6 photos
Apricus Solar Hot Water System

Apricus Solar Hot Water System

315ltr Tank, 250ltr Tank, 400ltr Tank
3.2 from 141 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.8 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (4)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.3 (3)
  • Heating Speed
    3.3 (3)
Previous
Next
Martin
MartinNortheast, VIC

High cost of running

published

New house and new system so no issues there but I would have thought it would be cheaper compared to other older set ups? Our hot water unit is the highest energy cost on the bill

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

382 reviews
Ad

Great warranty service

published

Ros thoroughly investigated the issue with my 11 yo system not getting hot enough and needing near continual boosting for 9 months of the year. After tests the copper tubes were replaced under warranty and all now seems to be working well. This has been a lesson other companies could learn from in how to back your warranty and support customers.

Purchased for $7,500.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Tom
TomGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Failed within a year

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Apricus Solar Hot Water System compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Big Jolly Fellow
Big Jolly FellowSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Trying to contact you - Hey are you guys still in business?????

published

Purchased in October 2010 for $4,640.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
7 comments
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Hi there, please could you call Amy directly on 02 5629 7834 to discuss this matter. She is waiting for your call.

Big Jolly Fellow
Big Jolly Fellow
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Rod
RodGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Works well

published

Purchased in December 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next

Fantastic, but only for technical people

published

Purchased in February 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

382 reviews
Ad
pippy
pippykerang

Should have got a solar hart

published

System is just over two years old, 12 months ago non return valve replaced under warranty. Today circulating pump not working, rang apricus, sorry only 2 years warranty on pump, 10 years on tank, 15 years on collector but 2 0n pump. I will let you all know what goes wrong next year.

Date PurchasedJuly 2015
1 comment
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus
Flora L
Flora LFloreat WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Faulty heating pipes should ALL be replaced!

published
Date PurchasedAug 2015
1 comment
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus
Peter T
Peter THobart, TAS
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good service for replacement of faulty tubes

published

Our system didn't seem to be performing very well, but for a long time that was perhaps all we could expect for our location in southern Tasmania. When we realised it really was well under par Apricus were very cooperative in organising for someone to look at it, then they replaced all 30 inner copper tubes. All done at no cost to us and with no further questions or quibbling. Only 3 stars because while the service was excellent the tubes should not have been faulty in the first place.

Date PurchasedJuly 2015
1 comment
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Apricus Solar Hot Water System compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cliff
CliffHervey Bay Qld.

Free from the sun???????

published
Date PurchasedMay 2009
1 comment
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus

Not suitable for 1 or 2 occupt household

published
Date PurchasedJune 2016
1 comment
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus

Hi, if you would like to chat about your system performance, please give us a call on 1300 277 428. We would be happy to listen to your concerns and discuss possible solutions.

RPG
RPGGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Vacuum Tube Failure

published

Purchased at Plumbing Contractor for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
6 comments
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus
RPG
RPG
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

382 reviews
Ad
Geoff A
Geoff A
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Don't believe the system is working properly. Energy being used to boost is equivalent to the power

published

System requires 11 kilowatt of power per day to maintain hot water. It would appear not much heating is being provided by the panel . Tubes appear to have lost their shine. Don't believe we're getting any return on investment. If were not on off peak the cost to heat would be prohibitive

Date PurchasedMar 2009
SteveH
SteveH
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Lack of support, unsure if it's even working

published

Since installing in 2013 I have no idea if my Series 2000 is working or not. The installer just installed the Apricus and that's it. I called the installer for support but he refused to help because he was owed money by the Apricus support representative here in Hobart. I paid several thousand dollars for something that can't tell me if I've even had a single cent returned on this investment. My heating/hot water bill is $400 quarter.

Date PurchasedApr 2013
1 comment
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus

Steve its Chris here the MD of Apricus. I have a rep in Hobart on Monday will email you my details so we can set up a site visit and explore the issue.

Cissy
Cissy
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

High maintenance

published

Our pump broke down nearly a year ago and it still isn't fixed and the hot water tank leeks it started like 3 days after we had it installed pump shit itself after 4years so now its just a hot water system a very expensive one ( loved it when it was working ) have spoken to the plumber that pur it in ...still not fixed...

Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Apricus Solar Hot Water System compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Apricus Solar Hot Water System reviews

Questions & Answers

Not happy JAN
Not happy JANasked
Solar Hot Water System

Hi Guys,
Have a 30 tube system, 300L tank, off peak boost, about 9 years old. I felt it was not at efficient as it used to be (only just enough hot water for 4 evening showers, tank water so never long: and I boil the kettle to wash up or there is not enough hot water). I called out our local agent, who after looking tells me there is nothing wrong with it, he just added some paste around the sensors in case the were not conducting properly. Now, a few weeks later, my unit is error coding 55d and there is white stuff coming out of the sensor port. Inlet reading 50 degrees and roof reading 100. Which it is clearly not as it is currently night dark and winter. Clearly there is something wrong with the unit, but it seems to be hit and miss with finding out what the problem is?????? Can you help?

3 answers
Not happy JAN
Not happy JAN

correction, the roof is reading 139 degrees

Not happy JAN
Not happy JAN

that is degrees celsius

Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Hi Jan,
Thank you for your enquiry. You are correct, there is clearly something not quite right with your system and we would like to help get to the bottom of it.

The error code 55d suggests there is a problem with one of your controller sensors. This, along with the readings you are getting could mean that the sensors are not inserted fully, are faulty and need replacing or, it is possible there is an airlock in the system causing the water to get stuck on the roof and very hot.

Please could you call our Aftersales team on 1300 277 428 or email on warranty@apricus.com.au so we can discuss this matter further with you and help get your system back up and running as it should.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Apricus Australia

John T.
John T.asked
Solar Hot Water System

Is there an expected life for the heat transfer paste that conducts the heat from the evacuated tubes to the manifiold? The only info that I can find suggests a maximun of 8 years effective life from the best quality paste. My 30 tube system has been in service since 2006 and after two defective tubes replaced, the system is not performing anything like it was in the first 5 years.

1 answer
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Hi John,

Thank you for your enquiry. We would recommend contacting our warranty team on warranty@apricus.com.au to discuss this matter further. We can have you run diagnostic tests on your system or suggest a service agent to determine whether your heat pipes are working effectively.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Apricus Australia

Liam
Liamasked
315ltr Tank

Who manufactures the water heaters - 315ltr

1 answer
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Hi Liam,

Thank you for your question. It depends which tank you are referring to. Our Glass-lined tanks are made by DUX whilst our stainless steal tanks are manufactured by Wise Living or Wilson.

Please do not hesitate to contact us on 1300 277 428 if you have any further queries.

Kind regards,

Apricus Australia

See all Apricus Solar Hot Water System questions

Get an answer from our members and Apricus representatives

Apricus Solar Hot Water System

Details

Compare all 3 Apricus Solar Hot Water System
CategorySolar Water HeatersSolar Water HeatersSolar Water Heaters
Compare all 3 Apricus Solar Hot Water System
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

EvoHeat EVO270

EvoHeat EVO270

382 reviews
Ad