5 photos
Audio Technica ATH-M50x

Audio Technica ATH-M50x

MPN: ITZPHSTATCCXAJ
4.8 from 96 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Wired Headphones in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Audio Technica? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.8
96 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.6 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.9 (7)
  • Sound Quality
    4.9 (7)
  • Bass
    4.7 (7)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (7)
Previous
Next
BenMiles
BenMilesGippsland, VIC
  • 23 reviews
  • 24 likes
  • Verified

Amazing audio quality with great accessories

published

Purchased in January 2021 at eBay for $134.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Zeeshan A
Zeeshan APerth, WA
  • 8 reviews
  • Verified

So good

published

These headphones sound quality is great. The overall build is great. But to go further in the sound quality of these headphones is amazing it gives a cinema type vibe its very loud and there is no sound leaking. The wire doesn’t bend and the headphones are bendable so it very easily to take to travel.

Purchased in April 2020 at Amazon for $299.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Jacob Evan
Jacob Evan

Also very durable!!!

Brad
BradSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 15 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified

Great, solid headphones

published

Solid, fairly light, great sound, good looking. Bought this for production and DJ monitor headphones to replace the hd25's I have, because I found they were lacking in bass. The M50x are great, they go very loud, you might have to adjust a bit if coming from something else. As with any headphones, always take them for a spin in store first.

Bonus points for including various cables in the box

Purchased in May 2019 at Store DJ Physical store for $180.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Jim C
Jim CSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Worth every cent

published

I brought this pair back in July 2015 and have used it almost every single day until now. The only issue til this day is that I needed to swap out the ear cushion as the original have degraded so much over the 4+ years.
The headphone is light and easy to bring on the train, bus or plane.
The bass is deeper, however it does not drown out the higher tones.
The durability is off the charts. (I am super careless. i.e. I have dropped it, thrown it, bumped it, etc...)
The wire is anchored it has saved my phone from certain death. (As long as the jack stays plugged in.

I would highly recommend this pair to all my friends and family looking for a headphone wihtin the 150-250 price range. (I brought these at 180 back in the days.)

Purchased in July 2015 at Wireless 1 for $185.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Wired Headphones

Find out how Audio Technica ATH-M50x compares to other Wired Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Zuwei C
Zuwei CGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • Verified

Nice headphones

published

Have been using these daily for gaming, youtube, twitch and music daily for 3 months now and so far so good! If you want to use these for outdoors, definitely consider buying the wireless ones.

Purchased in February 2019 at Addicted to Audio for $200.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Tom A.
Tom A.Hunter Region, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • Verified

Great general purpose headphones

published

I use these headphones to edit videos in a noisy open-plan office. I've also used them for monitoring audio on a film shoot. They offer great clarity and accurate sound. The closed-back design helps to block out environmental noise.

I've worn them for a full day of editing before and, while they are a little tiring after long periods, they are not as bad as other studio headphones I've used.

It comes with three difference cables, which is a nice touch. Pads are replaceable too.

Purchased in August 2017 at Minidisc Australia Online store for $208.95.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Kayla
KaylaSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for listening and great to look at

published

I use this to listen to music for my daily commute to work and uni. They're super comfy and can be worn for a long time without it hurting. I haven't had any issues with them so far and they make for a great bit of head fashion.

Purchased in February 2019 at Store DJ for $190.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Hugh s
Hugh sMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great value

published

Excellent headphones with almost perfect sounds quality. For their price they compete with earphones twice as expensive. Build quality is excellent and the addition of several different cables is extremely useful especially if the cables are damaged. Also these headphones are extremely comfortable and fit almost any head size really well.

Date PurchasedMay 2015
Bella
BellaWarialda
  • 4 reviews

Perfect headphones

published

I think i finally found the perfect headphones, just wow. The sound is so perfect, clean and balanced, i'm so surprised.
I've read a lot about them and there's several good reviews about them but just try them and I'm way impressed.
This headset is great and so far so good, I highly recommend it.

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Wired Headphones

Find out how Audio Technica ATH-M50x compares to other Wired Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cel
CelCranbourne East
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Best all round headphones. Highly recommend

published

I bought this for my son and compared to all of the headphones he had in the past, this one ticked all the boxes. He said that the sound quality and comfort is excellent and for the price as well as being a perfect all round headphone. It is definitely worth buying.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Chris Y
Chris YSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

THE BEST

published

Whether it be for mixing or listening, you can't go past them in the price range they are. I own headphones from $20 to $500 and quite honestly the M50x sound the best for everyday listening, brilliant build quality, honestly I'd be lost without them. NOTHING in the price range even comes close to the levels of comfort you can get with these.

Date PurchasedJune 2015
Darren
DarrenPerth, WA
  • 14 reviews
  • 11 likes
  • Verified

These are excellent headphones for under $200

published
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Wired Headphones

Find out how Audio Technica ATH-M50x compares to other Wired Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matt
MattAustralia
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

A must have

published

I have used these headphones for over 2 years. Of all the headphones I have used, these ones provide the best frequency response and a powerful volume level. They're comfortable enough to wear for long periods of time and sturdy enough to last a lifetime. They are a must have for anybody who wants to listen to high-quality music and audio.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
MasterAnt
MasterAntGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Best of the lot

published

I spent a good hour listening to all the headphones on display at Jaben Audio. I chose this out of the lot, and also over the M40x and M70x. Yes, they do get uncomfortable after a short time and a quick break is required. Sennheiser had the most comfortable pair, but the audio quality did not compare. At the end of the day, these are fantastic for my studio mixing, and got me through a mixing project I had to complete. I am still very happy with the purchase.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
J Ferguson
J FergusonNSW, 2207
  • 25 reviews
  • 13 likes

REALLY, REALLY GOOD

published

these things are built well, have amazing sound and for the price they are right now to have those three important things all very strong is no-brainer.

They look good, sit comfortably on you head and just do EVERYTHING very well.

If you are an AUDIOPHILE, you might be wanting a bit more but only comes from spending more $$$$

If you want good audio but aren't wanting to spent hundreds more,in buying these You will not be disappointed

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Robynne1951
Robynne1951asked

What is the inbuilt microphone like? I want for singing

1 answer
Darren
Darren

There is no microphone in these headphones .... https://audio-technica.com.au/products/ath-m50x/

Get an answer from our members

Details

The Audio Technica ATH-M50x are headphones used by renowned audio engineers and famous producers such as Kevin Parker of Tame Impala.

Features:

  • Padded earcups provide noise cancellation by blocking outside noise
  • Able to attach a microphone, allowing you to use these headphones as a gaming headset
  • These wired headphones have a long cord - up to 3 metres straight, making them a viable option for TV

What reviewers liked about the Audio Technica ATH-M50x:

  • Many reviewers think that these headphones have an impressive sound quality, making them value for money purchase
  • These headphones are multifunctional, reviewers use them for anything from the daily commute to work, gaming or mixing sounds in the studio
CategoryWired Headphones
Price (RRP) $279.00
TypeOver-Ear
FeaturesGaming Headset
Frequency Response15Hz - 28kHz
Weight285 g
Jack Plug3.5mm and 6.3mm
Cord Length3 m
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Colour / FinishBlack, White
Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 04961310125431
  • MPN: ITZPHSTATCCXAJ

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.