5 photos
Audio Technica ATH-M50x

Audio Technica ATH-M50x

MPN: ITZPHSTATCCXAJ
4.8 from 96 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Wired Headphones in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Audio Technica? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.8
96 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (2)
  • Sound Quality
    4.5 (2)
  • Bass
    4.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (2)
Previous
Next
ablelisax
ablelisaxGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • Verified

Great Product for Great Price

published

You can find these headphones at around $200 and for that price it's pretty great. The sound quality is great for what you get, though I'm not entirely satisfied with it and I'm planning to move onto higher-quality headphones. The noise-cancelling aspect of the headphones is great but not perfect (you can still hear things like a conversation going on near you) and it's going strong for a couple of years. I don't have any issue with comfort, these are very comfortable headphones. It feels of great construction and not flimsy at all, and it's been a nice companion for long overseas plane rides, vacuuming and casual listening.

Purchased in August 2016 at Jaben Audio for $200.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Randy
RandySydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Wonderful headphones

published

I used to play competitive FPS, so i needed a good pair of headphones to give me an advantage. It was really good for gaming, watching movies and listening to music. This is my 3rd pair of audio technicas and i am very happy with their brand

Purchased in February 2018 at Mwave Australia.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

d33nd33n
d33nd33n
  • 6 reviews

Decent.

published

The soundstage is very good and it has great bass. You can quite easily distinguish notes and sounds from each other in a song. The difference between my old earbuds (samsung defaults) was night and day. My only critique of them is that they are tight and will make your ears sweat within an hour.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Car54
Car54Melbourne
  • 4 reviews

Outstanding Earphones

published

I love these headphones and dont have any issues at all with wearing them for long periods - perhaps its individual head shape but they work perfectly for me. Sound quality is outstanding . I always play certain tracks with passages that I listen for to test out new headphones and these shone through where many fail. Very pleased with these and would recommend them to all.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Wired Headphones

Find out how Audio Technica ATH-M50x compares to other Wired Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Timbo
TimboGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great sound, blocks noise and top of the crop for this price bracket

published

Having moved from Bose (given that they were stolen with my luggage at an airport) to this unit, they are great in sound and noise eliminating at the same time.

When travelling overnight, I would put these on without music and dull the surround sound - great pickup.

I would thoroughly recommend this brand and will purchase more in the future. My son does an incredible amount of research and these were also his number 1 pick.

Date PurchasedAug 2014
Karen Wood
Karen WoodMelbourne
  • 5 reviews

Light, Comfortable and Good Sound

published

The title says it all. These are light-weight enough that they are not too oppressive. They feel soft and comfortable on the ears. And they are good at blocking out external sounds and allow you to focus on your selected audio tracks. Whilst they are not perfect, I would recommend them to others.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Nigel N
Nigel NPerth
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Sound, But Uncomfortable

published

The Audio Technica ATH-M50x's are great for sound quality, they are nice and crisp. The base is great and the overall sound quality is good. A couple of issues are present though. First being the comfort, these headphones are not comfortable by any means, any more than 40 minutes, they hurt you ears. Another is the headband, not as strechy as I would like. Lastly another annoyance is the fact that the headphone cable is one side aux and one side Audio Technica audio input. Luckily they provide 3 different cords for it.

Still a great pair of headphones.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Jules
JulesMelbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Top sound

published

I am super impressed by the audio quality of my audio technicas. I did plenty of research before making the purchase and I have to say I am not at all disappointed by the sound. Producing a clear rich sound, they really do justice to the FLAC files in my collection. One thing to note though, they are over the ear headphones and so you may or maynot be comfortable wearing these outside the house. This also means that if they are on your ears for too long, you really start to feel the heat! Despite this, can't be happier with my purchase.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Alita
AlitaGippsland, VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Pleased overall

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Wired Headphones

Find out how Audio Technica ATH-M50x compares to other Wired Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Casey. F
Casey. FMelbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Simply Great Quality Headphones

published

I also have the M40s the model below this which are also great. The M50s however are just that much better they give off a little more bass but not too much like Beats do. They are certainly great build quality and design handy to have the range of plug in leads for differing lengths. They can get a bit bulky an inconvenient at times, but these have been times Ive had on long flights though I do like them and certainly recommend them.

Date PurchasedJune 2015
Will S
Will SGunnedah
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

decent for certain uses

published

Tried these as I like Audio Technica, however I didn't find them as suitable for home use as my A500's so I resold them and switched back with a new pair of ear pads. They were not as comfortable and had a lot more bass which dominated the sound too much for my liking.

Date PurchasedSept 2016
Nemmi
NemmiSydney
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great headphones

published

Have been using these for a couple of years. I have no complaints on the crisp sound and the durability of its build. They can feel a bit tight after long periods of use. Sound leakage is apparent in a quiet room, but not so much while commuting. Overall, good headphones to use at home.

Date PurchasedNov 2015
Wired Headphones

Find out how Audio Technica ATH-M50x compares to other Wired Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alexi Peck
Alexi PeckLaunceston
  • 5 reviews

Near perfect, bar a few things

published

These headphones are perfect, if you make a few changes. The first change being that the earcups are too thin and give you a headache, getting something like a set of brainwavz cups, once you've worn them in, they're perfect. The next change is on the software side, with some audio, the highs can seem very harsh, using Dolby Atmos pretty much alleviated any discomfort and changes it to a perfect sound stage along with the alternate earcups. Matching this with a modmic for the full headset experience, you're all good to go.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
M.B
M.Bsydney
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not bad

published

Has many good reviews which is why I bought it but probably not worth the price as I don't hear too much of a difference , vocals sound lower which isn't that ideal. Fits nicely and comes with very long cables as well so you can stretch out a bit further from the desk.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Billy
BillyAU
  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Pretty good unit for 120 dollars

published

Bought the headphone when it was on special for 120 dollars due to good reviews.

Pros
Pretty good unit to use for daily commute and listening to song on youtube.
Build quality is good , been using for years and still going strong .

Cons
Ear cups are a bit too big for me and feels a bit heavy
Does get warm for usage more than an hour

Recommended for headphone under $150 =p

Date PurchasedJune 2010

Questions & Answers

Robynne1951
Robynne1951asked

What is the inbuilt microphone like? I want for singing

1 answer
Darren
Darren

There is no microphone in these headphones .... https://audio-technica.com.au/products/ath-m50x/

Get an answer from our members

Details

The Audio Technica ATH-M50x are headphones used by renowned audio engineers and famous producers such as Kevin Parker of Tame Impala.

Features:

  • Padded earcups provide noise cancellation by blocking outside noise
  • Able to attach a microphone, allowing you to use these headphones as a gaming headset
  • These wired headphones have a long cord - up to 3 metres straight, making them a viable option for TV

What reviewers liked about the Audio Technica ATH-M50x:

  • Many reviewers think that these headphones have an impressive sound quality, making them value for money purchase
  • These headphones are multifunctional, reviewers use them for anything from the daily commute to work, gaming or mixing sounds in the studio
CategoryWired Headphones
Price (RRP) $279.00
TypeOver-Ear
FeaturesGaming Headset
Frequency Response15Hz - 28kHz
Weight285 g
Jack Plug3.5mm and 6.3mm
Cord Length3 m
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Colour / FinishBlack, White
Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 04961310125431
  • MPN: ITZPHSTATCCXAJ

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.