3 photos
Apple Watch Series 5

Apple Watch Series 5

GPS + Cellular, GPS
4.1 from 46 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Apple? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Pros

  • Easy to read watch face

  • Provides exact health stats

  • Seamlessly integrates with Apple products

Cons

  • Relatively short battery life

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.1 (9)
  • Build Quality
    3.4 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (9)
  • Battery Life
    2.1 (9)
Previous
Next
DINGIS
DINGISGold Coast
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Apple will not repair. They offer me a refurbished watch instead for a price.

published

Purchased in August 2020.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Bruno
BrunoGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Non-functioning features

published

This is my second Apple watch and I am generally a fan. However, some "functions" simply do NOT function. The heart-rate monitor is so random as to be basically unusable. I've often checked it against reliable monitors and it's is very often not even close. the latest "fix", to allow my watch to open my MacBook, is not a fix at all. So while I generally enjoy the product, several of its "functions" are very random AND THIS IS ANNOYING.

Purchased in March 2019 for $599.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Azmiri
AzmiriGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 16 reviews
  • 3 likes

its ok for me

published

I am not a watch person but got this as a gift. it looks good to wear one, stylish. I don't always wear it. most of the time i wanted to wear I found it no charge. so i put it on charge for next time. Battery life not good. other than that, very handy options, like heart rate monitor which is pretty good. So far I like the product. But I wont give it a 5 star.

Purchased in March 2020 at Harvey Norman Online for $1,299.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Apple Watch Series 5 compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tonch
TonchMelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolute rubbish

published

Watch keeps disconnecting from phone, and apple support team is helpless. Don't waste your money, its not worth it. Apple is not willing to help. Dont waste your money please

Purchased in July 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $850.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cez
CezAU
  • 32 reviews
  • 42 likes

VERY BAD BATTERY LIFE

published

I bought this to replace my FitBit so I can get calls and messages through the watch. The battery life of Fitbit is really good, takes at least 4 days to need recharging. iWatch is no where as good as Fitbit. It only takes less than 24 hours to need recharging, which is very cumbersome. Will try to sell iWatch and get a Fitbit that has cellular function.

ECG app DOES NOT work or NOT Available in Australia

Purchased in July 2020 at Apple Online store for $849.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality

Related Articles

Previous

Top 5 Smart Watch Brands for Women

Smart Watches are a convenient and stylish way for women to keep track of their health, socialise with friends and family, and stay organised amid the business of life. Now there are more smart watches designed for women than ever before.

Isabella G.
Isabella G.30 Nov 2020
top-5-smart-watch-brands-for-women
Next
Kadhim
KadhimSydney, NSW

Fitbit much better than Apple Watch

published

Fitbit much better than Apple Watch and much cheaper, Apple Watch doesn’t have one app with different applications and you have to charge it every day while Fitbit not, Fitbit can last for 7 days and has one simple app

Incentivised Review No
Josh
JoshCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Sapphire glass prone to scratches.

published

The S5 Apple Watch is comfortable and easy to use, and the black stainless steel is very attractive. The glass is no where near as durable and scratch resistant as Apple claim, with mine showing several scratches despite not knowing as to how they happened as I’m always very cautious.

Purchased in February 2020 at Apple Online store.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Nick.s
Nick.sSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Poor quality screen

published

Watch screen cracked after 2 months. Very poor quality for such an expensive product, no option to repair and now the broken glass is dangerous to touch. The Apple store where no help and didn’t provide and indication of what I could do.

Purchased in December 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $699.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
N456tt
N456ttAustralia
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Drops Calls ALL the time!

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Apple Physical store.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Apple Watch Series 5 compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
swaziau1
swaziau1
  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

First Apple Watch Experience- Honest review

published

Purchased in September 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $699.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality

Questions & Answers

Roy
Royasked
Series 5 GPS + Cellular

i am looking for a stand alone watch. i don't have a mobile phone and want a watch with which i can make and receive phone calls - oh and tell the time. does apple sell such a product in australia?

2 answers
TrueGreen
TrueGreen

Apple doesn’t sell such a product anywhere. If you want to use an Apple Warch, you need to have an iPhone. Apple Watches won’t suit your use case, sorry.

Bruno
Bruno

I am using my second Apple Watch after upgrading early this year. The watch does almost all that it claims very well - but does NOT give an accurate heart rate, contrary to its claim. That aside, it’s a wonderfully flexible watch. It is able to make and receive phone calls if you don’t mind others nearby hearing your conversation. However for the phone function to operate you need to purchase the slightly more expensive watch with a ‘chip’ insert. Hope this assists.

Lauran
Lauranasked
Watch Series 5 GPS

Can you use all the apps with the gps only model

1 answer
Christopher. A
Christopher. A

Yes you can. It runs the same WatchOS, therefore meaning all apps are supported from the GPS+Cellular model.

Get an answer from our members

Apple Watch Series 5

Details

Features:

  • Watches in the Apple Watch Series 5 range track your daily activity and accurately measure all your favourite workouts, so you can easily see your progress.
  • They also measure your health stats, such as your blood oxygen levels, to help you be more in tune with your body.
  • Emergency SOS and the ability to detect if you’ve fallen help make your walk, run, or ride safer, giving you a bit more peace of mind when you’re out and about.
  • These watches have an Always-On Retina display so you can easily see the interface at all times, and are cellular, so you don’t have to worry about carrying your phone around with you.
  • You can choose from a variety of case and band materials and colours and patterns - there are aluminium and stainless steel cases, as well as everything from sports to leather bands.

Points of praise:

  • Most reviewers found that the watch face was easy to read, largely thanks to the larger, lit-up display.
  • They also found that it was fairly accurate in reading their heart rate and other similar health metrics.
  • According to reviewers, it’s easy to integrate this watch with an iPhone and other Apple products, and it’s also simple to install apps on it.

A point of pain:

  • Some reviewers noted that the battery life of the watch was short, and said that they usually only got one day or just less than that out of a full charge. Of course, battery life depends on how you use your watch, so not all users will experience this.
Compare both Apple Watch Series 5
CategorySmart Watches / Fitness TrackersSmart Watches / Fitness Trackers
Price (RRP) $649.00$799.00
ConnectivityBluetooth, GPS and Wi-Fi4G, Bluetooth, GPS and Wi-Fi
Display TechnologyOLEDOLED
Voice AssistantNoneNone
SensorsAccelerometer, Altimeter, Barometer, Compass, Gyro Sensor, Heart Rate Sensor and Light SensorAccelerometer, Altimeter, Barometer, Compass, Gyro Sensor, Heart Rate Sensor and Light Sensor
InterfaceTouchscreenTouchscreen
LoudspeakerNoYes
WaterproofingWater ResistantWater Resistant
Memory (RAM)32 GB32 GB
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)
Construction MaterialCeramicAluminium, Ceramic and Stainless Steel
Colour / FinishSilver, Space Grey, GoldSilver, Space Grey, Gold, Stainless Steel, Space Black, White
Replaced byApple Watch Series 6Apple Watch Series 6
Compare both Apple Watch Series 5
Visit official website
  • GTIN12: 190199278912 and 190199282391

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.