??!
5 photos
Audi Q5 8R.I TDI

Audi Q5 8R.I TDI (2009-2012)

2.9 from 14 reviews

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(4)
(1)
(2)
(3)
(4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (1)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Features
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (1)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)


Excellent

published

We have the 2011 3.0TDI V6 Diesel, it has been amazing with nil issues, has high kms now 240,000kms now and it’s absolutely faultless, such a nice car to drive and comfortable, if you are looking to buy a Q5 the 3.0TDI is the way to go. Also holds its value well. Compared to the TFSI petrol models.

Purchased in January 2012 at Audi Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Bad Bad Vehicle- Mechatronic issues from Day 1

published

First three years and was always worried when I tried reversing- sometimes it would shoot forward. Not a good idea when parallel parking.
Audi won’t fix under warranty cause I missed one transmission oil change a few Years after first reporting the issue. If I could turn back time, I would never buy this vehicle.
Very expensive to repair and service - not sure if this is just the case in Perth, but either way - a sour taste in my mouth.

BadgeTDI Sport Edition
Engine Size2.0 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2009
Alan

Alan

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good amount of grunt and luxury but not without some issues

published

Driving is great, I've got the 3.0TDi version. It's got more than enough grunt to make smooth transitions onto the highway. The interior is great...comfortable seats, good A/C, decent audio...but then there are some drawbacks. I think the transmission is on its way out, the EGR has been replaced and still has troubles, and some other filter is pretty bad. I have spent a few k's on fixing this issues while my Honda has had 0 issues since I purchased it. This is my third Audi and I must say...I'm not as impressed with it as my first two.

BadgeTDI
Engine Size3.0 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Simmo

Simmoadelaide

Expensive junk

published

This car has only done 140000 klm uses oil, the transmission just packed up at a cost of $9500 to fix ,this problem was recalled in USA and China, but not in Australia.Just got car back and the drive belt broke, replaced it now car won't run engine management system light flashing, need to get car towed to be repaired, we now hate this car and will be selling it when it's fixed. Will never buy another Audi again, we have learned a very expensive lesson to buy a car with less features, things to go wrong.

BadgeTDI
Engine Size2.0 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015

Q5 TDI QUATTRO is an excellent car

published
BadgeTDI
Engine Size2.0 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2011

Scott

ScottTemplestowe

  • 2 reviews

3.0 TDI Q5 - Nice finish - Good cruising Car - BUT - What a ripoff for parts and servicing

published
BadgeTDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2011
Engine Size3.0 TDI

Larry

LarrySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Absolutely rubbish Audi Q5 Tdi 2011

published

This year I have changed Mercedes-Benz ML 320 and bought Audi Q5 Tdi 2.0L I am very unhappy about my car because it takes after 300-400km one-litre oil.I am sick of it
My recommendation to all people do not buy never ever any Audi.This type of car is 200% rubbish!!!!!!!
If you do not want to get a headache

BadgeTDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Engine Size2.0L

Hugh B.

Hugh B.Sydney

Transmission problem with Audi Q5 3.0 TDI

published

The car is 5 year old 51,000 and it has been a fantastic car, but a shuddering in accelerating in low gear and decelerating has been diagnosed as a transmission problem caused by a seal going in the differential causing the oil to spill into the gear box . The cost for the Audi dealer to repair quoted $26,000 yes thats right $26,000, What a bloody rip-off.The car has been serviced properly and looked after and Audi Australia are thinking about helping me. What are the chances.

BadgeTDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size3.0
Richard S

Richard SHampton , Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Q5 shudders changing down 2 to 1st

published

Great car to drive but I have had the same problem with the car changing down from 2 nd to 1 st. Shudder and sometimes a stall. Have talked to audi service centre at Brighton . They say it is unusual (ummm) and quoted me $7000 to fix ( I don't think so )

BadgeTDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0
Chris D

Chris DMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good but expensive to service

published
BadgeTDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0

Exactly the same problem with jerking and stalling

published
BadgeTDI

ozcj

ozcjbrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it!

published

I purchased my Q5 2.0 TDI when it first released in Australia 2009. I used to drive Pajero, so Q5 is kind of small for me. Beautiful driving experience, good handling and good soundproof (you wouldn't hear diesel engine noise in the car at all) Only disappointment I found is diesel engine seems has acceleration delay, you won't get respond after 2-3 second. No major problem for me, Audi Gold Coast is an excellent dealership, they take care of any issue and concern immediately. Fuel consumption for my car is around 9.9L/100Km, I only drive around locally to pick kids up from school and do grocery shopping :)
Interior comfort, reliable, compact.

BadgeTDI
Engine Size2.0 TDI

Paul Mooroolbark

Paul MooroolbarkAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

How can it have such poor driving dynamics?

published
BadgeTDI
Engine Size2.0 TDI
3 comments
ptiva
ptiva
ptiva
ptiva
Joanne06
Joanne06

Paul, what's the 3.0L TDI like to drive? Would you buy one of those?


Dangerous Audi Q5

published
BadgeTDI
3 comments
ptiva
ptiva

VWs and Audi do have grabbing brakes normally. Seems they cant be adjusted much! But yours sound a worry. A letter from a lawyer usually gets things moving! To both Audi and HQ. throw everything at em!

ptiva
ptiva
Hourdie
Hourdie

How can the company let there customers endure this?? its something you'd expect from Ford, not an expensive Audi


See all Audi Q5 reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Audi Q5 8R.I TDI (2009-2012) but you can read 14 questions about Audi Q5.


Get an answer from our members and Audi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.