??!
1 photo
Arlec Energy Efficient 20cm Exhaust Fan

Arlec Energy Efficient 20cm Exhaust Fan

1.8 from 13 reviews

Reviews

1.8

13 reviews
5
(1)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(9)
  • Build Quality
    2.1 (10)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (7)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (10)
  • Power
    3.4 (8)
Previous
Next
Heather M.

Heather M.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Arlec brand rubbish

published

I so wish had seen this site prior to purchasing 2 Arlec exhaust fans! I want to remove them as start up noise is getting louder but there’s the cost of getting an electrician! Why haven’t these fans been recalled and Arlec and Bunnings doing the right thing?? Think our complaints just stay here so perhaps a phone call to ACCC might help!

Purchased in June 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$27.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Power
See all answers
redcane

redcane

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

2x fans won't start

published

Read the notice in the manual that it might oscillate audibly "momentarily" before starting. However it would oscillate for as long as I'd watch it for in the roof. It would only start if I flicked it or turned it off and on again. Very quiet when running. Took it out if the ceiling and when held in hands it would start most of the time. It seems being held rigidly and horizontal the start problems are worse. Which is unfortunate because that's exactly how it gets installed.

Exchanged for another thinking I had a dud unit and tested it in hands. It seemed to start every time. Installed in fm ceiling and it required flicking off and on to start every time.

It's a shame because when running it's great. But I can't recommend it at all.

Purchased in August 2020.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Power
See all answers
gvtjones

gvtjonesSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Very poor start-up design

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Power
See all answers
Fans

Find out how Arlec Energy Efficient 20cm Exhaust Fan compares to other Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Flawed Design Leads to Loud Shuddering That Gets Progressively Worse

published

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Bob_WA

Bob_WAPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Credit where it is due

published

Just installed the 200mm fan. It does rattle for a second (no more than that) at startup, and clicks when it stops. Doesn't bother me. In my view the improvement in power consumption from 26 watts to 4 watts is an astonishing achievement and full marks to Arlec for that. I will buy again.

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$27.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Andrew

AndrewGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Everything you're all describing is exactly how it is meant to work!!!

published

Every one is whining about the noise. That is a DC motor. They are efficient but are suspended within the frame and rattle upon start up. You bought them for energy efficiency; why do you expect them to operate EXACTLY the same as an inefficient AC motor?

Value for Money
Jayden

JaydenSouth Australia

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

I bought 2x broken/dodgy MEF20 fans!

published

Sadly I never looked on Product Review before buying 2x of these crap fans! Disgusted to say the least. Upon opening the boxes, both fans had screws loose. DON'T BUY! They can't be fixed.

Purchased in February 2020 at eBay for A$30.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Power
See all answers
Darren Gabbe

Darren GabbeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 20 reviews
  • 23 likes

RECALL THIS GARBAGE

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$30.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Power
See all answers

This fan is to noisy it clunks to bad I do not recommend it

published

To noisy
Does not suck much air
The blades when cleaning fly out of wack
I do not recommend this product
When cleaning the fan cover falls off of its housing

November 19th 2019 Update: Terrible fan

The Arlec energy saving fan is useless it clunks to much on start up and during running they dont even make the 250mm anymore just 200mm which is worse for clunking

Fans

Find out how Arlec Energy Efficient 20cm Exhaust Fan compares to other Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John D

John DPerth, WA

Noisy fan

published

This fan makes a very loud noise at startup and when running. I can’t handle it any more so am heading back to Bunnings for a refund. Meanwhile the old fan is going back in.

Purchased in July 2018 at Bunnings Willetton WA for A$29.95.

Glen

GlenHunter Region, NSW

Should be recalled

published

Purchased this from bunnings, straight out the packet the fan seems to hit the or sounds like its hitting its own frame.
I agree with the other reviews here dont bother with it unless you want your dentures rattled out when turning on!

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Power
See all answers
justkroozin

justkroozinCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Arlec Energy Saving 200mm Exhaust Fan - MEF20

published

Very quiet while running and apparently is energy saving as only 4.2W instead of 26W.
The only problem is that there is an audible sound when starting up. There is NO warning of this on the box but there is a tag attached to the power cord inside. Would be better to have a comment on the outside of the box.
The first time I started the exhaust fan I nearly s***t myself as I wasn't expecting the sudden noise.
Once this startup noise has ceased the fan is very quiet - until you turn it off, when it does its audible noise again.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$26.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Power
See all answers
seoidau

seoidauGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes
  • Verified purchase

Flawed product, thrashes itself about creating much noise, don't waste your time

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$26.95.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Power
See all answers

Questions & Answers

Stefan H

Stefan Hasked

Mr Arlec,
Please explain why your fan does this jump/skip and a dance before taking up a quiet running mode.
Stefan H

2 answers
Darren Gabbe
Darren Gabbe

These fans are terrible. They have no (ramping) in the fan as the $5 more HPM ones do. This causes the motor to start at full speed which nearly tears the housing apart. That is what the horrible noise is. I thought I had a bad one. I replaced it at Bunnings and the next one was the same. I took the second one back as well and bought a HPM which starts up slowly and smoothly until it is at top speed. We can turn the switch off and on repetitively and there is not a noise at all. For a toilet or bathroom the ARLEC fans won't last long. Worst ceiling extraction fans on the market.

Stefan H
Stefan H

Many thanks, will need to investigate further.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.