??!
3 photos
Asko W6884 Eco

Asko W6884 Eco

W6884ECO, W6883ECO
2.3 from 121 reviews

See the Best Front Loading Washing Machines in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
23
4 star
4
3 star
10
2 star
28
1 star
56

abee

abeeSydney

  • 3 reviews

If you think you are buying the best THINK AGAIN !!

published

We bought one of these around 7 years ago thinking that we would have trouble free washing for at least 15-20 yrs but at around the 4yr mark the water inlet valves went and just recently the detergent draw disintegrated and we have to tape it shut and has rusted , Contacted Asko and sent pics but no joy as far as fixing it out of goodwill being not next level quality so when you go and buy a washing machine stay away from the ones with Asko written on the front because in the little details you count on unfortunately they fall short

Value for Money
Noise Level

stop the goats

stop the goatsperth

  • 30 reviews

Another expensive rustbucket

published

Purchased in May 2010 for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
Michael

MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great while working, but an unreliable dud, with poor and expensive service.

published

Purchased in December 2012 for $1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
Michael

MichaelSydney, NSW

Over priced repairs

published

6 years old and mother board blew for no reason, if I wanted to fix it, the cost be over $8oo & I can buy a new machine for that price

Purchased in June 2012 for $1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

Absolute waste of money

published

This unit functions as advertised about 50% of the time. The other 50% it is a HUGE pain. It doesn't drain properly, leaving clothes soaked, heavy, and in need of a rewash, no matter how small or large the loads are. This is the biggest waste of money. Save your time and frustration and purchase something else.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Ian A

Ian ASouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

A problem ASKO are aware of...

published

The machine is fine...a stupid thing like the initial door lock malfunction, you can operate by using your knee to hold the door closed while you activate. The final locking device takes over and all is well - until the wash is finished, then you have to use the supplied 'Emergency' plastic key to open...the most basic function of the primary lock is 'Flawed'...and it's glaring..........
Our plastic key was wearing-out, before the issue was resolved by replacing the lock mechanism.

Date PurchasedNov 2015

Dirko16

Dirko16Brisbane

Not worth it

published

Terrible machine. Has leaked from the dispenser since day 1. Paid for extended warranty and now several months past we have wash motor fault. Paid a premium for “quality machine”. Waste of money no better than a cheap machine. In fact probably worse. Bosch lasted 6 years 1/4 the price.

Date PurchasedAug 2012

Died at 2 years 3 months.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Svet

SvetWollongong

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

After only 4 years the Electronic control board had died and soap dispenser rusted and won’t close

published
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Cranky collings

Cranky collings

  • 4 reviews
  • 9 likes

My nightmare for past 6 years

published
Date PurchasedMay 2012
1 comment
Cranky collings
Cranky collings

Note to others - if in its spin cycle it bangs around like a crazy thing it may mean your springs need replacing. we went through plenty.


Willy_Coenraadts

Willy_CoenraadtsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Broken after 5 years in a family of two people

published

The washing machine was doing a reasonable job of cleaning the laundry etc. It was quiet with running, but loud with spinning. We purchased it, as it was water efficient. When you have to deal with droughts etc. it's the way to go. I loved being able to set the time myself if I chose to do so. What is very sad though, for such an expensive machine, is hat it broke down after only 5 years. We are just with the two of us, so we are not using it all that intensively. During spinning something must have broken that was meant to hold the drum in place. Shock absorbers? Apparently it seems to happen quite regularly. When it is advertised as a balanced machine etc. and is extremely costly, this shouldn't happen. Would not recommend purchasing it.

Date PurchasedDec 2012

Traveler

Traveler

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Don't buy! So disappointed!

published

Bought this machine 5 years ago. In the first year the technician had to come out 6 times for various malfunctions (computer swapped, belt swapped, detergent door swapped for tray due to leaking). Finally replaced with whole new machine after 12 months. 3 years later, the amount of rust on the detergent door is terrible and it appeared within a short space to time. This rust build up now means the detergent door cannot be opened or closed. Worst decision ever to buy this machine! An expensive mistake $1900...now looking for a washing machine with great user reviews and half the price!!

Date PurchasedJan 2013

Shaz

ShazGold Coast

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Terrible from the start, leaked from dispenser, continually unbalances. Now makes terrible noise and

published

Unbalancing can cause multiple run throughs. Truly waste of money when I thought I was buying the best! This machine is the worst washing machine I have had. I had 10 pls years out of fisher and paykel and only 5 years out of Asko at twice the price. Terrible value for money

Date PurchasedAug 2012

robert

robertBraeside

  • 4 reviews
  • 11 likes

Expensive washing machine, trouble and rudeness.

published
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Indi

IndiCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Problem after problem after problem. Not up to Asko's quality.

published
Date PurchasedSep 2011
Lou

LouMelbourne, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Happy with this washing machine. Steel drum, no rubber seal (tick!).

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Jodie

JodieNSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Most overpriced whitewoods ever - one star is too much.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

cogs52

cogs52Aspley

  • 14 reviews

A strong, robust washer producing excellent results

published

With three adults with one being disabled washing daily is a priority. With two to three loads daily the machine handles it with ease.
We use the colours cycle and regularly use the quick wash cycle. Results are excellent particularly removing stains etc. the high speed spin takes care of any out of balance situations and the individual internal springing ensures minimal noise.
Great washer. This is our second Asko the first being trouble free for 11 years and handed onto our son where it is still running.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

ancient artist

ancient artistTintenbar

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Asko make a very good washing machine

published

We use this machine daily as we have a big household. Have had it for some time now without any problem considering how often we use it. It is quiet and does a very good wash. We heard that Aldi sell a washing powder called Trimax which is very highly rated by choice magazine. My wife is amazed at the difference using this powder with the Asko has produced. She is very happy with the results and she is very fussy about her washing. The washing machine has a very good stabilizer set up and stays rock solid on the laundry floor when in spin motion.It is a front end loader and our previous machine moved around alot when in spin cycle. Would definatlye stick with this machine again

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Ben

BenPerth, WA

ASKO Parts Pricing Rip off

published
Date PurchasedJul 2013

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

George

Georgeasked

Our machine has a Water Outlet Fault. Its half full of water and wont drain (I have tried the drain cycle a few times). Hoping Michael is still active and can advise - is the only option to call a technician? Or can we do anything ourselves?

2 answers
stop the goats
stop the goats

Have you opened the small hatch at the bottom to drain water out?

George
George

We havent tried because the manual says drain first. But the Drain function is not working. Theres at least 1/3 of a drum of water in there still!


Carolyn P.

Carolyn P.asked

How do you open the pump door at the bottom

1 answer
abee
abee

You have to take the top off and one will be on the left and one on the right, We watched a youtube video and then ordered the parts another stupid thing with this washer is when the cold water valve went it wouldn't work until we changed both hence when you buy the valves they come in 1 for hot 1 for cold, Hope that helps


myriammcdowall.mm

myriammcdowall.mmasked

I have an W6884Eco Asko and I can't find where to turn hot water selection off. I have turned the dial like it says in instructions but cannot see water hot or cold selection at all.

2 answers
Michael
Michael

You should be able to adjust the temperature with the first +/- button on the left under the display.

myriammcdowall.mm
myriammcdowall.mm

Ok thanks, the manual says to turn of hot water selection. I've been using the +/-. Just wasn't sure if It had to be turned off completely.


Get an answer from our members and Asko representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.