??!
5 photos
Asko D5646SS

Asko D5646SS

D5646SS and D5646SSXXL
3.5 from 22 reviews

OK performance. NOT worth the price.

Works and cleans just ok - the layout is good so flexible for dishes etc placement. However, after 1 1/2 years the internal plastic parts are deteriorating about the same rate as the dishlex we previously had at 1/3 the price.
Also drips from the seal.
Asko service is poor.
Don't waste your money asko.

Purchased in September 2017 for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout

Very Happy - reliable, quiet and does a great job

We bought this when we built a house and ever since we've been happily using. Never have any problems at all to date. Very quiet, does a great job. I found it easier to load the dishes, cups and everything compare with other brands.

Purchased in March 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout

Very unhappy

Have had dishwasher for just over two years therefore just out of warranty not that it really matters as the fault is the electronic control panel. Touch buttons on control panel not responding. Very disappointing after having spent so much money to buy in the first place. Asko service center not very helpful, basically blamed me for the fault. Said that I must have opened the door immediately after washing or during a wash. Control panel is in a silly place at the top of dishwasher. Wouldn't help me at all. Said it would cost close to $600 to repair. Not good enough.
Stay away from Asko.

Purchased in July 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Internal Layout

So shiny and clean inside even after almost 3 years use

I absolutely love this dishwasher even though at first I had my concerns it's well worth the money. It has a couple of floors. Since its touch screen to change the controls sometimes I cant get it to change to what I want or start straight away. Also the guys in the shop showed us you could fit 2 dinner plates side by side so the internal space was bigger and better than the cheaper ones. Well it may be bigger but no you cant fit 2 dinner plates side by side but still fits enough in it for us.

Date PurchasedMay 2016

Disappointment

I purchased this dishwasher July 2015 after reading the review on Choice. I liked the simplicity and the room to place items on top and bottom as well as having an additional cutlery tray on the top. For the first couple of years it performed okay.The dishwasher for about the last twelve months started to have problems with the electronics where it was difficult to set wash, and finally just over 3 years being December 2018 there was a burning smell and the dishwasher ceased to go. With a burning smell and electronic panel not working properly it was decided to toss it out and buy a new dishwasher which after spending $2000.00 on this one was very disappointing. Following on from having a ASKO front end loader washing machine which also died after only three years I would no longer attempt my luck with ASKO.

Date PurchasedJul 2015

Lots of space and glistening dishers

We had our last ASKO dishwasher for 12 years and were very happy. We just purchased this model and it is fantastic. I really like the cutlery draw, a real space saver leaving the bottom to hold all the plates. The top draw has lots of options to hold various size cups or glasses. The foldable tines on both levels are excellent and can be easily adjusted to suit the needs of the load. The cutlery tray and upper basket can be adjusted to suit the size of our plates. The glasses come out sparkling, there is no residue or water marks. The electronic display indicates when rinse aid is required. It’s quiet and easy to use. The dishers come out dry. Very satisfied.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Dishwasher Asko

It cleans so well ! Dishes are sparkling,
Only thing it too many arms and pieces inside that are flexible but collapse a lot . It’s was more costly but well worth it.
A lot of space and cleans so many plates.
The collapsing internal components are becoming a big problem though

Date PurchasedNov 2017

So glad this was recommended

We had a super old ASKO previously which did the job adequately, but had my heart set on a Miele or Bosch to be truthful. But then I did some research. Turns out they are mostly not made in Germany or France anymore, and the quality has deteriorated. But that wasn't the deciding factor for us. We are a family with 3 kids so it gets a belting, and this machine fits in SOOO much more than a Miele! I highly recommend taking in yur glassware and plates to see what fits. For us, I wanted to fit a double row of our cups on the top draw - which this one does! This means I don't have to do a daily wash, I can do it every 2-3 days sometimes... Its super quiet and eficient and dries really well..

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Excellent Dishwasher

Just bought this for our new home. After having another brand of dishwasher for 13 years, our expectation was somewhat high. This unit so far has not disappointed us. It took a few washes to figure out the best wash option to use. The only thing about this unit was the need to use rinse aid, otherwise the items you wash will not dry. With our previous dishwasher, we never had to use rinse aid.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Asko Awesomeness!

Well we had never heard of Asko before and were fairly sceptical. Originally wanted a Bosch because we love our washing machine but the Asko was same price and looked a bit better. So we went with it, got it home and were'nt dissapointed! There's loads of room and it gives awesomely ridiculous clean, to the point where dishes come out looking new! Its very quiet, can easily watch a movie in the same room with volume turned down as to not wake the kids and you just barely hear it swishing around in the background. Only real points where it makes noise is when it briefly releases water down the sink hole maybe 3-4 times within a normal cycle and beeps at the end. If your in the market and can afford it, do it. We couldn't be happier. Looks stylish too. Thanks Asko!

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Great Dishwasher

Purchased this to replace an old low range Bosch dishwasher. Was looking to purchase another Bosch, however was drawn to the TurboDry function and the fact that this machine has internal LED lights (such a god send).

The sleek stainless steel unit has concealed control panel making it a fit for all style kitchens. The controls are easy to use and very logical. I also liked that this machine has a "time" program, allowing you to set the total length of time to program runs for.

The baskets are very flexible and spacious.

Overall, extremely happy with the purchase.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

drying issues

It comes with a high price tag like all asko stuff. the big disappointment is that it does not dry good. its not what I was promised by the person who sold it to me. I called them for , they came chagend the drying setting to the longest . did not help. I need to keep the door open for at least half a day until all the stuff dries . would not buy again

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Easy to use quite heps of space

Love the hidden controls and the small display on the door ,washes well and has good drying on the long dry setting, the racks and trays have lots of options, that is thinking out side of the box. The light inside makes cleaning and packing a breeze, the extra temperature setting is a good option.
The water usage is much lower than my old LG.
The racks and trays feel more solid than other on the market and the door is also feels more ridged and solid.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Great Dishwasher

I love this dishwasher, it cleans really well. I replaced my old Bosch and it does a much better job. The cutlery rack at the top increases space and with a dedicated washing arm for the cutlery it also cleans it well. The bottom rack is large enough to fit large plates and pots and I am never disappointed with the results. I can fit quite tall glasses in it too. It is not noisy and there are plenty of cycles to choose from.
I have had one problem with it about a week after it was first installed but Asko sent a technician out really quickly and fixed the problem and the machine has not missed a beat since then.
I definitely think it dries my dishes better than the Bosch did, everything but plastics come out dry.

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Brilliant!

I don't know why there are so many bad reviews here - this dishwasher is excellent. We replaced an old Blanco washer with this, mainly going with Asko as it was the ONLY brand that would take our large dinner plates without having to lean them over, so much room! They are expensive but you get what pay for here, it is SO QUIET. The only sound we hear from this is an occasional gurgle from the drain. The only items that don't come out dry are an occasional plastic ware. Would thoroughly recommend.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Worst Dishwasher Ever!!!

Purchased this dishwasher, installed it, it's beeped every night since the day I installed it, it drives me INSANE!!! I turn it off at the power point every night. Machine is EXTREMELY noisy so I can't run it at night. A normal wash takes 2.5 hours and a quick wash takes 2 hours, service guy told me it's faulty. He also told me the control panel needs replacing, it's a brand new dishwasher! Everything comes out wet and plastics are dripping wet so everything needs to be hand dried! I spent $2k on this piece of crap! I run my own business and work 6 days a week, impossible for me take a whole day off to wait around for the service guy. Going to put the dishwasher in the council clean up! Don't waste your money on this piece of rubbish! I also purchased the condenser dryer, the front melted after 2 years, the rubber seal around the lint filter melts and stretches and every time you open the dryer door the lint filter falls out! The lint filter is a nightmare to clean! Dryer is also going in the council clean up! Will NEVER buy Asko appliances again!!!

Date PurchasedOct 2014

Unreliable appliance

I have learnt two very important lessons from buying this product.
1. Don't buy it again.
2. Never ever listen to sales people.
It will clean well for weeks and then all of a sudden for reasons that remain known only to itself it won't clean and you are back to hand washing till you can try to finger out what's wrong or take another day off to call the service people out.


Faulty - again

So we had an ASKO D5457 that had a faulty door...after many months of dealing with the ASKO service department we managed to get them to replace it with a D5646.

Now guess what...this one is faulty: error code F10.

Please people read this review and don not ever buy an ASKO.

Faulty products (we're batting 2 for 2) and even worse service.

12 comments
Hi Alex, Sorry to hear you feel this way. please feel free to contact me, should you have any further queries or if I can be of any assistance to you. Please note even a blocked drain can create an error to come up. Regards Vani - Team Leader - After Sales ServiceA few weeks old and a blocked drain...yep...great quality.It was serviced today (not a blocked drain). We used it tonight and guess what ERROR F10. Seriously guys. GIVE US A F'ING REFUND...PLEASE. For everyone else reading. Our first ASKO had a faulty door. We argued with them for months. They eventually replaced it. Now this one broke down...it was serviced today and its broken again 6 hours later!!!!!!

Not as good as I expected for the price

We have owned two Asko dishwashers in the past, so in our next home we decided to spend more and buy their top model. We have owned it for about two or three months and it was professionally installed. As with our other models, I usually just use normal wash, Finish tablets and load the same way, pretty much according to the manual. In other words I am not doing anything differently but this machine's performance is different. I find a few tea cups might come out stained, glassware is occassionally mottled and even though we select long dry, every load is still cold and wet when I open the machine, even hours later dishes are wet. That means having to leave the door wide open for a couple of hours or getting the tea towel out. With my older Asko dishwashers crockery always came out clean, glassware was spotless and when the cycle was complete the load was warm and dry.

Maybe I need to do something differently, I am not sure. On the positive side, it is quiet, attractive, it has a light inside and the shelving holds many items including wine glasses. So overall it works ok and nothing has broken but I would not recommend this model to a friend.

1 comment
Hi Wejay, You can try using a different cycle along with long drying and high temperature options and see if that solves the problem, if not we can book in one of our techs to visit you, in order to trace and rectify the issue.If you need further assistance please feel free to contact our service team on 1300 002 756. Kind Regards, Vani - Team Leader – After Sales Service

Don't buy on star rating

I'm very happy with my dishwasher-1st time I've owned one. It stopped working after 5months, but service team quick and efficient at fixing the problem.
He has taken the disk out of the asko which was the water saving device. Apparently it gets put in there to help the star rating but then stops working so instead of replacing it they remove it. Costing me more in water now but I won't have that issue again. Hence don't buy your dishwasher on star ratings when like car companies- they cheat the system.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Are the circuit boards prone to damage from steam?
No answers

hey guys, are these dishwashers really THAT bad?? The reviews are so hit and miss, its hard to know what to make of them.
6 answers
Hello i have had mine for just a month now no problems very good wash results , quiet operation no problemsI have had mine for about a year now and I am happy with it. Like all dishwashers it needs cleaning out regularly and the cycles are long, however that does not worry me. I think it washes the dishes well.Ours is great! Love it. Looks like there have been a few faulty batches in the past perhaps?

I am considering buying the D5646SSXXL but the review on the internet are scathing, most form people who have recently bought the machine are there issues with this machine ?
1 answer
I was considering buying one but now I am put off. Have you decided to buy this model or have you gone for another brand?

Details

D5646SSD5646SSXXL
Price (RRP) $2,099$2,199
FeaturesCutlery Rack, Eco Mode/Wash, Foldable Racks, Height-Adjustable Upper Rack and Time Remaining DisplayChild Lock, Cutlery Rack, Eco Mode/Wash, Foldable Racks, Half-Load Option, Height-Adjustable Upper Rack and Time Remaining Display
Water Rating4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)
Water Consumption12.7 L/wash12.7 L/wash
Energy Rating3.5 star(s)3.5 star(s)
Energy Consumption275 kWh per year275 kWh per year
Control Panel Position FrontFront
Maximum Noise Level44 db44 db
Number of Programs1212
Number of Place Settings 1414
Colour / Finish Stainless SteelStainless Steel
Dimensions 820 x 596 x 559 mm860 x 596 x 559 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)

Download manual

Similar listings