??!
3 photos
Apple MacBook Pro with Retina Display 13-inch

Apple MacBook Pro with Retina Display 13-inch (page 3 of 6)

2017 (with Touch Bar), 2017 (without Touch Bar), 2015 Early, etc...
4.2 from 103 reviews

Reviews

4.2

103 reviews
5
(63)
4
(23)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(13)
Previous
Next
Allen

AllenBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 14 likes

Probably doesn't stand up to the macbooks of old, but still effective.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Miranda

Miranda

  • 5 reviews

Claim water damage and won’t fix

published

My trackpad stopped working and apple claimed the laptop was waterdamaged. Literally impossible as it’s a work computer that sits up on a bench. So annoyed. These things cost so much money and to not have it fixed even though it’s in warranty is so poor I believe. Everything else works fine so can’t understand how it’s much after damage

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Louisa

Louisa

  • 5 reviews

Satisfied

published

More fashion than the original MacBook occupied Air use a lot, especially the new version of Lion 10.7, the radiating heat discharge more easily than the old one, excellent workmanship and gorgeous body design, the hardware configuration is also very awesome. The aluminium body has a very good texture, the screen does not say, the feel of the first class.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Laptops

Find out how Apple MacBook Pro with Retina Display 13-inch compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Johnny

JohnnyMaroochydore

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Prefer the Air and it’s less

published

So I own both the air and MacBook Pro and love both but honestly the air is still fine and costs $500 less. Ideally Apple will release an upgraded air that’s even thinner and lighter again, but don’t feel you need the pro just because it’s newer and more powerful (the air can still do everyday tasks with ease and style!). Having made that point, the Pro is as you would expect a fine laptop with gorgeous display and I love using it. Downsides to be aware of are the USB C ports need an adaptor (but there are some for just a few $ online) and the keys are a bit more tappy sounding than the air.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Christy

ChristyMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Decent Laptop

published

Decent laptop. Served me well for the past 3 years, so I would say that it has been fairly robust. Only complaint would be that my model was one of the ones that the screen started peeling off. Otherwise, this is a laptop without many issues that runs quite well.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Laura b

Laura bAdelaide

  • 4 reviews

Great laptop

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Joe

JoePerth

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Doesn't get better than this.

published

Forget PCs that die after 3 years, this is a beast. I think one of the main things that distinguishes Apple from PCs for me is the build quality. Absolutely top of the range. This model of Macbook Pro is by far my favourite because it has HDMI direct in (no silly adapters required), plus and SD card reader, 2 usb ports and 2 thunderbolts ports. Plus the ingenius MagSafe power connector - literally tripped over this cable yesterday and yet again saved my laptop from flying off the dinner table.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Will

WillNewcastle

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing Laptop.

published

The best laptop I've ever owned. Did everything I wanted and never once had a problem with it. Couldn't fault it. Got a Mac after I was sick of my windows computer not responding. Never ever had this problem with my Mac. It never froze or crashed. I used it for advanced tasks like video editing, office & gaming and never had a problem. Unlike windows laptops these don't slow down after a few years. Mine ran as fast as it did the day I got it 4 years later.

Date PurchasedJan 2014
Element Technology

Element TechnologyBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Honestly can't fault it

published

Everything about this computer is perfect! I need a computer that is reliable, light (as I'll be using it to complete my law degree in which entails travel) and fast. The MacBook Pro does not fall short of these expectations. Apple has excelled yet again! To complement Apple's outstanding products, the customer service is stellar as well!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Laptops

Find out how Apple MacBook Pro with Retina Display 13-inch compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sarah G

Sarah GAU

  • 2 reviews

Excellent look but not worth it

published

It's my first Apple computer. After I feel fully disappointing with windows system, I bought this mac for my subjects at school. It has a really big track pad which is very convenience and the screen and touch bar is great when i see video and typing. But no usb access is really annoying.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Waste of money!!!!!

published

I hate this computer! I use it for programming and it started to freeze the screen, most of the times the fan is way too noisy and superhot! I just closed my mac on the night before and when I tried to turn it on this morning was a nightmare. I’m for one hour now waiting for this machine that is not even turning on, it is cooling down the heat and does not turn on! How come a pretty new computer does not turn on???
The worst money I spent in my life. Almost $3000 for this trash! I’m really disappointed because I just bought it 4 months ago...

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Prim

PrimMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect for media and visual communication subjects

published

I am a school student and use this for my subjects at school. This computer has an amazing track pad which means designing vector graphics, couldn't be easier. The Adobe programs run so well on it and overall it is a very smooth and easy to use laptop. It isn't very heavy and also the keypad feels so nice! I hardly have any crashes and if you're switching from a windows and scared you won't know how to use apple products, apple is much easier than any windows computer.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Debden

Debden

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excelent Wndows 10 Business Machine

published
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Doug B

Doug BSydney

  • 4 reviews

The best computer I have ever owned

published

I do not go anywhere without my Macbook and thankfully, due to it being so light but at the same time, so exceptionally sturdy this is both easy and safe. I have had upwards of 5 or 6 laptops in my life but this one is just far and above the best I have owned. The operating system is incredibly clean which allows for seemless use of all of my favourite applications. I mainly use my laptop for photoshop. With past laptops photoshop has caused some lag or delay but my macbook doesn't skip a beat. The high price tag means this isn't for everyone but to everyone who can afford it, it is well worth the money.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Manish J

Manish JNew South Wales, 2223

  • 6 reviews

Apple at its best as always

published

Sans the OS which I am not a big fan of, the hardware is simply the best in the market.
Even though Microsoft's Surface is making headway and posing as good competition, it has a long road ahead of it.
Apple has perfected the macbook hardware over the years and exudes excellent craftsmanship along with unparalled battery backup. Whether you are a student or a travel blogger or a lecturer or a business executive, it suits everyone.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Laptops

Find out how Apple MacBook Pro with Retina Display 13-inch compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
xz101

xz101Sydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 11 likes

BEST LAPTOP EVER

published

this is the 7th laptop I have had and it is the best. Fast core, good os, no lag. I am a web, graphics and it developer and this helps with all my needs. Macbook has a great interface and Logic Pro X and Final Cut Pro help me with my producing/video editing needs

Date PurchasedJul 2017
ARK

ARKBrisbane

  • 6 reviews

Simple, stylish and fast

published

This Macbook is quite fun to use although I'm not really fond of the shallow typing feeling in comparison to the 2012 Macbook pro. It runs very quietly and I have had no problems loading the timemachine backup. It is annoying that I now have to buy a hub adapter in order to use regular USB devices as there are only 2 USB Type-C inputs. At least there is a headphone port.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Malcolm Reed

Malcolm ReedMelbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

OK if you're consumer or into writing iOS code

published
Date PurchasedJul 2015
coty

cotySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great one

published

Not using MacBook before. I am a Microsoft guy for years. Notice MacBook is good on interface, pasting or editing, so decided to gave it a try.
It's really nice on man-machine interface and fluency when selecting the job I want to do. Only annoying thing is the iCloud kept came in to interrupt. Apple might need to consider to make more space in iCloud for its customers. 5 G is something looks funny today when there are no limit cloud providers out there.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Daniel Huynh

Daniel Huynh

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

The most rounded

published

It took me lots of time to come to buying this laptop. I have been familiar with Apple products but given a hectic price I gave it a lot of research. I ended up buying a refurbished model saving more than $200. It came with almost no defects, just without the original box. The keyboard was hard and caused me pain for the first few weeks but then I could typed much faster on it. There are two complaints though. Unlike iphone charging hole, the MBP's one doesn't have the fringe. So mine got damaged in the first 4 weeks. Then since the edge of the upper part (the display) is to sharpe and soft, it got dents all over. Yea sadly. But all laptops nowadays are expensive, MBP is still the best choice if you need a good one that can last for years.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Page 3 of 6
See all Apple MacBook Pro with Retina Display 13-inch reviews

Questions & Answers

Lsc

Lscasked

MacBook Pro with Retina Display 13-inch 2014 Mid

Hi I’m thinking of buying a MacBook Pro 13-inch 2014 model second-hand
What things should I check before buying it
-e.g does it overheat

2 answers
Kristen
Kristen

Neither of my children’s have ever overheated and they use them for the full school day. If they have been used by a student especially a middle school student check for dints and scratches that might look like it has been dropped. My youngest has dropped hers twice and it still works well but one of her friends has a couple of keys that don’t work properly after dropping it.

Lsc
Lsc

grea advice thks

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.