??!
2 photos
Asko D5456SS / D5456WH
3.4 from 87 reviews

Reviews

(35)
(14)
(9)
(11)
(18)
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (13)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (13)
  • Ease of Use
    2.4 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.8 (13)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (13)
  • Internal Layout
    3.4 (10)


Poor Quality

Poor QualitySouth East Queensland, QLD

Junk status

published

Bought the ASKO D5456 based on salesman’s pitch.

After my previous Dishwasher this ASKO was louder, less user friendly more expensive and died after 11 months. Customer support - abysmal. Say NO!

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys for $1,850.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers

james

jamesSydney, NSW

Asko dishwasher, D5456 model

published

I purchased a Asko dishwasher, model D5456 in September 2017 from 2nds world and have experienced nothing but problems since. The front door of the machine which holds all the electronics has been replaced twice and today it has failed again and Asko has confirmed it is not in stock and has to come from overseas. It has been 2 weeks since the door has been ordered and as of today Asko cannot confirm when it will arrive. Today I spoke to their service department to complain of the poor service and suggested that the machine is a " lemon" ( 3 doors later ) and should have been replaced with a new machine, all they could say is because it was purchased from 2nds World and not direct from them they could not help.

Purchased in September 2017 at 2nds World.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers
Benny S.

Benny S.Sydney, NSW

Worst dishwasher I ever had

published

I had a Bosch before for 10 years and I replaced it with Asko. The good guys agent gave glowing feedback about this brand. I guess they were trying to get rid of this dishwasher. It broke down in 6 months. Calling the service centre for days and they have a call out charge of 110 +38 for every 15 minutes thereafter. Ridiculous.

Purchased in July 2019 at The Good Guys for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers
spendings

spendingsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Wish I could rate it in the negatives

published

2nd one I have owned and the same problem both 6 months out of warranty. I purchased again as Asko A.K.A Crapso are slightly smaller which was a requirement for us. Now that the same problem has occurred and Asko once again refusing to cover cost we have decided to organise a cabinet maker so we can purchase a different brand. I would strongly advise against buying anything from Asko. Poor customer service and products.

Purchased in April 2017 at The Good Guys for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers

Deb

DebSouth East Queensland, QLD

Only worked for 3 years

published

Purchased in January 2016 for $899.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers

Rosemary L

Rosemary LVictoria

  • 3 reviews

Never again Asko

published

The previous model was just the best. This one is not easy to programme. The dishes do not dry, even when the longer drying option is selected. No internal light.

Purchased in August 2019 at The Good Guys for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers

Warren

WarrenMacArthur 2904, ACT

  • 8 reviews

Still getting used to it

published

We have had this dishwasher for a year now and still getting used to it. The touch pad can be difficult to operate at times and not sensitive to the touch but in saying that it works excellently. Dishes come out clean every time. The short wash doesn’t dry the dishes so they need to be hand dried. Love that the cutlery tray can be moved anywhere horizontally along the tines so can fit lots of dishes and pots on the bottom tray.

Purchased in September 2018 at The Good Guys for $1,199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers

Sascha D.

Sascha D.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Worst dishwasher I’ve ever used

published

I purchased this $1700 or so dishwasher from Harvey Norman this year (2019). It literally leaves speckles of grime and dirt on every plate, cup etc. I’ve tried running dishwasher cleaning solutions, pre washing everything, different tablets etc. I’ve called customer service and no one got back to me. I’m currently trying to get a refund!

Purchased in April 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Happy Customer ++++

Happy Customer ++++Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 4 reviews

Never again

published

Have stupidly installed 2 of these machines. The first lasted 8 years, we only fitted the second because of ease of fitting into our custom made kitchen. The second has given up after less than 5 years of very little use. Never again, expensive to purchase, expensive to repair. Will never again purchase an ASKO product.

Purchased in September 2014 at Harvey Norman for $1,599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers
ari1972

ari1972Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Great dishwasher

published

Purchased in July 2019 at The Good Guys for $1,599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers

TLGP

TLGPSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews

Spacious dishwasher

published

I had never heard of Asko before I started to look for a new dishwasher. The Good Guys salesman raved about it then I went and did my own research . I wanted a cutlery shelf and dishwasher big enough for some pots and pans with dishes. Eventually I bought it...I love the cutlery drawer, the fan that dries the dishes, the number of spaying arms and position that allow lots of space for dishes. I love the solid feel of the machine and the drawers inside too. It has lots of programs to choose from and is very quiet. The good things is that it is also water and energy efficient.
So far I have no regrets.

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys Online store for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers

Trent

Trent

  • 6 reviews

Expensive but you get what you pay for

published

We have had this machine for about 2 years and so far so good. This is a versatile dishwasher that has plenty of jets and the third tray for cutlery is brilliant. The only downfall is the touch pad looks great but is sometimes not responsive and you have to press the buttons several times before they register. Also the child lock doesn’t work. Apart from those issues this is a great dishwasher that washes the dishes very well and you can fit a lot in it

Purchased in July 2017 at The Good Guys for $1,499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

A Fox

A FoxFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Absolutely shocking product and customer service

published

I reported a fault in April (broken hose) and I am still waiting three months later to have it repaired. It was under warranty when I reported the problem but it is no longer. They are claiming that I am lucky to be getting a "goodwill" service! The first "gentleman" I spoke to at customer service was very rude and condescending. As I tried to describe the problem he spoke over me, man-splained and implied that I was somehow at fault. This is the second time in two years that I have had to have it repaired.

Purchased in April 2017.


Kayzee

KayzeeBendigo

  • 15 reviews

Very good

published

Replaced our 12 year old BOSCH with this dishwasher. Washes dishes very well and is super quiet but have to run extra drying and water temp cycle to dry the dishes which means a cycle of 3 hours - our BOSCH did not need this. Racks are positioned well and the very top cutlery basket is great for utensils. The cutlery basket lid does not stay on and does not fit a lot of our cutlery handles so dispensed with it - working well without it! Generally happy with this dishwasher.

Purchased in May 2019.

Macka

MackaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Works at night, but not during the day...

published

Purchased in September 2018 for $1,559.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

It been a great unit

published

Unit won't start, program button work but won't turn on, tried turning system off and restacking the dishes changing the settings the system will not start. Not even a pre wash.
Has anyone had this problem before or know how to fix this.
Frustrating when it looks like it's just the start button

Date PurchasedJul 2016

Chris Rivers

Chris Riversport macquarie

  • 9 reviews

Very ordinary but comparatively expensive

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018

Ella

EllaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Asko build a quality product

published

My first dishwasher, a basic, Asko built in dishwasher was in daily use for 17 years. This year it was replaced with a new stainless steel model. The new dishwasher again an Asko, has a separate cutlery tray which allows for greater storage in the lower baskets.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Cass

CassMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Great layout and thorough clean

published

I’m really pleased with my Asko dishwasher. It does a much more thorough job of cleaning dishes than my previous cheapie model, and takes care of stuck on patches of food. I’ve never had any experience with it getting clogged, however I do five dishes a rinse before putting them in. This dishwasher feels quite premium and is much nicer to use than a cheap one. The layout is pretty smart and fits a lot more dishes in one load than my previous dishwasher. This is actually the second time I’ve bought this model - once of my old house and now for my new house.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Caz M

Caz MGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great dishwasher!

published

This dishwasher is great! Things come out so clean. We do make sure we clean the filter regularly though. It has heat sensitive buttons which can be a bit temperamental at time but you give them a wipe and they’re fine. It fits a lot of dishes, has a knife holder, wine stem holders, cutlery divider,

Date PurchasedApr 2013

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Mary K

Mary Kasked

Do you have to use the cover on the lower cutlery rack? I’ve just purchased this dishwasher and discovered that all of my cutlery pieces are too wide to fit through the holes on the cover. Without the cover on the receptacles for the cutlery are much shallower than my previous dishwasher and I wonder if they will stay in.

1 answer
Rosemary L
Rosemary L

Do you mean the cutlery 'basket'. I've never used the cover and cutlery has never fallen out.


Lori

Loriasked

I need a dishwasher that really dries the dishes. The Asko D5456WH was recommended to me by the salesperson for the turbo fan for drying. Just want to know does it really work and how noisy is it when the fan is running? Our new kitchen is in an open plan living/dining area (only living area in the house) and also only 5 metres (2 walls) from a holiday flat I rent out, so don't want it to be too noisy.

2 answers
Rosemary L
Rosemary L

The dishwasher is very quiet. I set the programme to Eco. Some items were not quite dried, so once the dishwasher finished, I left it for quite some time so everything dried. The superseded model was much better regarding programming. I'm not super happy with this one. Very expensive and not up to scratch. I'm seriously contemplating replacing it and not with an Asko.

Deb
Deb

Certainly not noisy when it doesn't work, after only 3 years! Very expensive machine, nothing extraordinary about it in any way, and I most definitely don't recommend any Asko product! Forget anyone being able to help you with fixing it.


Harrydubya

Harrydubyaasked

When you fill the rinse aid container, approx how many wash cycles do you get before having to refill it ?

2 answers
Rosemary L
Rosemary L

I'm sorry, I've never counted. The container seems to take a lot of rinse aid. I use the dishwasher probably every second or third day (there's only two of us) and so far I've used one 500ml bottle and three quarters of a second 500ml bottle of rinse aid. I've had the dishwasher since end of August. I hope this helps.

Harrydubya
Harrydubya

Thanks Rosemary. Yes, I also thought the container took a lot of rinse aid. Like you, there is also just the 2 of us and we wash about every third day. Guess I'll probably use a similar amount to you.
Cheers
Harry


Get an answer from our members and Asko representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.