??!
5 photos
Audi Q5 8R.I

Audi Q5 8R.I (2009-2012)

TDI, TFSI, FSI
2.6 from 32 reviews

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(7)
(4)
(3)
(6)
(12)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (2)

Excellent

published

We have the 2011 3.0TDI V6 Diesel, it has been amazing with nil issues, has high kms now 240,000kms now and it’s absolutely faultless, such a nice car to drive and comfortable, if you are looking to buy a Q5 the 3.0TDI is the way to go. Also holds its value well. Compared to the TFSI petrol models.

Purchased in January 2012 at Audi Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Sana Ahmed

Sana AhmedMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Simply loved this car - audi q5 2012

published

Amazing drive, perfect Suv for a family of 4.
Road grip and drive is nonetheless. i have 2012 quattro diesel 2.0 model. It is highly highly fuel efficient, we fill up a tank with the premium diesel only once a month. It does last forever.

Purchased in January 2019.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Defective car - repair process terrible

published

Purchased in June 2009 at Southern Classic Cars for $70,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
See all answers
Jae

JaeMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Total disaster

published
BadgeTFSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Bad Bad Vehicle- Mechatronic issues from Day 1

published

First three years and was always worried when I tried reversing- sometimes it would shoot forward. Not a good idea when parallel parking.
Audi won’t fix under warranty cause I missed one transmission oil change a few Years after first reporting the issue. If I could turn back time, I would never buy this vehicle.
Very expensive to repair and service - not sure if this is just the case in Perth, but either way - a sour taste in my mouth.

BadgeTDI Sport Edition
Engine Size2.0 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2009

Alan

Alan

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good amount of grunt and luxury but not without some issues

published

Driving is great, I've got the 3.0TDi version. It's got more than enough grunt to make smooth transitions onto the highway. The interior is great...comfortable seats, good A/C, decent audio...but then there are some drawbacks. I think the transmission is on its way out, the EGR has been replaced and still has troubles, and some other filter is pretty bad. I have spent a few k's on fixing this issues while my Honda has had 0 issues since I purchased it. This is my third Audi and I must say...I'm not as impressed with it as my first two.

BadgeTDI
Engine Size3.0 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Ivo

IvoGold Coast

Piece of crap

published
BadgeTFSI
Engine Size2.0 TFSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015

Simmo

Simmoadelaide

Expensive junk

published

This car has only done 140000 klm uses oil, the transmission just packed up at a cost of $9500 to fix ,this problem was recalled in USA and China, but not in Australia.Just got car back and the drive belt broke, replaced it now car won't run engine management system light flashing, need to get car towed to be repaired, we now hate this car and will be selling it when it's fixed. Will never buy another Audi again, we have learned a very expensive lesson to buy a car with less features, things to go wrong.

BadgeTDI
Engine Size2.0 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Fredo

FredoAU

  • 6 reviews

One of the most powerful SUV.

published

I am still driving it now...it broke an engine last December...on 147 558 km.
Thanks to extended warranty that covered for R36.000
And i had to add only R23.000.
And the car was back to road again.
Replacement of engine...after all is done...re registration of new engine number is very important...
Vin number and engine number should match...
Now i am a happy chap again...
Speed...power...oil and fuel consumption still the same.
2010 Audi Q5...what a machine..

BadgeTFSI
Engine Size2.0 TFSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015

Q5 TDI QUATTRO is an excellent car

published
BadgeTDI
Engine Size2.0 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2011

Marc

MarcMelbourne

For the dogs ...

published

My Q5 takes the cake. Love the ride and the interior. However, constant issues and repair cost with allegedly 'faulty' Engine Management sensors and their replacement two times over. Excessive oil comsumption (.6 l/1000km) of 2.0 engine. Treated with contempt by Zagame, Bridge Road, upon raising concerns and complaining. Had to make threat to unleash hell before being heard. Had the whole engine rebuild at 85,000km - zero oil consumption now - at a cost of $10,000. Luckily my extended warranty covered the mess. Lost the gearbox yesterday, car completely undriveable (from 1st warning message to breakdown within 50km) at 115,000km.
Never again.

Purchased in December 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Scott

ScottTemplestowe

  • 2 reviews

3.0 TDI Q5 - Nice finish - Good cruising Car - BUT - What a ripoff for parts and servicing

published
BadgeTDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2011
Engine Size3.0 TDI

BanjoPaterson

BanjoPatersonYarralumla 2600, ACT

  • 55 reviews

BEWARE OF THIS MODEL

published
BadgeTFSI Sport Edition
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2011
Engine Size2.0L

Larry

LarrySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Absolutely rubbish Audi Q5 Tdi 2011

published

This year I have changed Mercedes-Benz ML 320 and bought Audi Q5 Tdi 2.0L I am very unhappy about my car because it takes after 300-400km one-litre oil.I am sick of it
My recommendation to all people do not buy never ever any Audi.This type of car is 200% rubbish!!!!!!!
If you do not want to get a headache

BadgeTDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Engine Size2.0L

First And Last

published

I have had this car two years. The mechanic (RM Autohaus, Hawthorn, Audi specialist)) failed to identify the oil burning problem during the warranty period, despite me specifically asking them to check it (Epic Fail!). It burns a litre every 400-800km, the worse figure in city driving. It also has the awkward, jerky, lagging transmission problems others describe. Audi (Zagame) quoted $9000 for new rings and denied any knowledge of why this problem would happen- disingenuous to say the least. I love everything else about the car (looks, cabin, cruises nicely, quiet, comfortable), but Audi have lost my trust and I shall not buy another car from them.

BadgeTFSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0T

Very Disappointed!

published

I purchased what seemed to be a well maintained and in great condition Audi Q5. I've owned this car for 3 months and already have had to use my warranty to replace piston rings costing over $9000 and my warranty will only cover have for a manufacturer fault. Audi expects me to pay the difference. I have had my car in the workshop for around a month and what's worse have not been offered a courtesy vehicle in the interim. I would caution all to stay away from Audi vehicles, they have broken me and I now have to try and figure out were to come up with the money to repair.

BadgeTFSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.8

Audi Q5 2009 sucks

published

I got my Audi Q5 the problem from gearbox. when it slowing down at downhill areas It stops and come with no reverse. Audi Sydney service center really do not offer help! I think they should recall this car and fix up this popular problem. Audi Q5 2009 sucks!! . .

BadgeFSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size3.2 L

Hugh B.

Hugh B.Sydney

Transmission problem with Audi Q5 3.0 TDI

published

The car is 5 year old 51,000 and it has been a fantastic car, but a shuddering in accelerating in low gear and decelerating has been diagnosed as a transmission problem caused by a seal going in the differential causing the oil to spill into the gear box . The cost for the Audi dealer to repair quoted $26,000 yes thats right $26,000, What a bloody rip-off.The car has been serviced properly and looked after and Audi Australia are thinking about helping me. What are the chances.

BadgeTDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size3.0

Richard S

Richard SHampton , Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Q5 shudders changing down 2 to 1st

published

Great car to drive but I have had the same problem with the car changing down from 2 nd to 1 st. Shudder and sometimes a stall. Have talked to audi service centre at Brighton . They say it is unusual (ummm) and quoted me $7000 to fix ( I don't think so )

BadgeTDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0

Chris D

Chris DMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good but expensive to service

published
BadgeTDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0

Page 1 of 2

See all Audi Q5 reviews

Questions & Answers

Binh N

Binh Nasked

HI,
I bought Audi Q5 TDI 3.0 L with 175k km, Anybody can advise me what I should repair or what problem I may face with car high km like mine. And how much i should cost?
Thanks

No answers

Baz

Bazasked

Looking at purchasing a 2litre diesel Q5. I've read reports of S-Tronic problems 2008 - 2010. Has the problem been solved or are later cars still susectible?

1 answer
Gagab
Gagab

its not sorted out. having lot of issues.


Ac96

Ac96asked

Hi everyone, could anyone tell me how much you paid for your timing belt/chain to be replaced at 90,000km or 180,000km, and if you got it done at Audi service centre or an independent mechanic.

Thank you!

1 answer
hanna
hanna

Only Vbelt was replaced at 90,000km for our 3.0TDI. at AUDI dealership. price of vbelt itself was $108.00 and the whole standard scheduled service (part & labour) costed us $1,155.00. hope this helps.


Get an answer from our members and Audi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.