1 photo
Arlec Energy Efficient 20cm Exhaust Fan

Arlec Energy Efficient 20cm Exhaust Fan

1.9 from 20 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Fans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Arlec? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

1.9
20 reviews
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (16)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (11)
  • Noise Level
    2.3 (16)
  • Power
    3.2 (12)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Peter K
Peter KPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews

Looks good, but.....

published

I purchased this model despite the warnings that it makes a noise on start-up. Every time it is turned on it sounds like it's going to fall out of the ceiling! Pity I didn't see these reviews beforehand and I'm not encouraged by the comments that it gets worse over time. I could not recommend buying to anyone.

Purchased in August 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $35.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5

Noisy oscillation on startup

published

To begin with the start up oscillation rattle was only a second or two. Over a few months this has become worse and now is very noisy for 20 to 30 seconds. Once running it is fairly quiet but the rattle noise on start is audible throughout the house.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Brad
BradGippsland, VIC
  • 2 reviews

Piece of crap

published

Noise is insane for an energy efficient fan it’s crap even comes with a note saying noisy at start up but it just keeps going on and on. Waste of money.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for $39.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

From Australia to Malaysia

published

Quite satisfy with this product. I bought in Australia and bring it back to Malaysia to install in our new house. It works perfectly. The noise isn't disturbing at all.. after using it for 4 years only i realized that the fan keeps on running even though i didn't turn on the switch... (i cant remember whether it was designed to automatically running or not.)

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Fans

Find out how Arlec Energy Efficient 20cm Exhaust Fan compares to other Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Max D.
Max D.Perth, WA
  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Bad reliability

published

Bought this fan to replace a airflow that wasnt spinning fast that was installed from when the house was built. When I installed this I heard the start up rattle but I wasn’t to upset about because it was that loud and I didn’t really need it no be quiet, I was happy with it. But, after only 3 months the fan just didn’t work anymore, it did nothing. I tried spinning the blades tapping the motor but it was just broken so it was replaced with a hpm that has excelled at its job and has more airflow then this one ever did. and, doesn’t rattle.

Purchased in April 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $29.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
2/5
  • Verified

Bought two. Excellent considering features

published

It uses next to no power and just makes a hum when running. Plus it moves around 2 cubic meters per minute. I run mine a couple times a day and just leave them running for hours at a time. Some people have complained about start up noise etc. This hasn't affected me - I guess it depends what you consider annoying. If any noise then it only lasts a second. I'd suggest people check their mounting and others who haven't purchased yet to check their technical requirements. I probably wouldn't put this in a brand new house but if you're into saving power and understand what this fan offers then yeah.

Purchased in October 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $30.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Daniel
DanielMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Just don't.

published

Yep it rattles on start up. Little sticker said it would. Im ok with that. But is a bit excessive when it rattles for about 30 seconds! I tried it with the cover off, 50% of the time it runs backwards! When it does go the correct way it still wouldn't suck the steam off a hot coffee.
Waste of money, buy a better one. Replaced it with IXL and is awesome

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised Review No

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Heather M.
Heather M.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • Verified

Arlec brand rubbish

published

I so wish had seen this site prior to purchasing 2 Arlec exhaust fans! I want to remove them as start up noise is getting louder but there’s the cost of getting an electrician! Why haven’t these fans been recalled and Arlec and Bunnings doing the right thing?? Think our complaints just stay here so perhaps a phone call to ACCC might help!

Purchased in June 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $27.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
redcane
redcane
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

2x fans won't start

published

Read the notice in the manual that it might oscillate audibly "momentarily" before starting. However it would oscillate for as long as I'd watch it for in the roof. It would only start if I flicked it or turned it off and on again. Very quiet when running. Took it out if the ceiling and when held in hands it would start most of the time. It seems being held rigidly and horizontal the start problems are worse. Which is unfortunate because that's exactly how it gets installed.

Exchanged for another thinking I had a dud unit and tested it in hands. It seemed to start every time. Installed in fm ceiling and it required flicking off and on to start every time.

It's a shame because when running it's great. But I can't recommend it at all.

Purchased in August 2020.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Fans

Find out how Arlec Energy Efficient 20cm Exhaust Fan compares to other Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
gvtjones
gvtjonesSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Very poor start-up design

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5

Flawed Design Leads to Loud Shuddering That Gets Progressively Worse

published

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
1/5
Noise Level
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Bob_WA
Bob_WAPerth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Credit where it is due

published

Just installed the 200mm fan. It does rattle for a second (no more than that) at startup, and clicks when it stops. Doesn't bother me. In my view the improvement in power consumption from 26 watts to 4 watts is an astonishing achievement and full marks to Arlec for that. I will buy again.

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $27.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Fans

Find out how Arlec Energy Efficient 20cm Exhaust Fan compares to other Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew
AndrewGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Everything you're all describing is exactly how it is meant to work!!!

published

Every one is whining about the noise. That is a DC motor. They are efficient but are suspended within the frame and rattle upon start up. You bought them for energy efficiency; why do you expect them to operate EXACTLY the same as an inefficient AC motor?

Value for Money
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Jayden
JaydenSouth Australia
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

I bought 2x broken/dodgy MEF20 fans!

published

Sadly I never looked on Product Review before buying 2x of these crap fans! Disgusted to say the least. Upon opening the boxes, both fans had screws loose. DON'T BUY! They can't be fixed.

Purchased in February 2020 at eBay for $30.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Darren Gabbe
Darren GabbeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 22 reviews
  • 24 likes

RECALL THIS GARBAGE

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $30.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Questions & Answers

Stefan H
Stefan Hasked

Mr Arlec,
Please explain why your fan does this jump/skip and a dance before taking up a quiet running mode.
Stefan H

2 answers
Darren Gabbe
Darren Gabbe

These fans are terrible. They have no (ramping) in the fan as the $5 more HPM ones do. This causes the motor to start at full speed which nearly tears the housing apart. That is what the horrible noise is. I thought I had a bad one. I replaced it at Bunnings and the next one was the same. I took the second one back as well and bought a HPM which starts up slowly and smoothly until it is at top speed. We can turn the switch off and on repetitively and there is not a noise at all. For a toilet or bathroom the ARLEC fans won't last long. Worst ceiling extraction fans on the market.

Stefan H
Stefan H

Many thanks, will need to investigate further.

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryFans
Price (RRP) $54.95
Number of Speed Settings1
Power4 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Colour / FinishWhite
Construction
Blade MaterialPlastic
Body MaterialPlastic
Blade Diameter200 mm
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.