??!
1 photo
Arlec CSF120AO

Arlec CSF120AO

2.4 from 34 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.3 (4)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (3)
  • Power
    1.0 (3)
Previous
Next
Amit

AmitSydney, NSW

Never buy Arlec!!!!

published

Bought Arlec fan from Bunnings last year summer for 90 dollars . Now the weather is warming up and I thought to put the fan on but after few minutes it is dead ! Waste of money, I will never recommend Arlec products to anyone

Purchased in December 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$90.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Poorly made, would not recommend

published

The mounting holes for the blades are not centered on the body. This causes the blades to oscillate from side to side. Replaced the fan through Bunnings. Second fan has the same issue, but not as bad, so will live with it. The light switch broke after 1 month. Would not recommend Arlec Little Max as the quality is poor.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$122.50.

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo

Arlec terrible company to deal with

published

The light in fan was faulty. After numerous phone calls and emails, and months passing my fan has still not been fixed or replaced. My young child has had a flickering light while he sleeps for over 3 months. I am about to contact the ACCC.

Purchased in December 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Ceiling Fans

Find out how Arlec CSF120AO compares to other Ceiling Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Very unhappy

published

Bought 3 fans, have to have them on the highest setting to get any air flow. All 3 light shades broke on installation by electrician, had purchased a month before they were installed. Bunnings would not replace them and had to buy 3 full light sets at a cost of close to $100. will not purchase an Arlec product again.

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$80.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Not happy

published

I am having the same issues with fan and light turning of and on by themselves also neighbour bought at the same time and is having same issues, did not keep receipt and the electrician has moved. When installed it worked with no problem, now with hot weather we are having problems.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
les

les

  • 2 reviews

too many faults

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Colin H

Colin HMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Low hum in motor renders it unusable at night for me

published

The power of the fan is satisfactory if not a little too fast on the lowest speed, but not a huge issue for me the low level hum in the motor renders it unusable for me at night as I am a light sleeper. The qualified electrician who installed this product advised there was nothing he could do and to approach the manufacturer.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Joel

JoelMaitland

  • Verified purchase

Hums, poor air movement

published

I've only just purchased this fan yesterday and am not happy already. It has a light constant humming noise like your standing next to an electrical transformer, not annoying for the first 20 minutes but then ughhh! The highest setting is abit quicker than most fans on a typical number 2/medium speed. The humming I could maybe forgive if the fan was an absolute wind tunnel but I'm afraid it's more comparable to someone's last breath :(

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Horrible fan and I have installed TWO different ones to try and resolve an issue

published

I have had this fan installed in two different houses I have lived in. Both fans the remote is horrible, I turn the fan on and for several minutes the fan goes on and off. Light also will turn on and off without pressing any buttons! I will turn the fan on and the light will turn on and off- etc. very frustrating especially on these hot nights! Wouldn’t recommend.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Ceiling Fans

Find out how Arlec CSF120AO compares to other Ceiling Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Phillip

PhillipIllawarra, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Remotes chew through batteries

published

I installed 5 Arlec remote DC ceiling fans 18 months ago. Is anybody else finding they chew through batteries even when not being used? Just replaced another 3 batteries despite the fact the remotes haven’t been used for 4 months at least . Can’t workout why this would be happening .

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Tim Haywood

Tim Haywood

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ceiling fan is great

published

Purchased 2 years ago, we purchased 3x fans with remotes at my place and another x3 fans with remotes for my rental property. They really work well. I’ve had no problem with them in this time and suggest to anyone to purchase them for their home. Colour is white. 3x speed fan and no problems with the signal settings for 3 different rooms. Good circulation, fan is stable. Has a summer & winter setting. Good power output. We live on the QLD/NSW border so we really need them when it is hot.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Patty

PattyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Stopped working

published

Not very good at moving the air and stopped working completely after 2 years. Now I have to hire another electrician to reinstall a new fan but it will not be Arlec. I have never had a fan that just stopped suddenly for no apparent reason and even the electrician who checked it was puzzled. Perhaps I just got a lemon but I will not be purchasing an Arlec product again.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
Roy

RoyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Arlec Oyster light - 40 cm - Verve design - Verve ACL420 LED

published

Bought 2 off these from Bunnings. Easy to install, look simple, good illumination. The only problem is that you can't fit the diffuser, even if you're a magician. The glass & clips simply don't work together & you'll be extremely lucky not to brake the glass (I did...). The LED's have no specified life expectancy (most other brands provide it) - it is likely to be poor... Don't be fooled - this is really bad product - probably never tested... I had the same experience with other Arlec products - poor quality. Arlec didn't even put its name on the visible part of the box - it is hidden on the very bottom, probably for a reason.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Adam K

Adam KGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Cheap, but poor air circulation.

published
Date PurchasedJun 2016
chris

chris

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent replacement

published

Excellent replacement for the noisy clunker we had brite led lites very very quiet operation,not a big bulky remote easy to install DIY if you know what you are doing. Blah blah blah It will be what I will be replacing the rest of the fans in the house with.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Ceiling Fans

Find out how Arlec CSF120AO compares to other Ceiling Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dave

DaveSydney

Design flaw with LED light always on due to potential between Earth and Neutral

published

I also found the LED light glows in the dark when turned off and it is quite distracting when trying to sleep.
I worked out that the LED transformer stays on even when the active is switched off.
It works out that this a common problem with poorly designed LED lights on 240V.
It is the potential voltage difference between Neutral and Earth. As all light fittings only switch the active and not the neutral, the LED's have a small amount of energy and remain on.
The design should have a blocking diode to eliminate not illuminate the LEDS
I found the air flow to be effective and not noisy but now the decision as to whether I can put up with the LED light.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
nlg9

nlg9

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great for the price.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Lorraine

LorraineWhakatane, New Zealand

ARLEC 4 Blade 120cm Ceiling Fan

published

Comes with a remote. We have had this fan installed for 4 months now and we love it. Initially we had problems with the remote not working and with great support from the ARLEC help desk we emailed, the problem has been remedied. Their response was immediate and ongoing until the problem was solved. We needed to read the instructions and pair the fan and remote properly which was an easy thing to do - once we read the instruction leaflet. The fan itself is quiet, the remote very handy and the light it emits is bright enough to eliminate the need for other lights in the room. Based on our experience and the great support from ARLEC, we would highly recommend.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
trevor

trevorCentral, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Ceiling fan

published

DON'T BUY arlec ceiling fan 2.5years old over heated could have burnt the house down, lucky my wife returned to the kitchen there was smoke, just in time. No wonder they only give 12months warranty. We have 5 altogether all will go. We purchased hunter pacific Australian made in Australia, 5year warranty.

Date PurchasedAug 2014
JessCam

JessCamAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not bad for the price - easy to install

published

Bought for a large main bedroom. Great price. Easy to Install

The female likes it as the motor is quiet and breeze gentle - the male thinks its not strong enough and can't feel it.

Very easy to install - easy DIY job, nice light. Really cheap price from Bunnings - they are the best.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

AMC

AMCasked

light flashing

2 answers
AMC
AMC

light on fan flashing

AMC
AMC

how to turn off the fan lights

Upu

Upuasked

Can I replace bright led lights with dimmer lights

No answers
graham

grahamasked

how to pair Fan and remote ARLEC 130

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Although Arlec advertises its CSF120AO as a heavy duty ‘quality bladed fan,’ the 2.4-star rating afforded to it by reviewers may imply otherwise.

Pain points experienced with the Arlec CSF120AO:

  • Reviewers stated that this ceiling fan, and/or its integrated light, stopped working fairly early on after installation
  • The weak airflow and general lack of power of this Arlec model wasn’t appreciated and didn’t provide relief from uncomfortable weather
  • A loud humming noise constantly made by the fan made it difficult or impossible to leave the fan on while sleeping
  • Customer service was sub-par in the experience of several reviewers
  • Many reviewers made a point of note that they wouldn’t recommend the Arlec brand due to their poor satisfaction with this ceiling fan.
CategoryCeiling Fans
Price (RRP) A$208.89
Colour / FinishWhite
Number of Speed Settings3
Power60 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Construction
Blade MaterialMetal
Number of Blades3
Body MaterialMetal
Blade Diameter1,200 mm

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.