??!
2 photos
ASUS AC3100 DSL-AC88U

ASUS AC3100 DSL-AC88U

2.3 from 11 reviews

See the Best Routers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
1
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
6

Mick

Mick

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Outstanding Modem/Router

published

Saw a radical improvement in bandwidth and data transfer rates over my previous Asus AC68U. The DSL AC3100 showed a dramatic improvement in use and its performance. I am only disappointed that its mobile app does not work ss it should.

Purchased in October 2019.

Number of Connected Devices 8 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

Major

MajorSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worst modem router ever

published

Absolute garbage. Unreliable wifi. Limited range on wifi. My stock iprimus and 30$ range extender anihalates this 300$ paper weight. Will be onto Asus for a full refund. VERY DISSATISFIED

Purchased in October 2019 at Ebay for $290.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Hairybum

HairybumLongreach

  • 3 reviews

An unreliable modem cannot recommend this one

published

After 19 months of generally reliable use, beginning about two months ago the internal power supply began to give intermittent problems with not restarting after a soft reboot, not restarting after power down - power up, and finally not powering up at all, the modem had died. The modem was not as good on NBN as my spare Netcomm NF18ACV in performance, the Asus achieving max of 51 Mbps line sync whilst the Netcomm achieved 57 Mbps line sync.

Purchased in February 2018 at Harvey Norman for $525.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 2 devices
ISPAussie Broadband NBN 50 (Standard Plus)
ModemASUS AC3100 DSL-AC88U
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Brad.S

Brad.S

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Below average performance for a premium priced item

published

Purchased in October 2017 at Harvey Norman for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 8 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Gil L.

Gil L.Sydney, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Full of issues. Not reliable and too expensive.

published

Purchased in April 2018 for $479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 11 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Jason35

Jason35PERTH

  • 11 reviews
  • 6 likes

Faulty product out of the box

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Sanjeeva

SanjeevaAU

  • 15 reviews
  • 22 likes

Perfect when configured properly ....

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Michael

Michael

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Fast Router with Good Range - Poor Client Cap

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Foul Taint

Foul TaintGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Apparently broken at present with many long standing customer problems. Limited functionality.

published
Date PurchasedJul 2018
K B

K BSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nice router which will probably get even better

published

I was looking for a new router with support for my new NBN FTTB connection and DSL-AC88U was just released, successor to a great DSL-AC68U router. It does its job reliably, it's currently running for a few months without a single reboot or dropout, holding 100/40 speed perfectly and serving ~10 Wi-Fi devices we have in our household. The only downside is the lack of advanced capabilities its predecessor had (richer QoS capabilities, traffic control by device), but these will probably come with the future firmware updates, ASUS has a good history of supporting their networking hardware and this device is very young.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

swamprat96

swamprat96

  • 28 reviews
  • 19 likes
  • Verified purchase

Very fast Modem with questionable reliability

published
3 comments
swamprat96
swamprat96

Since writing this the second unit had wifi/DHCP issues and has been returned and exchanged for a different brand. This is on the november 2017 firmware so I'd avoid this unit until its updated

swamprat96
swamprat96

Onto my 3rd and this time more stable. Asus have acknowledged the bug and a fix is underway. Apart from this bug the unit is very good for an all in one solution

swamprat96
swamprat96

My 3rd unit also died and I finally returned it for a full refund. These are terrible units

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and ASUS representatives

Details

CategoryRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $399.00
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesExternal Antennas, Parental Controls and Quality of Service
Maximum Wireless Speed2,167 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports4
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 a, 802.11 ac, 802.11 b, 802.11 g and 802.11 n
DSL SupportADSL, ADSL2, ADSL2+, VDSL and VDSL2
Number of USB 2.0 Ports1
Number of USB 3.0 Ports1
Dimensions 61 x 292 x 180 mm
NBN CompatibleNo
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.