1 photo
Apple TV 4K 1st Generation (2017)

Apple TV 4K 1st Generation (2017)

MPN: MP7P2X/A
3.9 from 75 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Networked Media Players in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Apple? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Thestorydude
ThestorydudeCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

Easy to use and works flawlessly

published

Simple, easy to use interface with a remote that is workable once you get used to it.

Served me well for this long and don't intending on switching anytime soon.

Call me an Apple Sheep, I don't care.

Purchased in September 2020 at Officeworks Physical store for $269.00.

Incentivised Review No
Zed95
Zed95South East Queensland, QLD
  • 22 reviews
  • 8 likes

Simplest, most effective way into Disney+ in Australia

published

Purchased in December 2020 at Apple Store Australia for $249.00.

Incentivised Review No
Anna
AnnaSydney, NSW

The new Apple 4K TV remote control

published

I have always been a big fan of Apple TV and I recently took the plunge to buy the latest 4K Apple TV. However I am very disappointed with their remote control. The new remote control is just terrible! It’s hard to use, not user friendly at all and just frustrating and I just wish they used the older Apple TV remote control which was so much easier to use. I won’t buy another Apple TV unless they fix their remote control issue.

Purchased in January 2021 at Apple Online store for $200.00.

Incentivised Review No
Networked Media Players

Find out how Apple TV 4K 1st Generation (2017) compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
seanudal
seanudalWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 32 reviews
  • 25 likes

Previous models were much better quality

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Officeworks for $264.00.

Incentivised Review No
kim f.
kim f.
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lazy cheap technology User UNFRIENDLY!

published

Purchased in March 2021 at JB Hi-Fi for $209.00.

Incentivised Review No
Annabel
Annabel
  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Waste of a lot of time

published
Incentivised Review No
Juzzy
JuzzyQld
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

What’s the point

published

I found this streaming platform unbelievable, you pay 80 bucks a year to look at titles to rent...I mean seriously that’s like paying 80 bucks to walk in an old video store!!!
For example it would cost 180 bucks to watch all 8 seasons of Game of Thrones thru Apple TV or just 12 bucks through Binge

It’s so so much cheaper to subscribe to Netflix, Stan, Binge and Disney then you have all the same titles and don’t have to buy or rent them

What a joke

Incentivised Review No
Sam
SamAU
  • 59 reviews
  • 32 likes

Reliable and works well

published

Purchased in December 2020 at Officeworks Online store for $251.95.

Incentivised Review No
Cherie
CherieSouth East Queensland, QLD

Waste of money

published

I downloaded onto our Samsung TV as an app, it looked like lots of great titles were on the apple tv so I was excited to watch everything. It took a while to set up and it was harder than other streaming services to set up. Once logged in, I browsed through the catalogue to find that most movies and TV shows wernt included with the subscription and I had to pay extra! What is the point of subscribing? I'm not even going to wait till the end of the trial to delete it! Waste of time!

Purchased in December 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Networked Media Players

Find out how Apple TV 4K 1st Generation (2017) compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
forshizzle
forshizzleGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

CAME WITH THE PHONE

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2020 at Apple Store Australia.

Incentivised Review No
Penny H.
Penny H.Australian Capital Territory

Apple TV 4k

published

Don’t buy one, not worth it. Issues on a lot of tvs. We brought new HDMI cable, a converter even though the tv is 4K only 3 years old so brought another tv still doesn’t work. I think Apple has shares in tvs. Starting to think about changing my iPhone to some other brand as sick of Apple maki g everything difficult. Don’t buy apple

Purchased in September 2020 at Harvey Norman for $249.00.

Incentivised Review No
Josh O.
Josh O.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Doesn't work on mac

published

Even though it was free with a new iPhone purchase it'd be even worse if i'd have to pay for it. Don't bother if you don't have an iPhone or iPad. You'd think Apple would be able to replicate a video streaming service similar to Netflix or Amazon but it's rubbish. Content would probably look good if it wasn't restricted to a tiny screen...Pointless.

Purchased in September 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Jess
JessLondon
  • 2 reviews

Worst experience I've ever had

published

Worst experience setting this up of any service I've ever encountered. It's put me off ever buying another apple device. Support is shocking. If you haven't begun the tedious process, save yourself hours by using something more reliable and easier to set up (netflix or Amazon prime will just work). At every turn they get you to enter mobile phone codes - 10 or so codes in a row wasn't uncommon during the tedious days it took to try and get this to work and then when it finally did the shows wouldn't stream over the wifi. They'll ask for a local credit card to prove you can watch the shows, but they fail to mention this before you buy. Not at all worth the effort, even if you get a free trial.

Purchased in August 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Glenn
GlennGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Apple TV . Where does this company get off gouging customers

published

I have purchased movies from Apple before Apple TV . Only to find that you have to buy a subscription to Apple TV to play them.
The site offers a few movies and links to Netflix and others that you have to pay a subscription to in addition to Apple . The cheap movies that you can rent you can find on you tube for nothing .

It’s a rip off

Purchased in July 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Graham Berryman
Graham BerrymanIllawarra, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

Incredibly impossible to set up if you're not an Apple user

published

Just spent hours trying to set up. If you haven't any Apple products you need to set up an Apple account, an Apple store account with credit card input and endless codes send through to a mobile. Totally not recommended. Going back into box and back to store

Purchased in July 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $280.00.

Incentivised Review No
Networked Media Players

Find out how Apple TV 4K 1st Generation (2017) compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2See all Apple TV 4K reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Apple TV 4K 1st Generation (2017) but you can read 5 questions about Apple TV 4K.

Get an answer from our members

Apple TV 4K 1st Generation (2017)

Details

Compare both Apple TV 4K
CategoryNetworked Media Players
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Release dateSept 2017
Replaced byApple TV 4K 2nd Generation (2021)
Compare both Apple TV 4K
Visit official website
  • GTIN12: 190198463654
  • MPN: MP7P2X/A

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.