??!
1 photo
APIA Home Insurance

APIA Home Insurance

1.9 from 251 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.5

19 reviews
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (16)
  • Transparency
    3.6 (15)
  • Customer Service
    3.7 (17)
  • Claim Resolution Time<1 week (4), 1-2 weeks (5), 2-4 weeks (3), 1-2 months (3) and 3+ months (2)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (19) · No
Previous
Next
Fiona

FionaSouth Australia

Claim for damage and theft

published

We’ve insured our home, contents & car with APIA for years and recently had to claim for some house damage and a bike stolen from our property.
The professionalism and courtesy we received was exemplary - we were listened to and dealt with in such a friendly & caring manner.
They did their due diligence and then the speed at which our claim was settled was unexpectedly surprising.
Thanks APIA, we’ll be recommending you to everyone!

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimTheft and Vandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
janelle bond

janelle bondParkes

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Appalling service

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimExplosion
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
nonna

nonna

  • 3 reviews

Great service

published

Recently claimed on damage to my computer, which was attended to promptly and very efficiently.
Reimbursement arrived quickly - A very smooth process, especially impressed with the staff - Paul and others, who couldn't have been more helpful on this occasion. Thankyou APIA.
Jennifer 20.10.20

Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how APIA Home Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pam C

Pam CSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Repairs to my property undertaken by APIA Home Insurance

published

After a slow start following a storm back in early this year, I have had repairs completed through APIA Home Insurance. The companies allocated to undertake these repairs were Maincom and Steamatic. All repairs have been completed to the highest standard, and I have only praise for the workmanship undertaken. Everyone who came to my home was polite and helpful. Always phoning before they would arrive. And if any unforeseeable delay would notify me. Thank you APIA, and all involved. Very much appreciated.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
John Cavar

John CavarSydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Highly recommended prompt I’d be lost without insurance , I managed 2 properties with Apia over 23 years , pretty fair .

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Bazz D

Bazz DCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • 11 likes

A cleaner to do a builders assessment.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim ApprovedYes

claims department dishonourable, inefficient, and unprofessional when dealing with claims. Have cancelled 4 policies.

published

Had to chase apia claims people on regular basis to get updates and to do their job properly. Had to speak with people who had thick accents, so were difficult to understand.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Angela Blakr

Angela BlakrHobart, TAS

Very happy with the service

published

I rang APIA regarding a car insurance claim and from the very beginning the company were very professional about handling my complaint.
Was given an Uber ride back to my home after dropping the car off, and an Uber ride to pick me up from home after the car was repaired. The staff fabulous, very helpful and the service fast.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Smiffy

Smiffy

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Find a better insurer. Not APIA

published

2 months of chasing them because they NEVER answered their phone eventually out lightning damaged flat screen smart tv was only worth $66 after the $400 excess
That's offensive and they were told to take a flying leap. By the time this is approved our business will be with another insurer that is NOT owned by Suncorp. That means Apia, Shannon's, AAMI.
Thanks to reviews we know who the really bad ones are.
Remember $66 to replace our tv. What a bunch of weasles

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how APIA Home Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Virginia

VirginiaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Hello APIA. Anyone there?

published

Anyone there?

Clearly not!

Have spent over three hours on the phone today just waiting for someone to pick up. So much for “attending to our call as soon as possible”. Just trying to get a response to an email we sent re a minor storm damage claim. We got the “your email has been received” but now nothing. So much for customer care.

NOT GOOD ENOUGH!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
pyorkie

pyorkieSmithton

  • 15 reviews
  • 8 likes

A case of insurance APIA

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Perthgirl

PerthgirlPeel, WA

Fast and hassle,free

published

Excellent service...put in a claim last Thursday and included all supporting documentation. Had a call,back on Friday...money in bank on Monday!!! Absolutely no complaints. Person who dealt with my clam was efficient, polite and very helpful

Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Scott Perkins

Scott Perkins

  • 34 reviews
  • 45 likes

Pathetic

published

I had Car and Contents insurance with APIA had an incident when I went to claim with Contents made complaint I left to join NRMA and they are still taking money out of my account. Dont go with APIA I made complaint all they could do was blame computer?

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeContents Only
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Mal

MalGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Quick response

published

Thank you Apia for helping us out so promptly, can’t believe how quickly you helped us. Settlement within 24 hours. Thanks again. Would recommend you to anyone, saved a lot of worry.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Stefan Squires

Stefan SquiresPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Great serviceAs

published

As a grey nomad I have had my Caravan insured with APIA since 2006. Recently my late model 2.4kva Generator burnt out and was beyond repair. The staff at APIA were fantastic and within a few days my claim was settled and a new replacement was purchased. No hassles with with APIA highly recommended

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how APIA Home Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Daph

DaphGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

2nd time I've needed them and they surpressed expectations.

published

Good policy. Moved from another provider who didn't perform and Apia were a great deal better and resolved the claim quickly Very pleased with the outcome and the way it was handled. I hVe car and household insurance with them and would recommended them

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimImpact at Home and Theft
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Daph
Daph

I meant to say surpassed expectations

Katherine

KatherineBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

No more!

published

I have just had a similar experience. My premium has gone up over $400 this year to well over $2000! Last year the same huge increase occurred so I rang them wanting to decrease the rebuild amount. They refused to allow it. I had left it until the last minute so I paid up. I will be doing some "homework" early this year. So much for consideration for us as pensioners!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
Tracey

TraceyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Home Insurance perfection

published

We were flooded in december and apia have been fantastic on every level. Paul our manager has been so considereate even extending accomodation. They paid out quickly and disputed nothing. Highly highly recommend. We are so grateful that we had insuracne with them for this disaster

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedYes
Zam Zam

Zam ZamPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great value for money, speedy resolution and friendly staff

published

Weve been APIA members for 15 years and they have been generous with our home and contents claims, approving just about every claim made to date. The staff are friendly, the process is simple and the time taken to resolve claims is quick! Our premiums are competitive and the access is very low for the price that we pay. All round - great company

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedYes
See all APIA Home Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Glenda H.

Glenda H.asked

Does my house insurance include the roof

No answers
Ian F

Ian Fasked

How do you justify a 33% increase in my premium this year when inflation is so low and building costs are not rising?

No answers
Richard G.

Richard G.asked

Do I need to activate my renewal

1 answer
John Cavar
John Cavar

I would make sure I have good cover at all times home and contents
Peace of mind ...simples

Get an answer from our members and APIA representatives

Details

CategoryHome and Contents Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Car, Funeral, Health, Home and Contents, Landlord, Motorcycle and Travel

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.