??!
1 photo
APIA Home Insurance

APIA Home Insurance

1.9 from 251 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.1

14 reviews
5
(0)
4
(0)
3
(0)
  • Value for Money
    1.2 (12)
  • Transparency
    1.3 (11)
  • Customer Service
    1.6 (13)
  • Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks (2), 2-4 weeks (1) and 3+ months (6)
  • Claim ApprovedYes · No (14)
Previous
Next
Ziad

ZiadSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Worst insurance ever

published

My parents made a claimand they told my parents that the car has been in more than one accident we can't fix it but it was all in the same accident we had a car and a pole and they say this is not right we want fix your car. So much for insurance in this crisis
Worst value for money.
I'm still waiting for someone to contact me to solve my problem with a pier it's taking forever

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Angus

AngusSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Crooks, Thieves and Liars

published

Happy to take my money but not happy to pay the claim. Forced me to break covid quarantine to get reading glasses they would not replace. Eventually claim given to investigation department as they had misplaced original photos and details. Dealt with rude, arrogant and anti semetic youths. These guys prey on the elderly.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Dave C

Dave CSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Just Don't! You pay premiums - they don't pay claims.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how APIA Home Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
michael r

michael rSydney, NSW

Worst insurance company Apia

published

Worst insurance company I have lodged a claim and is still being declined 11 months and I have lodged a complaint with the ombudsman they will use every excuse not to pay they are putting the blame on Sydney water now if you are thinking about insurance with them think again go else where.we have been with Apia for 6 years worst insurance company out and this is our first claim.the building company that they use D.W.Knox have the worst reviews but they still choose to use them .

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
bbwgus

bbwgusGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Privacy matters - does it?

published

Been dealing with these people for over 18 months. Communication between them and A1 their repairer poor. Tradies come to my house and ask me "what has to be done" because they have not been told according to them. A1 tradies ask me for photos that A1 took.

They refuse to discuss my claim when they call me until I prove who I am. I get the privacy requirement but shouldn't it apply to them too? They sent me someone else's Lifetime Guarantee with all their personal details on it, someone else's privacy agreement and a statement of work with the A1 quoted prices on it, not in one email, but over three separate emails.

I have been with them over 10 years I think. Not a fan but insurance companies are much of a muchness.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateDecember 2018
Claim ApprovedNo
  • Verified customer

Denial of Liability

published

Apia rejected a public liability claim made by a client of twenty years. There was no concrete evidence available and Apia denied the claim out of hand on the word of the other person.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo

Disappointing communication

published

I have had 3 home policies with Apia for 7 years. I made my first claim after hail damage to a roof. After 9 months of frustration with lack of communication, Apia have offered $23k. The cost to replace the roof is more than $90k. One particular email I sent on 7th February, received a reply on 28th March.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Matty D

Matty DSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Worst Insurance Experience Ever

published

Our house was damaged in Mid-January this year 2020 with a tree falling on the house, and up to this point in time all the communication has been one way, me calling them! APIA have some company which they own called A1 Building Company who supposedly do the assessments and reports for claims. They have been promising the report on our claim now for going on to three months, and the countless times I call I’m told the same thing: the report should be finalised in the next few days. APIA are in my opinion a very dodgy insurance outfit and I would strongly advise if you’re considering any type of insurance to stay well clear of this outfit! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
ads1212

ads1212Sydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 5 likes

On hold until phone drops out

published

Apia, which is owned by SunCorpand this is really no different are HOPELESS when it comes to claims communication. They say you can do everything via their app, but that is utterly false. You are therefore forced to try and speak to someone. I’ve now done this unsuccessfully 4 times. Each time I wait for 45 MINUTES- being promised that they will “attend to my call ASAP “ - and then I am simply disconnected. I understand there have been fires etc but this does not mitigate their appalling customer service. ie. they could offer a call back service etc. don’t use them.

Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how APIA Home Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read the small print

Read the small printLaunceston, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Delayed settlement

published

Made my claim for lost hearing aid on 13th November 2019. Was insured for $3249 and they offered me $2400 replacement that they could get but want to force me to use their supplier but I want to stick with the company who are looking after me very well. So I have escalated my rejection two level and still they are not communicating a result to me. At 71 I feel they are trying to bully me into accepting their offer which puts me out of pocket by $849

Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

APIA Investigators: Dishonest?

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim DateJuly 2011
Claim ApprovedNo
Damien G.

Damien G.Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Over ten years paying without a claim

published

Over ten years we have had home, contents, car and funeral insurance. Wife falls over while vacuming and into the tv. Nope not covered so sorry, find out we arent even covered for theft. Obviously not happy and what do we have insurance for then? Preying on Pensioners its isgusting.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Ian

IanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lost 1.2 carat diamond ring 22 carat gold which had made in Hong Kong

published

Got Home and Contents Insurance, also jewellery to value of $11,000. Lost ring put in claim for value of $4000 unable to produce certificate of value or photo etc. APIA sent details including a photo of ring similar to mine to Phenix jewelry, they sent value back of $500. Will be insuring with another company in future as over the years you pay thousands of dollars to these sharks who are quite willing to take your money but when it comes to a claim, BAD LUCK.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
southerngirl62

southerngirl62Sydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Dragging the chain

published

I have two claims going at the same time one for storm damage for my home and the other for my investment property.
So far I could use a swear word but...they are the worst when it comes to paying or organising!!!
I was without power for 10 days and they couldnt care less they still havent paid me the fair compensation and the investment property has had water leaking onto the floors since the 21st March and still no plumber.
My renewal is just about up and I have 5 of them and will be going elsewhere to renew.
Maybe they should have better case managers who know what they are doing?

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid and Storm and Rainwater
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all APIA Home Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Glenda H.

Glenda H.asked

Does my house insurance include the roof

No answers
Ian F

Ian Fasked

How do you justify a 33% increase in my premium this year when inflation is so low and building costs are not rising?

No answers
Richard G.

Richard G.asked

Do I need to activate my renewal

1 answer
John Cavar
John Cavar

I would make sure I have good cover at all times home and contents
Peace of mind ...simples

Get an answer from our members and APIA representatives

Details

CategoryHome and Contents Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Car, Funeral, Health, Home and Contents, Landlord, Motorcycle and Travel

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.