??!
3 photos
Apple MacBook Pro with Retina Display 13-inch 2017 (without Touch Bar)

Apple MacBook Pro with Retina Display 13-inch 2017 (without Touch Bar)

MPN: KAMBP13MPXT2GRY
3.8 from 24 reviews

Reviews

3.8

24 reviews
5
(9)
4
(10)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Previous
Next
Veronica B.

Veronica B.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Not good as my old MacBook

published

A little disappointed because the keyboard had problem and also the replacement of that caused other problem. I hope they will fix it because I was so happy with the old MacBook that lasts for 6 years!

Purchased in June 2017 at Apple Online store for A$2,000.00.

Charles C.

Charles C.Sydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews

Excellent product

published

I’ve wanted a MacBook for a while now because of the build quality and the simplicity of the OS. I spend an average 6 hours a day using it for college and the battery still has a fair charge left. The screen looks great. Apple does a great job of integrating their products. Being able to unlock my laptop using my watch is great. It’s pricy, but I guess you’re also paying for the brand.

Purchased in April 2019.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Erwin

ErwinSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Good dependable laptop for everyday use.

published

Use it mainly for music editing, email and internet browsing. I bought it refurbished at the apple store and it does have a good battery life and speed. Been using it for two years now.

Purchased in August 2017 at Apple Online store for A$2,700.00.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Laptops

Find out how Apple MacBook Pro with Retina Display 13-inch 2017 (without Touch Bar) compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Akash

AkashSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Overheats but amazing

published

This laptop gets hot. I mean burning hot. But everything else is pure genius. This laptop is my daily driver and the laptop I'm using to write this review. Software and hardware side I've had no issues except that my butterfly keyboard sometimes gets stuck. Other than that it runs Mac OS which is amazing and everything is lightning fast, just the way it should be.

Purchased in June 2018 at Apple Store Australia for A$1,900.00.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

HCMcFinley

HCMcFinleyAdelaide

  • 23 reviews
  • 7 likes

Best laptop I have owned

published

Purchased in January 2017.

John

JohnSydney, NSW

Expensive repairs

published

When it works it's great but when you need repairs $$$$$$ so expensive . Much better off with most other computers with a good ssd drive. Not worth the money and since Steve jobs isn't around service is also gone. Unfortunately now it's a run around to get anything sorted . Screen from $800 to $1100. Once kids done at school will be happy never to see another apple product and we have 5 loads 3 iPhones MacBook pro.....

Purchased in July 2017 at Officeworks Online store for A$1,800.00.

Stepheats

StepheatsLaunceston, TAS

  • 4 reviews

Would not use any other brand of computer

published

This is the second Macbook I have owned, my first having lasted from 2012-2017 and only broke because I dropped it and cracked the screen. As a full time engineering student a reliable computer is a must, and I can safely say this is very reliable. It is fast, ergonomic, well designed and overall one of the best laptops available.

Purchased in March 2018 at JB Hi-Fi.

pgeee

pgeeeMelbourne

  • 19 reviews
  • 5 likes

Works as it should but wait !

published

So the item works fine, not fast or slow, just another computer, albeit costing more than the equivalent power windows notebooks. But I learned today the SSD is vulnerable to breaking down. Mass Recall !

My other macbook pro had a cracked screen because it had a sheet of paper in it when it was closed once. That cost 700 dollars to replace. Seems the screens are very fragile along with the SSD.

Giving it one star because of above

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Chris

ChrisAdelaide

  • 3 reviews

Excellent product, however quite overpriced!

published

I have been a mac user for years, so buying another macbook was a simple decision. This laptop is definitely a step-up from the previous macbook pro with retina display from previous years. It took a little while to get used to the thin keyboard, however now I actually think it is easier to type on. My complaint is that this product is far too expensive for the components it has.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Laptops

Find out how Apple MacBook Pro with Retina Display 13-inch 2017 (without Touch Bar) compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Liam D

Liam DAU

  • 36 reviews
  • 19 likes

I honestly can't fault this

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Darwin

DarwinSydney

Crashed after 3 months

published

Bought this Mac Pro for my daughter for her uni and it crashed after 3 months during her exams week. She has to wait for 5 working days before it will be fixed even with warranty and apple care on it. we end up buying another laptop to get to her exams week. NEVER AGAIN

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Alberto6439

Alberto6439South East Queensland, QLD

  • 24 reviews
  • 9 likes

By far the best current design

published

The screen might not be 4k but the resolution is outstanding 2k is enough for a 13 inch screen, the keyboard feels solid can’t find a better one to compare the model I bought is customise with 16 Gb of Ram so the performance is impressive, it helps the apple apfs file system inside MacOs so the interface in my opinion is flawless, so light so compact I can’t find anything to whinge about I’m not a big fan of the usb type C but apparently is the future quite tiny for such capabilities, I’ve been working with Apple since 2000 I cannot expected less than this minimalistic and still powerful machine.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Jon

JonBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great laptop

published

This is a great laptop! I would recommend buying it. It is a bit expensive, but it's the best looking laptop. The good things about it include: Retina display, the soft feel of the keyboard and it's quick. Bad things that I have found include: it gets hot on my lap when watching videos and the battery drains pretty quickly.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
iddy

iddy

  • 6 reviews

Reliable laptop that last a long time

published

Was looking for a replacement for my old broken MacBook which has lasted me for 5 years. This laptop is perfect for my use of browsing, watching movie and occasional video editing. It integrates very well with my iPhone, making my workflow very seamless. Battery lasts for 6 hours or so on normal use. Laptop also very light so it is easy to carry around.
The only complain I have is the lack of ports (only USB-C port), but a small price to pay for portability.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Allen

AllenBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 14 likes

Probably doesn't stand up to the macbooks of old, but still effective.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Laptops

Find out how Apple MacBook Pro with Retina Display 13-inch 2017 (without Touch Bar) compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Louisa

Louisa

  • 5 reviews

Satisfied

published

More fashion than the original MacBook occupied Air use a lot, especially the new version of Lion 10.7, the radiating heat discharge more easily than the old one, excellent workmanship and gorgeous body design, the hardware configuration is also very awesome. The aluminium body has a very good texture, the screen does not say, the feel of the first class.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Johnny

JohnnyMaroochydore

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Prefer the Air and it’s less

published

So I own both the air and MacBook Pro and love both but honestly the air is still fine and costs $500 less. Ideally Apple will release an upgraded air that’s even thinner and lighter again, but don’t feel you need the pro just because it’s newer and more powerful (the air can still do everyday tasks with ease and style!). Having made that point, the Pro is as you would expect a fine laptop with gorgeous display and I love using it. Downsides to be aware of are the USB C ports need an adaptor (but there are some for just a few $ online) and the keys are a bit more tappy sounding than the air.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Element Technology

Element TechnologyBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Honestly can't fault it

published

Everything about this computer is perfect! I need a computer that is reliable, light (as I'll be using it to complete my law degree in which entails travel) and fast. The MacBook Pro does not fall short of these expectations. Apple has excelled yet again! To complement Apple's outstanding products, the customer service is stellar as well!

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Waste of money!!!!!

published

I hate this computer! I use it for programming and it started to freeze the screen, most of the times the fan is way too noisy and superhot! I just closed my mac on the night before and when I tried to turn it on this morning was a nightmare. I’m for one hour now waiting for this machine that is not even turning on, it is cooling down the heat and does not turn on! How come a pretty new computer does not turn on???
The worst money I spent in my life. Almost $3000 for this trash! I’m really disappointed because I just bought it 4 months ago...

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Prim

PrimMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect for media and visual communication subjects

published

I am a school student and use this for my subjects at school. This computer has an amazing track pad which means designing vector graphics, couldn't be easier. The Adobe programs run so well on it and overall it is a very smooth and easy to use laptop. It isn't very heavy and also the keypad feels so nice! I hardly have any crashes and if you're switching from a windows and scared you won't know how to use apple products, apple is much easier than any windows computer.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Page 1 of 2
See all Apple MacBook Pro with Retina Display 13-inch reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Apple MacBook Pro with Retina Display 13-inch 2017 (without Touch Bar) but you can read 1 question about Apple MacBook Pro with Retina Display 13-inch.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.