1 photo
APIA Car Insurance
Listing monitored by APIA

Reviews

3.1
18 reviews
  • Value for Money
    1.8 (6)
  • Customer Service
    1.5 (6)
  • Timeliness
    1.5 (6)
  • Job Satisfaction
    1.0 (3)
  • Transparency
    1.5 (6)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • 1-2 weeks (1)
    • 2-4 weeks (2)
    • 1-2 months (1)
    • 3+ months (2)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (7) · No
Previous
Next
Rod
RodGippsland, VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Slow and disinterested service

published

25 days since the collision and my car has just been assessed. Then advised the panels have now got to be dismantled to find if further damage. How can they assess without dismantling the car? I was advised the repair could be three months or more. I asked can I put my insurance payments on hold as the claim has been accepted and I need to buy another car and cannot afford to pay for two car insurances, the answer was no. So I pay insurance on a car that is locked in a building and the building has its own insurance.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelSsangYong Rexton
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJuly 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
Jayantha
JayanthaSydney, NSW

Handling of my claim

published

Extremely disappointed that Apia disregarded my version and even the photo I submitted.Despite several discussions I felt badly treated and let down by APia.THey just would not listen.very sad that they treat their clients so badly

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Prado
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Ziad
ZiadSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews

Worst insurance

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Landcruiser 80
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Insurance

Find out how APIA Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Simon
SimonGold Coast
  • 3 reviews

APIA are for themselves..NOT Pensioners

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Scarlett
ScarlettDandenong
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Screwed Over Big Time

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHonda Accord
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes

Related Articles

Previous

Best Super Funds in 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the best super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
best-super-funds-in-2020

Best Credit Cards in 2020!

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the best credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
best-credit-cards-in-2020

We compared reviews on the Top 5 Most Popular Car Insurance Providers

If you’re looking for cheap car insurance that's also reliable, ProductReview.com.au can help. We’ve sifted through 1000s of car insurance reviews on Budget Direct, AAMI, youi, Woolworths and Australian Seniors. Simply read on for a summary of what drivers liked the most and least about these top five most viewed providers.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.1 June 2020
we-compared-reviews-on-the-top-5-most-popular-car-insurance-providers
Next
Andrew
AndrewSydney
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Getting older doesn't mean I got lobotomised to good service!

published

Turning 50 recently, I switched my car insurance over to APIA, looking to benefit from lower premiums, what I didn't realise was the true cost of switching.
Needing to fix my vehicle after a minor accident, the service I've encountered has been nothing by a disaster. Having to leave my vehicle for days on end for inspection assessment, needing to go to multiple repairers, waiting weeks to have it fixed and having to travel +40 mins to the nearest repair who could do the work. The time and money wasted can't justifies the small cost saving.
Their ad says 'I wish that I knew what I know now', too right. Don't use APIA, you pay for what you get. Going back to Coles Car insurance by far a better offering.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Chris S
Chris SIllawarra, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 11 likes

Do your research peoples!

published
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes

Questions & Answers

Christine W.
Christine W.asked
Car Insurance - Comprehensive

I have lodged a claim with APIA, for damage to my car by a third party. But I was told by APIA that I have to pay the excess upfront, and I'll get it refunded "IF things work out with the third party"! I am having anxiety over the idea that I might get stuck with the $825 excess bill! This seems so wrong, when I'm the victim!

2 answers
New Customer
New Customer

Check your product disclosure statement. Good luck! I forwarded my bank statement to them 4 days ago showing I was charged twice for my CTP renewal. Still NO communication. Apia needs to be held to account!

Christine W.
Christine W.

Thanks. I will do that. Good luck with yours.

paul merrett
paul merrettasked
Car Insurance

my car has been scratched on boot. if i make a claim do the premiums rise

No answers
David
Davidasked
Car Insurance - Comprehensive

Hi want now about my car insura

No answers
See all APIA Car Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and APIA representatives

APIA Car Insurance

Details

Compare all 3 APIA Car Insurance
CategoryRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Funeral, Health, Home and Contents and TravelFuneral, Health, Home and Contents and TravelFuneral, Health, Home and Contents and Travel
Coverage TypeComprehensiveThird Party Property DamageThird Party, Fire and Theft
UnderwriterAAIAAIAAI
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Optional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverZero Excess Optional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Choice of RepairerAllowedAllowedAllowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Optional extra, up to $90 per day for unlimited days

Not Included

Not Included

Emergency Transport & AccommodationIncluded up to $500Included up to $500Included up to $500 for Fire & Theft only
Towing Costs IncludedNot IncludedIncluded
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Included up to 21 days

Not Included

Included up to 21 days

Essential / Emergency RepairsIncluded up to $500Not IncludedIncluded up to $500 for Fire & Theft only
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Hire Car after Theft

Included up to 21 days

Not Included

Included up to 21 days

Lock and Key ReplacementIncluded up to $1,000Not IncludedIncluded up to $1,000
Transit Cover Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Trailer & Caravan CoverIncluded up to $2,000Not IncludedNot Included
Child Safety Seats and PramsIncluded as part of Personal Property cover, up to $1,000Not IncludedIncluded as part of Personal Property cover, for Fire & Theft only
New-for-old Car Replacement

Earlier than 10 years old

Not Included

Not Included

Personal Property CoverIncluded up to a total of $1,000 (combined with Child Seats / Prams)Not IncludedIncluded up to a total of $1,000 for Fire & Theft only
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not ApplicableIncluded up to $5,000Included up to $5,000
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
FireIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
CollisionIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Natural EventsIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Theft or Attempted TheftIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
Compare all 3 APIA Car Insurance
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.