??!
3 photos
Asko W6884 Eco

Asko W6884 Eco

W6884ECO, W6883ECO
2.2 from 126 reviews

Washing Machines Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of washing machine would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

2.2

126 reviews
5
(23)
4
(4)
3
(10)
2
(30)
1
(59)
  • Build Quality
    1.8 (8)
  • Value for Money
    1.3 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (8)
  • Noise Level
    2.6 (9)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Dissatisfied28

Dissatisfied28Brisbane

  • 3 reviews

Very disappointing

published

I had decided to purchase another high quality brand and was convinced to purchase this washing machine with a matching Asko Condenser dryer T753C. Absolutely regret purchasing both of these as they both have not lasted. After only 6 years, the washing machine leaks water, the top left hand corner has broken off and the rubber seal around the door has completely fallen off. It also regularly has water outlet issues or balance issues where I then have to restart the whole wash again.

Purchased at David Jones for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeAsko T753C / T754C
See all answers
Johannes

JohannesSydney

  • 3 reviews

Water Leaking. There was a small hole in the OUTER SSteel Bowl !!!!

published
  • +1

Purchased for A$1,700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Sheila Parsons

Sheila ParsonsSouth East Queensland, QLD

Absolutely disappointing!

published

Machine was purchased in 2011. Within 3 years the detergent panel rusted, replaced it and the second has rusted too. However, there is rust also throughout the machine(around the rubber in the door and under the dispenser). It is a rust bucket. Very poor manufacturing quality for an exorbitant price. A washing machine this pricey should be 100% rustproof. Would never recommend Asko.

Purchased in December 2011 at The Good Guys for A$1,600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Asko W6884 Eco compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Willky

WillkyPerth, WA

Overpriced, Short Lived, Rust Bucket

published
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Lorraine J

Lorraine JCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Complete Disaster

published

This washing machine has been nothing but trouble, the warranty is not worth the paper its written on they refuse to repair it by just ignoring the repairers quotes. I have come to the stage where it is not worth the stress. DO NOT BUY ASKO PRODUCTS

Purchased at Betta Home Living.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
abee

abeeSydney

  • 3 reviews

If you think you are buying the best THINK AGAIN !!

published

We bought one of these around 7 years ago thinking that we would have trouble free washing for at least 15-20 yrs but at around the 4yr mark the water inlet valves went and just recently the detergent draw disintegrated and we have to tape it shut and has rusted , Contacted Asko and sent pics but no joy as far as fixing it out of goodwill being not next level quality so when you go and buy a washing machine stay away from the ones with Asko written on the front because in the little details you count on unfortunately they fall short

Noise Level
Value for Money
stop the goats

stop the goatsperth

  • 35 reviews
  • 16 likes

Another expensive rustbucket

published

Purchased in May 2010 for A$1,600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Michael

MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great while working, but an unreliable dud, with poor and expensive service.

published

Purchased in December 2012 for A$1,300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Michael

MichaelSydney, NSW

Over priced repairs

published

6 years old and mother board blew for no reason, if I wanted to fix it, the cost be over $8oo & I can buy a new machine for that price

Purchased in June 2012 for A$1,700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Asko W6884 Eco compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Absolute waste of money

published

This unit functions as advertised about 50% of the time. The other 50% it is a HUGE pain. It doesn't drain properly, leaving clothes soaked, heavy, and in need of a rewash, no matter how small or large the loads are. This is the biggest waste of money. Save your time and frustration and purchase something else.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Ian A

Ian ASouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

A problem ASKO are aware of...

published

The machine is fine...a stupid thing like the initial door lock malfunction, you can operate by using your knee to hold the door closed while you activate. The final locking device takes over and all is well - until the wash is finished, then you have to use the supplied 'Emergency' plastic key to open...the most basic function of the primary lock is 'Flawed'...and it's glaring..........
Our plastic key was wearing-out, before the issue was resolved by replacing the lock mechanism.

Date PurchasedNov 2015
Dirko16

Dirko16Brisbane

Not worth it

published

Terrible machine. Has leaked from the dispenser since day 1. Paid for extended warranty and now several months past we have wash motor fault. Paid a premium for “quality machine”. Waste of money no better than a cheap machine. In fact probably worse. Bosch lasted 6 years 1/4 the price.

Date PurchasedAug 2012

Died at 2 years 3 months.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Svet

SvetWollongong

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

After only 4 years the Electronic control board had died and soap dispenser rusted and won’t close

published
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Cranky collings

Cranky collings

  • 4 reviews
  • 9 likes

My nightmare for past 6 years

published
Date PurchasedMay 2012
1 comment
Cranky collings
Cranky collings

Note to others - if in its spin cycle it bangs around like a crazy thing it may mean your springs need replacing. we went through plenty.

Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Asko W6884 Eco compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Willy_Coenraadts

Willy_CoenraadtsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Broken after 5 years in a family of two people

published

The washing machine was doing a reasonable job of cleaning the laundry etc. It was quiet with running, but loud with spinning. We purchased it, as it was water efficient. When you have to deal with droughts etc. it's the way to go. I loved being able to set the time myself if I chose to do so. What is very sad though, for such an expensive machine, is hat it broke down after only 5 years. We are just with the two of us, so we are not using it all that intensively. During spinning something must have broken that was meant to hold the drum in place. Shock absorbers? Apparently it seems to happen quite regularly. When it is advertised as a balanced machine etc. and is extremely costly, this shouldn't happen. Would not recommend purchasing it.

Date PurchasedDec 2012
Traveler

Traveler

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Don't buy! So disappointed!

published

Bought this machine 5 years ago. In the first year the technician had to come out 6 times for various malfunctions (computer swapped, belt swapped, detergent door swapped for tray due to leaking). Finally replaced with whole new machine after 12 months. 3 years later, the amount of rust on the detergent door is terrible and it appeared within a short space to time. This rust build up now means the detergent door cannot be opened or closed. Worst decision ever to buy this machine! An expensive mistake $1900...now looking for a washing machine with great user reviews and half the price!!

Date PurchasedJan 2013
Shaz

ShazGold Coast

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Terrible from the start, leaked from dispenser, continually unbalances. Now makes terrible noise and

published

Unbalancing can cause multiple run throughs. Truly waste of money when I thought I was buying the best! This machine is the worst washing machine I have had. I had 10 pls years out of fisher and paykel and only 5 years out of Asko at twice the price. Terrible value for money

Date PurchasedAug 2012
robert

robertBraeside

  • 4 reviews
  • 11 likes

Expensive washing machine, trouble and rudeness.

published
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Indi

IndiCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Problem after problem after problem. Not up to Asko's quality.

published
Date PurchasedSep 2011
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Joan

Joanasked

W6884ECO

The control panel on my Asko W6884 has gone blank and now cannot turn the machine on. However, there are clothes in it and now I cannot open the door as no power. Is there some way of opening the door manually without forcing it to retrieve the clothes?

3 answers
Johannes
Johannes

On the right side of the door the is a small slot. You can push a flat piece of anything that will fit into this slot and push sufficiently enough to release the door. Under the soap holder there should be a plastic piece that you can remove and is intended to be used for that purpose.

Johannes
Johannes

You may have to push the inside part of the machine that moves to one side to see and access this slot.

Joan
Joan

Thanks everyone - done!

lidia

lidiaasked

W6884ECO

Purchased Asko W6884 Eco in 2012, has been working well except after spinning it tends to get out of balance and I have to re-adjust the clothes to get it working again...Very frustrated with that. The other day there was what sounded like a fuse has burned out. Now the machine is not working at all. Wondering wether I should pay for a service or cut my loses and move away from this band completely. Extremely disappointed that such an expensive unit has only lasted 8 years. This is my second machine already.

3 answers
Johannes
Johannes

Hi, if a fuse has burned out or it keeps on blowing a fuse that means there seems to be a short circuit of some kind. Hard to just guess what this could be. Given the fact you have had the machine for a while, depending on the frequency of your washes, say if doing 1 to 2 washes per day that I would consider cutting my losses and buy another ASKO or MIELE. These are both expensive machines but generally built to last. Especially the MIELE brand. I have used ASKO because in most cases I am able to repair this myself, depending on the problem. No machine will be faultless, no machine will last much more than say 10 to 13 years, sometime depending on the amount of use it may last longer. The out of balance indicates that there is a problem with one or more of the hydraulic suspension drum supports. Easy to replace, but like with all repairers you are at their mercy with any machine, so no repair will be cheap. Having said all that, depending where u are located or if affordability there are options. If you prefer new machine or maybe buying a second hand one. When buying second hand best to see the machine in action, indeed ask many questions.
Hope this helps.

Sheila Parsons
Sheila Parsons

Move to another machine. I live in Brisbane and servicing of Asko appliances is pathetic. I won’t waste the money. Since the majority of the Asko is made in Slovakia with a token label “made in Sweden”, it is definitely an inferior product, in my opinion. Would never buy another Asko product.
I am a very dissatisfied customer.

lidia
lidia

Thanks for your advice. I thought the same thing. I brought a Miele 9kg
model No: WWG360WCS today. Waiting for delivery. Fingers crossed

Tim A

Tim Aasked

W6884 Eco

The door to my washer will not open. Any help?

1 answer
Johannes
Johannes

When you shift or push the inner suspended part that moves to the left you should see a small slot. Under the washing powder tray there should be a plastic removable piece that u can slide into that slot next to the door. When pushing that into the slot it should release the door. Make certain the water is removed before doing this procedure. Water can be removed by opening the bottom small door where the pump is. Pull away the small rubber hose and place it in a bowl or bucket or wherever you can dispose of the water.Replace that hose back into the door lid part where the hose come from before using the machine again. Hope this helps. Problem, could be the computer PC board (circuit). Is the pump working , because if there is a pump failure the door will not open electronically but only manually. Easy to replace a pump.

Get an answer from our members and Asko representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.