??!
3 photos
Asko T784CHP

Asko T784CHP

MPNs: 35904177 and T784CHP
2.1 from 30 reviews

Clothes Dryers Buying Guide

When you've just done the laundry, a warm sunny day is perfect. But what if it's raining for days? Your lovely clean clothes might stay wet for just as long. A reliable tumble dryer can give you clean, dry clothes - and fast. Whether you're interested in a heat pump, condenser or vented dryer, a washer dryer combo, or maybe no dryer at all, this guide has all the handy dryer tips and info.

Read now

Reviews

2.1

30 reviews
5
(5)
4
(1)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(18)
  • Build Quality
    1.8 (9)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    2.4 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.2 (9)
  • Noise Level
    2.2 (9)
Previous
Next
Angus

AngusMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Rubbish Product/Warranty is a Hoax

published

My washer shredded the first load of washing! When I contacted Asko, I was told that someone would come around sometime in the next few weeks????? Fortunately, m retailer - Harvey Norman stepped in and had it replaced. Now my drier is making more noise than your average Boeing 727! Despite a number of emails and phone calls to avail myself of their so called warranty, I have had no response. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Purchased in October 2018 for A$1,999.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Adrian

AdrianGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

No problems at all

published

This (T784CHP) drier is efficient, does not need ventilation, (but I usually put the fan on anyway as it's in a "french" laundry cupboard). I has not missed a beat in the 5 years I have had it and I bought it from a clearance sale. One piece of advice if you are new to Heat Pump driers..... READ THE MANUAL! and clean the filters as per the instructions.

Purchased in March 2014 at e&s.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Avatar

AvatarSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love this machine

published

Bought this heat pump drier along with a matching washer. This was and still is the best looking heat pump drier made IMO. I sought it out despite the newer model having just launched at the time.

I can't complain, this machine does everything I expected and does it well. It's a great unit and looks better than it's newer replacement model. I am also thankful that is comes with the stacking kit and sits perfectly on top of it's matching washer. Unlike the washer this actually does have a audible completed cycle chime.

It's unfortunate that Asko is now a Chinese company, I wish the company had maintained their European ownership.

Purchased for A$1,799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Heat Pump Clothes Dryers

Find out how Asko T784CHP compares to other Heat Pump Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
frank

frankGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Almost caught fire - just got a lot of smoke and tripped circuit breaker!!!

published

Purchased in July 2013 at Asko Appliances for A$2,199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Katie G.

Katie G.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • Verified purchase

ASKO T784CHP - Caught fire and caused over $100k in damages

published

Purchased in June 2014 for A$2,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Ngan Tran

Ngan TranCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Leaking!!! Leaking and leaking!!!!

published

Water came out of the machine instead of the container built in the machine!!! Bought from Harvey Norman Fyshwick!!! Got NONE help from both Asko and HN. Stay far away!!!!!

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$1,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
sharon

sharonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

do not buy asko dryer

published

Bought my dryer (T794C) 4 years ago. Lost all power to it after 2 years and 2 months, they came out and replaced the whole power board as a good will gesture. (shameful i thought seeming it had only been out of warranty for 2 months). 2 years and 4 months later it has lost all power again this time they will not repair it under warranty. Never again would i buy ASKO to have a dryer last 4 and half years(which is hardly ever used) is shameful. Do yourself a big favour DONOT buy asko products.

Purchased in December 2014 at The Good Guys for A$2,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Murali Ramaswami

Murali RamaswamiSydney, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Screeching sounds coming out of the dryer

published

Bought this dryer from Appliances Online in January this year. The drying cycles are extremely long - have had to revert to the manual Timed dry cycle for it to even work.
As of last night, the dryer has been making a loud screeching sound. So much for Swedish engineering. We pay a premium and expect a premium product which is at least reliable. Not.

Purchased in January 2019 at Appliances Online for A$1,009.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Lek

LekSydney, NSW

NEVER AGAIN!

published

I'd give it a zero rating if I could. Endless trouble with it. Every issue imaginable. Has broken down more times than I've counted now. Have found Asko extremely difficult to deal with unfortunately. Had similar issues with the Asko washing machine which eventually just died completely less than 4 years from purchase. Asko has (with much pressure from the store we purchased the dryer from) replaced it twice. When it does work it takes many, many hours to dry clothing and Extra Dry is the only option to use if you want dry clothing. There are so many areas where lint and fluff get caught and that need to be cleaned after each use. Unfortunately some you cannot get to and need a technician to come out to fix. It also seeks ....

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Heat Pump Clothes Dryers

Find out how Asko T784CHP compares to other Heat Pump Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Blue20

Blue20

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Typical Asko Rubbish

published

Purchased dryer in June 2013. I am having major issues with the dryer not drying and also bearing noises which are very loud. I thought this would last. I also purchased an Asko washing machine after this and thought it would be fine but after 2.5 years it broke down and the technician said this model had major known issues. I was told when purchasing that these were great reliable products. Rubbish!!!! The washing machine still has issues leaking and making noises and the drying does not dry and has bearing noises. I spent around $5000 on these two items and would never purchase Asko again. DO NOT BUY THE ASKO BRAND EVER !!!!!! I am about to buy some replacement products which will not be ASKO.

Be Warned!!!

Date PurchasedJun 2013

ASKO Dryer

published

I am at my wits end with my ASKO dryer, its not even 3 years old and I have always had a problem with it! I have had it fixed multiple times and the last time I got it fixed for a consistent squeaking noise I was told by the Technician that the noise is something I would just have to deal with! What the...I paid over $2500 for this dryer. I emailed ASKO and was told there is nothing they can do as its out of warranty. It takes forever to dry clothes and I have to use the extra dry setting all the time. I am ready to take it to the dump and buy a new one...but why should I! I am going to go to consumer affairs this is getting beyond a joke.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
unhappy laundry guy

unhappy laundry guyAuckland

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

total junk

published

We purchased the dryer in late 2012. It broke down with in a few months. It was repaired. It broke down twice more so the company replaced it with a new one. After two years the replacement machine had a loud baring noise. the water extraction pump had failed. while it was with the repairer he tested it and found the heat pump was failing , that explained why it took so long to dry the clothes. They want another $900 for the part and labour on top of that to fix it. This product it just junk. It was sold to us that it would last twenty years but it was scrapped after two . do not waste your money on this over priced rubbish.

Date PurchasedDec 2012

Don't buy Asko.

published

I have an ASKO heat pump. After 2.5 years it has failed due to a problem with some float switch. ASKO claim that given it is outside the 2 year manufacturer's warranty I need to pay for the repair. The customer service staff in Melbourne are incredibly rude and have actually hung up on me. If you are looking for any appliance, save your money and Don't buy ASKO.

Date PurchasedAug 2015
amac72

amac72Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great Product, new technology, requires a bit of regular maintenance and good ventillation

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Rhonda

RhondaMelbourne

I have only had the dryer for 3 weeks and not happy at all the dryer steamers up the room and makes

published

I have only had my dryer for about 3 weeks the only reason I brought Asko I have had to Asko washing machines in the 30 years and they are brilliant but I have made a mistake by buying the Asko clothes dryer it's steams up the laundry and makes the house hot extremely disappointed and not going to keep it I will buy something different

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Heat Pump Clothes Dryers

Find out how Asko T784CHP compares to other Heat Pump Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sanchezc9

Sanchezc9Melbourne

  • Verified purchase

Overflow

published
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Squeaky dryer

published
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Asko serviceman talked me into purchasing this dryer, but...

published

After enjoying using ASKO washing machine and dryer for years, the dryer started having many issues. An ASKO serviceman said it would be very expensive to replace and suggested the new model heat pump dryer. I have been very happy with it; it's quiet and dries evenly, until recently. It keeps stopping and displaying "overflow". I don't know what that means, or how to fix it. After keeping the filter meticulously clean, and not to mention spending over $2000 on the dryer, I am very disappointed to have to go through this process again after only six months of using it. Any suggestions would be very helpful, thanks!

Date PurchasedJul 2016
Rach

RachPrahran

Very disappointed with the product and the customer service

published

After being convinced to purchase Asko over Miele, I'm regretting my decision. The dryer only dries when on extra dry. One replacement dryer under warranty but now this one is packing up. Despite following the care instructions lint blocks the filter at the back which isn't accessible except by a tech. Very disappointed

Date PurchasedJun 2014

Water leaks. Doesn't go down pipe to sink or into tank.

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016
1 comment
N Roodaal
N Roodaal
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Tara

Taraasked

Hello
I am looking to purchase a new washing machine and dryer from the current Classic range and I will need to stack the dryer on top. I’ve read this is possible but can you please confirm if I can also turn the dryer upside as I won’t be able to reach top control panel if I don’t turn
Thanks in advance

No answers
Kirsty.S

Kirsty.Sasked

I have a T784hp dryer. I would like to know if I am able to choose a low temperature setting like you can on most dryers? That way I can dry garments that say dry on warm or low settings.

No answers
Lilly

Lillyasked

I have the T408HD...I bought it mid 2018 to go with the new washing machine. It runs really well, BUT...I have a question about the new so-called "Butterfly Drying". If I put a couple of sheets in, they ALWAYS end up in a rolled up ball. Same with towels. It happens whether I dry straight out of the washing machine, or am just finishing them off after they've been on the line for a while. What is going on with that? Am I doing something wrong?

I bought this dryer for the holiday house because my other one (T784HP) is really terrific and doesn't cause the sheets etc to roll up into a bal

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Asko representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.