

Pleasant staff, very efficient.

published

Been with them 2.5 years, low prices, protected No claim bonus on both our cars. Partner went to their recommended repairer who unfortunately painted the rear bumper the wrong colour! [It was the original 6 yea ar old colour,but the car naturally had faded, & they did not match it. I did not notice until 2 months later.] Apart from that, they have been great.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
Not Happy Jan
Not Happy JanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

You Cost Us Money

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
rudy
rudyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Terrific service !

published

Within days of lodging an on-line claim we were contacted by Apia and literally wheels were set into motion to repair the damage as soon as possible. Booked into the repairers a couple of days later. Dropped of the car, Apia organised Uber to the nearest Hertz rental to keep us mobile. Three days later and despite an overlapping weekend, I was called to say the car was ready. Once again Uber was waiting at Hertz to take us to the repairers, who offer a Life-time guarantee on the repair! The whole process was seamlessly with minimum of fuss. The car looked was perfect. Top rating for this service, which we think was value for money.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolvo XC60 MK.I D5 R-Design
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Jenny T
Jenny TSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent claims experience

published

I recently had to claim on our car insurance with APIA - was a minor accident but still worrying as we were concerned about getting things sorted, car in for repairs etc. We needn't have worried. From the time we submitted claim over the phone it was all handled efficiently by very helpful staff. The repair was done by a very good company (Capital Smart @ Seven Hills) & all went well. I am very happy with APIA & can recommend them for great claims action. Their premiums are very competitive but it really is more important that your insurer is prompt & reliable when you have to make a claim.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHyundai I30
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Steve S.
Steve S.Launceston, TAS

Cannot fault the service - exemplary!

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelLexus RX350
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Insurance

Find out how APIA Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all APIA Car Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Christine W.
Christine W.asked
Car Insurance - Comprehensive

I have lodged a claim with APIA, for damage to my car by a third party. But I was told by APIA that I have to pay the excess upfront, and I'll get it refunded "IF things work out with the third party"! I am having anxiety over the idea that I might get stuck with the $825 excess bill! This seems so wrong, when I'm the victim!

2 answers
New Customer
New Customer

Check your product disclosure statement. Good luck! I forwarded my bank statement to them 4 days ago showing I was charged twice for my CTP renewal. Still NO communication. Apia needs to be held to account!

Christine W.
Christine W.

Thanks. I will do that. Good luck with yours.

paul merrett
paul merrettasked
Car Insurance

my car has been scratched on boot. if i make a claim do the premiums rise

No answers
David
Davidasked
Car Insurance - Comprehensive

Hi want now about my car insura

No answers
See all APIA Car Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and APIA representatives

APIA Car Insurance

Details

Compare all 3 APIA Car Insurance
CategoryRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Funeral, Health, Home and Contents and TravelFuneral, Health, Home and Contents and TravelFuneral, Health, Home and Contents and Travel
Coverage TypeComprehensiveThird Party Property DamageThird Party, Fire and Theft
UnderwriterAAIAAIAAI
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Optional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverZero Excess Optional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Choice of RepairerAllowedAllowedAllowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Optional extra, up to $90 per day for unlimited days

Not Included

Not Included

Emergency Transport & AccommodationIncluded up to $500Included up to $500Included up to $500 for Fire & Theft only
Towing Costs IncludedNot IncludedIncluded
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Included up to 21 days

Not Included

Included up to 21 days

Essential / Emergency RepairsIncluded up to $500Not IncludedIncluded up to $500 for Fire & Theft only
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Hire Car after Theft

Included up to 21 days

Not Included

Included up to 21 days

Lock and Key ReplacementIncluded up to $1,000Not IncludedIncluded up to $1,000
Transit Cover Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Trailer & Caravan CoverIncluded up to $2,000Not IncludedNot Included
Child Safety Seats and PramsIncluded as part of Personal Property cover, up to $1,000Not IncludedIncluded as part of Personal Property cover, for Fire & Theft only
New-for-old Car Replacement

Earlier than 10 years old

Not Included

Not Included

Personal Property CoverIncluded up to a total of $1,000 (combined with Child Seats / Prams)Not IncludedIncluded up to a total of $1,000 for Fire & Theft only
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not ApplicableIncluded up to $5,000Included up to $5,000
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
FireIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
CollisionIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Natural EventsIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Theft or Attempted TheftIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
Compare all 3 APIA Car Insurance
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.