??!
2 photos
Apple iPad Air (3rd Gen)

Apple iPad Air (3rd Gen) (2019-2020)

Also referred to as: Apple iPad Air (3rd Gen) 2019 and Apple iPad Air (3rd Gen) 2021. Wi-Fi, Wi-Fi + Cellular
4.5 from 16 reviews

Reviews

4.5

16 reviews
5
(12)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (11)
  • Battery Life
    4.7 (14)
  • Body Durability
    4.4 (14)
  • Speaker Quality
    4.3 (15)
  • Display Quality
    4.6 (15)
  • Screen Durability
    4.4 (15)
  • Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
    3.3 (15)
  • Video Quality
    4.0 (14)
  • Rear Camera Quality
    3.9 (15)
  • Night Photography Quality
    3.1 (13)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (15)
  • Security
    4.4 (16)
  • Speed
    4.7 (16)
Previous
Next
Emma

Emma

  • 3 reviews

I use this product on a daily bases and I love it!

published

I use this iPad to do my work almost everyday. I use it during the evening and the day and somehow it still manages to stay on. It runs smoothly and has specific features that I adore. This product is new and I only got it in January 2020 and today is 19/5/2020 so yours might act different if it’s old. I recommend this product for sure. Although I apologise for the crack in my iPad, that was my fault.

Purchased in January 2020 at Costco.

Value for Money
Hardware
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
danmelbourne

danmelbourneGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews

iPad Air - worth buying because it's faster than regular iPad

published

I've been happy with my iPad Air 256GB purchase; it runs apps very smoothly and has tonnes of space for new apps (especially as you don't have to store your music or video library on it any more due to streaming). It is certainly quite a bit more expensive than the normal iPad but if you look at the processor specification between the two, the iPad Air has a much faster CPU, which will extend its longevity in terms of how many years good use you can get out of it. Also, since 15-20% off sales are reasonably common on sites like eBay, you can usually get it for quite a bit less than the RRP if you're patient and wait a month or two before the next sale comes on.

Purchased at eBay for A$849.15.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

Amazingly Fast

published

Love, love love it. Fast big reliable and easy to use. Screen does not glitch out like the older generations and there is more storage now. I use it for drawing and i would say it works quite well. Over all good product and can't wait till they make a better one.

Purchased in February 2018 at Amazon for A$823.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Tablets

Find out how Apple iPad Air (3rd Gen) compares to other Tablets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cait

CaitSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Meets my business needs! Excellent

published

Excellent. The iPad Air is the perfect combination of functionality, mobility, and aesthetics. Transforming from a mobile POS system, to an on-the-go sketch book, or entertainment system during transist to a business meeting, the iPad cannot be beaten. Totally exceeds expectation.

Purchased in April 2019.

Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
Jiwoo Lee

Jiwoo Lee

  • 5 reviews

I cannot live without my ipad

published

I use it everyday for reading, playing games and doing my schoolwork such as writing notes and drawing too. It is very helpful and the large screen along with its lightweight flat screen make it very nice!

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi for A$799.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Revel

RevelMid North Coast, NSW

  • 9 reviews

So happy I got this. Opens a world of new possibilities

published

Bought this on Optus plan and now looking at studying and finding out about volunteering in my local area. Large screen and slimline rose gold back makes it a very attractive product. Recommend that case to protect .

Purchased in January 2020 at Online Optus.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
RoseyReviewer

RoseyReviewerGunnedah

  • 22 reviews

lightweight. Not compatible with other charges, needs 12w

published

Much lighter than 2017 iPad, so easier to hold, this is a big plus.
Unfortunately this iPad is not compatible with the 10w charges.
Also cellular doesn’t mean can be used as a cell phone, it means it can carry a Sim card for mobile Internet connection. (One of the Apple sales chat guys failed to mention that before I purchased when I questioned him, so it was pretty much a waste of an extra $400).
Also I feel for the price, the storage of 64gb was also a bit of a scam. For the price they offer this device, it should be at least 100gb.
The camera is really poor quality, most of the pictures look like they have a filter placed over them that distorts the picture and makes it look a little “painted” rather than just pixelated.

Purchased in October 2019 at Apple Store Australia.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Jadey33

Jadey33

  • 4 reviews

I love this iPad!

published

I use this I pad for EVERYTHING! it has a huge amount of storage, and also the charge lasts nearly 7 hours straight! I I would definitely recommend this product!

Purchased at Officeworks Physical store.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
hawki

hawkiSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews

Locked by itself. Controlled by Ifreaks

published

Self locked. Took a whole lot of hassle to find a way to unlock. screen wouldn't respond. This is rubbish. The control freaks at Apple are morons that love to control and avoid the user having freedom to operate the technology. Avoid forever. Android is the way

Purchased in January 2018 for A$400.00.

Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
Tablets

Find out how Apple iPad Air (3rd Gen) compares to other Tablets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
husain

husainGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Good ipad. Value for money..good for school

published

Got this ipad for my son for school.A good one. Very light weight..Fast and good memory and clear pic. Lighter than other ipads used previously. Will buy one for myself

Purchased in January 2018 at eBay for A$420.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Yang Y.

Yang Y.Hobart, TAS

  • 5 reviews

iPad with basic functions

published

ipad Air is great enough for daily use. I used it as a bigger phone and a portable computer.
haven't meet any issues with the system, all APPs run smoothly.
Would recommend it, will not regret it.

Purchased at Wireless1 Online Store for A$794.00.

Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
blackphase3

blackphase3Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Nice upgrade over the standard iPad

published

Use it mainly for reading magazines and comics.

Updated screen over the regular iPad is noticeable. Screen is generally brighter and sharper than the regular iPad. Slightly larger too which is a nice bonus.

Runs on a newer processor too, so things are a bit snappier and more responsive.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Warren

WarrenMacArthur 2904, ACT

  • 8 reviews

Love my IPad

published

Purchased new iPad to replace my aging one and not disappointed in the new iPad Air. Is lighter with a bigger screen and very easy to transfer all my data over to it. Have had trouble purchasing screen protector and cover as so new there is not a lot of choice and so pricing is high.

Purchased in August 2019 at The Good Guys for A$750.00.

Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
Karen

KarenPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Perfect

published

I use my iPad In place of my notebook when travelling. It’s great easy to use and light. All the apps I have on my notebook n iPhone are on this allowing for continuity across my profiles.

Purchased in February 2019 at Telstra for A$700.00.

Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
Rain

RainTownsville

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Good but not best

published

Just an average iPad and has the features the you’d expect. Screen durability is bad but the performance is good. I have not broken the screen btw. All in all, it is a good tablet for everyday use

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$450.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Tablets

Find out how Apple iPad Air (3rd Gen) compares to other Tablets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Liam D

Liam DAU

  • 33 reviews

IPad Pro on a budget

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Apple Physical store for A$799.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

Questions & Answers

Bruce

Bruceasked

iPad Air (3rd Gen) (2019-2020)

Which fast charger is suited to ipad air 3 ?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.