??!
2 photos
Apple iPad Air (3rd Gen)

Apple iPad Air (3rd Gen) (2019)

Wi-Fi, Wi-Fi + Cellular
4.5 from 23 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.5

23 reviews
5
(16)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (18)
  • Body Durability
    4.5 (19)
  • Battery Life
    4.7 (20)
  • Speaker Quality
    4.3 (20)
  • Display Quality
    4.6 (21)
  • Screen Durability
    4.3 (20)
  • Night Photography Quality
    3.2 (17)
  • Video Quality
    4.1 (18)
  • Rear Camera Quality
    4.0 (19)
  • Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
    3.5 (19)
  • Security
    4.4 (20)
  • Speed
    4.6 (22)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (19)
Previous
Next
Kehlani

KehlaniSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Fits exactly what I need

published

I love this product so much, it's as thin as air as the advertisement and I can carry it around with me all the time. It can help me run my business with ease.

Purchased in September 2020.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Vincent

VincentSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great display, light and fast

published

We upgraded from an old iPad mini and this iPad is so much faster in performance. It is also quite thin and the screen of the iPad Air is better than the normal iPad (especially for use with the Apple Pencil as there is less gap from the tip of the pencil to the actual screen). The screen resolution is sharp and is always a pleasure to use to browse/watch netflix.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Software
Speed
See all answers
Arty

ArtyFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very good, use it everyday.

published

I normally use it for entertainment such as watching Netflix and YouTube. Sometimes use if for social media, or reading ebooks. I also use it for facetiming. It has been running rather smoothly.

Purchased in June 2020 for A$679.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Tablets

Find out how Apple iPad Air (3rd Gen) compares to other Tablets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
George37

George37Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 12 likes

Perfection

published

Light and stylish. Great screen in every sense with size, clarity and brightness. Movies and the footy look great. Super fast at everything and doesn’t miss a beat as works flawlessly. Tinkered with the idea of the iPad mini as the specs are the same but glad I went with this as the extra real estate is welcome and would have had had some regrets. Must admit the PC just sits there now as this little beauty is so much more convenient.

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi for A$960.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Hett

HettSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Smooth display for games

published

Got this to replace old air 2. The new ipad is way faster and can feel it smoother rendering in games. Other than that the battery last pretty much the same as long. The cable came in the box started to fail charging after just a month, will need to see if I can get a replacement from apple store.

Purchased in May 2020 at optus.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Hardware
Battery Life
Display Quality
Software
Speed
See all answers
Amy L.

Amy L.Sydney, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 2 likes

Light and powerful

published

I’ve been using procreate on the iPad and it works almost perfectly. I would have liked to purchase the pro but due to budget got the air. It crashes only when I try to exceed the memory requirements but otherwise it’s great for digital art. In general very quick and responsive.

Purchased in May 2020.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sally and Fil

Sally and FilGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Light as paper!

published

This iPad is very easy to use. When using in bed, it is easier on my hands after hours of browsing. Easy to navigate. The screen is big enough. Powerful!

Purchased in May 2020 at Optus Doncaster for A$500.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Emma

Emma

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

I use this product on a daily bases and I love it!

published

I use this iPad to do my work almost everyday. I use it during the evening and the day and somehow it still manages to stay on. It runs smoothly and has specific features that I adore. This product is new and I only got it in January 2020 and today is 19/5/2020 so yours might act different if it’s old. I recommend this product for sure. Although I apologise for the crack in my iPad, that was my fault.

Purchased in January 2020 at Costco.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Hardware
Battery Life
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
danmelbourne

danmelbourneGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

iPad Air - worth buying because it's faster than regular iPad

published

I've been happy with my iPad Air 256GB purchase; it runs apps very smoothly and has tonnes of space for new apps (especially as you don't have to store your music or video library on it any more due to streaming). It is certainly quite a bit more expensive than the normal iPad but if you look at the processor specification between the two, the iPad Air has a much faster CPU, which will extend its longevity in terms of how many years good use you can get out of it. Also, since 15-20% off sales are reasonably common on sites like eBay, you can usually get it for quite a bit less than the RRP if you're patient and wait a month or two before the next sale comes on.

Purchased at eBay for A$849.15.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Tablets

Find out how Apple iPad Air (3rd Gen) compares to other Tablets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Roblox Eploits A.

Roblox Eploits A.

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazingly Fast

published

Love, love love it. Fast big reliable and easy to use. Screen does not glitch out like the older generations and there is more storage now. I use it for drawing and i would say it works quite well. Over all good product and can't wait till they make a better one.

Purchased in February 2018 at Amazon for A$823.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Cait

CaitSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Meets my business needs! Excellent

published

Excellent. The iPad Air is the perfect combination of functionality, mobility, and aesthetics. Transforming from a mobile POS system, to an on-the-go sketch book, or entertainment system during transist to a business meeting, the iPad cannot be beaten. Totally exceeds expectation.

Purchased in April 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Camera
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Jiwoo Lee

Jiwoo Lee

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

I cannot live without my ipad

published

I use it everyday for reading, playing games and doing my schoolwork such as writing notes and drawing too. It is very helpful and the large screen along with its lightweight flat screen make it very nice!

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi for A$799.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Revel

RevelMid North Coast, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

So happy I got this. Opens a world of new possibilities

published

Bought this on Optus plan and now looking at studying and finding out about volunteering in my local area. Large screen and slimline rose gold back makes it a very attractive product. Recommend that case to protect .

Purchased in January 2020 at Online Optus.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Emily C. Bieman

Emily C. BiemanGunnedah

  • 25 reviews
  • 20 likes

lightweight. Not compatible with other charges, needs 12w

published

Much lighter than 2017 iPad, so easier to hold, this is a big plus.
Unfortunately this iPad is not compatible with the 10w charges.
Also cellular doesn’t mean can be used as a cell phone, it means it can carry a Sim card for mobile Internet connection. (One of the Apple sales chat guys failed to mention that before I purchased when I questioned him, so it was pretty much a waste of an extra $400).
Also I feel for the price, the storage of 64gb was also a bit of a scam. For the price they offer this device, it should be at least 100gb.
The camera is really poor quality, most of the pictures look like they have a filter placed over them that distorts the picture and makes it look a little “painted” rather than just pixelated.

Purchased in October 2019 at Apple Store Australia.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Jadey33

Jadey33

  • 4 reviews

I love this iPad!

published

I use this I pad for EVERYTHING! it has a huge amount of storage, and also the charge lasts nearly 7 hours straight! I I would definitely recommend this product!

Purchased at Officeworks Physical store.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Tablets

Find out how Apple iPad Air (3rd Gen) compares to other Tablets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
hawki

hawkiSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes

Locked by itself. Controlled by Ifreaks

published

Self locked. Took a whole lot of hassle to find a way to unlock. screen wouldn't respond. This is rubbish. The control freaks at Apple are morons that love to control and avoid the user having freedom to operate the technology. Avoid forever. Android is the way

Purchased in January 2018 for A$400.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
husain

husainGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good ipad. Value for money..good for school

published

Got this ipad for my son for school.A good one. Very light weight..Fast and good memory and clear pic. Lighter than other ipads used previously. Will buy one for myself

Purchased in January 2018 at eBay for A$420.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Yang Y.

Yang Y.Hobart, TAS

  • 5 reviews

iPad with basic functions

published

ipad Air is great enough for daily use. I used it as a bigger phone and a portable computer.
haven't meet any issues with the system, all APPs run smoothly.
Would recommend it, will not regret it.

Purchased at Wireless1 Online Store for A$794.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
See all answers
blackphase3

blackphase3Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Nice upgrade over the standard iPad

published

Use it mainly for reading magazines and comics.

Updated screen over the regular iPad is noticeable. Screen is generally brighter and sharper than the regular iPad. Slightly larger too which is a nice bonus.

Runs on a newer processor too, so things are a bit snappier and more responsive.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Camera
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Warren

WarrenMacArthur 2904, ACT

  • 8 reviews

Love my IPad

published

Purchased new iPad to replace my aging one and not disappointed in the new iPad Air. Is lighter with a bigger screen and very easy to transfer all my data over to it. Have had trouble purchasing screen protector and cover as so new there is not a lot of choice and so pricing is high.

Purchased in August 2019 at The Good Guys for A$750.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Bruce

Bruceasked

iPad Air (3rd Gen) (2019)

Which fast charger is suited to ipad air 3 ?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 4 Apple iPad Air (3rd Gen) (2019)
CategoryTabletsTabletsTabletsTablets
Price (RRP) A$779.00A$999.00A$979.00A$1,199.00
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack3.5mm Headphone Jack3.5mm Headphone Jack3.5mm Headphone Jack
Network ConnectivityWi-Fi OnlyWi-Fi Only4G + Wi-Fi4G + Wi-Fi
Charging PortLightningLightningLightningLightning
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Display
Pixel Density265 ppi265 ppi265 ppi265 ppi
Display TechnologyIPS LCDIPS LCDIPS LCDIPS LCD
Screen Size 10.5"10.5"10.5"10.5"
Screen Resolution1668 x 2224 pixels1668 x 2224 pixels1668 x 2224 pixels1668 x 2224 pixels
Hardware
Battery Size8,134 mAh8,134 mAh8,134 mAh8,134 mAh
Internal Storage64 GB256 GB64 GB256 GB
Memory (RAM)3 GB3 GB3 GB3 GB
Build
Weight456 g456 g464 g464 g
Colour / FinishSilver, Space Grey, GoldSilver, Space Grey, GoldSilver, Space Grey, GoldSilver, Space Grey, Gold
Dimensions 250.6 x 174.1 x 6.1 mm250.6 x 174.1 x 6.1 mm250.6 x 174.1 x 6.1 mm250.6 x 174.1 x 6.1 mm
Body MaterialAluminiumAluminiumAluminiumAluminium
Release dateMar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019Mar 2019
Replaced byApple iPad Air (4th Gen)Apple iPad Air (4th Gen)Apple iPad Air (4th Gen)Apple iPad Air (4th Gen)
Compare all 4 Apple iPad Air (3rd Gen) (2019)

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.