??!
2 photos
Apple iPad (5th Generation) Wi-Fi

Apple iPad (5th Generation) Wi-Fi

32GB and 128GB
4.6 from 332 reviews

See the Best Tablets in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
209
4 star
101
3 star
21
2 star
0
1 star
1

Shan

ShanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great Value at the Right Price

published

I had to replace my son's iPad as his previous Apple ipad had a problem with his battery after 6 years.I think this is a great size tablet for school kids needs. Since I have been using Apple products for a very long time so I know they are well made, reliable and last a very long time. As a plus I am much more comfortable with Apple software and IOS compared to non-Apple products.This iPad feels like a very solid tablet that can be held easily for hours without it getting uncomfortable. Great quality camera. I always use decent iPad case/cover and screen protector for more protection.

Purchased in December 2018 at Costco for $439.99.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

spider

spiderMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Value for money

published

I bought the basic 32 gig iPad, as a backup. In my opinion it’s great value for money. Does exactly what it claims. It’s my 5th iPad. This like the others has never had a technical problem, I no longer buy the care package. It does not have a top of the range screen presence, but I find it suits me.

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman for $497.00.

Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
Simon C

Simon CPerth

  • 15 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great tablet - competitively priced

published

I bought this tablet at an excellent price at JB Hi-Fi and I'm very happy with the value for money. While Apple phones are expensive compared to Android I think their tablets are well priced. This iPad is lightweight and powerful and is great for every day family and school use.

Purchased in November 2017 at JB Hi-Fi for $398.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Sushi

SushiSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

All good, battery life should be improved

published

All good from apple, reliable sturdy tablet, no complaints so far, but battery life could be improved. Covers are way out of touch and expensive, just use the gecko covers of iPad Air 1st generations, all iPad air are same size

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Sheila

SheilaPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

My everything

published

Great for all my mail and calendar acts as my personal diary
Use for webinars and communication on the go..able to research when away from iMac desktop so all connected and to iPhone
Asset to my online business easy to carry fits nicely in my tote or backpack.
Imaging excellent for photos.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

tan

tanIpswich

  • 5 reviews

great

published

bought this ipad for my daughter and she loves it she can watch her shows on it find everything she needs for school projects and also has purchased wireless headphones so she can listen to her music she has also discovered that she can now stay in touch with her friends online worth every penny

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Pinekin42

Pinekin42Cherrybrook

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Practical and functional

published

Great and easy to use this device makes navigating easy. The keypad is great and the ability to move between different keypads is a breeze. The home button is well located and charging is simple and quick. Apple’s updates however’ are not always helpful and in some cases some functions can be harder to use than before. Overall I am very happy with my iPad.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

rick

rick

  • 5 reviews

works awesome

published

i have been using apple for yeas and i will keep using apple down side is the battery doesn't last as long as i thought it would. I used my old ipad and it was lot better with battery and lasted a lot longer then then the new ipad. Worth it quality wise yes not at the price though.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Anisha P.

Anisha P.

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing tablet.

published

I love this iPad simply because I can do anything on it when I want to. The battery life is amazing and it charges fairly well. I use my iPad for day-to-day use. You can watch movies and videos, take photos. Depending on what type of storage you get, it always works well because you can also get additional storage for just a few bucks. Great product.

Date PurchasedAug 2014
hahudson

hahudson

  • 31 reviews
  • 10 likes

Very good

published

It works well I would like more memory but it works well and has not had many issues. It’s very stable does not lock up often. Has plenty of support you can take it to the apple store if you have any issues. They are normally very helpful. Well built

Date PurchasedOct 2014

Mel H

Mel HAU

  • 8 reviews

Plenty of space, lightweight

published

Good, lightweight tablet for all your personal needs. I find that I have more than enough space on it for all the apps, music and photos I may want on it. The screen is clear and crisp. The camera could be a bit better, but does get some good images. Great for hanging on the sofa or in bed with some Netflix!

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Taylah

TaylahColac

Perfect iPad

published

This iPad is the best! Every time I use it, pigs so fast! In fact, I'm writing this review on it now! Love it for use of Facebook, Instagram and all those social networks. I would recommend buying this iPad because it is great use for all your needs. Great work Apple!

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Horton

HortonBulleen

  • 4 reviews

Been using for years still great

published

These days I mostly just use the iPad for when I travel. Its been to every state and to many countries too. I can do all mt emails, hotel booking, banking and entertainment on it. The screen still looks great compared to others I see. Battery is good but not quite as strong as when it was new. I really like it

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Athulya Andrews

Athulya Andrewsmelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfectly fits my purpose

published

Even though I thought a lot about getting an iPad with WiFi only, it has completely taken away all my doubts. This is much cheaper than cellular and fits all my browsing needs. Easy to carry. But I miss a quality camera, still it gives a good performance for what you pay.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Patrice1312

Patrice1312melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Cant fault Apple again

published

Love this device. It complements my IPhone beautifully and integrates and streams everything between both devices. Its been a great tool to travel and work with and the price point is great. Its a simple gadget which I can't live without in my everyday life. It has a great battery life and lasts easily all day for me. It takes amazing photos and facetime is a breeze with such a portable device. Would definitely recommend.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
KRG

KRGPerth

  • 3 reviews

Mixed Thoughts

published

I bought an ipad 6th edition for university, but found a majority of apps were unavailable or displayed incorrectly and formatting between a laptop and ipad to be very difficult despite having the same programs and sharing accounts. The display is better and the ipad its self is smaller with few good features but overall shouldve looked into other products

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

gravina

gravinaQueensland, 4223

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice and light though the wifi has stopped working

published

I like the feel of the apple iPad. While I have an iPhone 6s PLUS and barely use my iPad .The wifi has stoped working and is not good so I am in the process of fixing that with apple store let's see if they fix it for me or provide a new one.

Date PurchasedJan 2015

BGA

BGA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great item

published

The apple iPad is a great tool to work and travel with a beautiful family that has been a great tool to help you with the work times and the great day of the year and the best travel experience and a beautiful day technology and a wonderful work time in a family of family and a family of technology.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Brent

BrentVictoria, 3752

  • 11 reviews
  • 13 likes

Personally I like my iPad. It does the job and keeps my nieces entertained.

published

Like i said, personally I like my iPad. It does the job and keeps my nieces entertained when they visit, It’s also good for streaming movies that my wife doesn’t want to watch whilst in bed. We did have an Asus tablet once but iPads are just way easier to use than android tablets (well for me anyway).

Date PurchasedNov 2017

ellie

ellieYOUNG

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

It works well for me, though feels less "sturdy" that my previous Ipad models

published

I always choose Apple products as I find their interface nice, clean and easy to use. This was the case for this Ipad and some of the positives of this model. I have had a few freezing issues, but no more really than my other ipad. I think it's more to do with me using it a lot and having a lot open as opposed to this model. It does feel less sturdy than my previous models and seems to damage more easy though.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Page 1 of 17

See all Apple iPad (5th Generation) reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Apple iPad (5th Generation) Wi-Fi but you can read 2 questions about Apple iPad (5th Generation).


Get an answer from our members and Apple representatives

Details

Apple iPad (5th Generation) Wi-Fi 32GB
  • Discontinued

Apple iPad (5th Generation) Wi-Fi 32GB

No reviews
Apple iPad (5th Generation) Wi-Fi 128GB
  • Discontinued

Apple iPad (5th Generation) Wi-Fi 128GB

No reviews
CategoryTabletsTablets
Price (RRP) $469$599
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack and Stereo Speakers3.5mm Headphone Jack and Stereo Speakers
ConnectivityWi-Fi OnlyWi-Fi Only
Charging Port LightningLightning
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Display
Pixel Density264 ppi264 ppi
Screen Size 9.7"9.7"
Screen Resolution1536 x 2048 pixels1536 x 2048 pixels
Display TechnologyIPS LCDIPS LCD
Hardware
Battery Size8,827 mAh8,827 mAh
Memory (RAM)2 GB2 GB
Internal Storage32 GB128 GB
Build
Colour / Finish Silver, Gold or Space GraySilver, Gold or Space Gray
Body MaterialAluminiumAluminium
Dimensions 240 x 169.5 x 7.5 mm240 x 169.5 x 7.5 mm
Weight469 g469 g
Release dateMar 2017Mar 2017
Discontinuation dateFeb 2018Feb 2018
Replaced byApple iPad (6th Generation)Apple iPad (6th Generation)
Compare all Apple iPad (5th Generation)

Visit official website
  • GTIN12: 190198239709
  • MPN: KHIPADAIR3128WSIL and KHIPADAIR332WSIL

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.