??!
5 photos
Asko D5646SS

Asko D5646SS

D5646SS, D5646SSXXL
3.5 from 22 reviews

See the Best Built-in Dishwashers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
3
2 star
1
1 star
5

Wuka

WukaPerth, WA

OK performance. NOT worth the price.

published

Works and cleans just ok - the layout is good so flexible for dishes etc placement. However, after 1 1/2 years the internal plastic parts are deteriorating about the same rate as the dishlex we previously had at 1/3 the price.
Also drips from the seal.
Asko service is poor.
Don't waste your money asko.

Purchased in September 2017 for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers

Luna

LunaPerth, WA

  • 30 reviews
  • 9 likes

Very Happy - reliable, quiet and does a great job

published

We bought this when we built a house and ever since we've been happily using. Never have any problems at all to date. Very quiet, does a great job. I found it easier to load the dishes, cups and everything compare with other brands.

Purchased in March 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Laura

LauraVictoria

Very unhappy

published

Have had dishwasher for just over two years therefore just out of warranty not that it really matters as the fault is the electronic control panel. Touch buttons on control panel not responding. Very disappointing after having spent so much money to buy in the first place. Asko service center not very helpful, basically blamed me for the fault. Said that I must have opened the door immediately after washing or during a wash. Control panel is in a silly place at the top of dishwasher. Wouldn't help me at all. Said it would cost close to $600 to repair. Not good enough.
Stay away from Asko.

Purchased in July 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Internal Layout
See all answers
Tammy

Tammy

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

So shiny and clean inside even after almost 3 years use

published

I absolutely love this dishwasher even though at first I had my concerns it's well worth the money. It has a couple of floors. Since its touch screen to change the controls sometimes I cant get it to change to what I want or start straight away. Also the guys in the shop showed us you could fit 2 dinner plates side by side so the internal space was bigger and better than the cheaper ones. Well it may be bigger but no you cant fit 2 dinner plates side by side but still fits enough in it for us.

Date PurchasedMay 2016

scottchid

scottchid

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Disappointment

published
Date PurchasedJul 2015

Lots of space and glistening dishers

published

We had our last ASKO dishwasher for 12 years and were very happy. We just purchased this model and it is fantastic. I really like the cutlery draw, a real space saver leaving the bottom to hold all the plates. The top draw has lots of options to hold various size cups or glasses. The foldable tines on both levels are excellent and can be easily adjusted to suit the needs of the load. The cutlery tray and upper basket can be adjusted to suit the size of our plates. The glasses come out sparkling, there is no residue or water marks. The electronic display indicates when rinse aid is required. It’s quiet and easy to use. The dishers come out dry. Very satisfied.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Ckkleen

Ckkleen

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Dishwasher Asko

published

It cleans so well ! Dishes are sparkling,
Only thing it too many arms and pieces inside that are flexible but collapse a lot . It’s was more costly but well worth it.
A lot of space and cleans so many plates.
The collapsing internal components are becoming a big problem though

Date PurchasedNov 2017

MaryG

MaryGAdelaide

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

So glad this was recommended

published

We had a super old ASKO previously which did the job adequately, but had my heart set on a Miele or Bosch to be truthful. But then I did some research. Turns out they are mostly not made in Germany or France anymore, and the quality has deteriorated. But that wasn't the deciding factor for us. We are a family with 3 kids so it gets a belting, and this machine fits in SOOO much more than a Miele! I highly recommend taking in yur glassware and plates to see what fits. For us, I wanted to fit a double row of our cups on the top draw - which this one does! This means I don't have to do a daily wash, I can do it every 2-3 days sometimes... Its super quiet and eficient and dries really well..

Date PurchasedSep 2017
John

JohnVermont

  • 6 reviews

Excellent Dishwasher

published

Just bought this for our new home. After having another brand of dishwasher for 13 years, our expectation was somewhat high. This unit so far has not disappointed us. It took a few washes to figure out the best wash option to use. The only thing about this unit was the need to use rinse aid, otherwise the items you wash will not dry. With our previous dishwasher, we never had to use rinse aid.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Wez

WezMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Asko Awesomeness!

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017

tarnieQ

tarnieQSouth Australia, 5085

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Dishwasher

published

Purchased this to replace an old low range Bosch dishwasher. Was looking to purchase another Bosch, however was drawn to the TurboDry function and the fact that this machine has internal LED lights (such a god send).

The sleek stainless steel unit has concealed control panel making it a fit for all style kitchens. The controls are easy to use and very logical. I also liked that this machine has a "time" program, allowing you to set the total length of time to program runs for.

The baskets are very flexible and spacious.

Overall, extremely happy with the purchase.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

JONAS

JONAS

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

drying issues

published

It comes with a high price tag like all asko stuff. the big disappointment is that it does not dry good. its not what I was promised by the person who sold it to me. I called them for , they came chagend the drying setting to the longest . did not help. I need to keep the door open for at least half a day until all the stuff dries . would not buy again

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Tone

ToneSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy to use quite heps of space

published

Love the hidden controls and the small display on the door ,washes well and has good drying on the long dry setting, the racks and trays have lots of options, that is thinking out side of the box. The light inside makes cleaning and packing a breeze, the extra temperature setting is a good option.
The water usage is much lower than my old LG.
The racks and trays feel more solid than other on the market and the door is also feels more ridged and solid.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Karina Griffiths

Karina GriffithsSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Dishwasher

published

I love this dishwasher, it cleans really well. I replaced my old Bosch and it does a much better job. The cutlery rack at the top increases space and with a dedicated washing arm for the cutlery it also cleans it well. The bottom rack is large enough to fit large plates and pots and I am never disappointed with the results. I can fit quite tall glasses in it too. It is not noisy and there are plenty of cycles to choose from.
I have had one problem with it about a week after it was first installed but Asko sent a technician out really quickly and fixed the problem and the machine has not missed a beat since then.
I definitely think it dries my dishes better than the Bosch did, everything but plastics come out dry.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
DrSoop

DrSoopMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Brilliant!

published

I don't know why there are so many bad reviews here - this dishwasher is excellent. We replaced an old Blanco washer with this, mainly going with Asko as it was the ONLY brand that would take our large dinner plates without having to lean them over, so much room! They are expensive but you get what pay for here, it is SO QUIET. The only sound we hear from this is an occasional gurgle from the drain. The only items that don't come out dry are an occasional plastic ware. Would thoroughly recommend.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Worst Dishwasher Ever!!!

published
Date PurchasedOct 2014

Susan

SusanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Unreliable appliance

published

I have learnt two very important lessons from buying this product.
1. Don't buy it again.
2. Never ever listen to sales people.
It will clean well for weeks and then all of a sudden for reasons that remain known only to itself it won't clean and you are back to hand washing till you can try to finger out what's wrong or take another day off to call the service people out.


Alex

AlexGeelong

  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

Faulty - again

published

So we had an ASKO D5457 that had a faulty door...after many months of dealing with the ASKO service department we managed to get them to replace it with a D5646.

Now guess what...this one is faulty: error code F10.

Please people read this review and don not ever buy an ASKO.

Faulty products (we're batting 2 for 2) and even worse service.

12 comments
Asko
ASKO A.Asko
Alex
Alex

A few weeks old and a blocked drain...yep...great quality.

Alex
Alex

Wejay

WejayAU

  • 3 reviews

Not as good as I expected for the price

published
1 comment
Asko
ASKO A.Asko

Don't buy on star rating

published

I'm very happy with my dishwasher-1st time I've owned one. It stopped working after 5months, but service team quick and efficient at fixing the problem.
He has taken the disk out of the asko which was the water saving device. Apparently it gets put in there to help the star rating but then stops working so instead of replacing it they remove it. Costing me more in water now but I won't have that issue again. Hence don't buy your dishwasher on star ratings when like car companies- they cheat the system.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Harry

Harryasked

Are the circuit boards prone to damage from steam?

No answers

Christo

Christoasked

hey guys, are these dishwashers really THAT bad?? The reviews are so hit and miss, its hard to know what to make of them.

6 answers
Tone
Tone

Hello i have had mine for just a month now no problems very good wash results , quiet operation no problems

Karina Griffiths
Karina Griffiths

I have had mine for about a year now and I am happy with it. Like all dishwashers it needs cleaning out regularly and the cycles are long, however that does not worry me. I think it washes the dishes well.

Wez
Wez

Ours is great! Love it. Looks like there have been a few faulty batches in the past perhaps?


Julie674

Julie674asked

I am considering buying the D5646SSXXL but the review on the internet are scathing, most form people who have recently bought the machine are there issues with this machine ?

1 answer
Kev
Kev

I was considering buying one but now I am put off. Have you decided to buy this model or have you gone for another brand?


Get an answer from our members and Asko representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.