6 photos
Apricus Solar Hot Water System

Apricus Solar Hot Water System

315ltr Tank, 250ltr Tank, 400ltr Tank
3.2 from 141 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (4)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (5)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.0 (4)
  • Heating Speed
    3.2 (5)
Previous
Next
Sharon K.
Sharon K.
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

No electric booster EVER

published

Purchased in November 2014 for $4,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

382 reviews
Ad

Great warranty service

published

Ros thoroughly investigated the issue with my 11 yo system not getting hot enough and needing near continual boosting for 9 months of the year. After tests the copper tubes were replaced under warranty and all now seems to be working well. This has been a lesson other companies could learn from in how to back your warranty and support customers.

Purchased for $7,500.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
George
George Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Thanks to Ros et al who helped resolve a tricky one.

published

We had a mysterious and rare degradation of one of the tubes, (from the inside), and Ros worked tirelessly to have it replaced without charge: it took a while, with not many plumbers about at this time.
thanks so much for the check-ins, just to let us know what was happening. And for the final job.
ta

Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Apricus Solar Hot Water System compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Manfred R.
Manfred R.Central, SA

Best warranty service ever.

published

We bought a house with an existing system which needed repair. Dealing with Ros was a real joy, to find somebody as efficient and caring as her is really rare. Backup of service 5 stars.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Rod
RodGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Works well

published

Purchased in December 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Ian
IanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

My Apricus 11+ Y/O Unit back into action

published

My 11+ year old Apricus pump and controller for my Apricus solar-tube system was finally on the blink and Amy Sears gave excellent advice on what needed fixing, enabled me to easily order and pay for the necessary spare parts and followed up with excellent advice on a repair person, giving welcomed follow-up to ensure the tradesman arrived, ensuring too that he also had the parts that had been ordered and paid for. The work was quickly and skilfully completed by the recommended plumber, Darren Bride, who certainly knows his way around the Apricus units. I am happy to recommend both Amy and Darren for their help and service with the repairs necessary for my unit.
Ian, Glen Waverley, Vic.

Purchased in October 2009.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

382 reviews
Ad
Ron
RonNortheast, VIC

Great service on warranty/service claim

published

Purchased in August 2015 for $4,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Les
LesGippsland, VIC

Problem solved

published

Hi I hereby fully reciprocate the last review I posted on this site in regards to my 40 tube apricus solar hot water system. I’d have to say I thought it was a total heap of crap up on my roof it’s taken nearly four years to get it sorted until the plumber showed up and told me there was a faulty batch of copper tubes inside the glass ones, since replacing those under warranty the thing is smoking free hot water no gas at all and it’s autumn loving it it’s full steam ahead from here on in go apricus

Purchased in January 2015 for $6,000.00.

Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Thank you Les. We are pleased you are experiencing optimal solar gain with your Apricus Solar Hot Water unit. Ensure your controller and pump have active power to provide frost protection.

David
DavidCanberra

Support by Jessie

published

Our initial installation was faulty; there wasn't any water flow through the roof pipes for the first week or more. This installation fault was corrected by the installer.

However, it became apparent that the tubes had been damaged by being left without water, and these were replaced under warranty without question. About three months later, one of the new tubes failed, just as we are about to depart town for a while.

Jessie was most helpful in organising a replacement tube and lining up an agent to fit it while we were away. On returning home, the new tube was there and all appears fine.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
1 comment
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Apricus Solar Hot Water System compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Flora L
Flora LFloreat WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Faulty heating pipes should ALL be replaced!

published
Date PurchasedAug 2015
1 comment
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus

Leaking Tank

published

My tank started leaking from the lower senor port and a couple of weeks later started leak out of the return port. They came had a look. they thought it may be a slow leak from where the plumber connected the return to the tank. after replacing the fitting and and checking on it for a couple of weeks.so after determining it was the tank and not the fitting, they replaced the tank straight away.

Date PurchasedFeb 2011
1 comment
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus
Peter T
Peter THobart, TAS
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good service for replacement of faulty tubes

published

Our system didn't seem to be performing very well, but for a long time that was perhaps all we could expect for our location in southern Tasmania. When we realised it really was well under par Apricus were very cooperative in organising for someone to look at it, then they replaced all 30 inner copper tubes. All done at no cost to us and with no further questions or quibbling. Only 3 stars because while the service was excellent the tubes should not have been faulty in the first place.

Date PurchasedJuly 2015
1 comment
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

382 reviews
Ad
Rick L
Rick LLancefield
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Solar Water Heating not without problems but great support by Apricus

published
Date PurchasedMar 2011
1 comment
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus
Garry
GarryCanberra
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A problem but great recovery service

published

After 6 years the system sprung a leaky through a faulty manifold, probably not unexpected in the below zero Canberra winters. Obviously I was not happy but the service by Apricus in providing a replacement manifold, despite me not being able to provide the exact proof of purchase normally required, was exceptional. They very quickly assessed the problem, accepted responsibility and provided a replacement. Very happy with that outcome.

Date PurchasedJan 2011
1 comment
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus
Cliff
CliffHervey Bay Qld.

Free from the sun???????

published
Date PurchasedMay 2009
1 comment
Apricus
Luke M.Apricus
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Apricus Solar Hot Water System compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Apricus Solar Hot Water System reviews

Questions & Answers

Not happy JAN
Not happy JANasked
Solar Hot Water System

Hi Guys,
Have a 30 tube system, 300L tank, off peak boost, about 9 years old. I felt it was not at efficient as it used to be (only just enough hot water for 4 evening showers, tank water so never long: and I boil the kettle to wash up or there is not enough hot water). I called out our local agent, who after looking tells me there is nothing wrong with it, he just added some paste around the sensors in case the were not conducting properly. Now, a few weeks later, my unit is error coding 55d and there is white stuff coming out of the sensor port. Inlet reading 50 degrees and roof reading 100. Which it is clearly not as it is currently night dark and winter. Clearly there is something wrong with the unit, but it seems to be hit and miss with finding out what the problem is?????? Can you help?

3 answers
Not happy JAN
Not happy JAN

correction, the roof is reading 139 degrees

Not happy JAN
Not happy JAN

that is degrees celsius

Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Hi Jan,
Thank you for your enquiry. You are correct, there is clearly something not quite right with your system and we would like to help get to the bottom of it.

The error code 55d suggests there is a problem with one of your controller sensors. This, along with the readings you are getting could mean that the sensors are not inserted fully, are faulty and need replacing or, it is possible there is an airlock in the system causing the water to get stuck on the roof and very hot.

Please could you call our Aftersales team on 1300 277 428 or email on warranty@apricus.com.au so we can discuss this matter further with you and help get your system back up and running as it should.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Apricus Australia

John T.
John T.asked
Solar Hot Water System

Is there an expected life for the heat transfer paste that conducts the heat from the evacuated tubes to the manifiold? The only info that I can find suggests a maximun of 8 years effective life from the best quality paste. My 30 tube system has been in service since 2006 and after two defective tubes replaced, the system is not performing anything like it was in the first 5 years.

1 answer
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Hi John,

Thank you for your enquiry. We would recommend contacting our warranty team on warranty@apricus.com.au to discuss this matter further. We can have you run diagnostic tests on your system or suggest a service agent to determine whether your heat pipes are working effectively.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Apricus Australia

Liam
Liamasked
315ltr Tank

Who manufactures the water heaters - 315ltr

1 answer
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Hi Liam,

Thank you for your question. It depends which tank you are referring to. Our Glass-lined tanks are made by DUX whilst our stainless steal tanks are manufactured by Wise Living or Wilson.

Please do not hesitate to contact us on 1300 277 428 if you have any further queries.

Kind regards,

Apricus Australia

See all Apricus Solar Hot Water System questions

Get an answer from our members and Apricus representatives

Apricus Solar Hot Water System

Details

Compare all 3 Apricus Solar Hot Water System
CategorySolar Water HeatersSolar Water HeatersSolar Water Heaters
Compare all 3 Apricus Solar Hot Water System
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

EvoHeat EVO270

EvoHeat EVO270

382 reviews
Ad