1 photo
Arlec Grid Connect Smart Home Hub

Arlec Grid Connect Smart Home Hub

2.4 from 14 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Electronics in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Arlec

Reviews

2.4
14 reviews
Previous
Next
Rick
Rick
  • 2 reviews

Unavailable on Mac Book, Xbox or Foxtel

published

Why dont they provide an App to run on your Macbook, Xbox or Foxtel ? Seems strange, the system runs relatively ok on iphone, but not on MacBook - strange I thought in 2022 we had arrived in the future but obviously only if your on your phone all day. FYI - I was going to install for my business - probally over $2000, but I'll choose another sophisticated system and leave Grid Connect for simple domestic operations - simple not too serious security, a toy, etc only for the phone - got it

Purchased in January 2022.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barry M.
Barry M.South East Queensland, QLD

Have two both work perfectly. Set-up for clients as well.

published

Had no problems except used AutoScan instead of add manually, funny how complainants also indulge in assumptions. These products are considered some of the best in the smart home market. Considered by some of the Home Assistant crowd to be a worthy product and they are not easy to win over either. Why call yourself "Smart Arlec" if you don't know anything about Arlec smart products? Obviously your pairing a bluetooth product to your phone and a wifi product to your AP, it may take you more than one go to get it right. Rather than assume a company has completely diched QA or is taking bribes from "factories", assume you need to do a little more reading.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for $29.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bruce M
Bruce MCentral Queensland, QLD

Works as described

published

Works great! Range is only Bluetooth but you can have multiple hubs nearer to your sensors. I mounted a couple in my roof cavity. Does the whole house. Never touched em since initial pairing. Amazing.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Smart Arlec
Smart ArlecMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews

Absolute Piece of crap

published

Purchased in July 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $49.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electronics

Find out how Arlec Grid Connect Smart Home Hub compares to other Electronics

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

This product is rubbish

published

This product is an absolute waste of money. I will never ever buy a grid Connect product again. After following the instructions faithfully multiple times i have given up and will throw it in the bin.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Steve
SteveBald Hills
  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

Replacement Works Really Well

published

Having contacting Arlec, I made them aware of the problems I was having with this hub. Arlec have replaced my faulty hub & the range is better than advertised, the new model is also nicer looking. Connection to both my door sensor & motion sensor happened automatically when I discovered the new hub within my software. My new version of the hub is very good which is why I've updated this review. Arlec did the right thing by me & it's only fair to make you aware of this. Thank you Arlec for my warranty replacement hub, happy customer.

Purchased in March 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $24.95.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JohnnieNorth
JohnnieNorthSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Arlec Should Be Ashamed!

published

Purchased in March 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Brian
BrianSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Crap product

published

Paid a small fortune for a product that does not connect, goes through all set up only to fail on last step, no help on line or anywhere, waste money

Purchased in January 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kevin R.
Kevin R.South East Queensland, QLD

I must have the only one that works properly right out the box!

published

I had no trouble setting the hub up straight away, and set up two motion sensors and a climate sensor with it. It took a few minutes after setting up the two motion sensors - each paired to smart lightbulbs - to work properly (settling in, I guess) but after that they all work fine, no regrets. I'd get more sensors if I could justify it.

Purchased in January 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electronics

Find out how Arlec Grid Connect Smart Home Hub compares to other Electronics

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tina
Tina
  • 7 reviews
  • 10 likes

I lost the will to live trying to connect

published

This is IMPOSSIBLE to connect to your wifi if you use a booster - even if you have the product, in this case a light, sitting literally on top of the router/modem. Guess you sure do get what you pay for....shoot me now as there are 4 hours of my life I'll never get back.

Purchased in January 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Reece V.
Reece V.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Waste of money

published

Had the electrician wire 2 lights in, connected both lights in the app, they worked for a little while then started blinking rapidly on and off, sure this could be due to internet connection but if my wifi is no good do I have an option just to use them as normal lights??
Expensive toy when you factor in the electrician cost, rip them off the wall and throw them in the bin, no wonder they’re cheap.

Purchased in February 2019 for $29.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Waste of time

published

Couldn't even get past setup. Device won't pair due to only being able to connect to 2.4ghz. App won't let you give feedback unless you choose a device and have a photo...how ridiculous if you can't even connect a device!

Purchased in March 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electronics

Find out how Arlec Grid Connect Smart Home Hub compares to other Electronics

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Horrible

published

Fitted the whole house out with Grid enabled gear. Took a week to get it all connected & working. Many! Many! Many frustrations in getting the whole system to work. If the internet goes down, which in Australia is somewhat regularly, everything stops. Seemed to work ok for a while until Telstra reset my modem. Lost connecting to every device. Haven’t bothered reconnecting. Figured it’s actually easier just using the wall switch. Don’t waist your time or money.

Purchased in January 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andrew
AndrewCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 141 reviews
  • 46 likes
  • Verified

A Compromised Product, And Not Even That Cheap

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $32.68.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Anne W.
Anne W.asked

Is this a listening in device

No answers
jahna
jahnaasked

can i use ths without wifi

2 answers
Bruce M
Bruce M

No, unfortunately the device does not have an RJ45 network port and must be connected to a WiFi network. Extend the range of your wifi and connect multiple bluetooth hubs to cover the areas your sensors are located.

Smart Arlec
Smart Arlec

it has limited Bluetooth range

Freda123
Freda123asked

I have arlec fan lights and I can't get the lights to dim via voice control (hey will dim via the app ) and am wondering what I am doing wrong ?

3 answers
Steve
Steve

Which voice assistant are you using ?

Smart Arlec
Smart Arlec
Steve
Steve

Contact Arlec directly via there website, my problem was the same. A ridiculously short range, they sent me out a replacement product & it works well.

See all Arlec Grid Connect Smart Home Hub questions

Get an answer from our members and Arlec representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.